Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Improving patient handovers

Originally published March 2016
W16-001-E

To be effective, a patient handover requires an exchange of information that is correct, meaningful, and adequate, and includes opportunities to discuss the information and ask questions for clarification.1 A number of barriers can hinder handovers and heighten risks for both patients and physicians.2 To manage the risks, physicians will want to consider various strategies to overcome these barriers.

A patient handover is the transfer of responsibility and accountability for some or all aspects of care for a patient or group of patients, temporarily or permanently.1

What the CMPA’s cases show

In an analysis of its medical-legal cases (2010 – 2014) involving handovers, the CMPA identified the following as contributing to problems with handovers, a number of which involve communications:

  1. Setting (i.e., busy work environments with frequent interruptions and distractions)
  2. Time constraints
  3. Incompatible communication styles
  4. Missing information about the patient’s condition or care plan including its documentation
  5. Lack of the use of a standardized communication tool
  6. Lack of training on safe patient handovers

Overcoming barriers, improving handovers

Patient safety experts and researchers offer various strategies for physicians to achieve more effective handovers. A few are briefly described here.

To address communication barriers, some experts advocate that, whenever possible during a handover, information is shared face-to-face instead of via electronic or written vehicles such as text messages or whiteboards.3 Some recommend that providers sit side-by-side, looking at the sign-out tool or patient list or computer screen together.4 This position may also allow for interactive questioning. To help ensure they’ve understood the information being conveyed, providers assuming care of a patient are encouraged to actively listen during the handover and to read back or repeat the information they’ve heard.5

Standardized or structured communication approaches to sharing information are often promoted by patient safety experts. There are many structured communication tools (mnemonic techniques) available to help recall important handover steps from memory, for example SBAR (which stands for Situation, Background, Assessment, and Recommendation) and IPASS6, 7 (which stands for illness severity, patient summary, action items, situation awareness and contingency planning, and synthesis by receiver).

Structured communication tools typically include the following components1:

  • the patient’s history including background information and the current situation
  • the assessment, what might happen next, and what the patient and family have been told
  • a recommended plan with a pending list of action items and contingency plans should a particular scenario occur
  • interactive questioning where providers accepting a handover can verify their understanding of the situation, assess the reasonableness of any recommended plans, and read back critical information

A more detailed description of such tools is available on the CMPA Good Practices Guide website. (The CMPA does not endorse any specific structured communication approach or tool.)

Researchers in one study of handovers found that choosing a quiet place to limit the number of interruptions and distractions contributed to improving the process.3

To overcome time constraints, experts suggest setting aside a specific time for transferring information8 and prioritizing the information to be discussed such as starting with the sickest patient.9 Some studies have found that using a standardized or structured communication tool can increase the content of information transferred without increasing the time to perform the handover.10 Others suggest using technology that automatically downloads important patient information into a template to shorten the time spent on team rounds.11

Training geared specifically to handovers can also result in improvements. For instance, experts have found that teaching providers how to use clear, unambiguous language during handovers can prevent information from being misinterpreted.8

Some experts encourage healthcare providers to involve the patient (and with the patient’s permission, the family) directly in a handover. This makes the patient aware that there is a change to a new team or most responsible physician, allows the history to be clarified and any misinformation corrected, and provides an opportunity to address any questions and concerns.1

Because important information can be lost during handovers, it may be prudent for physicians who are assuming care of a patient to go over the clinical history directly with the patient, and then enter the key handover information into a paper or electronic log.1 (Watch a CMPA video, "Documentation — A lawyer's story" to learn more about good documentation during a handover.)

These are just a few of the possible strategies to improve patient handovers. Many others are discussed in the literature. When investigating how to make handovers more effective, physicians are encouraged to consider their own particular needs and setting before deciding what approaches would work for them.

 


 

