Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Emerging trends and medical-legal risks in medical tourism

Originally published July 2016
W16-003-E

Patients travelling across borders in pursuit of medical care is an evolving global trend in healthcare that has surged in recent years.1 This phenomenon, known as medical tourism, can lead to healthcare delivery challenges with potential ethical and medical-legal risks for Canadian physicians. Physicians should be aware of the issues associated with medical tourism, and know how to manage the risks posed when their patients seek medical care abroad and when medical tourists from other countries seek treatment in Canada.

Factors influencing medical tourism

The globalization of healthcare markets and other factors are contributing to the desire amongst some to travel to seek medical care in a foreign jurisdiction.

Patients look for care abroad for many reasons, from avoiding long wait times to finding lower cost treatments to obtaining care not available in their home jurisdiction.2 The treatments and procedures they are looking for range from cosmetic surgery to oncology.

Some countries actively promote and compete for medical tourism. Asian countries are top destinations for medical tourists, and Middle Eastern and Latin American countries are developing hospital facilities to specifically attract international patients.1

Improving medical tourism guidelines and trusted international accreditation standards for some healthcare destinations have become significant drivers in the growth of medical tourism.3 In addition, advances in technology, such as the availability of the Internet, give patients easy access to medical tourism operators, brokers, or third party purchasers of healthcare.4

Foreigners, tourists, and non-residents travel to Canada to receive medical care for various reasons. For instance, some non-resident women come to give birth. This activity, known as "birth tourism" or "passport babies," can facilitate these children acquiring citizenship by being born on Canadian soil.

The Canadian picture

Inbound and outbound medical tourism expenditures in Canada remain relatively small compared to other countries.1 More Canadians are travelling abroad for medical treatment than foreign visitors coming to Canada.1 An estimated 52,513 Canadians received treatment abroad in 2014, an increase of 26% from 2013 (41,838).2

Medical-legal risks when Canadians travel abroad for care

Canadians travelling as medical tourists can present concerns and medical-legal risks for Canadian physicians.

When contemplating travelling for care, patients can be influenced by the information on healthcare destination websites, which can be ambiguous or incomplete. They may have problems obtaining reliable information about procedure success rates and the quality of care in destination facilities.5,6 This can result in patients giving consent without being informed.7 Patients may ask their physician to provide information on or a referral for an out-of-country treatment. Physicians may be reluctant to do so if they do not have knowledge of a particular procedure, including the potential risks and benefits.

If physicians do provide professional advice and choose to advocate for the out-of-country procedure, this may create a duty of care within the existing doctor-patient relationship and include the physician in the coordination of care. If the patient experiences poor health outcomes as a result of the treatment, physicians may be exposed to the risk of a legal action being brought in the foreign jurisdiction. This could raise questions about the physicians’ eligibility for CMPA assistance.

Once Canadian patients have reached their healthcare destination, they may be at risk for substandard care due to inadequate international regulations in the medical tourism industry and the variability of quality of care around the world.5,6,8 Moreover, some patients may have received out-of-country procedures that are illegal, untested, or unavailable in Canada. It can be difficult for Canadian physicians to provide follow-up care for procedures that may have been done poorly or for which they have little or no knowledge or experience.5

Continuity of care can be further disrupted when patients return home with incomplete or no clinical documentation and little information on their out-of-country procedure.6,8 Inefficient systems for transferring health records between medical tourists and their physicians in Canada and in destination countries5 can make it hard to obtain documentation on the procedure. As well, "international and unregulated transfer of health records might threaten patient privacy."5

Minimizing medical-legal risks

Providing care to Canadians travelling abroad for care

When providing care to patients who have returned after receiving care abroad, physicians should consider the following to minimize their medical-legal risks:6

  • Physicians should respect patients’ autonomy in seeking out-of-country procedures and other decisions regarding their healthcare.6
  • Where appropriate, physicians should try to address to the best of their ability and knowledge questions from patients who are considering care abroad.7,8 They can also help patients minimize health risks associated with travel to certain countries, for example by suggesting patients obtain vaccinations.5,6
  • Physicians should keep the lines of communication with patients open, for example by asking them to provide information about the medical treatment abroad, including their foreign medical record, and ensuring the transfer of records is complete.5,6
  • Any discussion concerning the out-of-country procedure should be documented in the patient’s medical record.
  • Guidelines created by the Government of Canada may assist both physicians and patients to mitigate the risks associated with receiving medical care abroad.6,9
  • Physicians may want to consider information from their provincial or territorial medical regulatory authority (College) on medical tourism.
  • Physicians treating patients who have received care from outside of Canada should be mindful of the patient’s need for follow-up care upon returning to Canada, including emergent care. Physicians in these circumstances should consider the urgency of the treatment required and their ability to provide information and follow-up care to the best of their ability and within the limits of their clinical knowledge.6

Providing care to non-residents travelling to Canada for care

The following can help physicians reduce their medical-legal risks when treating non-resident patients and medical tourists in Canada.

