Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Videoconferencing consultation: When is it the right choice?

Originally published October 2015
W15-005-E

Infographic: #eHealth– 8 things providers should know when using eCommunications

According to the 2014 National Physician Survey, 25% of physicians are using telehealth or telemedicine technologies in their practice. Of those, 30% are using it for consultations, 28.7% for following up with patients, 18.6% for treatment, and 23.6% for ongoing management.1

Videoconferencing is one of many telemedicine tools currently available. It can be an optimal method for providing care to patients at a distance. Despite its efficiency and convenience, physicians must still exercise professional judgment to determine when it is appropriate to provide care virtually and when an in-person consultation with their patient is necessary or desirable.

Electronic methods of communicating and interacting with patients and colleagues, including videoconferencing, are being used to deliver healthcare in urban centres as wells as remote rural regions of Canada. Noteworthy telemedicine networks include the Yukon Telehealth Network, the Nova Scotia Telehealth Network, Telehealth Saskatchewan, Alberta Telehealth, Réseau Universitaire Intégré de Santé (RUIS) in Québec, and the Ontario Telehealth Network, the latter being one of the largest telemedicine networks in the world. Patients benefit from electronic communication and interaction in many areas, including mental healthcare, occupational and speech therapy, discharge planning, chronic disease management, homecare, addictions counselling, follow-up visits, and some consultations.

Physicians who use videoconferencing as a method to provide care in their practice should consider the unique circumstances of each patient, including his or her clinical needs, and decide whether or not videoconferencing is appropriate in those circumstances.

Physicians should also be familiar with their medical regulatory authorities’ (Colleges’) position on the use of videoconferencing consultations. Generally, Colleges recommend physicians use their professional judgment to determine whether a videoconference consultation is appropriate in a particular circumstance, and whether it will enable physicians to meet the standard of care. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia advises physicians to "…explain the appropriateness and limitations of technology-based patient consultation and consider whether a physical examination is necessary…"2

Appropriate prescribing of medication

As with all prescribing, the Colleges expect physicians in a videoconference consultation to follow professional guidelines and policies when considering a prescription for a patient, such as taking an appropriate patient history, and being aware of the patient’s current medications and allergies. These activities are particularly important when physicians are prescribing medications to new patients whom they have never personally examined or patients with a history of substance abuse. Physicians should also exercise caution when prescribing opioids and other controlled substances, and should familiarize themselves with their College’s policy on prescribing these medications.

In one example from a closed CMPA case, a physician provided telemedicine care to a new patient and omitted to take an adequate patient history before prescribing alprazolam, a potentially addictive drug. The prescription was faxed to a pharmacist, who subsequently filed a College complaint against the physician for improperly prescribing a medication with the potential for addiction and abuse, and for not checking the patient’s medical profile. The College was critical of the physician’s decision to prescribe the alprazolam to a new patient seen in a telemedicine setting in the absence of an adequate patient history and profile. The College cautioned the physician. It also recommended enrollment in a prescribers’ course and a review of its telehealth services standards.

Limitations of videoconferencing

When considering videoconferencing, physicians should also consider the privacy offered by the physical locations. Whether providing care in-person or electronically, physicians must protect patients’ personal health information. Patient confidentiality can be compromised if the physician’s and patient’s locations do not offer adequate privacy. Both individuals should be located in a private setting where the patient can comfortably share confidential information and where the physician can provide advice and assess the patient.

Technical limitations, such as low bandwidth, poor screen resolution, or unsecure networks and portals can also affect the quality of care physicians can provide via videoconferencing and compromise patients’ privacy. Inexpensive and readily-available hardware and software may facilitate videoconferencing, but lead to greater technical limitations. Physicians should avoid using videoconferencing if the standard of care or the physicians’ obligation to protect patient privacy and confidentiality cannot be met.

In two other CMPA videoconferencing cases resulting in a negative outcome, plastic surgeons used Skype to examine patients who had received Botox and filler injections. The physicians never saw the patients in person, though the patients had previously been examined by a nurse to whom the physicians delegated the assessment and treatment. The Skype examination took place after the treatment when the patients complained of poor results, complications, and inadequate follow up with the nurse. The patients later complained to the College. In both these particular cases, the College determined that a skin assessment could not be done adequately via videoconferencing and that Skype did not meet the security standards for telemedicine. The plastic surgeons were also cautioned about appropriate delegation and supervision.