  1. CMPA Good Practices Guide [Internet]. Ottawa: The Canadian Medical Protective Association. Handovers; 2012 [cited 2015 Dec 16]; [about 5 screens]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/serve/docs/ela/goodpracticesguide/pages/communication/Handovers/what_is_a_handover-e.html
  2. CMPA Risk Fact Sheet: Patient handovers. Ottawa: The Canadian Medical Protective Association; 2013 [cited 2015 Dec 16]. 2 p. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/cmpa-risk-fact-sheets
  3. Solet D, Norvell M, Rutan G, Frankel M. Lost in translation: challenges and opportunities in physician-to-physician communication during patient handoffs. Acad Med [Internet]. 2005 Dec [cited 2016 Jan 27]80(12);1094-1099. Available from: http://med.stanford.edu/shs/update/archives/DEC2009/Lost_in_Translation.pdf
  4. Frankel R, Flanagan M, Ebright P, Bergman A, O’Brien C, Franks Z, Allen A, Harris A, Saleem J. Context, culture and (non-verbal) communication affect handover quality. BMJ Qual Saf [Internet]. 2012 [cited 2016 Jan 27];21:i121-i127. Available from: http://qualitysafety.bmj.com/content/21/Suppl_1/i121.full doi: 10.1136/bmjqs-2012-001482
  5. Barenfanger J, Sautter RL, Lang DL, Collins SM, Hacek DM, Peterson LR. Improving patient safety by repeating (read-back) telephone reports of critical information. Am J Clin Pathol [Internet]. 2004 Jun [cited 2016 Jan 7];121 (6): 801-803. Available from: http://ajcp.oxfordjournals.org/content/ajcpath/121/6/801.full.pdf doi: 10.1309/9DYM6R0TM830U95Q
  6. Starmer A, Spector N, Srivastava R, Allen A, Landrigan C, Sectish T and the I-PASS Study Group. I-PASS, a Mnemonic to standardize verbal handoffs. Pediatrics [Internet]. 2012 Jan 9 [cited March 16, 2016]:129 (2);201-204. Available from: http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/2/201 doi: 10.1542/peds.2011-2966
  7. Starmer A, Spector N, Srivastava R, West D, Rosenbluth G, Allen A, Noble B, Tse L, Dalal A, Keohane C, Lipsitz S, Rothschild J, Wien M, Yoon C, Zigmont C, WilsonK, O’Toole J, Solan R, Aylor M, Bismilla Z, Coffey M, Mahant S, Blankenburg R, Destino L, Everhart J, Patel S, Bale J, Spackman J, Stevenson A, Calaman S, Cole S, Balmer D, Hepps J, Lopreiato J, Yu C, Sectish T, Landrigan C, for the I-PASS Study Group. Changes in medical errors after implementation of a handoff program. New Engl J Med [Internet]. 2014 Nov 6 [cited 2016 March 16];371:1803-1812. Available from: http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMsa1405556 doi: 10.1056/NEJMsa1405556
  8. WHO Collaborating Centre for Patient Safety Solutions. Communication during patient hand-overs. Patient Safety Solutions [Internet]. 2007 May[cited 2016 Jan 27];1(3). Available from: http://www.who.int/patientsafety/solutions/patientsafety/PS-Solution3.pdf
  9. Cohen M, IIan R, Garrett L, LeBaron C, Christianson M. The earlier the longer: disproportionate time allocated to patients discussed early in attending physician handoff sessions. Arch Intern Med [Internet]. 2012 Dec [cited 2016 Jan 27];172(22):1762-1764. Available from: http://archinte.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1391009 doi: 10.1001/2013.jamainternmed.65.
  10. Thompson J, Collett L, Langbart M, Purcell N, Boyd S, Yuminaga Y, Ossolinski G Susanto C, McCormack A. Using the ISBAR handover tool in junior medical officer handover: a study in an Australian tertiary hospital. Postgrad Med J. 2011; 87:340-4.
  11. Van Eaton EG, Horvath KD, Lober WB, Rossini AJ, Pellegrini CA. A randomized, controlled trial evaluating the impact of a computerized rounding and sign-out system on continuity of care and resident work hours. J Am Coll Surg, 2005; 200(4);538-545.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Améliorer le transfert des soins

Publié initialement en mars 2016
W16-001-F

Pour être efficace, un transfert des soins doit nécessairement inclure la communication d’informations exactes, pertinentes et suffisantes ainsi que la possibilité de discuter de ces informations et d’obtenir des éclaircissements à leur égard.1 De nombreux obstacles peuvent entraver le transfert des soins et augmenter les risques tant pour les patients que pour les médecins.2 Dans l’optique de gérer les risques, les médecins voudront envisager diverses stratégies visant à surmonter ces obstacles.

Le transfert des soins consiste à transférer la responsabilité et la responsabilisation, de manière temporaire ou permanente, de la totalité ou d’une partie des aspects des soins d’un patient ou d’un groupe de patients.1

Ce que révèlent les dossiers de l’ACPM

Dans le cadre d’une analyse de ses dossiers médico-légaux (2010 à 2014) portant sur le transfert des soins, l’ACPM a déterminé que les facteurs suivants ont contribué aux problèmes liés aux transferts, dont bon nombre relèvent de la communication :

  1. Contexte (p. ex., milieu de travail achalandé, comportant de nombreuses interruptions et distractions)
  2. Contraintes de temps
  3. Incompatibilité des styles de communication
  4. Manque d’information au sujet de l’état du patient ou du plan de soins, notamment sa documentation
  5. Utilisation inappropriée d’un outil de communication normalisé
  6. Formation insuffisante sur les transferts des soins sécuritaires.

