Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Elder abuse and neglect: Balancing intervention and patients’ right to confidentiality

Originally published December 2016
P1604-3-E

When physicians and other care providers see evidence of possible elder abuse, they instinctively strive to do what’s best for their patient. Indeed, the identification, assessment, and management of elder abuse cases are increasingly seen as important aspects of routine medical care, though determining what actions to take can be challenging for physicians. Appropriate intervention is not only good patient care as this may help to prevent further abuse and mitigate health issues, intervention in the form of reporting may be a requirement depending on the provincial or territorial legislation and the facts and circumstances of a particular case.

What is elder abuse?

The World Health Organization defines elder abuse as "a single or repeated act or lack of appropriate action, occurring within any relationship where there is an expectation of trust which causes harm or distress to an older person."1 Elder abuse includes neglect, such as failing to provide necessary care or causing social isolation which can impact a person’s health and well-being.

Patient injuries that are inconsistent with their clinical history, such as recurring falls, should be carefully assessed for possible alternative causes. Signs that a patient may be a victim of physical abuse include head and face injuries, soft tissue and laryngeal injuries, broken ribs, dental fractures, loose teeth, and mandibular fractures. Severe weight loss, signs of poor hygiene and bedsores can point to possible neglect. Physicians will also want to be alert to signs of possible mental abuse, which may become apparent over time. Patients who suffer from dementia, depression, or are socially isolated are generally more likely to be affected.

Reporting requirements

Physicians are often in a good position to identify patterns of injuries indicative of abuse in this vulnerable population. Physicians may be among the first who can take steps to intervene, and in some cases they may be required by provincial or territorial legislation to report suspected elder abuse.

There are no federal laws in Canada that make reporting of elder abuse mandatory, and the Criminal Code does not identify elder abuse as a specific crime. Physicians similarly do not have a duty to report a criminal offence related to elder abuse to the police. Indeed, this would generally be considered a breach of confidentiality unless there was consent from the patient or substitute decision-maker. If the police contact the physician about a patient who is suspected of being the subject of abuse, information should be provided only with the consent of the patient or substitute decision-maker, or with a court order.

Each Canadian province and territory takes a unique approach to how instances of suspected elder abuse are to be handled.2 Physicians may be required to report to a designated authority if they suspect an older patient is harmed due to unlawful conduct, incompetent care or treatment, or neglect. In some jurisdictions, this obligation is triggered only when the patient is a resident of a care home or in-patient at a public hospital. In Ontario, for example, reporting abuse is mandatory when the patient lives in a long-term care home or a retirement home.3 In contrast, the legislation in Newfoundland and Labrador requires physicians to report any "adult in need of protective intervention," regardless of where that adult may reside. An "adult in need of protective intervention" is defined as a person who lacks capacity and who is "incapable of caring for himself or herself, or who refuses, delays or is unable to make provision for adequate care and attention for himself or herself," or who is abused or neglected.4 In either case, the appropriate agencies will investigate the allegations, and police may be contacted by the agency if the alleged abuse might be criminal in nature.

Consent, capacity, and ageism

When taking actions to address elder abuse, physicians need to consider the principles of consent and capacity, and be aware of ageism. Patients must always be free to consent to or refuse treatment, and be free of duress or coercion. Consent is valid when it is given by a person with the necessary capacity; questions about capacity arise when adult patients suffer from a condition that impairs their mental state.

Established legal criteria are used for determining whether a patient has the capacity to consent which, depending on the jurisdiction, may have been developed by the courts or is set in legislation. An individual who is able to understand the nature and anticipated effects of a proposed intervention and available alternatives, including the consequences of refusing, is generally considered mentally capable to give consent.5 The treating physician typically determines the patient’s capacity to make decisions about proposed treatments. While a patient may be incapable of making decisions regarding certain treatments, the same individual might still have sufficient capacity to give valid consent concerning other treatments or interventions.

Provincial and territorial legislation provide a means to obtain substitute consent when a patient is incapable of giving valid consent. Substitute decision-makers are expected to act in compliance with any prior expressed wishes of the patient, or in the best interests of the patient if there were no prior expressed wishes.