  • Before providing care or treatment, physicians should make reasonable efforts in the circumstances to have non-resident patients sign the CMPA’s Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement. CMPA members should discuss the purpose of the agreement, which is to ensure that any potential legal actions against the physician that arise from the care provided will be brought in Canada.10
  • Physicians should familiarize themselves with hospital and College guidelines, policies, and protocols on medical tourism and providing care to non-residents.
  • Physicians should document discussions with and care of non-residents in medical records.

Extent of assistance principles for providing care to non-residents

Canadian physicians who provide care to non-residents of Canada are at increased risk of medical-legal difficulties arising outside of Canada. Those members who are considering treating non-residents of Canada should be familiar with the Association’s principles of assistance for members who provide care to non-residents of Canada:

  • While CMPA members are generally eligible for assistance with medical-legal difficulties arising in Canada as a result of providing medical care in Canada, the Association is not structured to assist when medical-legal actions are instigated by non-residents outside of Canada.10
  • The CMPA will exercise its discretion and assist members with legal actions brought inside or outside Canada if the care provided in Canada was for an emergent or urgent circumstance, if the required care is not reasonably available in the patient’s own country, or in other exceptional circumstances.10
  • The CMPA will not consider extending assistance outside Canada when a member, directly or indirectly, solicited, actively undertaken, or offered to undertake the treatment of a non-resident patient, such as in obstetrical care, whether through medical tour operators or other third parties, or encouraged the creation of a doctor-patient relationship.10

Physicians are encouraged to contact the CMPA for advice regarding any questions on medical tourism and the circumstances under which members may be eligible for assistance.

 


 

References

  1. Bounajm F, Labonté R, Runnels V. Should Canada's Hospitals Open their Doors to Medical Tourists? Health Care in Canada: An Economic Growth Engine [Internet]. The Conference Board of Canada; 2015. Available from: http://www.conferenceboard.ca/temp/ed187248-7790-4a0d-a466-4be44fed34df/7003-%20international%20trade%20in%20health-br.pdf
  2. Barua B, Ren F. Leaving Canada for Medical Care, 2015 [Internet]. Fraser Institute. 2015 [cited 2016 Mar 1]. Available from: https://www.fraserinstitute.org/sites/default/files/leaving-canada-for-medical-care-2015.pdf
  3. Medical Tourism Statistics & Facts [Internet]. Patient Beyond Borders. 2014 [cited 2016 Mar 10]. Available from: http://www.patientsbeyondborders.com/medical-tourism-statistics-facts
  4. Lunt N, Smith R, Exworthy m, Green S, Horsfall D, Mannion R. Medical Tourism: Treatments, Markets and Health System Implications: A scoping review [Internet]. Paris: OECD; 2011[cited 2016 Mar 1]. Available from: http://www.oecd.org/els/health-systems/48723982.pdf
  5. Valorie A. Crooks J. Medical tourism: What Canadian family physicians need to know. Canadian Family Physician [Internet]. 2011 [cited 2016 Mar 16];57(5):527. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3093576/
  6. The impact of medical tourism on Canadian physicians [Internet]. Canadian Medical Protective Association. 2012 [cited 2016 Mar 15]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/the-impact-of-medical-tourism-on-canadian-physicians
  7. Snyder J, Adams K, Chen Y, Birch D, Caulfield T, Cohen I, Crooks V, Illes J, Zarzeczny A. Navigating physicians’ ethical and legal duties to patients seeking unproven interventions abroad. Canadian Family Physician [Internet]. 2015 [cited 2016 Mar 16];61(7):584-586. Available from: http://www.cfp.ca/content/61/7/584.full
  8. Turner L. Medical tourism: Family medicine and international health-related travel. Canadian Family Physician [Internet]. 2007 [cited 2016 Mar 16];53(10):1639-1641. Available from: http://www.cfp.ca/content/53/10/1639.full
  9. Receiving medical care in other countries [Internet]. Government of Canada. 2015 [cited 2016 Mar 17]. Available from: http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/care-abroad
  10. Treating non-residents [Internet]. Canadian Medical Protective Association. 2013 [cited 2016 Mar 15]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/-/treating-non-residents-of-canada