Licensing considerations

Before engaging in videoconferencing consultations with a patient in a different province or territory, physicians should consider whether they have met the licensing requirements applicable to the consultation. Telemedicine licensing requirements vary for each province and territory. Some physicians practising telemedicine might need to be licensed in both the jurisdiction in which they are located and the jurisdiction where the patient is located. Some Canadian jurisdictions may also require special registration, or they may place conditions on the provision of such services, or both. Physicians should therefore be familiar with the requirements of each province and territory in which they practise and their patients reside.

Consent for electronic communications

Physicians should manage patients’ expectations with respect to videoconferencing by discussing the limitations and risks involved in such exchanges. They should separately document the patient’s informed consent, specifically noting patient consent to using videoconferencing to communicate potentially sensitive personal health information. Physicians remain responsible for deciding what constitutes sensitive information and how to communicate it. Physicians should also consider asking the patient to sign a consent form like the CMPA’s template "Consent to use electronic communications [PDF, DOC]".3

Risk management considerations

When providing care through electronic means, including via videoconferencing, physicians should remember that their professional obligations remain unchanged. They should consider the following points to manage risk:

  • Be aware of and follow policies and guidelines for telemedicine or eCommunication set by the College and privacy regulator in your jurisdiction, including those on encryption of sensitive information.
  • If a videoconferencing consultation will occur across provincial or territorial boundaries, ensure that you have fulfilled the licensing requirements applicable to the consultation.
  • Ensure reasonable information security safeguards are in place to reduce the risk of privacy breaches.
  • Before an assessment begins, patients must consent to the use of videoconferencing as a method of electronic communication with the physician. You may wish to refer to the CMPA’s "Consent to use electronic communications [PDF, DOC]" form to guide the informed consent discussion. Document both the consent discussion and any written agreement in the patient’s medical record.
  • Ensure that the nature of the consult and the patient’s condition are suitable for videoconferencing.
  • Whether using telemedicine or performing an in-person consultation, conduct an appropriate and complete patient assessment; document the encounter including the specifics of the electronic aspects; and identify the most responsible physician, if multiple providers are involved.
  • When appropriate, have a backup plan in the event of a technical failure. For example, identify an appropriately trained and skilled on-site healthcare provider who can provide assistance, if needed.
  • Be aware of billing requirements in your jurisdiction.

Contact the CMPA

CMPA members are encouraged to contact the CMPA and speak with a medical officer to discuss individual concerns or questions regarding videoconferencing and telemedicine.

Additional reading

 


 

References

  1. National Physician Survey, “National Physician Survey, 2014. National Results by Province.” Retrieved on August 12, 2015 from: http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/2014-ByProvince-TelehealthTelemedicine-EN.pdf
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, “Professional Standards and Guidelines- Telemedicine”, March 2015. Retrieved on May 14, 2015 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Telemedicine.pdf
  3. Canadian Medical Protective Association, Consent to use electronic communications form, 2015. Accessed August 26, 2015 from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/-/new-form-consent-to-use-electronic-communications

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La consultation par vidéoconférence : Quand est-ce le bon choix?

Publié initialement en octobre 2015
W15-005-F

Infographique: #pensezsanténumérique- 8 choses à savoir sur les moyens de communications électroniques

Selon le Sondage national des médecins de 2014, 25 % des médecins utilisent des technologies de télésanté ou de télémédecine dans leur pratique. Sur ce total, 30 % les utilisent pour des consultations, 28,7 %, pour le suivi auprès de patients, 18,6 % pour des traitements et 23,6 % pour la gestion courante1.

La vidéoconférence constitue l’un des nombreux outils de télémédecine actuellement disponibles. Il peut s’agir d’un moyen optimal de prodiguer des soins à des patients éloignés. En dépit de son efficience et de sa commodité, les médecins doivent quand même faire preuve de jugement professionnel pour déterminer quand il convient de prodiguer des soins en mode virtuel et quand il est souhaitable ou nécessaire de voir leur patient en personne.

Les moyens électroniques de communiquer et d’échanger avec des patients et des collègues, y compris la vidéoconférence, servent à prodiguer des soins de santé dans les agglomérations urbaines autant que dans les régions rurales éloignées du Canada. Les réseaux de télémédecine dignes de mention comprennent le Réseau de télésanté du Yukon, le Réseau de télésanté de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Télésanté Saskatchewan, Télésanté Alberta, le Réseau universitaire intégré de santé (RUIS) au Québec et le Réseau de télésanté de l’Ontario, celui ci étant l’un des plus vastes réseaux de télémédecine au monde. Les patients bénéficient de la communication et des échanges électroniques dans de nombreux domaines, y compris les soins de santé mentale, l’ergothérapie et l’orthophonie, la planification du congé, la prise en charge de maladies chroniques, les soins à domicile, le counseling en toxicomanie, les visites de suivi et certaines consultations.

