Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Windows 10 and privacy

Originally published September 2015
W15-004-E

How you can protect your personal and patients’ privacy and the security of information when upgrading to Windows 10


With Microsoft’s recent release of the Windows 10 operating system as a free upgrade for existing users of Windows 7 and 8, the CMPA has received inquiries from member physicians expressing privacy concerns. Some media outlets have also reported on privacy-related issues associated with the default installation settings of Windows 10. In anticipation of early uptake of the Windows upgrade within the healthcare community, the CMPA has explored these concerns which we believe can be addressed by adjusting the system’s privacy settings to provide the enhanced protection normally expected in healthcare. These adjustments are easy to do and will not compromise your computer’s performance or your ability to take advantage of the upgrade.

The default settings are designed to share personal and stored information and achieve cross-device functionality. Windows 10 adapts to individual users by monitoring their online activities and learning their preferences. Part of this learning process involves gathering location information, tracking who the user’s frequent contacts are, which applications are used most frequently, and which websites a user visits, among other things. This personalization provides each Windows 10 user with a unique and personalized experience, and at the same time generates revenue streams for Microsoft and their partners through targeted advertising. Indeed, similar data is collected by such companies as Apple and Google, as well as many social media sites which provide users with free software and services.

The CMPA recommends that Windows 10 users in the healthcare environment override some of the system’s default settings and thereby gain greater control of the privacy of your data and usage information. By following these recommendations, you can feel confident that your new Windows 10 system will respect your privacy and data in the same way as previous versions of Windows. Here’s how.

Use a local Windows account

Use a local Windows account when you log into Windows 10 for the first time. Windows 10 will encourage you to use a Microsoft online account, but Windows works just as well with a local-only account.

There are two ways to use a local account on your Windows PC. The first is to choose Local account when setting up your computer for the first time. If you chose this option when you first installed Windows, then no other action is needed and you can proceed to adjust the privacy options described in the next section. However, if you ever signed in to your Microsoft account in the past, you can disconnect it:

  1. On the Start menu, open Settings and then choose Account.
  2. Click Sign in with a local account instead.
  3. Create a new username and password.
  4. Log out and re-log in using your new credentials.

Once you are logged in to your local account, open the same section in Settings. If your Microsoft account is still listed under “Other accounts you use,” you can remove it here.

Please note that you will lose some features (notably Cortana, the Microsoft digital assistant) if you do not have an associated Microsoft account, however this is one of the safest ways to ensure your data does not get synced or shared without your knowledge.

Set your privacy options

Once your local account is set up, the next step is to review Windows 10 privacy settings. To do this, open the Start menu, click Settings and then select Privacy. On the Privacy Options page, 13 sections containing various settings are displayed. The top five settings you will want to adjust are as follows.

Speech, inking and typing

This setting is activated on the first use of the Search bar where Windows will ask if you want to start using Cortana. When enabling this setting, digital ink on tablets, voice recognition, contacts, events, and typing history can all be potentially uploaded to Microsoft and Bing to “enhance the user experience” and improve your device’s ability to correctly recognize your input, such as your pronunciation and handwriting.

According to Microsoft’s Windows 10 speech, inking, typing, and privacy FAQ page, turning off this setting, also known as “Getting to know you,” also turns off voice dictation. Given that Microsoft does not provide details about its use of the data it collects, we believe forgoing voice dictation is an acceptable compromise to obtain greater privacy.

Messaging

This category of settings is enabled by default. It lets you decide whether and which applications can read or send text messages (email, SMS and MMS) from your PC. When given permission to do so, the content of the messages are uploaded to Microsoft and its Bing search engine to be further processed. Turn off this setting to enable manual control over who has access to the content of your emails and text messages.

Contacts

This category is enabled by default. It lets you decide whether and which applications can access the list of contacts stored on your PC. When given permission to do so, information regarding your contacts is uploaded to Microsoft and Bing to be further processed. Turn off this setting to enable manual control over who has access to your contacts.

Calendar

This category is enabled by default. It lets you decide whether and which applications can access your calendar and meeting information on your PC. When given permission to do so, information regarding meetings is uploaded to Microsoft and Bing to be further processed. Turn off this setting to enable manual control over who has access to your Windows calendar.

Feedback and diagnostics

This category controls whether Windows 10 is allowed to ask you for feedback regarding your Windows 10 experience. As in previous versions of Windows, version 10 will send diagnostic information to Microsoft for product improvement. While this functionality has been present in Windows since at least Windows XP, the big difference with Windows 10 is the new Enhanced and Full categories which send out more information to Microsoft. The default selection is Enhanced, which according to Microsoft’s Windows 10 feedback, diagnostics, and privacy FAQ page, does not collect any file content data, but does track which applications you are using. Setting this to Basic will report back only details of the Windows operating system itself.

