Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Supporting patient engagement: What it means for physicians

Originally published March 2015
P1501-3-E

Most doctors would likely agree that today’s patients and families are increasingly engaged in their own healthcare. How can physicians support this positive development that may ultimately help improve patient outcomes?

Patient engagement at different levels

Patient engagement is typically viewed as the participation of patients, and often families, in healthcare. It can lead to patients having greater knowledge about their health, a better understanding of healthcare options and the healthcare system, and possibly better outcomes. Engagement can take place at the individual level (the patient’s own health and healthcare), at an organization or institution level, or at the level of the entire healthcare system.

Helping the individual patient

For the individual patient, engagement means taking specific actions to benefit from healthcare. Engaged patients will be more involved than other patients in such activities as searching for appropriate healthcare, communicating with doctors and other providers, becoming informed about their health, actively promoting their own good health using preventative care, making informed treatment decisions, organizing their care, participating in treatment, and planning for end-of-life care.

While some patients are motivated and able to participate and manage their own health, others face barriers. Obstacles include being afraid, or too ill; lacking support from physicians and healthcare providers; or not knowing how to engage effectively or to navigate the different healthcare providers, healthcare organizations, rules, and processes.1 Coaching and education can encourage patients to take a more active role in maintaining and improving their health.

The main approaches to helping patients get engaged are, first, to communicate clearly and effectively, which includes taking time to use active listening techniques (e.g. focusing attention on the speaker, suspending initial judgment, and limiting other internal mental activities) and listen carefully, and second, to actively involve patients in their care. These approaches can help patients and families understand and use health information, and the patient-centred communication can also promote shared decision making.2 Physicians should ensure that patients know to ask questions when something is not clear or when they have concerns. Doctors can also offer information, education, patient decision aids, and encouragement to help patients make informed decisions about care and treatment. Resources can come in different formats, such as printed brochures or relevant online websites.

Determinants such as income and social status, physical environment, and personal health practices and coping skills may play a significant role in a patient’s health. Doctors can help patients understand how these factors affect their health and encourage them to look for ways to change them. For example, a physician may have diabetic patients who need to improve their diet but are finding it difficult because of the financial cost. The physician may make such patients aware of the effect a poor diet is having on their health, and suggest how they could access social support programs that could provide healthier food.

If appropriate, doctors may educate the members of their office staff on patient engagement and explore how they also can offer support. For example, staff may be able to remind patients to bring necessary health records or medications to medical appointments. As well, they may speak with patients about how to obtain test results, get prescription refills, and access medical care outside clinic hours.

In addition, having patients involved when they move from one healthcare setting to the next can make the transition safer. Before the change, physicians can consider asking patients to agree to an action plan with details such as how to prepare for their next step in care, how to manage their conditions, when to call their doctor, and how to promote a healthy lifestyle. In many instances, working with patients and other healthcare providers as part of a team to deliver and ensure continuum of care is relevant.

Patient engagement in healthcare institutions and organizations

For physicians working in hospitals, institutions, or regional health authorities or networks, there are additional opportunities to support patient involvement that go beyond supporting individual patients’ engagement. In these settings, patients, families, and clinicians can partner on projects to improve department-specific or organization-wide matters. Physicians can become familiar with the work of patient councils, children’s advisory councils, or resident and family groups, as appropriate, to support the integration of patient input into specific activities or initiatives.3

There are numerous examples where this patient involvement has had a positive impact on healthcare institutions, such as changes to hospital visiting hours, improved patient waiting areas, better patient education materials, new safety programs such as hand hygiene, and the establishment of condition-specific support programs for patients and families.4 These achievements can often be based on key questions to promote engagement, such as:

  • “What do patients think?”
  • “How do patients wish it had been?”
  • “What are patients’ suggestions?”5

Patients should also be encouraged to participate in quality improvement reviews where failures in the healthcare system result in patient safety incidents. The patient’s and family’s perspectives on what occurred can be important to the success of these reviews.

