Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Meeting expectations with reality: Handling consent for elective cosmetic procedures

Originally published March 2016
P1601-3-E

Most elective cosmetic surgery is very successful. However, patients undergoing cosmetic procedures often have high expectations that may be unrealistic. By conducting and documenting an informed consent discussion physicians can minimize the potential gap between what patients want and what can reasonably be provided.

Patients’ unrealistic expectations about the outcome of an elective cosmetic procedure can be potentiated, in part, by the fact they are paying privately for the services. Healthcare professionals may contribute to these expectations, intentionally or not, by presenting idealized results or giving incomplete information about a procedure and possible complications. For these reasons, some courts may hold physicians to a higher standard of disclosure in consent discussions for cosmetic procedures.

These issues were underscored in a review of 89 CMPA cases from the last five years involving elective cosmetic procedures and alleged suboptimal consent. For this article, the CMPA only reviewed cases where an uninsured procedure was performed for indications not related to health and therefore not covered by a provincial or territorial health plan. While frequently aesthetic operations, these procedures, also included vision correction surgery. The procedures were performed by a number of different types of specialists.

Despite the need for increased vigilance, there was no consent discussion or documentation of a consent discussion in almost one-third of the cases.

Understanding the factors that influence medical-legal risk in this practice area provides context for problematic consent cases.

Patient factors

Patients often have high expectations for the results of elective cosmetic procedures. Psychological factors, personal or second-hand experiences with previous cosmetic procedures, and media portrayals can all contribute to patients’ heightened expectations. Online photo galleries may show a biased sample of the most outstanding surgical results. Not surprisingly, inappropriate patient selection is often linked to consent issues in these procedures. In a small number of the reviewed CMPA cases, surgeons were inappropriately influenced by patients’ preference for a particular procedure over the recommended approach. In a few instances patients had been turned down by another surgeon for the same procedure.

Experts on patient dissatisfaction with aesthetic surgery recommend that healthcare professionals first consider the nature of a patient’s presenting concern and physical appearance, the healthcare professional’s own ability to address the concern to the patient’s satisfaction, and the patient’s ability to tolerate complications.1

In some CMPA cosmetic consent cases, patients were healthcare professionals who presumably understood the risks of the procedure. Still, even when patients are assumed to have more knowledge of cosmetic surgery, such as those working in healthcare, the consent discussion must be informed.

As with many procedures, communication barriers between physicians and patients can compromise informed consent. Yet, difficulties stemming from a patient’s language ability or level of understanding can often be managed. Medical interpretation services can be accessed, and discussions and written materials can be worded for clarity and comprehension. Generally, the courts expect physicians to overcome communication issues when obtaining informed consent.

Physician factors

Patient expectations can also be influenced by the healthcare professional’s description of procedures and the expected outcomes. Many of the CMPA cosmetic consent cases involved overly optimistic descriptions of expected results. For example, patients were promised “beautiful” or “amazing” results. Similarly, there were instances of downplaying the potential for failure or the likelihood of complications.

In a small number of the cases, the courts’ decisions were not determined by issues with the consent discussions, but rather by other factors such as the physicians being found to be practising beyond their scope or licence, or the type of surgery being performed was deemed inappropriate by the courts.

The consent discussion and documentation

As to the content of the consent discussion and its documentation, peer experts in the CMPA cases reviewed were generally critical of the following:

  • reliance only on generic forms to obtain and document informed consent
  • supplementary written materials that were difficult to comprehend
  • inadequate discussion of:
    • the likely outcomes of the surgery
    • recognized risks and complications including those that are rare but of major consequence
    • pre-operative co-morbidities, e.g. diabetes, obesity, and other risk factors such as smoking
    • post-operative precautions, including the risks of smoking, need for mobilization, and use of support garments
    • the new or innovative use of non-approved approaches or devices, or off-label drugs

The consent discussion was often found insufficient for repeat or revision procedures and for patients who had previous cosmetic surgeries.