The remainder of the settings on the Privacy tab might also collect personal information but represent a lower risk of leaking personally identifiable information. All the settings are enabled by default, but you can change the default settings as described here.

General

This category of settings allows you to configure whether and which Windows applications can use a unique advertising ID to identify you and learn what applications you are using. This section also controls whether Microsoft applications such as Internet Explorer, the Windows Store and the new Edge browser can send accessed URLs to Microsoft servers to check for malware on those sites, and controls whether websites can retrieve geolocation from Microsoft web browsers.

Location

This category controls whether Location Services are available to Windows and location enabled applications. You can clear your Location History, turn Geofencing on and off, and control which applications can access Location Services if those services are turned on. Disabling these settings stops Windows and individual applications from keeping track of your physical location.

Camera

This category lets you decide whether and which applications can access and control cameras connected to your PC. By turning off this setting, you have to explicitly turn the camera on when you want to use it.

Microphone

This category lets you decide whether and which applications can access and control microphones connected to your PC. By turning off this setting, you have to explicitly activate the microphone when you want to use it.

Account info

This category controls whether applications can make use of your name, profile picture and other account information such as email addresses, friends or contacts lists. If this setting is turned on, all installed applications can access and make use of this information. You can also choose which individual application can and cannot access this information.

Radios

This category lets you decide whether applications can turn on and off different types of radios (Bluetooth, NFC, LTE, etc.) on demand without your intervention. If this setting is turned on, all installed applications can control the various radios installed on your PC. You then have the option to explicitly limit which application can control the system’s radios. By turning off this setting, you have to explicitly activate the radios you wish to use.

Other devices

This category controls sharing and synchronization of preferences and data with other Windows devices such as Surface tablets, Xbox, smartphones, TVs and other Windows 10 PCs associated with your Microsoft account. By turning off this setting, you have to explicitly authorize connectivity to your other devices.

Note: The Background apps section is related only to power consumption, primarily for mobile devices, so you can safely ignore this section for the purposes of privacy.

More information

This information is provided to CMPA members for their convenience and consideration. Please note that we are not able to provide personalized technical support for members. If you need technical support for Windows or have questions about these recommendations, please consult your existing technical support resources.

You may also want to read Microsoft’s Privacy Statement for more information about the personal data collected by Microsoft.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Windows 10 et la protection des renseignements personnels

Publié initialement en septembre 2015
W15-004-F

Comment protéger vos renseignements personnels, ainsi que ceux de vos patients, et la sécurité des renseignements lors du passage à Windows 10


En raison de la sortie récente du système d’exploitation Windows 10 par Microsoft comme une mise à niveau gratuite pour les utilisateurs de Windows 7 et 8, l’ACPM a reçu plusieurs demandes de renseignements de médecins membres, qui ont exprimé leurs préoccupations en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Certains médias ont également signalé des problèmes liés à la protection de renseignements personnels associés aux paramètres d’installation par défaut de Windows 10. Anticipant une mise à niveau hâtive de Windows dans la communauté des soins de santé, l’ACPM a étudié ces préoccupations qui, selon elle, peuvent être résolues par la modification des paramètres de confidentialité du système afin d’offrir une protection améliorée à laquelle on s’attend habituellement dans le milieu des soins de santé. Ces modifications sont faciles à apporter et ne compromettront pas la performance de votre ordinateur ou votre capacité de tirer profit de la mise à niveau.

Les paramètres par défaut sont conçus pour diffuser les renseignements personnels et l’information stockée et assurer la fonctionnalité multiplateforme. Windows 10 s’adapte aux utilisateurs en faisant un suivi de leurs activités en ligne et en apprenant leurs préférences. Une partie de ce processus d’apprentissage comprend, entre autres, la collecte de renseignements sur l’emplacement, le suivi des contacts fréquents de l’utilisateur, les applications les plus fréquemment utilisées et les sites web consultés par un utilisateur. Cette personnalisation offre à chaque utilisateur de Windows 10 une expérience unique et personnalisée et génère à la fois un flux de revenus pour Microsoft et ses partenaires au moyen de la publicité ciblée. En effet, des données similaires sont recueillies par des entreprises, comme Apple, Google et un grand nombre de médias sociaux, qui fournissent gratuitement des logiciels et des services à leurs utilisateurs.

L’ACPM recommande que les utilisateurs de Windows 10 dans le milieu des soins de santé remplacent une partie des paramètres de confidentialité par défaut du système et obtiennent ainsi un meilleur contrôle de la protection des données et des renseignements sur l’utilisation. En suivant ces recommandations, vous pouvez avoir la certitude que votre nouveau système Windows 10 protégera les données et renseignements personnels de la même façon que les versions précédentes de Windows. Voici comment faire :

Utilisez un compte Windows local

Utilisez un compte Windows local lorsque vous ouvrez une session de Windows 10 pour la première fois. Windows 10 vous invitera à utiliser un compte Microsoft en ligne, mais Windows fonctionne tout aussi bien avec un compte local seulement.