Surmonter les barrières, améliorer le transfert des soins

Les experts et les chercheurs en sécurité des patients proposent diverses stratégies visant à aider les médecins à effectuer un transfert des soins plus efficace, dont quelques-unes sont brièvement décrites ci-dessous.

Pour surmonter les barrières à la communication durant un transfert des soins, certains experts préconisent, dans la mesure du possible, l’échange d’information en personne plutôt qu’à l’aide de moyens électroniques ou de communication écrite tels les textos ou les tableaux interactifs.3 D’autres recommandent que les professionnels de la santé s’assoient côte à côte pour passer en revue ensemble le contenu de l’outil électronique de transfert des soins ou les divers écrans d’ordinateur ainsi que la liste des patients.4 Cette démarche peut aussi favoriser un dialogue interactif. Pour s’assurer d’avoir bien compris l’information transmise, les professionnels qui prennent en charge les soins d’un patient sont encouragés à faire preuve d’écoute active durant le transfert des soins et à relire à voix haute ou à répéter les renseignements reçus.5

Les experts en matière de sécurité des patients recommandent des méthodes de communication structurée ou normalisée pour la transmission d’informations. Il existe de nombreux outils de communication structurée (méthodes mnémotechniques) pour aider à se rappeler des étapes importantes du transfert; p. ex., SBAR ou SAER (Situation, Antécédents, Évaluation et Recommandation) et IPASS6,7 (Illness severity [Gravité du cas], Patient summary [Résumé du patient], Action list [Plan d’action], Situation awareness and contingency planning [Conscience situationnelle et plan d’urgence], et Synthesis by receiver [Synthèse de l’interlocuteur]).

Les outils de communication structurée comprennent généralement les composantes suivantes1 :

  • l’anamnèse du patient, dont les antécédents et la situation actuelle
  • l’évaluation, ce qui pourrait se produire ensuite et ce que l’on a dit au patient et à sa famille
  • le plan recommandé avec une liste des mesures prévues et des plans d’intervention au cas où un scénario précis devait se concrétiser
  • un dialogue interactif permettant aux professionnels qui assument la prise en charge des soins de confirmer leur compréhension de la situation, d’évaluer le caractère raisonnable des plans recommandés, et de relire à voix haute les renseignements essentiels

Une description détaillée de tels outils est présentée dans le site web du Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM. (L’ACPM ne recommande pas de méthode ou d’outil de communication structurée en particulier.)

Dans une étude sur le transfert des soins, les chercheurs ont conclu que le fait de choisir un lieu tranquille pour limiter le nombre d’interruptions et de distractions avait contribué à l’amélioration du processus.3

Pour pallier les contraintes de temps, les experts suggèrent de prévoir une période réservée à communiquer l’information8 et à établir la priorité des renseignements à discuter; p. ex., en commençant à parler du patient le plus gravement malade.9 Certaines études ont démontré que l’utilisation d’un outil de communication structurée ou normalisée augmente la quantité d’information transmise, sans pour autant augmenter le temps nécessaire pour effectuer le transfert des soins;10 d’autres proposent l’utilisation d’une technologie qui télécharge automatiquement les données importantes sur les patients dans un modèle réduisant ainsi le temps consacré aux réunions d’équipe.11

Une formation axée spécifiquement sur le transfert des soins peut également donner lieu à des améliorations. À titre d’exemple, les experts ont conclu que le fait d’apprendre aux professionnels de la santé à utiliser un langage clair et précis durant le transfert des soins peut éviter une mauvaise interprétation de l’information.8

Certains experts encouragent les professionnels de la santé à mettre directement à contribution le patient (et, avec son accord, sa famille) dans le transfert des soins. Cela permet de faire comprendre au patient qu’il y a eu un changement d’équipe ou que le médecin le plus responsable a changé, de clarifier l’anamnèse et de corriger tout renseignement erroné, et de donner l’occasion de répondre aux questions et aux préoccupations.1

Puisque d’importants renseignements peuvent être perdus durant le transfert des soins, il pourrait être prudent pour le médecin qui assume la prise en charge des soins d’un patient de reconfirmer l’anamnèse directement auprès du patient, et ensuite de consigner les renseignements essentiels sur le transfert sur support papier ou électronique.1 (Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet d’une bonne documentation durant un transfert, visionnez la vidéo de l’ACPM - « La documentation racontée par une avocate ».)

