Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

When common symptoms resemble rare and serious conditions

Originally published September 2015
P1504-2-E

Think of horses, and not zebras, whenever you hear hoof beats. Physicians know that this saying can be a helpful reminder when formulating a diagnosis of common medical conditions. But problems may arise in arriving at a diagnosis for some serious, but rare, medical conditions when the patient’s initial symptoms resemble those of more common and less serious conditions.

The CMPA has found that missed or delayed diagnosis of serious medical conditions is often related to one or more of the following factors:

  • inadequate history and physical examination, especially in situations of multiple patient visits;
  • cognitive biases; and
  • deficiencies in the system of care.

These are sources of significant risk for both patient and healthcare provider.

Case example: Symptoms not indicative of serious medical condition

A middle-aged man presents to a walk-in-clinic complaining of a sore throat and vomiting that started the previous day. He informs the family physician that he has been taking nonsteroidal anti-inflammatories for several months since undergoing hip surgery. The physician examines the patient and notes inflammation and slight swelling of his left ear and the left side of his neck below the ear. There is no evidence of cuts, punctures, or bruises. She confirms normal vital signs and believes the patient is in no acute distress. The physician diagnoses cellulitis and prescribes an oral antibiotic. She instructs him to return to the emergency department if there is no improvement within 24–48 hours or if his condition deteriorates.

The patient returns home, takes one dose of antibiotic and goes to bed. He dies during the night. The cause of death is acute necrotizing myofasciitis of the soft tissues of the neck. The patient’s family initiates a medical regulatory authority (College) complaint alleging the family physician failed to recognize the signs of a possibly serious infection.

The College supported the care in this case. The College did not fault the family physician for failing to make the correct diagnosis, recognizing that necrotizing fasciitis is an uncommon and rapidly progressing condition, and that the patient’s symptoms were not specifically indicative of the condition. It also concluded that the diagnosis of cellulitis and the recommended treatment were reasonable based on the patient’s presenting symptoms and signs. The physician’s documentation of her care and instructions to the patient helped enable the College to assess the rationale for her treatment and follow-up plan.

 

Cognitive biases can impact arriving at a diagnosis

Cognitive biases are distortions and short-cuts in thinking and may interfere with reaching a correct diagnosis. Types of cognitive biases include the following:

  • anchoring – focusing on one particular symptom, sign, piece of information, or a particular diagnosis, and failing to consider other possibilities
  • premature closure – uncritically accepting an initial diagnosis and failing to search for information to challenge the provisional diagnosis or to consider other diagnoses
  • zebra retreat – backing away from a rare or uncommon diagnosis
  • diagnostic momentum – sticking to a diagnostic label of a patient without adequate evidence
  • attribution error – explaining the condition of patients on the basis of their disposition or character rather than seeking a valid explanation
  • authority bias – agreeing with the “expert”
  • availability heuristic – overemphasizing a recent or vivid patient diagnosis when assessing the probability of a current diagnosis

Lessons from medical-legal cases

A review of recently closed CMPA medical-legal cases over a five-year period identified 211 cases that were associated with serious, often acute, medical conditions. These included necrotizing fasciitis, brain or spinal epidural abscess, infective endocarditis, tuberculosis, and aortic aneurysm. Nearly two-thirds of the patients in these cases had severe clinical outcomes, including death and catastrophic or major disability. The physicians involved included emergency physicians, family physicians, and internists, as well as general surgeons and vascular, orthopaedic and neurosurgeons.

Forty-four per cent of the cases resulted in unfavourable medical-legal outcomes, usually related to a missed or delayed diagnosis. In the remainder of the cases, experts were generally supportive because they recognized the condition as difficult to diagnose. They were also supportive when documentation reflected the rationale for the working diagnosis and the treatment plan.

In the cases with a diagnostic issue, the great majority were associated with inadequate assessment and investigation. This was attributed to the physician’s failure to:

  • recognize that symptoms and signs were related to a potentially serious condition
  • consider the condition in the differential diagnosis
  • appreciate the significance, severity, or worsening of the patient’s condition
  • review the medical record, thereby missing pertinent information
  • refer to a specialist or transfer to a tertiary centre
  • attend to the patient in a timely manner despite being notified of changes in his or her condition
  • reconsider the diagnostic assumption when the patient returned for multiple visits with unresolved concerns

System factors also contributed to diagnostic delay in some cases: deficient communication between physicians or with other healthcare team members (mostly about changes in the patient’s condition), and inadequate follow-up of test results.

Inadequate documentation was identified in some of the cases: missing details of the physical examination, including positive or pertinent negative findings; absence of a differential diagnosis; or failing to document the advice given to the patient.