Les médecins qui utilisent la vidéoconférence pour prodiguer des soins dans leur pratique doivent tenir compte de la situation particulière de chaque patient, y compris de ses besoins cliniques, et décider s’il convient de recourir à la vidéoconférence dans la situation en cause.

Les médecins doivent aussi bien connaître la position de leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) au sujet de l’usage de la vidéoconférence dans les consultations. En général, les Collèges recommandent que les médecins fassent preuve de jugement professionnel pour déterminer si une consultation par vidéoconférence convient dans une situation en particulier et si elle permettra aux médecins de se conformer à la norme de pratique. Le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique, par exemple, conseille aux médecins « …d’expliquer la pertinence et la limite des consultations assurées par des moyens technologiques et de se demander si un examen physique s’impose…2 »

Prescription appropriée de médicaments

Comme pour toute prescription, les Collèges s’attendent à ce que les médecins qui utilisent la vidéoconférence pour une consultation suivent les lignes directrices et les politiques de la profession lorsqu’ils envisagent de rédiger une ordonnance pour un patient, comme l’établissement d’une anamnèse appropriée, et à ce qu’ils connaissent les médicaments que le patient prend ainsi que ses allergies. Ces activités sont particulièrement importantes lorsque les médecins prescrivent des médicaments à de nouveaux patients qu’ils n’ont jamais examinés personnellement, ou à des patients qui ont déjà abusé de substances. Les médecins doivent aussi être prudents lorsqu’ils prescrivent des opioïdes et d’autres substances réglementées et bien connaître la politique de leur Collège sur la prescription de ces médicaments.

Dans un exemple tiré d’un dossier conclu de l’ACPM, un médecin a prodigué des soins par télémédecine à un nouveau patient et a oublié de bien recueillir l’anamnèse avant de prescrire de l’alprazolam, médicament pouvant être toxicomanogène. L’ordonnance a été télécopiée à un pharmacien qui a déposé par la suite une plainte au Collège contre le médecin parce que ce dernier avait indûment prescrit un médicament comportant des risques de toxicomanie et d’abus et qu’il n’avait pas vérifié le profil médical du patient. Le Collège a critiqué la décision du médecin de prescrire de l’alprazolam à un nouveau patient vu en contexte de télémédecine, sans disposer de l’anamnèse et du profil adéquats du patient. Le Collège a admonesté le médecin. Il a aussi recommandé à celui-ci de suivre un cours pour les prescripteurs et de revoir les normes du Collège sur les services de télésanté.

Limites de la vidéoconférence

Lorsqu’ils envisagent de recourir à la vidéoconférence, les médecins doivent aussi réfléchir à la protection de la vie privée qu’offrent les lieux physiques. Qu’ils prodiguent des soins en personne ou par voie électronique, les médecins doivent protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé de leurs patients. Le caractère confidentiel des renseignements sur les patients peut être compromis si les locaux du médecin et ceux du patient ne protègent pas adéquatement la vie privée. Les deux personnes doivent se trouver dans un endroit privé où le patient peut communiquer confortablement des renseignements confidentiels et où le médecin peut donner des conseils et évaluer le patient.

Des limites techniques, comme une bande passante basse, une mauvaise résolution d’écran ou des réseaux et des portails non protégés, peuvent aussi avoir des répercussions sur la qualité des soins que les médecins peuvent prodiguer par vidéoconférence et compromettre la vie privée des patients. Du matériel et des logiciels peu coûteux et faciles d’accès peuvent faciliter les vidéoconférences mais imposer des limites techniques plus importantes. Les médecins doivent éviter d’utiliser la vidéoconférence s’ils ne peuvent se conformer à la norme de pratique ou à leur obligation de protéger la vie privée des patients et le caractère confidentiel des renseignements à leur sujet.

Dans deux autres dossiers de l’ACPM portant sur la vidéoconférence et ayant eu un résultat défavorable, des chirurgiens plasticiens ont utilisé Skype pour examiner des patientes qui avaient reçu des injections de Botox et d’agents de remplissage. Les médecins n’avaient jamais vu les patientes en personne, même si elles avaient été examinées auparavant par une infirmière à qui les médecins avaient délégué l’évaluation et le traitement. L’examen par Skype a eu lieu après le traitement, lorsque les patientes se sont plaintes de résultats médiocres, de complications et du manque de suivi par l’infirmière. Les patientes se sont plaintes par la suite au Collège. Dans ces deux dossiers en particulier, le Collège a déterminé que la vidéoconférence ne permettait pas d’évaluer adéquatement la peau et que Skype ne répondait pas aux normes de sécurité en matière de télémédecine. Les chirurgiens plasticiens ont aussi reçu une mise en garde au sujet de la délégation et de la surveillance appropriées.