Ageism — the stereotyping and discrimination of people on the grounds of age—reflects prejudices about aging and assumptions that older adults are weak, frail, or incapable. Ageist assumptions can result in a lack of respect for an older person’s values, priorities, goals, lifestyle choices, and his or her inherent dignity as a human being.2 Under Canadian law it is illegal for a person to be discriminated against because of age; similarly, all adults (aged or not) have the right to make their own decisions, including unwise or risky ones. Indeed, a tendency to make poor or even damaging choices does not, in and of itself, make a person incapable of consenting to, or refusing, medical or other care.

Intervention by physicians

The Canadian Medical Association recommends that if the patient is deemed to have capacity physicians should present their concerns to the patient, educate the patient about elder abuse and its dangers, provide the patient with information about local resources (such as social workers) for assistance, and strive to secure the patient’s imminent safety by having a safety plan in place should the patient’s situation deteriorate.6 When circumstances warrant, physicians should encourage the patient to contact the local police service.

While physicians’ priority remains the safety and well-being of the patient, it is also important to respect patients’ right to confidentiality, regardless of age. The patient’s permission should be obtained before discussing any concerns with family members or caregivers who might be able to help. For a patient who is deemed incapable, physicians should identify and contact the substitute decision-maker, communicate their concerns to that individual, and provide the same information about local resources. Physicians are also advised to offer older adults who may be being abused more frequent medical follow-up.6

CMPA members are encouraged to contact the CMPA when they have questions of a medical-legal nature pertaining to the care of aging patients.

 
 

References

  1. World Health Organization. A global response to elder abuse and neglect: building primary health care capacity to deal with the problem worldwide [Internet]. Geneva (Switzerland): 2008 [cited 2016 Aug]. 148 p. Available from: http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/43869/1/9789241563581_eng.pdf
  2. Canadian Centre for Elder Law. A practical guide to elder abuse and neglect law in Canada [Internet]. Vancouver (BC): British Columbia Law Institute; 2011 Jul [cited 2016 Aug]. 71 p. Available from: http://www.bcli.org/sites/default/files/Practical_Guide_English_Rev_JULY_2011.pdf
  3. Ontario: Long-Term Care Homes Act, s. 24(1) & 24(4); General Regulation, O.Reg. 79/10, ss. 2, 5 and Retirement Homes Act, s. 75(1) & 75(3) and General Regulation, O.Reg. 166/11, s. 58
  4. Newfoundland and Labrador: Adult Protection Act ss. 5 & 12
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Is this patient capable of consenting? [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): 2011 Jun [cited 2016 Aug]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/is-this-patient-capable-of-consenting-1.
  6. Wang XM, Brisbin S, Loo T, Straus S. Elder abuse: an approach to identification, assessment, and intervention. CMAJ. 2015 May 19 [cited 2016 Aug]; 187(8): 575-581. doi:10.1503/cmaj.141329

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Maltraitance et négligence envers les personnes âgées : intervenir ou respecter le droit des patients à la confidentialité

Publié initialement en décembre 2016
P1604-3-F

Les médecins et autres professionnels de la santé qui constatent des signes possibles de maltraitance chez des personnes âgées cherchent instinctivement à faire ce qu’il y a de mieux pour leurs patients. En effet, la reconnaissance, l’évaluation et la prise en charge des cas de maltraitance sont de plus en plus considérées comme étant des aspects importants des soins médicaux courants, bien qu’il puisse être difficile pour les médecins de décider des mesures de suivi à prendre. Une intervention appropriée visant la prévention des mauvais traitements et des problèmes de santé qui y sont associés n’est pas seulement synonyme de bons soins, mais peut aussi, selon la province ou le territoire et les faits et circonstances du cas particulier, constituer une exigence légale : elle doit alors prendre la forme d’un signalement.

Qu’est-ce que la maltraitance des personnes âgées?

L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé définit la maltraitance des personnes âgées comme étant « un acte unique ou répété, ou l’absence d’intervention appropriée, dans le cadre d’une relation censée être une relation de confiance, qui entraîne des blessures ou une détresse morale pour la personne âgée qui en est victime ».1 Elle inclut la négligence, par exemple le fait de ne pas prodiguer les soins nécessaires, ou l’isolement social, qui peut influer sur la santé et le bien-être de la personne.