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le tourisme médical et ses risques médico-légaux

Publié initialement en juillet 2016
W16-003-F

On constate depuis quelques années que de plus en plus de patients dans le monde entier se rendent dans un pays étranger pour y obtenir des soins médicaux.1 Ce phénomène, connu sous l’appellation de tourisme médical, représente des défis pour les médecins canadiens en ce qui a trait à la prestation des soins, ainsi que des risques déontologiques et médico-légaux. Les médecins devraient connaître les problèmes associés au tourisme médical et savoir comment gérer les risques qui se posent lorsque leurs patients consultent à l’étranger, ainsi que lorsque des touristes étrangers viennent au Canada pour se faire soigner.

Facteurs influant sur le tourisme médical

La mondialisation des marchés des soins de santé, entre autres facteurs, contribue à convaincre certaines personnes d’obtenir des soins à l’étranger.

De nombreuses raisons peuvent pousser les patients à consulter dans un autre pays, que ce soit pour éviter des longues listes d’attentes, obtenir des traitements à moindre coût ou avoir accès à des soins qui ne sont pas offerts dans leur pays de résidence.2 Les traitements et les interventions recherchés peuvent aller de la chirurgie esthétique à l’oncologie.

Certains pays se lancent dans la promotion du tourisme médical et se font activement concurrence. Les pays asiatiques représentent des destinations de choix pour les patients faisant du tourisme médical et certains pays du Moyen-Orient et de l’Amérique latine construisent des établissements hospitaliers destinés tout particulièrement à attirer les patients internationaux.1

L’affermissement des lignes directrices et des normes d’agrément internationales reconnues à l’égard du tourisme médical constituent des facteurs importants dans la croissance de cet engouement pour la recherche de soins à l’étranger.3 Par ailleurs, les progrès technologiques, telle l’accessibilité d’Internet, offrent aux patients un accès aisé aux entreprises de tourisme médical et à leurs intermédiaires, ou aux tiers acquéreurs de soins de santé.4

Le Canada reçoit des étrangers, des touristes et des non-résidents qui recherchent des soins médicaux pour diverses raisons. C’est le cas, par exemple, de certaines non-résidentes qui y viennent pour accoucher. C’est ce que l’on appelle le phénomène du « tourisme obstétrical » ou des « bébés-passeports », moyen permettant à ces enfants d’obtenir la citoyenneté s’ils naissent sur le territoire canadien.

Perspective canadienne

Au Canada, les dépenses liées au tourisme médical (tant pour les citoyens que pour les visiteurs étrangers) demeurent limitées par rapport à celles d’autres pays.1 Il y a par ailleurs davantage de Canadiens qui se rendent à l’étranger pour obtenir des soins que de visiteurs étrangers qui viennent se faire soigner au Canada.1 Le nombre estimé de Canadiens ayant reçu un traitement à l’étranger en 2014 est de 52 513, soit une augmentation de 26 % par rapport à 2013 (41 838).2

Risques médico-légaux de l’obtention de soins à l’étranger par des Canadiens

Les patients canadiens qui consultent à l’étranger peuvent soulever des problèmes et des risques médico-légaux pour leur médecin canadien.

En effet, ces patients peuvent se laisser influencer par des renseignements ambigus, voire incomplets, publiés dans les sites web des destinations de soins de santé. Ils peuvent avoir de la difficulté à obtenir des renseignements fiables sur les taux de réussite des interventions et sur la qualité des soins dans les établissements où ils comptent se rendre.5,6 Ils risquent alors de consentir à des soins sans avoir été préalablement bien éclairés.7 Ils peuvent aussi se tourner vers leur médecin pour obtenir des renseignements ou une recommandation sur un traitement offert à l’étranger. Le médecin peut hésiter à se prononcer s’il n’a pas suffisamment connaissance d’une intervention particulière, y compris de ses avantages et ses risques.

En offrant des conseils professionnels et en recommandant une intervention offerte à l’étranger, le médecin s’impose un devoir de diligence dans la relation établie avec son patient qui pourrait l’exposer à des obligations en matière de coordination des soins. Si de piètres résultats de santé sont obtenus à la suite du traitement, le médecin risque d’être nommé dans une action en justice intentée dans le pays étranger. L’admissibilité du médecin à l’assistance de l’ACPM peut alors être mise en question.