Il ne s’agit là que de quelques-unes des stratégies possibles visant à améliorer les transferts. Plusieurs autres stratégies sont discutées dans la littérature médicale. En cherchant à déterminer comment améliorer l’efficacité du transfert des soins, les médecins sont encouragés à analyser leurs besoins particuliers et leur milieu de travail avant de décider des méthodes qui leur seraient utiles.

 


 

  1. Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM [Internet]. Ottawa : L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. Transferts; 2012 [cité le 1er mars 2016]]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/serve/docs/ela/goodpracticesguide/pages/communication/Handovers/what_is_a_handover-f.html
  2. Fiche d’information de l’ACPM EN ACTION pour des soins sécuritaires : Le transfert des soins. Ottawa : L’Association canadienne de protection médicale; 2013 [cité le 1er mars 2016]. 2 p. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/cmpa-risk-fact-sheets
  3. Solet D, Norvell M, Rutan G, Frankel M. Lost in translation: challenges and opportunities in physician-to-physician communication during patient handoffs. Acad Med [Internet]. Décembre 2005 [cité le 1er mars 2016]80(12);1094-1099. http://med.stanford.edu/shs/update/archives/DEC2009/Lost_in_Translation.pdf
  4. Frankel R, Flanagan M, Ebright P, Bergman A, O’Brien C, Franks Z, Allen A, Harris A, Saleem J. Context, culture and (non-verbal) communication affect handover quality. BMJ Qual Saf [Internet]. 2012 [cité le 1er mars 2016];21:i121-i127. http://qualitysafety.bmj.com/content/21/Suppl_1/i121.full doi: 10.1136/bmjqs-2012-001482
  5. Barenfanger J, Sautter RL, Lang DL, Collins SM, Hacek DM, Peterson LR. Improving patient safety by repeating (read-back) telephone reports of critical information. Am J Clin Pathol [Internet]. Juin 2004 [cité le 7 janvier 2016];121 (6): 801-803. http://ajcp.oxfordjournals.org/content/ajcpath/121/6/801.full.pdf doi: 10.1309/9DYM6R0TM830U95Q
  6. Starmer A, Spector N, Srivastava R, Allen A, Landrigan C, Sectish T and the I-PASS Study Group. I-PASS, a Mnemonic to standardize verbal handoffs. Pediatrics [internet]. 9 janvier 2012 [cité le 16 mars 2016]:129 (2);201-204. En ligne : http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/2/201 doi: 10.1542/peds.2011-2966.
  7. Starmer A, Spector N, Srivastara R, West D, Rosenbluth G, Allen A, Noble B, Tse L, Dalal A, Keohane C, Lipsitz S, Rothschild J, Wien M, Yoon C, Zigmont C, Wilson K, O'Toole J, Solan R, Aylor M, Bismilla Z, Coffey M, Mahant S, Blankenburg R, Destino L, Everhart J, Patel S, Bale J, Spackman J, Stevenson A, Calaman S, Cole S, Balmer D, Hepps J, Lopreiato J, Yu C, Sectish T, Landrigan C, pour le groupe d’étude I-Pass. Changes in medical errors after implementation of a handoff program. New Engl J Med (internet). 6 novembre 2014 [cité le 16 mars 2016];371:1803-1812. En ligne : http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMsa1405556
  8. Centre collaborateur de l’OMS pour les Solutions en Matière de Sécurité des Patients. Communication lors des changements de prestataire. Solutions pour la Sécurité des Patients. [Internet]. Mai 2007 [cité le 1er mars 2016];1(3). http://www.who.int/patientsafety/events/07/patientsafety_solutions_french.pdf
  9. Cohen M, IIan R, Garrett L, LeBaron C, Christianson M. The earlier the longer: disproportionate time allocated to patients discussed early in attending physician handoff sessions. Arch Intern Med [Internet]. Décembre 2012 [cité le 1er mars 2016];172(22):1762-1764. http://archinte.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1391009 doi: 10.1001/2013.jamainternmed.65.
  10. Thompson J, Collett L, Langbart M, Purcell N, Boyd S, Yuminaga Y, Ossolinski G Susanto C, McCormack A. Using the ISBAR handover tool in junior medical officer handover: a study in an Australian tertiary hospital. Postgrad Med J. 2011; 87:340-4.
  11. Van Eaton EG, Horvath KD, Lober WB, Rossini AJ, Pellegrini CA. A randomized, controlled trial evaluating the impact of a computerized rounding and sign-out system on continuity of care and resident work hours. J Am Coll Surg, 2005; 200(4);538-545.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.