Toute blessure n’étant pas compatible avec l’anamnèse d’un patient, telle que les lésions causées par des chutes répétitives, devrait être soigneusement évaluée afin de permettre au médecin de découvrir d’autres causes possibles. Les signes évoquant des mauvais traitements comprennent les lésions à la tête et au visage, les lésions aux tissus mous et à la région du larynx, les fractures des côtes, les dents cassées ou mobiles et les fractures mandibulaires. Une perte importante de poids, des signes de manque d’hygiène et des escarres peuvent aussi éveiller des soupçons de négligence envers la personne âgée. Les médecins veulent aussi demeurer à l’affût de signes de violence psychologique possible, qui peuvent devenir apparents avec le temps. Les patients atteints de démence, de dépression ou étant isolés socialement sont généralement plus à risque d’être affectés.

Exigences à l’égard du signalement

Les médecins sont souvent bien placés pour déterminer les divers types de blessures qui peuvent indiquer la maltraitance chez cette population vulnérable. Ils peuvent se trouver parmi les premiers à pouvoir intervenir et, dans certains cas, être tenus par la loi de la province ou du territoire de signaler les cas soupçonnés de maltraitance chez les personnes âgées.

Le signalement obligatoire de la maltraitance des personnes âgées n’est prévu par aucune loi fédérale au Canada, et ce type de maltraitance ne constitue pas un délit particulier en vertu du Code criminel. Quant aux médecins, ils n’ont pas l’obligation de signaler aux policiers une infraction criminelle liée à la maltraitance d’une personne âgée. En effet, ce geste serait généralement interprété comme un manquement à la confidentialité, à moins que le patient ou le décideur-remplaçant n’y ait consenti. Les renseignements fournis par un médecin à un policier concernant un patient faisant l’objet de maltraitance ne doivent être transmis qu’avec le consentement du patient ou du décideur-remplaçant, ou sur ordonnance d’un tribunal.

Chaque province ou territoire au Canada adopte sa propre approche sur la façon dont les cas suspects de maltraitance chez les personnes âgées sont gérés.2 Les médecins pourraient devoir faire un signalement à une autorité désignée s’ils pensent qu’une personne âgée subit un préjudice en raison d’un comportement illégal, d’incompétence lors de soins ou traitements, de faute professionnelle ou de négligence. Dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires, cette obligation n’entre en vigueur que lorsque le patient réside dans un établissement de soins ou est hospitalisé dans un établissement public. En Ontario, par exemple, le signalement de la maltraitance est obligatoire si le patient vit dans un établissement de soins de longue durée ou une résidence pour personnes âgées.3 En revanche, les lois de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador exigent que les médecins signalent toute « personne adulte ayant besoin d’une intervention de protection » peu importe l’endroit où pourrait résider cette personne. Une « personne adulte ayant besoin d’une intervention de protection » se définit comme étant une personne qui, est « inapte à s’occuper d’elle-même, refuse, retarde ou est incapable de prendre des dispositions adéquates pour ses soins », subit de la maltraitance ou montre des signes de négligence.4 Dans un cas comme dans l’autre, les autorités appropriées mèneront des enquêtes relatives aux allégations et les policiers seront informés par l’autorité concernée lorsque la maltraitance alléguée pourrait être de nature criminelle.

Consentement, aptitude et âgisme

Dans leurs interventions auprès de personnes âgées maltraitées, les médecins devraient prendre en compte les principes en matière de consentement et d’aptitude et être sensibilisés à l’âgisme. Quant aux patients, ils doivent en tout temps se sentir libres de consentir à un traitement ou de le refuser et ne jamais faire l’objet de coercition. Un consentement valide signifie qu’il est accordé par une personne ayant l’aptitude nécessaire; des questions au sujet de l’aptitude sont soulevées lorsque des patients adultes présentent un état qui compromet leurs facultés mentales.

Des critères juridiques établis par les tribunaux ou les textes de loi, selon la province ou le territoire, servent à déterminer l’aptitude d’un patient à consentir aux soins. Une personne apte à comprendre la nature et les effets prévus de l’intervention proposée et de ses substitutifs, ainsi que les conséquences liées au refus des soins, est généralement jugée apte à consentir.5 C’est normalement le médecin traitant qui détermine l’aptitude d’un patient à décider des traitements qui lui sont proposés. Alors qu’un patient peut être inapte à prendre des décisions concernant certains traitements, cette même personne peut quand même être suffisamment apte à accorder un consentement valide en ce qui a trait à d’autres traitements ou interventions.