Il existe deux façons d’utiliser un compte local sur votre ordinateur Windows. La première est de choisir Compte local lorsque vous configurez votre ordinateur pour la première fois. Si vous choisissez cette option lorsque vous installez Windows pour la première fois, aucune autre mesure n’est nécessaire, et vous pouvez ajuster les options de confidentialité décrites dans la section suivante. Cependant, si vous avez ouvert une session dans votre compte Microsoft par le passé, vous pouvez vous déconnecter de la façon suivante :

  • Dans le menu Démarrer, ouvrez Paramètres et choisissez Comptes.
  • Cliquez sur Se connecter avec un compte local à la place.
  • Créez un nouveau nom d’usager et un nouveau mot de passe.
  • Fermez votre session et rouvrez en une au moyen de vos nouveaux authentifiants.

Une fois connecté à votre compte local, ouvrez la même section dans Paramètres. Si votre compte Microsoft se trouve encore dans la catégorie « Autres comptes », vous pouvez le supprimer de cette section.

Veuillez noter que vous perdrez certaines fonctions (notamment Cortana, assistant numérique de Microsoft) si vous n’avez pas un compte Microsoft associé. Cependant, il s’agit de l’une des façons les plus sûres de veiller à ce que vos données ne soient pas synchronisées ou diffusées à votre insu.

Configurez vos options de confidentialité

Une fois votre compte local configuré, la prochaine étape est de passer en revue les paramètres de confidentialité de Windows 10. Pour ce faire, ouvrez le menu Démarrer, cliquez sur Paramètres et sélectionnez Confidentialité. Sur la page Options de confidentialité, treize sections comprenant différents paramètres sont affichées. Les cinq principaux paramètres que vous voudrez modifier sont les suivants :

Voix, entrée manuscrite et saisie

Ce paramètre est activé lors de la première utilisation de la barre de recherche, où Windows vous demandera si vous désirez commencer à utiliser Cortana. En activant ce paramètre, l’entrée manuscrite sur les tablettes, la reconnaissance vocale, les contacts, les activités et l’historique de la saisie peuvent tous être téléversés à Microsoft et Bing pour « améliorer l’expérience utilisateur » ainsi que la capacité de votre appareil à reconnaître correctement vos entrées, comme votre prononciation et votre écriture manuscrite.

Selon la page Windows 10 voix, entrée manuscrite, saisie et confidentialité : FAQ de Microsoft, la désactivation de ce paramètre, également connu sous le nom de « Apprendre à me connaître », désactive également la dictée. Étant donné que Microsoft n’offre aucun détail sur son utilisation des données recueillies, nous croyons que la renonciation à la dictée est un compromis acceptable pour assurer une protection améliorée des renseignements personnels.

Messagerie

Cette catégorie de paramètres est activée par défaut. Ce paramètre vous permet de décider si les applications peuvent lire ou envoyer des messages textes (courriels, textos et messages multimédias) à partir de votre ordinateur et quelles applications peuvent le faire. Si vous en donnez l’autorisation, le contenu des messages est téléversé à Microsoft et à son moteur de recherche, Bing, afin d’être traité ultérieurement. Désactivez ce paramètre pour activer le contrôle manuel et ainsi déterminer qui a accès au contenu de vos courriels et de vos messages texte.

Contacts

Cette catégorie est activée par défaut. Elle vous permet de décider si les applications peuvent accéder à la liste de contacts stockée dans votre ordinateur et quelles applications peuvent le faire. Si vous en donnez l’autorisation, les renseignements concernant vos contacts sont téléversés à Microsoft et à Bing afin d’être traités ultérieurement. Désactivez ce paramètre pour activer le contrôle manuel et ainsi déterminer qui a accès à vos contacts.

Calendrier

Cette catégorie est activée par défaut. Elle vous permet de décider si les applications peuvent accéder à votre calendrier et à vos renseignements concernant vos réunions sur votre ordinateur et quelles applications peuvent le faire. Si vous en donnez l’autorisation, les renseignements concernant vos réunions sont téléversés à Microsoft et à Bing afin d’être traités ultérieurement. Désactivez ce paramètre pour activer le contrôle manuel et ainsi déterminer qui a accès à votre calendrier Windows.

