Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Coordinating critical care: Communication challenges for providers and patients

Originally published June 2016
P1602-5-E

Effective coordination of care is central to ensuring patient safety in the hospital. But, healthcare transitions or handovers are particularly challenging for patients requiring critical care. Factors such as frequent interruptions,1 the complexity of patients’ conditions and the required constant monitoring,2 and the need for full and frequent involvement of families or substitute decision-makers3 place added demands on the transfer of care in hospital.

The CMPA analyzed its medical-legal cases that involved patients in the intensive care unit (ICU) to identify issues with the coordination of care. Particular emphasis was placed on communication breakdowns that occur between departments or healthcare facilities. This analysis of 47 cases, closed between 2010 and 2014, found that these breakdowns occurred not just between healthcare professionals, but also between the care team and patients and their families.

A recurring theme was identified in the cases reviewed. Important clinical information was not being communicated during handovers, as evident in more than a quarter of cases. The missed information was most commonly about the patient’s acuity level; care plans, including tests performed and requiring follow-up; and medications, either received before transfer, or to be discontinued or resumed after transfer. These knowledge gaps often led to the receiving care team giving inappropriate care. Information was often missing because of non-structured handovers that lacked direct or face-to-face communication or the involvement of all members of the care team, as well as inadequate documentation.

More than a third of cases involved poor communication with families. Information not adequately shared or explained to families mainly related to the care plan including end-of-life decisions, consent discussions, the roles and responsibilities of the physicians involved in the patient’s care, and plans to transfer the patient. In their complaints families sometimes reported receiving mixed messages from different care providers.

System issues also played a role. In these cases, peer expert criticism focused on inadequate systems for tracking test results, lack of structured communication protocols for handovers, no reconciliation of medications, delays in the receipt of test results, and issues with access to critical information within an electronic health records system.

Issues within the ICU

Patient monitoring was the most frequently identified issue with coordination of care within the ICU. Specifically, healthcare professionals did not fully appreciate and communicate the significance of a patient’s deteriorating condition. Occasionally, cases involved members of the care team having difficulty reaching the required physician in an emergency. Other issues within the ICU were the same as with intra-hospital transfers. The most responsible physician for the patient’s care was not clearly identified, communication with patients or their families was inadequate, and (intra-shift) handovers were poor.

Information breakdown

Case example

Late in the afternoon, a stable, elderly male with heart disease is transferred to the ICU for monitoring of post-operative bleeding after endovascular aortic aneurysm repair. The resident on call accepts the handover from a nurse.

The patient is assessed several times that evening. During that time his hemoglobin drops to 81 g/L. The resident orders one unit of packed red cells. Two nurses administer the transfusion in the middle of the night while the patient is sleeping.

The next morning, while reviewing the patient’s record, the resident discovers a “Refusal of consent to blood and blood products” form indicating that the patient objects to these interventions on religious grounds. The resident advises the attending of this error, and a disclosure meeting is held later that day between the patient, his family, and several members of the healthcare team. The patient later files a legal action.

The CMPA, on behalf of the resident, and the hospital, on behalf of the nurses, pay a settlement to the patient. Hospital handover protocols requiring physician-to-physician transfer of information were not followed, appropriate precautions were not taken to identify a patient who had refused blood products, and nurses did not check with the patient before administering the transfusion. There was no expert support for the care provided by the resident as he did not read all relevant parts of the medical record before ordering a blood product.

Optimize handover

Suggested approaches based on experts’ opinions in the cases reviewed:

  • Consider using a structured communication tool for sharing information during handovers.
  • Take a structured approach to reconciling key information from the patient profile (e.g. medications, allergies, and patient wishes including advance directives and special exemptions) at every transition of care. Ensure that important information is flagged for all members of the healthcare team. For example, communicate via signage, patient bracelets, verbally, or in writing.
  • Verify the availability of advance directives and ensure that this information is communicated at handovers so that patients’ wishes are respected in the event they are unable to communicate.

