Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Safe care in obstetrics: Improving teamwork and communication in an emergency

Originally published June 2016
P1602-4-E

Obstetrical emergencies can be catastrophic and require immediate and capable management from the healthcare team. Although rare, these emergencies can occur at any time and often without much warning. Optimizing teamwork and communication will improve the team’s response to obstetrical emergencies and, as a result, enhance the safety of care for mother and baby.

Studies show that communication breakdowns are leading contributors to serious obstetrical patient safety incidents.1,2

An analysis of 169 CMPA closed medical-legal cases involving obstetrical emergencies over the past 10 years focused on the recurring themes of teamwork and communication. The main problem for all members of the care team was not clearly communicating in these situations. Emergencies included shoulder dystocia, placental abruption, cord prolapse, and maternal hemorrhage. Nearly three-quarters of patients in these cases experienced harm.

Lack of communication with patients is frequently the basis for hospital and medical regulatory authority (College) complaints in which patients allege they were not fully informed about their care, such as the reasons for necessary treatment or the risks associated with anticipated procedures.

Problematic teamwork

Several factors were identified as impediments to teamwork in the reviewed cases, and involved all team members including physicians, nurses, and residents. These factors included lack of verbally articulated team situational awareness, intimidation felt by some team members, unclear roles and responsibilities, and non-adherence to policies and clinical practice guidelines.

Nurses and residents in the analyzed cases were found to not be informing the attending physician of changes in fetal or maternal status, and to be omitting critical information in their updates, both verbally and in the medical record. The most commonly overlooked information was the presence of atypical or abnormal fetal heart rate (FHR) tracings. Physicians, meanwhile, were found not to be seeking out sufficient clinical information on the patient’s condition when discussing the case with team members, or failing to recognize the significance of the information communicated to them.

Case example: Communication breakdown between healthcare team members

A multiparous woman with gestational diabetes is induced at term due to new onset of gestational hypertension. She is given prostaglandin and IV oxytocin. Several hours later, the patient receives an epidural, the obstetrician ruptures her membranes, and meconium is noted. During this time, the FHR tracing is normal. Three hours later, the obstetrician notes the patient’s cervix is 5 cm dilated. Over the next 30 minutes, while the patient is observed by the nurse and resident, the external fetal monitor records significant decelerations, absent variability, slow recovery barely to baseline, and episodes of compensatory tachycardia. The resident re-examines the patient, notes that the cervix is 9 cm dilated, and calls the obstetrician about the dilatation and the decelerations. The obstetrician instructs the resident that the decelerations can be attributed to rapid dilatation, and to continue monitoring. He instructs the resident to inform him of any further decelerations.

Fifteen minutes later, the nurse asks the obstetrician to attend in person to review the persistent decelerations. Upon arrival, the obstetrician concludes that the tracing has been abnormal for the last 45 minutes, and he decides to perform a vacuum-assisted delivery. After two contractions, a limp baby is delivered in need of aggressive resuscitation.

The resident and nurse are questioned by the hospital review committee as to why they did not notify the obstetrician sooner about the changes in the FHR tracing. They explain that they did not think at the time that the situation was worrisome, and that they felt intimidated by the obstetrician’s gruff manner. The committee reviews the documentation made by the nurse, resident, and obstetrician, and finds that their sparse notes are contradictory and do not adequately convey the situation and clinical thinking. The committee concludes that the patient’s care was mismanaged, that there was delay when delivery should have been expedited, and that crucial information was not properly communicated between members of the team.

Ineffective communication

Ineffective communication hindered a response in many situations in the reviewed cases. Factors that contributed to miscommunication included chaotic workplace environments, ineffective hospital paging protocols, inadequate handovers, and poor communications skills. Where communication breakdown was identified in the reviewed cases, hospitals often responded with changes to processes and protocols. These changes included the creation of contingency plans when physicians do not respond to pages or cannot attend, and the development of structured tools for sharing information at shift change or during handovers. The following case illustrates how failing to communicate clearly during an emergency can contribute to a serious outcome.

Case example: Miscommunication of urgency

A family physician is attempting a vacuum extraction to deliver a baby whose FHR tracings show profound decelerations. The unit has been very busy overnight, and the incoming team has many patients to discuss at handover. The physician asks the outgoing nurse to page the on-call obstetrician for assistance. His request is not passed on to her replacement. The physician leaves the patient’s bedside to seek out the obstetrician, who upon arriving reviews the FHR tracing and determines that an urgent caesarean section is needed. As the urgency is not well communicated to the operating room (OR) personnel, there is a delay in the transfer of the patient. The anaesthesiologist does not attend urgently because he is under the impression that the indication is elective and not urgent. Forty-seven minutes later, a stillborn infant is delivered.