Commentaires et diagnostics

Cette catégorie permet de déterminer si Windows 10 est autorisé à demander vos commentaires sur votre expérience Windows 10. Comme dans les versions précédentes de Windows, la version 10 enverra des renseignements concernant les diagnostics à Microsoft aux fins d’amélioration des produits. Bien que cette fonction était comprise dans le système d’exploitation Windows depuis au moins Windows XP, la grande différence en ce qui concerne Windows 10 est l’existence des catégories « Amélioré » et « Complet » qui envoient plus de renseignements à Microsoft. La sélection par défaut est la catégorie Amélioré, qui, selon la page Windows 10 Commentaires, diagnostics et confidentialité : Foire aux questions de Windows, ne recueille aucune donnée concernant le contenu des fichiers, mais effectue un suivi des applications que vous utilisez. En configurant vos paramètres à Données de base, seuls les renseignements concernant le système d’exploitation Windows en soi seront signalés.

Le reste des paramètres dans l’onglet Confidentialité pourrait également recueillir des renseignements personnels, mais il représente un faible risque de fuite de renseignements d’identification. Tous les paramètres sont activés par défaut, mais vous pouvez changer les paramètres par défaut, comme il est décrit dans le présent document.

Général

Cette catégorie de paramètres vous permet de configurer votre ordinateur afin de déterminer si les applications Windows peuvent utiliser des identifiants publicitaires uniques pour vous identifier et connaître les applications que vous utilisez et quelles applications Windows peuvent le faire. Cette section peut également contrôler si les applications Microsoft, comme Internet Explorer, Windows Store et le nouveau navigateur Edge, peuvent envoyer les adresses URL consultées aux serveurs de Microsoft pour détecter la présence de maliciels sur ces sites et peut déterminer si les sites web peuvent récupérer la géolocalisation depuis les navigateurs web de Microsoft.

Localisation

Cette catégorie permet de contrôler si les Services de localisation sont offerts à Windows et aux applications dont la fonction de localisation est activée. Vous pouvez effacer l’historique de localisation, activer ou désactiver le gardiennage virtuel et contrôler les applications qui peuvent accéder aux services de localisation si ceux ci sont activés. La désactivation de ces paramètres met fin au suivi de votre localisation physique par Windows et les applications individuelles.

Caméra

Cette catégorie vous laisse décider si les applications peuvent accéder aux caméras connectées à votre ordinateur et les contrôler, et quelles applications peuvent le faire. En désactivant ce paramètre, vous devez expressément activer la caméra lorsque vous désirez l’utiliser.

Microphone

Cette catégorie vous laisse décider si les applications peuvent accéder aux microphones connectés à votre ordinateur et les contrôler, et quelles applications peuvent le faire. En désactivant ce paramètre, vous devez expressément activer le microphone lorsque vous désirez l’utiliser.

Renseignements sur le compte

Cette catégorie permet de contrôler si les applications peuvent utiliser votre nom, votre photo de profil et d’autres renseignements sur le compte, comme les adresses courriel, les amis ou les listes de contacts. Si ce paramètre est activé, toutes les applications installées peuvent accéder à ces renseignements et les utiliser. Vous pouvez également choisir l’application qui peut ou qui ne peut pas accéder à ces renseignements.

Radios

Cette catégorie vous laisse décider si les applications peuvent activer et désactiver différents types de radios (Bluetooth, NFC, LTE, etc.) sur demande et sans votre intervention. Si ce paramètre est activé, toutes les applications installées peuvent contrôler les diverses radios installées dans votre ordinateur. Vous avez ensuite l’option de limiter expressément les applications qui peuvent contrôler les radios du système. En désactivant ce paramètre, vous devez expressément activer les radios que vous désirez utiliser.

Autres appareils

Cette catégorie permet de contrôler le partage et la synchronisation de préférences et de données avec d’autres appareils Windows, comme des tablettes Surface, une console Xbox, des téléphones intelligents, des téléviseurs et d’autres ordinateurs Windows 10 associés à votre compte Microsoft. En désactivant ce paramètre, vous devez expressément autoriser la connectivité à vos autres appareils.

Remarque : La section des applications en arrière-plan concerne seulement la consommation d’énergie, principalement pour les terminaux mobiles, afin que vous puissiez ignorer cette section en toute sécurité pour assurer la protection des renseignements personnels.

Pour en savoir davantage

Ces renseignements sont fournis aux membres de l’ACPM afin que ceux ci puissent y accéder facilement et les prendre en compte. Veuillez noter que nous ne sommes pas en mesure d’offrir aux membres un soutien technique personnalisé. Si vous avez besoin d’un soutien technique concernant Windows ou si vous avez des questions au sujet de ces recommandations, veuillez consulter vos ressources en matière de soutien technique.

Vous pouvez aussi lire la Déclaration de confidentialité de Windows pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les données personnelles recueillies par Microsoft.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.