Risk management considerations

Physicians should remain vigilant to patients who have conditions that do not resolve as expected with treatment, who have symptoms that persist, or who do not look well despite negative investigative findings. Consider the following risk management actions, which are based on expert opinions:

  • Review all key elements of the patient’s medical record, for example, paramedic and nursing notes, emergency department notes, earlier entries, vital signs, test results, and consultation reports before establishing a diagnosis or starting treatment.
  • Provide the opportunity for the patient to fully express his or her current health concerns.
  • Incorporate clinical pathways, clinical practice guidelines, or decision tools as appropriate.
  • Consider whether additional diagnostic tests or consultations are necessary to establish or confirm the diagnosis.
  • Consider whether cognitive biases are influencing your ability to arrive at a final diagnosis.
  • For patients with continued or worsening symptoms or those who repeatedly return with unresolved complaints, re-evaluate the diagnostic assumption, repeat the physical examination, and consider alternative diagnoses, ruling out possibilities that may be life threatening.
  • Review investigative findings to ensure they correspond with the clinical impression and arrange appropriate follow-up to investigate any discrepancy.
  • Ensure protocols are in place to enable the timely receipt, effective review, and appropriate management and follow-up of investigative tests.
  • Fully record relevant information in the patient’s medical record, ensuring it reflects the medical history (including symptoms and co-morbidities), the physical examination, the investigative results, the differential diagnosis, and the rationale for the treatment plan and follow-up. Entries should be contemporaneous and written clearly and legibly.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Symptômes courants ou pathologie rare et grave?

Publié initialement en septembre 2015
P1504-2-F

« Quand vous entendez un bruit de galop, pensez à des chevaux plutôt qu’à des zèbres ».1 Les médecins savent que ce dicton peut constituer un rappel utile lorsqu’ils diagnostiquent des pathologies courantes. Il peut toutefois être difficile de diagnostiquer des problèmes graves, mais rares, lorsque les premiers symptômes du patient ressemblent à ceux de pathologies plus courantes mais moins graves.

L’ACPM a constaté que le diagnostic erroné ou tardif de pathologies graves est souvent lié à un ou plusieurs des facteurs suivants :

  • anamnèse et examen physique inadéquats (particulièrement lorsque le patient consulte plusieurs fois);
  • biais cognitifs;
  • lacunes du système de santé.

Ces éléments représentent des risques importants, tant pour le patient que pour le professionnel de la santé.

Exemple de cas : Des symptômes non révélateurs

Un homme d’âge moyen se présente à une clinique sans rendez-vous en se plaignant d’avoir mal à la gorge et de vomir depuis la veille. Il informe l’omnipraticienne qu’il prend des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens depuis plusieurs mois, à la suite d’une intervention chirurgicale à la hanche. L’omnipraticienne examine le patient et note une inflammation et un léger œdème à l’oreille gauche, ainsi qu’au côté gauche du cou sous l’oreille; il n’y a aucun signe de coupure, de perforation ou de contusion. Elle confirme que les signes vitaux sont normaux et croit que le patient n’est pas en détresse aiguë. Elle diagnostique une cellulite, prescrit un antibiotique oral et dit au patient de se rendre à l’urgence si son état ne s’améliore pas dans les 24 à 48 heures ou si son problème s’aggrave.

Le patient rentre chez lui, prend une dose d’antibiotique et se couche. Il meurt au cours de la nuit. Cause du décès : myofasciite nécrosante aiguë des tissus mous du cou. La famille du patient porte plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège), alléguant que l’omnipraticienne n’a pas reconnu les signes d’une infection qui pouvait être grave.

Le Collège a appuyé les soins prodigués dans ce dossier. Il n’a pas reproché à l’omnipraticienne de ne pas avoir posé le bon diagnostic, reconnaissant que la fasciite nécrosante est rare et évolue rapidement, et que les symptômes du patient n’étaient pas spécifiquement révélateurs du problème. Le Collège a conclu aussi que le diagnostic de cellulite et le traitement recommandé étaient raisonnables compte tenu des signes et symptômes constatés chez le patient. Le fait que le médecin avait bien documenté au dossier les soins prodigués et les instructions données au patient a aidé le Collège à évaluer la justification de son plan de traitement et de suivi.

 

Les biais cognitifs : leur effet sur le diagnostic

Les biais cognitifs sont des déviations et des raccourcis de la réflexion qui peuvent nuire à l’établissement du bon diagnostic :

  • ancrage – concentrer son attention sur un symptôme, signe, élément d’information ou diagnostic en particulier et ne pas tenir compte d’autres possibilités;
  • conclusion prématurée – accepter sans réserve un diagnostic initial et ne pas chercher à s’informer pour remettre en question le diagnostic provisoire ou envisager d’autres diagnostics;
  • concept du zèbre – le fait de s’éloigner d’un diagnostic rare ou peu courant;
  • élan diagnostique – s’en tenir à un diagnostic chez un patient sans avoir d’éléments de preuve suffisants;
  • erreur d’attribution – expliquer le problème des patients en fonction de leur prédisposition ou de leur personnalité au lieu de chercher une explication valable;
  • soumission à l’autorité – éviter d’être en désaccord avec « l’expert »;
  • heuristique de disponibilité – mettre excessivement l’accent sur un diagnostic récent ou frappant dans l’évaluation de la probabilité d’un diagnostic courant.