Lorsqu’un patient canadien se rend à l’étranger pour obtenir des soins de santé, il risque de recevoir un traitement inadéquat, en raison de règlements internationaux pouvant laisser à désirer dans l’industrie du tourisme médical, ainsi que de la qualité des soins pouvant varier d’un pays à l’autre.5,6,8 Par ailleurs, certaines interventions offertes à l’étranger sont illégales, inéprouvées ou inaccessibles au Canada. Il est alors difficile pour un médecin canadien d’assurer le suivi d’interventions mal exécutées ou mal connues, ou avec lesquelles il n’a que peu ou pas d’expérience.5

La continuité des soins risque d’être encore plus perturbée lorsqu’un patient revient chez lui avec des documents cliniques incomplets, si ce n’est sans aucun document, et peu d’information sur l’intervention subie à l’étranger.6,8 En effet, des systèmes inefficaces de transfert des dossiers médicaux entre les patients ayant fait du tourisme médical et leurs médecins, au Canada et dans le pays dans lequel ils ont obtenu des soins,5 risquent de compliquer l’obtention de documentation sur une intervention. De plus, le « transfert international et non réglementé des dossiers médicaux peut porter atteinte à la protection des renseignements personnels du patient ».5

Minimiser les risques médico-légaux

Traiter des Canadiens s’étant fait soigner à l’étranger

Les médecins qui prodiguent des soins à des patients revenant d’un pays étranger où ils ont reçu un traitement devraient tenir compte de ce qui suit pour minimiser leurs risques médico-légaux :6

  • Le médecin devrait respecter l’autonomie du patient qui choisit d’aller à l’étranger pour obtenir une intervention ou qui prend d’autres décisions concernant ses soins de santé.6
  • Lorsque la situation s’y prête, le médecin devrait, dans la mesure de ses capacités et de ses connaissances, répondre aux questions du patient qui envisage de se rendre à l’étranger pour obtenir un traitement.7,8 Il peut aussi aider le patient à minimiser les risques pour sa santé associés aux voyages dans certains pays, par exemple en lui suggérant de se faire vacciner au préalable.5,6
  • Le médecin devrait maintenir la communication avec le patient, par exemple en lui demandant de fournir des renseignements sur le traitement médical obtenu à l’étranger, y compris son dossier médical dans le pays où il s’est fait soigner, et en veillant à ce que le dossier intégral soit transféré.5,6
  • Toute discussion concernant l’intervention subie à l’étranger devrait être documentée dans le dossier médical du patient.
  • Les lignes directrices établies par le gouvernement du Canada peuvent se révéler utiles tant pour le médecin que pour le patient dans la réduction des risques associés à l’obtention de soins médicaux à l’étranger.6,9
  • Le médecin devrait tenir compte des renseignements de son organisme provincial ou territorial de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) concernant le tourisme médical.
  • Le médecin qui traite un patient ayant reçu des soins à l’étranger devrait savoir que celui-ci aura besoin d’un suivi à son retour au Canada, y compris la possibilité de soins d’extrême urgence. Dans de telles circonstances, le médecin doit tenir compte de l’urgence du traitement requis, et de la mesure dans laquelle il peut fournir des renseignements et des soins de suivi compte tenu de ses connaissances cliniques.6

Traitement de non-résidents venant au Canada pour obtenir des soins

Les conseils qui suivent peuvent aider les médecins à réduire leurs risques médico-légaux lorsqu’ils traitent des non-résidents et des patients faisant du tourisme médical au Canada.

  • Avant de prodiguer des soins ou un traitement à un non-résident, le médecin devrait faire des efforts raisonnables dans les circonstances pour que le patient signe une copie de la Convention relative au droit applicable et à l’attribution de juridiction.
  • Les membres de l’ACPM devraient discuter avec leurs patients de la raison d’être de cette convention, qui sert à veiller à ce que toute action en justice potentielle contre le médecin découlant des soins qu’il a prodigués soit intentée au Canada.10
  • Les médecins devraient se familiariser avec les lignes directrices, les politiques et les protocoles de leur hôpital et de leur Collège sur le tourisme médical et sur le traitement de non-résidents.
  • Les médecins devraient documenter au dossier médical toute discussion tenue avec un non-résident ainsi que les soins qui lui ont été prodigués.