Facteurs liés au permis d’exercice

Avant de procéder à des consultations par vidéoconférence mettant en cause des patients d’une autre province ou d’un autre territoire, les médecins doivent se demander s’ils ont satisfait aux exigences de leur permis d’exercice qui s’appliquent à la consultation. Les exigences relatives au permis d’exercice en télémédecine varient selon la province et le territoire. Des médecins pratiquant la télémédecine pourraient avoir besoin d’un permis d’exercice à la fois dans l’administration où ils se trouvent et dans celle du patient. Il se peut que des provinces ou territoires exigent une autorisation spéciale ou imposent des conditions à la prestation de tels services, ou les deux. Les médecins doivent donc bien connaître les exigences de chaque province et territoire où ils pratiquent et où habitent leurs patients.

Consentement aux communications électroniques

Les médecins doivent gérer les attentes des patients à l’égard de la vidéoconférence en discutant des limites et des risques liés à de tels échanges. Ils doivent documenter séparément le consentement éclairé du patient en notant spécifiquement que le patient consent à utiliser la vidéoconférence pour communiquer des renseignements personnels sur sa santé qui peuvent être de nature délicate. Il incombe toujours aux médecins de décider quels renseignements sont de nature délicate et de déterminer la façon de les communiquer. Les médecins doivent aussi envisager de demander aux patients de signer un formulaire de consentement comme le modèle de l’ACPM, Consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique [PDF, DOC]3.

Facteurs liés à la gestion des risques

Lorsqu’ils prodiguent des soins par des moyens électroniques, y compris la vidéoconférence, les médecins doivent se rappeler que leurs obligations professionnelles ne changent pas. Ils doivent tenir compte des points suivants pour gérer les risques :

  • Il importe de connaître et d’appliquer les politiques et les lignes directrices sur la télémédecine ou les communications électroniques établies par le Collège et l’entité de réglementation de la vie privée dans leur province ou territoire, y compris celles qui portent sur le chiffrement des renseignements de nature délicate.
  • Si une consultation par vidéoconférence franchit des frontières provinciales ou territoriales, il faut s’assurer de satisfaire aux exigences du permis d’exercice qui s’appliquent à la consultation.
  • Il faut veiller à ce que des mesures raisonnables de protection de la sécurité de l’information soient en place pour réduire le risque d’atteinte à la vie privée.
  • Avant le début d’une évaluation, les patients doivent consentir à l’utilisation de la vidéoconférence comme moyen de communiquer électroniquement avec les médecins. Les médecins voudront peut-être consulter le formulaire de l’ACPM Consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique [PDF, DOC] pour guider la discussion sur le consentement éclairé. Il faut documenter dans le dossier médical du patient à la fois la discussion sur le consentement et toute entente écrite.
  • Il faut s’assurer que la nature de la consultation et que l’état du patient se prêtent à la vidéoconférence.
  • Que les médecins utilisent la télémédecine ou qu’ils reçoivent le patient en personne, il faut effectuer une évaluation appropriée et complète du patient, documenter le contact, y compris les détails des aspects électroniques, et identifier le médecin qui est le premier responsable, si de multiples professionnels interviennent.
  • Le cas échéant, il faut prévoir un plan de secours en cas de panne technique. Par exemple, identifier un professionnel de la santé sur place qui a la formation et les compétences spécialisées nécessaires et qui peut aider au besoin.
  • Il faut être au courant des exigences de votre province ou territoire au sujet de la facturation.

Communiquer avec l’ACPM

Les membres de l’ACPM sont invités à communiquer avec l’Association et à discuter avec un médecin-conseil de préoccupations ou de questions particulières au sujet de la vidéoconférence et de la télémédecine.

Lectures supplémentaires

 


 

Références

  1. Sondage national des médecins « Sondage national des médecins 2014. Résultats nationaux par province ». Consulté le 12 août 2015. http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/2014-ByProvince-TelehealthTelemedicine-FR.pdf
  2. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique, « Professional Standards and Guidelines – Telemedicine (mars 2015). Consulté le 14 mai 2015. https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Telemedicine.pdf
  3. Association canadienne de protection médicale, Consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique, 2015. Consulté le 26 août 2015. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/-/new-form-consent-to-use-electronic-communications

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.