Speaking up in healthcare institutions may not always be easy for patients and families. Some find it hard to share their ideas or to talk about difficult experiences. Key patient attributes that facilitate patient involvement in safety programs, for example, include health literacy, willingness to speak up when confronted with unsafe situations, and ability to recognize error-prone situations.6 As a result, healthcare providers seeking patient engagement must establish an atmosphere of caring and mutual trust.

Opportunities for patient engagement in the broad healthcare system

Increasingly, patients are becoming involved at the broader healthcare system level. Many take on advisory roles to positively impact the care in their community. Participation at this level can include helping to redesign care, develop policies, or formulate major system changes. In these settings, patients are more engaged in advocating for the health of their communities, helping others navigate the healthcare system, and advancing health equity.7 Patient participation may also be geared toward setting priorities, informing resource allocation, and playing a role in governance. In certain medical faculties, patients and family representatives provide advice on the development of future physicians and collaborative practice.

At the system level, the ongoing challenge is for healthcare leaders and other decision makers to determine how to truly engage the population, how to ensure fair representation on committees, and whether the patients involved are acting in a consultative or decision-making capacity.

The bottom line

Physicians can support patients’ engagement in their healthcare by clearly communicating health information and by actively encouraging and inviting patients to be involved. Improved engagement can ultimately lead to better outcomes for patients.




References

  1. Center for Advancing Health, “What is patient engagement?” 2014. Accessed October 17, 2014 from: http://cfah.org/engagement/
  2. Brown, S.J., “Patient-centred communications,” Annual Review of Nursing Research (1997) Vol. 17, p.85-104
  3. Second Annual National Forum on Patient Experience. (2014). Key challenges and solutions in patient experience.
  4. Krames Staywell. (2013). “Creating successful patient engagement within your ACO.” Retrieved on October 7, 2014 from: http://www.kramesstaywell.com/docs/white-papers/aco-white-paper-oct-2013.pdf?sfvrsn=2
  5. Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement. (2014). Patient and family engagement webinar series. See information at: http://www.cfhi-fcass.ca/Elearning/OnCall/patientengagementseries2014
  6. Buetow, S., Davis, R., Callaghan, K., Dovey, S., “What attributes of patients affect their involvement in safety? A key opinion leaders’ perspective,” BMJ Open (2013) Vol. 3, e003104
  7. Regional Primary Care Coalition, “Patient Engagement: A Framework for Improving Health and Lowering Cost, June 2012.” Accessed on October 17, 2014 from: http://www.regionalprimarycare.org/assets/rpcc_patient_engagement.FINAL_.07.2012-2.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Ce que signifie pour les médecins d’appuyer l’engagement des patients

Publié initialement en mars 2015
P1501-3-F

La plupart des médecins s’accordent volontiers à dire qu’aujourd’hui, les patients, tout comme leurs familles, participent de plus en plus à leurs propres soins de santé. La question est donc de savoir comment les médecins peuvent encourager cette évolution positive susceptible d’améliorer le résultat des soins pour les patients.

Engagement des patients à différents niveaux

L’engagement des patients est généralement vu comme la participation des patients, et dans bien des cas de leur famille, aux soins de santé. Il peut non seulement se traduire par une meilleure compréhension de leur état de santé, des choix de traitement offerts et du système de soins, mais aussi peut-être par une amélioration des résultats cliniques escomptés. Il peut aussi se produire tant au niveau individuel, à savoir la santé et les soins d’un patient en particulier, qu’aux niveaux de l’organisation et de l’établissement ou à celui du système de santé dans son ensemble.

Aider chaque patient

L’engagement au niveau individuel se manifeste par des mesures concrètes que chaque patient prend pour tirer le meilleur parti des soins de santé qui lui sont prodigués. Cela se traduira notamment par une participation accrue de ces patients à des activités telles que la recherche de soins de santé appropriés, la communication avec des médecins et d’autres professionnels de la santé, la collecte d’informations sur leur état de santé, la promotion active d’une bonne santé par l’utilisation de soins préventifs, la prise de décisions thérapeutiques éclairées, l’organisation des soins, la participation au traitement ou encore la planification des soins de fin de vie.