Case example: Misleading consent form

A 51-year-old man visits a laser eye clinic interested in improving distance vision in his left eye. He is seen on two occasions by an ophthalmology nurse who assesses him and explains the proposed procedure. At another visit, a nursing assistant conducts the consent discussion. The following month, the ophthalmologist meets the patient just before surgery and asks if he has any questions. The patient says that he does not. Neither of the consent discussions or the consent form contains information on the effect of the surgery on the patient’s near vision. The patient undergoes uneventful LASIK on his left eye. Post-surgery the patient is dismayed to discover a marked reduction in his near vision requiring glasses.

The patient starts a legal action alleging a lack of informed consent. The judge finds that the information material given to the patient and the wording of the consent form was short on details and fell below the standard expected in the circumstances. While these materials do mention the need for reading glasses as a possible result, the judge finds that the patient was never informed that “in agreeing to undergo the surgery, he was necessarily and automatically accepting a trade-off whereby he would surely no longer need correction glasses or contact lenses of his distance vision, but in exchange, he would surely need glasses for his near vision.” The judge finds in favour of the patient.

In obtaining consent for cosmetic procedures, physicians should take particular care in explaining fully the risks and anticipated results. The courts may impose a higher standard of disclosure for these procedures.

Risk management considerations

Physicians and surgeons who perform cosmetic procedures should consider the following suggestions, which are based on peer expert opinion in the cases reviewed:

  • Obtain a detailed patient history to ascertain patients’ motivation and determine the appropriateness of the procedure and reasonable alternative options.
  • Assess patients’ ability to understand the information being provided.
  • Access medical interpretation services, as appropriate.
  • Consider using decision aids to help patients understand and weigh their options including alternative procedures, no surgery, or delay of surgery.
  • Use appropriate printed information with diagrams and plain language instead of medical terms to supplement verbal consent discussions.
  • Before confirming consent, give patients time and opportunity to absorb the information and ask questions.
  • Conduct consent discussions that include the following:
    • anticipated results
    • significant risks
    • rare, but important risks of major consequence
    • pre- and post-operative precautions
    • patients’ apparent understanding and expectations
  • Document consent discussions in patients’ medical records.
  • Ensure patients’ consent forms are signed and are part of the medical record, and that they include all procedures performed and prostheses used.
  • Repeat these consent practices for any revision procedures and at regular intervals for repeat procedures.

Additional reading

 


 

  1. Constantian, M.B., Lin, C.P., “Why some patients are unhappy: part 2. Relationship of nasal shape and trauma history to surgical success,” Plastic Reconstructive Surgery (2014) Vol. 134 No. 4, p.836-51.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Entre les attentes et la réalité : consentement aux interventions esthétiques non urgentes

Publié initialement en mars 2016
P1601-3-F

La plupart des interventions esthétiques non urgentes donnent de très bons résultats; cependant, les patients qui subissent ces interventions ont souvent de grandes attentes qui peuvent être irréalistes. La discussion en vue d’obtenir un consentement éclairé, et sa documentation, permettent au médecin de réduire l’écart entre les souhaits du patient et ce qui peut raisonnablement être offert.

Les attentes irréalistes des patients quant au résultat d’une intervention esthétique non urgente peuvent être amplifiées, en partie, par le fait qu’ils paient eux-mêmes les services. Les professionnels de la santé peuvent aussi contribuer à ces attentes, de façon intentionnelle ou non, en présentant des résultats idéalisés ou des renseignements incomplets au sujet d’une intervention et des complications possibles. Pour ces raisons, certains tribunaux peuvent imposer aux médecins une norme de divulgation plus exigeante lors des discussions en vue d’obtenir le consentement aux interventions esthétiques.

Ces problèmes ont été soulevés lors de l’analyse de 89 dossiers de l’ACPM conclus au cours des cinq dernières années et portant sur des interventions esthétiques non urgentes; dans ces dossiers, il était allégué que la discussion entourant l’obtention du consentement avait été moins qu’optimale. Aux fins de cet article, l’ACPM n’a analysé que les dossiers où des services médicaux non couverts avaient été exécutés sans qu’il y ait d’indications liées à un problème de santé; par conséquent, ces services n’étaient pas pris en charge par le régime d’assurance-maladie provincial ou territorial. S’il s’agissait souvent d’interventions esthétiques, certains dossiers portaient aussi sur des chirurgies de correction de la vue. De plus, les médecins ayant pratiqué ces interventions exerçaient dans divers domaines de spécialité.