Leçons retenues

Une analyse de dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM conclus récemment sur une période de cinq ans a révélé 211 cas associés à des problèmes médicaux graves, souvent aigus : fasciite nécrosante, abcès cérébral ou abcès rachidien épidural, endocardite infectieuse, tuberculose et anévrisme de l’aorte, notamment. Presque deux tiers de ces patients ont eu des résultats cliniques graves, y compris la mort et une incapacité physique catastrophique ou majeure. Les médecins en cause comprenaient des urgentologues, des omnipraticiens, des internistes, des chirurgiens généraux, des chirurgiens vasculaires et orthopédistes ainsi que des neurochirurgiens.

Quarante-quatre pour cent des cas ont donné lieu à un résultat médico-légal défavorable, habituellement lié à un diagnostic erroné ou posé en retard. Dans les autres cas, les experts ont en général accordé leur appui parce qu’ils ont reconnu que le problème était difficile à diagnostiquer. Ils ont fait de même lorsque la documentation faisait état du raisonnement du diagnostic provisoire et du plan de traitement.

Les dossiers où le diagnostic a constitué un problème étaient en grande majorité liés à des lacunes dans l’évaluation et l’investigation, qu’on a attribuées au fait que le médecin n’a pas :

  • reconnu que les signes et symptômes étaient liés à un problème potentiellement grave;
  • tenu compte du problème dans son diagnostic différentiel;
  • compris l’importance, la gravité ou la détérioration de l’état du patient;
  • passé en revue le dossier médical, manquant ainsi des renseignements pertinents;
  • dirigé le patient vers un spécialiste ou transféré le patient à un centre de soins tertiaires;
  • traité le patient en temps opportun même après avoir été informé du changement dans son état;
  • reconsidéré l’hypothèse diagnostique lorsque le patient est revenu consulter plusieurs fois pour des problèmes non réglés.

Des facteurs systémiques ont aussi contribué au retard dans l’établissement du diagnostic dans certains dossiers : lacunes dans les communications entre les médecins ou avec d’autres membres de l’équipe soignante (surtout au sujet des changements dans l’état du patient), et suivi inadéquat des résultats de tests.

Une documentation inadéquate a été citée dans certains des dossiers : détails manquants sur l’examen physique, y compris des résultats positifs ou négatifs pertinents; absence de diagnostic différentiel; non-documentation des conseils donnés aux patients.

Gestion des risques

Les médecins doivent demeurer vigilants à l’endroit des patients dont les problèmes ne se résorbent pas comme prévu avec le traitement, dont les symptômes persistent ou qui n’ont pas l’air bien même si les tests donnent des résultats négatifs. Pensez aux mesures suivantes de gestion des risques, qui sont fondées sur les avis d’experts :

  • passer en revue tous les éléments clés du dossier médical du patient, par exemple, les notes du personnel paramédical et infirmier, celles du service d’urgence, les notes antérieures, les signes vitaux, les résultats de tests et les rapports de consultation avant de poser un diagnostic et d’entreprendre un traitement;
  • permettre au patient de décrire au complet ses problèmes de santé courants;
  • intégrer les cheminements cliniques, les guides de pratique clinique ou les outils d’aide à la décision, le cas échéant;
  • se demander si d’autres tests diagnostiques ou consultations s’imposent pour poser ou confirmer le diagnostic;
  • se demander si des biais cognitifs jouent sur la capacité de poser un diagnostic final;
  • dans le cas des patients dont les symptômes persistent ou s’aggravent, ou qui se présentent de nouveau avec des plaintes non réglées, réévaluer l’hypothèse diagnostique, répéter l’examen physique et envisager d’autres diagnostics en excluant les possibilités qui peuvent mettre la vie en danger;
  • revoir les résultats des investigations pour veiller à ce qu’ils correspondent à l’impression clinique et organiser un suivi approprié pour analyser sur tout écart;
  • s’assurer que des protocoles sont en place pour permettre de recevoir les résultats d’examens en temps opportun, de les passer en revue efficacement et de les gérer comme il se doit et d’y donner suite;
  • consigner tous les renseignements pertinents dans le dossier médical du patient en veillant à ce qu’il reflète l’anamnèse (y compris les symptômes et les comorbidités), l’examen médical, les résultats d’examen, le diagnostic différentiel et la justification du plan de traitement et du suivi. Les entrées doivent être récentes, claires et lisibles.
 
 

Références

  1. Regroupement québécois des maladies orphelines. « Pourquoi le zèbre est-il le symbole des maladies rares? » Consulté le 10 septembre 2015. http://rqmo.org/wp/le-zebre/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.