The patient files a legal action. Peer experts reviewing the case are critical of several aspects of care, including the unreasonable delay in performing an urgent procedure. Following this event, the hospital implements an improved process to prioritize caesarean section bookings.

Improving communication in obstetrical emergencies

The following suggestions, aimed at fostering a culture of safety with open and respectful communication in obstetrical units, are based on expert opinions in the reviewed CMPA cases.

For physicians in practice:

  • Obtain informed consent, and keep the patient informed of changes in the treatment plan as they develop.
  • Clearly verbalize concerns with team members about the patient’s condition to enhance the team members’ situational awareness, and confirm that the team recognizes the urgency.
  • Use a structured communication tool for sharing information at handover and when providing progress reports, regardless of whether these exchanges are verbal or via the medical record.
  • Consider using a standardized documentation template for situations in which timelines are important (e.g. shoulder dystocia, assisted vaginal deliveries).
  • Debrief with the team following an urgent delivery or patient safety incident to review the sequence and timing of events and the effectiveness of team communication. All team members should document the care provided and the information should be consistent.
  • Following an obstetrical emergency, discuss the circumstances and outcomes with the patient and her family. Consult the CMPA handbook Disclosing harm from healthcare delivery, or contact the Association for individual advice on disclosure.

For physicians in leadership roles:

  • Develop and encourage use of strategies to escalate clinical concerns within a team environment.
  • Facilitate and encourage simulation training and drills to practise team shared situational awareness, effective communication, and crisis response.
  • Clearly define the roles and responsibilities of each team member to optimize care coverage and responsiveness.
  • Encourage regular reviews and updates of communication policies and training. Periodically evaluate adherence to such policies and quality improvement activities.

More information

The CMPA Good Practices Guide has more information on team communication, including structured communication methods, situational awareness, and approaches for speaking up.


  1. The Joint Commission. Sentinel event data: Root causes by event type 2004 – 3Q 2015 [Internet]. 2015 Nov 13  [cited 2016  Jan 7]. Available from: http://www.jointcommission.org/sentinel_event_statistics/
  2. The Joint Commission. Preventing infant death and injury during delivery. Joint Commission Sentinel Event Alert [Internet]. 2004 July 21 [cited 2016 Jan 7]: Issue 30. Available from:  http://www.jointcommission.org/sentinel_event_alert_issue_30_preventing_infant_death_and_injury_during_delivery/

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Soins sécuritaires en obstétrique : Améliorer le travail d’équipe et la communication dans une situation d’urgence

Publié initialement en juin 2016
P1602-4-F

Les urgences obstétricales peuvent être catastrophiques et commandent une prise en charge immédiate, assurée avec compétence par l’équipe soignante. Quoique rares, ces urgences sont susceptibles d’arriver à tout moment, souvent sans signes précurseurs. Optimiser le travail d’équipe et la communication permet d’améliorer la réponse de l’équipe aux urgences obstétricales et, par conséquent, d’accroître la sécurité des soins pour la mère et le bébé.

Des études montrent que des ratés dans la communication sont les principaux facteurs à l’origine d’incidents de sécurité graves en obstétrique.1,2

Une analyse de 169 dossiers médico-légaux conclus par l’ACPM au cours des 10 dernières années pour des urgences obstétricales a porté sur les thèmes récurrents du travail d’équipe et de la communication. Le principal problème pour tous les membres de l’équipe soignante était de ne pas avoir communiqué clairement dans ces situations. Les urgences analysées comprenaient la dystocie de l’épaule, le décollement du placenta, la procidence du cordon et l’hémorragie maternelle. Près des trois quarts des patients dans ces cas ont subi des préjudices.

Le manque de communication avec les patients est souvent le motif des plaintes déposées auprès d’hôpitaux ou d’organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) par des patients qui affirment ne pas avoir été pleinement informés sur leurs soins, notamment des raisons pour lesquelles le traitement était nécessaire ou des risques associés aux interventions prévues.