Lack of care coordination

Case example

A young person with multiple injuries from a motor vehicle collision is being cared for in the ICU. The orthopaedic surgeon (surgeon A) on call that evening orders a series of X-rays to evaluate the extent of the patient’s injuries, which include multiple fractures to the spine and ribs.

The X-rays are read the following day by the next orthopaedic surgeon on call (surgeon B). Surgeon B decides to perform a reduction under sedation to correct a dislocated elbow, after obtaining consent. Post-reduction, surgeon B notes some instability in the joint. He orders a follow-up X-ray and, at the end of his shift, informs the nursing staff that the orthopaedic surgeon coming on call the next day (surgeon A) will be assuming the patient’s care and asks them to inform the surgeon of the need to review the X-ray.

Three weeks later, surgeon A, who cared for the patient post-reduction, evaluates the patient again to assess the mobility in the arm. He notes instability and orders an X-ray of the elbow. When the X-ray, which shows persistent dislocation, is read, the initial post-reduction X-ray, which shows the same result, is discovered.

The patient files a legal action alleging that the delay to diagnose persistent dislocation contributed to ongoing pain and the need for additional surgery. A peer expert criticizes the handover, stating that surgeon B should have communicated directly with the next physician, surgeon A, about the post-reduction X-ray. Furthermore, the expert notes, both surgeons met several times over the month and therefore had opportunity to discuss this patient’s case. The longer than acceptable wait for imaging results was also criticized — this caused the report to be missed over a shift change. The CMPA, on behalf of both surgeons, and the hospital, on behalf of the nurses, pays a settlement to the patient for the miscommunication and for the inadequate imaging protocols.

Establish the plan

Suggested approaches based on experts’ opinions in the cases reviewed:

  • Verbally communicate information relevant to the patient’s care directly to the most responsible physician at handover.
  • Ensure a reliable system is in place to facilitate the timely receipt, effective review, and appropriate follow-up of imaging reports.
  • Consider scheduling periodic briefings or “huddles”4 to review patient needs and care plans with all staff in the department involved in the care of the patient.

Poor communication with the patient or family

Case example

A regulatory authority (College) complaint is filed by the family of a middle-aged woman who died of a pulmonary embolism a day after being discharged from the hospital following complications from surgery. They allege that poor communication within the ICU led to her death.

The patient had experienced an anastomotic leak and abscess following a hemicolectomy to remove a suspicious lesion. These complications required she undergo additional surgery and admission to the ICU for monitoring. The family felt the patient was discharged too soon from the ICU and that her condition was not being taken seriously — the ICU physician decided to discharge the patient much sooner than the family expected based on what they had been told on the patient’s admission to the ICU. They also claim that at several points they were unaware of which physician was responsible for the patient’s care.

The College committee investigates the family’s complaints and determines that care was appropriate. Transfers of care were well documented, the decision to discharge from ICU was appropriate given the patient’s clinical picture at the time, and protocols for VTE prophylaxis were followed. The committee acknowledged, however, that communication with the family could have been improved as it was clear that the family members did not understand how and why care decisions were being made.

Foster open communication

Suggested approaches based on experts’ opinions in the cases reviewed:

  • When multiple physicians are involved, confirm that the reason for the transfer of care is clear to the patient, family, or substitute decision-maker.
  • Tailor your communication style to the individual’s needs.
  • Document the information shared with the patient, family, or substitute decision-maker in the medical record, including the rationale supporting decisions about tests, treatments, discharge, and plans for follow-up.

The bottom line

This analysis highlights the importance of effective communication in the critical care context — not just between professionals, but also with patients, their families, or their substitute decision-makers. Reliable communication protocols, developed within a quality improvement framework, can help prevent the most common problems associated with poorly coordinated care. 