Si certains patients sont motivés et capables de participer à leurs soins et de gérer leur propre santé, d’autres font face à des obstacles. On peut notamment citer le fait d’avoir peur, d’être trop malade, de ne pas savoir comment participer de manière efficace ou comment aborder les différents intervenants, les organisations, règles et procédures, ou encore l’absence de soutien de la part des médecins et professionnels de la santé.1 Encadrement et éducation peuvent encourager les patients à jouer un rôle plus actif dans le maintien et l’amélioration de leur état de santé.

Les principales approches consistent à communiquer de manière claire et efficace, à prendre le temps d’utiliser des techniques d’écoute active et attentive comme focaliser son attention sur l’interlocuteur, à ne pas porter de jugement hâtif et à freiner toute autre activité mentale, mais également à faire participer activement les patients à leurs propres soins. Ces approches peuvent aider les patients et leurs familles à comprendre et à utiliser les informations relatives à la santé. Par ailleurs, une communication centrée sur le patient peut également favoriser la prise de décision partagée.2 Les médecins devraient encourager les patients à poser des questions lorsqu’ils souhaitent des précisions ou qu’ils ont des préoccupations. Les médecins peuvent également offrir à leurs patients de l’information, de l’éducation, des outils d’aide à la décision et les encourager à prendre des décisions éclairées sur leurs soins et traitements. Il existe des ressources sous différentes formes : dépliants ou sites internet pertinents.

Les revenus, le statut social, l’environnement physique, les pratiques de santé individuelles et les habiletés d’adaptation peuvent également jouer un rôle déterminant dans l’état de santé d’un patient. Les médecins peuvent aider les patients à comprendre comment ces facteurs affectent leur santé et les inciter à chercher des moyens d’agir sur ces facteurs. Par exemple, certains patients diabétiques éprouvent des difficultés financières à appliquer les recommandations diététiques de leur médecin. Les médecins peuvent avertir ces patients des effets d’une mauvaise alimentation sur leur santé et leur suggérer de bénéficier des programmes d’aide sociale qui leur fourniraient une alimentation plus saine.

Le cas échéant, les médecins peuvent éduquer le personnel de leur cabinet sur la participation des patients et déterminer quel soutien peut être offert. Le personnel pourrait notamment rappeler aux patients d’apporter à leur visite médicale des pièces requises au dossier ou des médicaments. De même, ils pourraient informer les patients sur l’obtention des résultats d’examen, le renouvellement d’ordonnances, ou encore l’obtention de soins médicaux en dehors des heures d’ouverture de la clinique.

Par ailleurs, le transfert des soins peut être plus sécuritaire lorsque les patients participent à leurs propres soins. Avant le transfert, les médecins peuvent demander aux patients d’accepter un plan d’action détaillant les préparatifs nécessaires à la prochaine étape, la gestion de leur problème de santé, les motifs justifiant de téléphoner au médecin et les saines habitudes de vie à adopter. Dans de nombreux cas, il est pertinent de faire équipe avec les patients et d’autres professionnels de la santé afin de prodiguer les soins et d’en assurer la continuité.

L’engagement des patients dans les établissements et organisations de santé

Les médecins qui exercent au sein des hôpitaux, des établissements, ou des autorités ou réseaux de santé régionaux peuvent découvrir d’autres occasions de soutenir la participation des patients. Ces contextes permettent aux patients, à leurs familles et aux cliniciens de s’associer pour améliorer un service en particulier ou l’ensemble de l’organisation. Il est suggéré aux médecins de se familiariser avec le travail des conseils de patients ou leurs représentants, ou le cas échéant, celui des groupes de résidents ou des familles de patients pour appuyer l’intégration de l’apport des patients à certaines activités et initiatives.3

La participation des patients a déjà démontré son influence positive sur les établissements de santé et notamment sur le plan des heures de visites, des zones d’attente, du matériel éducatif destiné aux patients, des programmes d’hygiène et de sécurité (lavage des mains) et de l’établissement de programmes de soutien aux patients et leurs familles ciblant certaines pathologies.4 Ces résultats peuvent souvent s’appuyer sur des questionnements clés visant à promouvoir l’engagement, telles que :