Travail d’équipe problématique

Plusieurs facteurs ont été définis comme des obstacles au travail d’équipe dans les cas examinés et s’appliquaient à tous les membres de l’équipe, y compris les médecins, les infirmières et les résidents. Ces facteurs étaient l’absence d’échanges verbaux permettant d’étoffer la conscience situationnelle de l’équipe, l’intimidation ressentie par certains membres de l’équipe, une ambiguïté des rôles et des responsabilités de même qu’un non-respect des politiques et des guides de pratique clinique.

L’analyse a révélé que les infirmières et les résidents en cause dans ces cas n’avaient pas informé le médecin traitant des changements dans l’état du fœtus et de la mère, et avaient omis des renseignements essentiels dans leurs mises à jour, tant verbalement que dans le dossier médical. L’élément d’information le plus souvent omis a été la présence de tracés atypiques ou anormaux de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale (FCF). Les médecins, pour leur part, n’ont pas demandé assez de renseignements cliniques sur l’état de la patiente lorsqu’ils discutaient du cas avec les membres de l’équipe, ou n’ont pas su reconnaître l’importance des renseignements qui leur étaient communiqués.

Exemple de cas : Communications déficientes entre des membres de l’équipe soignante

Chez une femme multipare atteinte de diabète gestationnel, l’accouchement à terme est provoqué en raison d’une hypertension gestationnelle nouvellement apparue. La patiente reçoit de l’ocytocine par voie intraveineuse et des prostaglandines. Plusieurs heures plus tard, une analgésie épidurale est administrée, les membranes sont rompues par l’obstétricien et la présence de méconium est constatée. Pendant ce temps, le tracé de la FCF est normal. Trois heures plus tard, l’obstétricien note que la dilatation du col est de 5 cm. Au cours des 30 minutes suivantes, pendant que l’infirmière et le résident surveillent la patiente, le moniteur fœtal externe enregistre des décélérations importantes, une absence de variabilité, un rétablissement lent à peine jusqu’à la valeur de départ et des épisodes de tachycardie de compensation. Le résident réexamine la patiente, note que le col est dilaté à 9 cm et appelle l’obstétricien pour l’informer de la dilatation et des décélérations. L’obstétricien répond au résident que les décélérations peuvent être dues à la dilatation rapide, et lui dit de continuer la surveillance et de l’informer de toute autre décélération.

Quinze minutes plus tard, l’infirmière demande à l’obstétricien de venir en personne examiner les décélérations persistantes. À son arrivée, l’obstétricien conclut que le tracé est anormal depuis 45 minutes et procède à une extraction par ventouse. Après deux contractions, un bébé flasque ayant besoin d’une réanimation énergique est expulsé.

Le résident et l’infirmière sont interrogés par le comité d’examen de l’hôpital et doivent justifier pourquoi ils n’ont pas averti l’obstétricien plus tôt des modifications du tracé de la FCF. Ils expliquent que la situation ne leur semblait pas préoccupante à ce moment-là et qu’ils se sentaient intimidés par les manières bourrues de l’obstétricien. Le comité examine la documentation produite par l’infirmière, le résident et l’obstétricien, et constate que leurs notes fragmentaires sont contradictoires et ne rendent pas bien compte de la situation et du raisonnement clinique. Le comité conclut que la prise en charge des soins de la patiente a été déficiente, que l’accouchement du bébé a été retardé alors qu’il aurait dû être devancé, et que de l’information essentielle n’a pas été communiquée adéquatement entre les membres de l’équipe.

Communication inefficace

Une communication inefficace a entravé la mise en œuvre d’une réponse dans bon nombre des situations ayant mené aux dossiers analysés. Les facteurs en cause dans la mauvaise communication étaient, entre autres, un milieu de travail chaotique, des protocoles de téléavertissement inefficaces dans l’hôpital, des transferts de soins inadéquats et de piètres compétences en communication. Lorsque des défaillances de communication sont ressorties des cas analysés, les hôpitaux ont souvent réagi par des modifications de processus et de protocoles, notamment par la création de plans de substitution à utiliser lorsque des médecins ne répondent pas au téléavertisseur ou ne sont pas disponibles, et l’élaboration d’outils structurés pour l’échange d’information durant les changements de quart ou les transferts de soins. Le cas ci-dessous illustre comment l’incapacité de communiquer clairement pendant une situation d’urgence peut contribuer à des conséquences graves.