  1. Alvarez G, Coiera E. Interruptive communication patterns in the intensive care unit ward round. Int J Med Inform. 2005 Oct;74(10):791-6.
  2. Li P, Stelfox HT, Ghali WA. A prospective observational study of physician handoff for intensive-care-unit-to-ward patient transfers. Am J Med. 2011 Sep;124(9):860-7.
  3. Curtis JR, White DB. Practical guidance for evidence-based ICU family conferences. Chest. 2008 Oct;134(4):835-43.
  4. Brady PW, Muething S, Kotagal U, et al. Improving situation awareness to reduce unrecognized clinical deterioration and serious safety events. Pediatrics. 2013 Jan;131(1):e298-308.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Un examen de la coordination des soins à l’USI et l’importance d’une bonne communication

Publié initialement en juin 2016
P1602-5-F

Une coordination efficace des soins est essentielle pour assurer la sécurité des patients à l’hôpital. Or, la transition ou le transfert des soins est particulièrement difficile dans le cas de patients nécessitant des soins intensifs. Des facteurs tels que des interruptions fréquentes,1 la complexité des problèmes de santé, la surveillance constante qui s’impose2 et la pleine participation, souvent requise, des familles ou des décideurs-remplaçants3 ajoutent aux exigences du transfert des soins en milieu hospitalier.

L’ACPM a analysé ses dossiers médico-légaux portant sur des patients traités à l’unité des soins intensifs (USI) pour repérer des problèmes liés à la coordination des soins. Une attention particulière a été accordée aux problèmes de communication survenus entre des départements ou des établissements de soins de santé. Cette analyse de 47 dossiers, conclus entre 2010 et 2014, a révélé que ces problèmes s’étaient produits non seulement entre des professionnels de la santé, mais aussi entre l’équipe soignante et les patients, et leurs proches.

Un thème récurrent est ressorti dans les dossiers analysés. Dans plus d’un quart des dossiers, des renseignements cliniques importants n’ont pas été transmis lors du transfert des soins. En général, les renseignements omis avaient trait au degré d’acuité des soins du patient, aux plans de soins (dont les examens effectués nécessitant un suivi) et aux médicaments administrés avant le transfert ou devant être cessés ou repris après celui-ci. Ces lacunes dans les connaissances ont souvent mené à des soins inappropriés prodigués par l’équipe ayant reçu le transfert. La perte d’information a souvent été attribuable à un transfert des soins non structuré, sans communication directe ou en personne, ou sans participation de tous les membres de l’équipe soignante, ainsi qu’à une documentation inadéquate.

Une mauvaise communication avec les familles était en cause dans plus d’un tiers des dossiers. Les renseignements non transmis ou expliqués de façon adéquate aux familles se rapportaient principalement au plan de soins, notamment à des décisions sur les soins de fin de vie, à des discussions sur le consentement, aux rôles et responsabilités des médecins qui intervenaient dans les soins du patient de même qu’aux plans de transfert du patient. Dans leurs plaintes, les familles ont dit avoir parfois reçu des messages contradictoires de la part de différents professionnels de la santé.

Des problèmes liés au système ont également joué un rôle. Dans ces dossiers, les points critiqués par les experts ont été les systèmes inadéquats pour le suivi des résultats d’examens, l’absence de protocoles de communication structurée pour le transfert des soins, l’absence de bilan comparatif des médicaments, des retards dans la réception de résultats d’examens et les problèmes d’accès à des renseignements essentiels dans un système de dossiers médicaux électroniques.

Problèmes au sein de l’USI

La surveillance des patients est l’aspect problématique relevé le plus souvent dans la coordination des soins à l’USI. De façon plus précise, les professionnels de la santé n’ont ni mesuré ni communiqué pleinement à quel point l’état d’un patient se détériorait. Dans quelques cas, des membres de l’équipe ont eu du mal à joindre le médecin dans une situation d’urgence. D’autres problèmes observés à l’USI ont été les mêmes que pour les transferts intrahospitaliers : le médecin le plus responsable des soins du patient n’a pas été clairement désigné, la communication avec les patients ou leur famille a été inadéquate et le transfert des soins (pendant un quart de travail) a été mal fait.

Problème de transmission d’information

Exemple de cas

En fin d’après-midi, un homme âgé atteint d’une maladie cardiaque, dont l’état est stable, est transféré à l’USI pour la surveillance d’une hémorragie postopératoire après la réparation endovasculaire d’un anévrisme de l’aorte. Le résident de garde accepte le transfert des soins effectué par une infirmière.