Principes sur l’étendue de l’assistance offerte aux médecins traitant des non-résidents

Les médecins canadiens qui prodiguent des soins à des non-résidents du Canada s’exposent à un risque accru de problèmes médico-légaux à l’extérieur du pays. Les membres qui envisagent de traiter des non-résidents du Canada devraient connaître les principes de l'assistance offerte aux membres qui prodiguent des soins à des non-résidents du Canada.

  • Bien que les membres de l’ACPM soient généralement admissibles à une assistance dans les cas de problèmes survenant au Canada à la suite de soins médicaux prodigués au Canada, l’Association n’est pas structurée pour prêter assistance lorsque des poursuites médico-légales sont intentées par des non-résidents à l’extérieur du pays.10
  • L’assistance offerte par l’ACPM est discrétionnaire et l’Association peut choisir de prêter assistance à ses membres dans le cadre d’actions en justice intentées au Canada ou à l’extérieur du pays si les soins ont été prodigués au Canada dans des circonstances d’urgence ou d’extrême urgence, si les soins requis n’étaient pas raisonnablement offerts dans le pays du patient, ou dans d’autres circonstances exceptionnelles.10
  • L’ACPM n’envisagera pas de prêter assistance à l’extérieur du Canada si un membre a, directement ou indirectement (par l’intermédiaire d’organisateurs de voyages de tourisme médical ou d’autres tierces parties), sollicité, entrepris ou offert d’entreprendre activement le traitement d’un non-résident, p. ex. en soins obstétricaux, ou favorisé la création d’une relation médecin-patient avec un non-résident.10

Les médecins sont encouragés à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils sur toute question concernant le tourisme médical et les circonstances dans lesquelles un membre peut être admissible à une assistance.




Références

  1. Bounajm F, Labonté R, Runnels V. Les hôpitaux canadiens devraient-ils s’ouvrir au tourisme médical : Les soins de santé au Canada, moteur de la croissance économique [En ligne]. Le Conference Board du Canada; 2015. http://www.conferenceboard.ca/temp/c8dc8e36-a323-4c70-8f5f-02ae8a3d19df/7004-%20international%20trade%20in%20health-br-fr.pdf
  2. Barua B, Ren F. Leaving Canada for Medical Care, 2015 [En ligne]. Institut Fraser. 2015 [cité le 20 juin 2016]. https://www.fraserinstitute.org/sites/default/files/leaving-canada-for-medical-care-2015.pdf
  3. Medical Tourism Statistics & Facts [En ligne]. Patient Beyond Borders. 2014 [cité le 20 juin 2016]. http://www.patientsbeyondborders.com/medical-tourism-statistics-facts
  4. Lunt N, Smith R, Exworthy m, Green S, Horsfall D, Mannion R. Medical Tourism: Treatments, Markets and Health System Implications: A scoping review [En ligne]. Paris : OCDE; 2011 [cité le 20 juin 2016]. http://www.oecd.org/els/health-systems/48723982.pdf
  5. Valorie A. Crooks J. Tourisme médical : Ce que les médecins de famille doivent savoir. Le médecin de famille canadien [En ligne]. 2011 [cité le 20 juin 2016]; 57(5):e151-e153. http://www.linkedin.com/company/2608020?trk=tyah
  6. L’impact du tourisme médical sur les médecins canadiens [En ligne]. Association canadienne de protection médicale. 2012 [cité le 20 juin 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/the-impact-of-medical-tourism-on-canadian-physicians
  7. Snyder J, Adams K, Chen Y, Birch D, Caulfield T, Cohen I, Crooks V, Illes J, Zarzeczny A. Interventions non éprouvées à l’étranger : Décoder les obligations éthiques et juridiques envers les patients. Le médecin de famille canadien [En ligne]. 2015 [cité le 20 juin 2016]; 61(7):e295-e298. http://www.linkedin.com/company/2608020?trk=tyah
  8. Turner L. Tourisme médical : La médecine familiale et les voyages internationaux reliés à la santé. Le médecin de famille canadien [En ligne]. 2007 [cité le 20 juin 2016]; 53(10):1646-1648. http://www.linkedin.com/company/2608020?trk=tyah
  9. Recevoir des soins médicaux dans d’autres pays [En ligne]. Gouvernement du Canada. 2015 [cité le 20 juin 2016]. https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/sante-securite/soin-a-l-etranger
  10. Traitement de non-résidents du Canada [En ligne]. Association canadienne de protection médicale. 2013 [cité le 20 juin 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/-/treating-non-residents-of-canada

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.