Exemple de cas : Mauvaise communication d’une urgence

Un médecin de famille tente d’effectuer une extraction par ventouse pour un bébé dont les tracés de FCF montrent des décélérations profondes. L’unité a été très occupée toute la nuit, et de nombreux cas sont à discuter avec la nouvelle équipe lors du changement de quart. Le médecin demande à l’infirmière qui termine son quart de travail d’avertir l’obstétricien de garde pour qu’il vienne l’aider. Sa demande n’est pas transmise à l’infirmière qui prend la relève. Le médecin quitte la patiente pour aller chercher l’obstétricien qui, à son arrivée, regarde les tracés de FCF et détermine qu’une césarienne d’urgence est requise. L’urgence n’est pas bien communiquée au personnel de la salle d’opération, de sorte que le transfert de la patiente est retardé. L’anesthésiologiste ne se présente pas sur-le-champ, croyant qu’il s’agit d’une césarienne de convenance, non urgente. Quarante-sept minutes plus tard, l’accouchement se solde par un enfant mort-né.

La patiente intente une action en justice. Les experts qui examinent le cas critiquent plusieurs aspects des soins, notamment le retard déraisonnable dans l’exécution d’une intervention urgente. Après cet incident, l’hôpital met en œuvre un processus amélioré pour déterminer l’ordre de priorité des césariennes.

Améliorer la communication dans les situations d’urgence obstétricales

Les recommandations ci-dessous, qui visent à promouvoir une culture de sécurité de même qu’une communication ouverte et respectueuse dans les unités d’obstétrique, reposent sur les avis d’experts cités dans les dossiers de l’ACPM.

Pour les médecins :

  • Obtenir le consentement éclairé de la patiente et tenir celle-ci au courant des changements qui doivent être apportés au plan de traitement.
  • Faire clairement part de ses préoccupations sur l’état de la patiente aux membres de l’équipe afin d’accroître leur conscience situationnelle, puis confirmer qu’ils reconnaissent tous l’urgence de la situation.
  • Utiliser un outil de communication structurée pour les échanges d’information lors du changement de quart ou pour la transmission de rapports d’évolution, que ces échanges se fassent de vive voix ou au moyen du dossier médical.
  • Envisager d’utiliser un modèle de documentation normalisé pour les situations où la chronologie des interventions revêt une importance particulière (p. ex. dystocie de l’épaule, accouchement vaginal assisté).
  • Après un accouchement d’urgence ou un incident ayant compromis la sécurité d’un patient, faire un bilan avec l’équipe pour passer en revue la séquence et la chronologie des événements, et l’efficacité de la communication au sein de l’équipe. Tous les membres de l’équipe doivent documenter les soins prodigués, et l’information doit être cohérente.
  • Après une urgence obstétricale, discuter des circonstances et de l’issue avec la patiente et sa famille. Consultez le guide de l’ACPM Divulgation d’un préjudice résultant de la prestation des soins ou communiquez avec l’Association pour obtenir des conseils personnalisés sur la divulgation.

Pour les médecins chefs de file :

  • Élaborer des stratégies permettant d’accorder aux préoccupations cliniques une attention qui reflète leur évolution et en favoriser l’utilisation au sein de l’équipe.
  • Faciliter et prôner la formation par simulation et les exercices favorisant, au sein d’une équipe, une conscience situationnelle commune, des communications efficaces et une réponse concertée en cas de crise.
  • Définir clairement les rôles et les responsabilités de chaque membre de l’équipe afin d’optimiser la permanence des soins et la capacité d’adaptation.
  • Encourager les révisions et mises à jour régulières des politiques de communication et de la formation. Évaluer périodiquement l’adhésion à de telles politiques et aux activités d’amélioration de la qualité.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

Le Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM fournit plus de renseignements sur la communication au sein d’une équipe, notamment sur les méthodes de communication structurée, la conscience situationnelle et les façons d’exprimer franchement ses préoccupations.


  1. The Joint Commission. Sentinel event data: Root causes by event type 2004 – 3Q 2015 [En ligne]. Le 13 novembre 2015 [cité le 7 janvier 2016]. http://www.jointcommission.org/sentinel_event_statistics/
  2. The Joint Commission. Preventing infant death and injury during delivery. Joint Commission Sentinel Event Alert [En ligne]. Le 21 juillet 2004 [cité le 7 janvier 2016]: Numéro 30. http://www.jointcommission.org/sentinel_event_alert_issue_30_preventing_infant_death_and_injury_during_delivery/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.