Pendant la soirée, le patient est évalué à plusieurs reprises et son taux d’hémoglobine chute à 81 g/L. Le résident prescrit une unité de culot globulaire. Deux infirmières administrent la transfusion au milieu de la nuit, lorsque le patient est endormi.

Le lendemain matin, en passant en revue le dossier du patient, le résident découvre un formulaire de « Refus de consentement à une transfusion de sang et de produits sanguins » indiquant que le patient s’oppose à une telle intervention pour des motifs religieux. Le résident avertit le médecin traitant de cette erreur, et une réunion de divulgation a lieu plus tard ce jour-là avec le patient, sa famille et plusieurs membres de l’équipe soignante. Le patient intente ultérieurement une action en justice.

L’ACPM, au nom du résident, et l’hôpital, au nom des infirmières, ont choisi de régler le dossier en concluant une transaction avec le patient. Les protocoles de l’hôpital exigeant un transfert d’information de médecin à médecin n’ont pas été suivis, les précautions nécessaires pour reconnaître un patient qui avait refusé des produits sanguins n’ont pas été prises, et les infirmières n’ont procédé à aucune vérification avec le patient avant de lui administrer la transfusion. Aucun expert ne peut appuyer les soins prodigués par le résident, car ce dernier n’a pas lu toutes les parties pertinentes du dossier médical avant de prescrire un produit sanguin.

Optimisation du transfert des soins

Les approches suggérées ci-dessous reposent sur les avis des experts consultés dans les dossiers analysés :

  • Envisager d’utiliser un outil de communication structurée pour l’échange d’information lors du transfert des soins.
  • Adopter une approche structurée au recoupement de l’information clé sur le patient (p. ex., médicaments, allergies et volontés du patient incluant les directives préalables et les exemptions particulières) à chaque transition des soins. Faire en sorte que les renseignements importants soient signalés à tous les membres de l’équipe soignante. Par exemple, communiquer à l’aide d’affiches, de bracelets pour les patients, de vive voix ou par écrit.
  • Vérifier si des directives préalables existent et, le cas échéant, veiller à ce qu’elles soient communiquées lors du transfert des soins afin que le patient soit traité conformément à ses volontés, dans l’éventualité où il serait incapable de s’exprimer.

Manque de coordination des soins

Exemple de cas

Une jeune personne ayant subi de multiples blessures lors d’une collision impliquant des véhicules automobiles est traitée à l’USI. Le chirurgien orthopédiste (chirurgien A) de garde ce soir-là demande des radiographies pour évaluer l’étendue des blessures, qui comprennent de multiples fractures de la colonne vertébrale et des côtes.

Les radiographies sont lues le lendemain par le chirurgien orthopédiste de garde (chirurgien B). Celui-ci décide d’effectuer une réduction sous sédation pour corriger une luxation du coude, après avoir obtenu le consentement. Après la réduction, le chirurgien B note une certaine instabilité dans l’articulation. Il demande une radiographie de suivi et, à la fin de son quart, précise au personnel infirmier que le chirurgien orthopédiste de garde le lendemain (chirurgien A) assumera les soins du patient. Il demande au personnel d’informer le chirurgien A que la radiographie devra être vérifiée.

Trois semaines plus tard, le chirurgien A, faisant un suivi de la réduction, procède à un nouvel examen pour évaluer la mobilité du bras. Il note une instabilité et demande une radiographie du coude. À la lecture de cette radiographie qui montre une luxation persistante, la première radiographie faite après la réduction est découverte, indiquant le même résultat. Le patient intente une action en justice, alléguant que le retard dans le diagnostic de la luxation persistante a contribué à une douleur constante et à la nécessité d’une intervention chirurgicale supplémentaire.

Un expert critique le transfert des soins, jugeant que le chirurgien B aurait dû communiquer directement avec le chirurgien A au sujet de la radiographie postréduction. Par ailleurs, l’expert constate que les deux chirurgiens se sont vus plusieurs fois au cours du mois et ont donc eu l’occasion de discuter du cas de ce patient. Le délai d’obtention des résultats d’imagerie, plus long que ce qui est acceptable, a aussi été critiqué, ayant causé l’oubli du rapport au cours d’un changement de quart de travail. L’ACPM, au nom des deux chirurgiens, et l’hôpital, au nom des infirmières, ont choisi de régler ce dossier en concluant une transaction avec le patient en raison de la communication déficiente et des protocoles d’imagerie inadéquats.