La loi dans chaque province et territoire permet l’obtention d’un consentement subrogatoire lorsqu’un patient est inapte à accorder un consentement valide. Les décideurs-remplaçants sont alors tenus de respecter les souhaits exprimés préalablement par le patient ou d’agir dans l’intérêt fondamental de ce dernier si aucune volonté précise n’a été exprimée au préalable.

L’âgisme, c’est-à-dire le fait de stéréotyper et de discriminer en fonction de l’âge, reflète les préjugés entourant le vieillissement et les présomptions selon lesquelles les personnes âgées sont faibles, frêles, voire inaptes. Ces présomptions peuvent entraîner un manque de respect à l’égard des valeurs, des priorités, des buts et des choix de vie d’une personne âgée, ainsi qu’à l’égard de sa dignité à titre d’être humain.2 Au Canada, il est illégal de faire preuve de discrimination à l’égard d’une personne en raison de son âge; de la même façon, tous les adultes (qu’ils soient âgés ou non) ont le droit de prendre leurs propres décisions, même si celles-ci sont malavisées ou risquées. En effet, la tendance à faire des choix malheureux, voire préjudiciables, ne signifie pas en soi qu’une personne est inapte à consentir à des soins médicaux ou autres, ou à les refuser.

Intervention des médecins

L’Association médicale canadienne recommande que lorsqu’un patient est jugé apte, le médecin devrait questionner le patient, l’informer de ce qu’est la maltraitance des personnes âgées et des dangers qu’elle représente, lui offrir de l’information sur les ressources communautaires (p. ex. les travailleurs sociaux) où obtenir de l’aide, et chercher à assurer la sécurité imminente du patient en ayant un plan de sécurité en place au cas où la situation de ce dernier venait à se détériorer.6 Lorsque les circonstances l’exigent, le médecin devrait encourager le patient à communiquer avec les services policiers de son quartier.

Même si la sécurité et le bien-être du patient demeurent la priorité du médecin, il est aussi important de respecter le droit des patients à la confidentialité, quel que soit leur âge. Il importe d’obtenir la permission du patient avant de discuter de tout problème avec des membres de sa famille ou d’autres personnes qui pourraient lui venir en aide. Dans le cas d’un patient jugé inapte, le médecin devrait communiquer avec le décideur-remplaçant pour lui transmettre les renseignements qui s’imposent et lui fournir les mêmes renseignements sur les ressources communautaires. Les médecins devraient également offrir des rendez-vous de suivi plus fréquents aux patients âgés susceptibles d’être maltraités.6

L’ACPM encourage ses membres à communiquer avec elle s’ils ont des questions de nature médico-légale concernant les soins aux personnes âgées.

 
 

Références

  1. Organisation mondiale de la Santé. La maltraitance des personnes âgées [En ligne]. Genève (Suisse): [cité le 30 septembre 2016]. http://www.who.int/ageing/projects/elder_abuse/fr/
  2. Canadian Centre for Elder Law. A practical guide to elder abuse and neglect law in Canada [En ligne]. Vancouver (C.-B.): British Columbia Law Institute; juillet 2011 [cité le 30 septembre 2016]. 71 p. http://www.bcli.org/sites/default/files/Practical_Guide_English_Rev_JULY_2011.pdf
  3. Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée, LO 2007, c 8, arts 24(1), 24(4); Règl. de l’Ont. 79/10, arts 2, 5; Loi de 2010 sur les maisons de retraite, LO 2010 c 11, arts 75(1), 75(3); Règl. de l’Ont. 166/11, art 58.
  4. Newfoundland and Labrador: Adult Protection Act, SNL 2011 c A-4.01, arts 5, 12.
  5. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. Ce patient est-il apte à donner son consentement? [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): juin 2011 [cité le 30 septembre 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/is-this-patient-capable-of-consenting-
  6. Wang XM, Brisbin S, Loo T, Straus S. Elder abuse: an approach to identification, assessment, and intervention. CMAJ. 19 mai 2015 [cité le 30 septembre 2016]; 187(8): 575-81. doi:10.1503/cmaj.141329

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.