  • « Qu’est-ce que les patients pensent? »
  • « Comment les patients souhaiteraient-ils que les choses se passent? »
  • « Quelles sont les suggestions des patients? »5

Les patients devraient également être encouragés à participer aux évaluations en matière d’amélioration de la qualité lorsque des défaillances dans le système de soins ont entraîné des incidents ou des accidents pour la sécurité des patients. La prise en considération de la perspective des patients et de leur famille peut conditionner la réussite de ces évaluations.

Toutefois, il n’est pas toujours facile pour les patients et leurs familles de faire part de leur opinion au sein des établissements de santé. Certains d’entre eux trouvent difficile d’exprimer leurs idées ou de parler d’expériences douloureuses. Ainsi, les facteurs clés liés au patient qui favorisent sa participation aux programmes de sécurité, par exemple, comprennent : niveau de littératie en santé, volonté de s’exprimer dans les situations non sécuritaires et capacité de reconnaître les situations à risque.6 Par conséquent, les professionnels de la santé qui souhaitent l’engagement de leur patient doivent établir une atmosphère d’empathie et de confiance mutuelle.

Occasions d’engagement des patients dans le système de santé dans son ensemble

Les patients s’investissent de plus en plus au niveau du système de santé en général. De nombreux patients assument des rôles consultatifs ayant pour but d’influer positivement sur les soins dans leur communauté. Cette participation se traduit notamment par de l’aide pour repenser les soins, élaborer des politiques ou proposer d’importants changements au système. Dans ces contextes, les patients sont davantage engagés pour promouvoir la santé dans leurs communautés, aider d’autres patients à s’orienter dans le système de soins, et faire progresser l’équité en matière de santé.7 La participation des patients peut être orientée sur l’établissement de priorités, l’allocation des ressources ou encore jouer un rôle de gouvernance. Dans certaines facultés, des représentants des patients et de leur famille peuvent fournir des conseils sur la formation des futurs médecins et la collaboration interprofessionnelle.

Au niveau du système, les leaders et autres décideurs du domaine de la santé doivent relever un défi permanent qui consiste à établir les moyens de véritablement faire participer la population, à s’assurer d’une représentation équitable des patients au sein des comités, et à déterminer si les patients engagés agissent à titre consultatif ou décisionnel.

En bref

Les médecins peuvent soutenir l’engagement des patients dans leurs soins de santé en communiquant clairement les informations de santé et en encourageant et en invitant les patients à s’engager. Un engagement accru peut améliorer le résultat clinique des patients.




Références

  1. Center for Advancing Health, « What is patient engagement? » 2014. Consulté le 26 janvier 2015. http://cfah.org/engagement/
  2. Brown, S.J., « Patient-centred communications »,
    Annual Review of Nursing Research (1997), vol. 17, pp. 85-104.
  3. Second Annual National Forum on Patient Experience. (2014).
    Key challenges and solutions in patient experience.
  4. Krames Staywell. (2013). « Creating successful patient engagement within your ACO ». Consulté le 26 janvier 2015.
    http://www.kramesstaywell.com/docs/white-papers/aco-white-paper-oct-2013.pdf?sfvrsn=2
  5. Fondation canadienne pour l’amélioration des services de santé. (2014) Série de wébinaires sur la participation du patient et de la famille.
    Pour plus d’informations, consulter http://www.cfhi-fcass.ca/Elearning/OnCall/patientengagementseries2014.
  6. Buetow, S., Davis, R., Callaghan, K., Dovey, S., « What attributes of patients affect their involvement in safety? A key opinion leaders’ perspective »,
    BMJ Open (2013) vol. 3 : e003104.
  7. Regional Primary Care Coalition, « Patient Engagement : A Framework for Improving Health and Lowering Cost », juin 2012. Consulté le 26 janvier 2015.
    http://www.regionalprimarycare.org/assets/rpcc_patient_engagement.FINAL_.07.2012-2.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.