Établissement d’un plan

Les approches suggérées ci-dessous reposent sur les avis des experts consultés dans les dossiers analysés.

  • Communiquer l’information pertinente sur les soins du patient directement au médecin le plus responsable, de vive voix, lors du transfert des soins.
  • S’assurer qu’un système fiable est en place pour faciliter la réception en temps opportun, la lecture efficace et le suivi approprié des rapports d’imagerie.
  • Envisager de tenir des réunions ou « caucus » périodiques4 pour passer en revue les besoins du patient et les plans de soins avec tout le personnel du service qui participe aux soins du patient.

Problèmes de communication avec le patient ou la famille

Exemple de cas 

Un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) est saisi d’une plainte déposée par la famille d’une femme d’âge moyen, morte d’une embolie pulmonaire le lendemain de sa sortie de l’hôpital après des complications découlant d’une intervention chirurgicale. La famille attribue le décès à un manque de communication dans l’USI.

La patiente avait présenté une fuite anastomatique et un abcès après une hémicolectomie visant à retirer une lésion suspecte. Ces complications avaient nécessité une autre intervention chirurgicale et une surveillance à l’USI. La famille estimait que la patiente avait quitté trop tôt l’USI et que son état n’avait pas été pris au sérieux. Le médecin de l’USI a décidé de donner le congé beaucoup plus tôt que ce à quoi elle s’attendait, selon les informations qu’elle avait reçues lors de l’admission à l’USI. La famille dit aussi avoir ignoré à plusieurs occasions quel médecin était responsable des soins de la patiente.

Le comité du Collège se penche sur la plainte de la famille et détermine que les soins ont été appropriés. Les transferts des soins ont été bien documentés, la décision de donner le congé de l’USI était appropriée compte tenu de l’état clinique de la patiente à ce moment-là, et les protocoles de prévention des thromboembolies veineuses ont été suivis. Le comité reconnaît, toutefois, que la communication avec la famille aurait pu être meilleure, car les membres de la famille ne comprenaient manifestement pas comment ni pourquoi les décisions relatives aux soins avaient été prises.

Importance d’une communication ouverte

Les approches suggérées ci-dessous reposent sur les avis des experts consultés dans les dossiers analysés.

  • Valider auprès du patient, de la famille ou du décideur-remplaçant que la raison du transfert des soins a bien été comprise dans les situations où plusieurs médecins interviennent dans les soins.
  • Adapter le style de communication aux besoins de chaque personne.
  • Documenter dans le dossier médical l’information transmise au patient, à la famille ou au décideur-remplaçant, y compris les raisons justifiant les décisions relatives aux examens, aux traitements, au congé et aux plans pour le suivi.

En bref

Cette analyse illustre l’importance d’une communication efficace dans le contexte des soins intensifs, non seulement entre les professionnels de la santé, mais également avec les patients, leur famille ou leurs décideurs-remplaçants. Des protocoles de communication fiables, intégrés à un cadre d’amélioration de la qualité, peuvent aider à prévenir les problèmes le plus souvent associés à une mauvaise coordination des soins.


  1. Alvarez G, Coiera E. Interruptive communication patterns in the intensive care unit ward round. Int J Med Inform. 2005;74(10):791-6.
  2. Li P, Stelfox HT, Ghali WA. A prospective observational study of physician handoff for intensive-care-unit-to-ward patient transfers. Am J Med. 2011;124(9):860-7
  3. Curtis JR, White DB. Practical guidance for evidence-based ICU family conferences. Chest. 2008;134(4):835-43
  4. Brady PW, Muething S, Kotagal U, et al. Improving situation awareness to reduce unrecognized clinical deterioration and serious safety events. Pediatrics. 2013;131(1):e298-308.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.