En dépit de l’importance d’une vigilance accrue, il y avait absence de discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement, ou de documentation d’une telle discussion, dans près d’un tiers des dossiers.

Une compréhension des facteurs qui influent sur les risques médico-légaux de ce domaine d’exercice permet de brosser le contexte des dossiers portant sur un problème de consentement.

Facteurs liés au patient

Les patients ont souvent des attentes élevées en ce qui concerne les résultats d’interventions esthétiques non urgentes. Les facteurs psychologiques, les expériences personnelles ou indirectes d’interventions esthétiques antérieures et les images dans les médias peuvent tous contribuer aux attentes accrues des patients. Les galeries de photos en ligne peuvent présenter un échantillon faussé des résultats chirurgicaux les plus remarquables. Il n’est pas surprenant que les problèmes de consentement à ces interventions soient souvent liés à une sélection inappropriée des patients. Dans quelques-uns des dossiers analysés, le chirurgien avait été indûment influencé par la préférence du patient pour une intervention précise plutôt que l’approche recommandée. En outre, quelques patients s’étaient vu refuser l’intervention en question par un autre chirurgien.

Quant à l’insatisfaction des patients par rapport aux chirurgies esthétiques, les experts recommandent que les médecins évaluent d’abord la nature du problème pour lequel le patient consulte ainsi que son apparence physique, l’aptitude du médecin à régler le problème de façon satisfaisante pour le patient et la capacité du patient à tolérer les complications.1

Dans certains dossiers de l’ACPM portant sur le consentement à une intervention esthétique, les patients étaient des professionnels de la santé qui connaissaient probablement les risques de l’intervention. Quoi qu’il en soit, même lorsque l’on présume que le patient en connaît davantage au sujet de la chirurgie esthétique (p. ex., une personne travaillant dans le domaine de la santé), il doit y avoir une discussion en vue d’obtenir un consentement éclairé.

Comme pour de nombreuses interventions, les obstacles à la communication entre le médecin et le patient peuvent compromettre un consentement éclairé. Cependant, il est souvent possible de gérer les problèmes engendrés par la compétence linguistique ou le niveau de compréhension du patient. Des services d’interprétation médicale peuvent être offerts, et le niveau de langue pour les discussions et le matériel écrit peut être choisi pour favoriser la clarté et la compréhension. De façon générale, les tribunaux s’attendent à ce que le médecin surmonte les obstacles à la communication au moment d’obtenir un consentement éclairé.

Facteurs liés au médecin

Les attentes du patient peuvent aussi être influencées par la description que lui donne le professionnel de la santé de l’intervention et des résultats escomptés. Dans plusieurs des dossiers de l’ACPM portant sur le consentement à une intervention esthétique, les descriptions des résultats escomptés étaient trop optimistes. À titre d’exemple, certains patients s’étaient vu promettre des résultats « merveilleux », voire « exceptionnels ». De même, la possibilité d’un échec ou la probabilité de complications avait parfois été minimisée.

Dans un petit nombre de dossiers, les décisions du tribunal ne découlaient pas de problèmes liés à la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement, mais plutôt d’autres facteurs (p. ex., un médecin qui avait outrepassé son champ d’exercice ou les limites de son permis ou encore, de l’avis du tribunal, le caractère inapproprié du genre d’intervention pratiquée).

La discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement et sa documentation

En ce qui concerne le contenu de la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement et sa documentation, les experts ayant analysé les dossiers de l’ACPM ont émis des critiques relativement aux problèmes suivants :

  • le recours aux seuls formulaires universels pour obtenir et documenter un consentement éclairé
  • la documentation écrite, difficile à comprendre
  • une discussion inadéquate :
    • des résultats probables de l’intervention
    • des risques et des complications reconnus, notamment ceux qui sont rares, mais qui comportent des conséquences majeures
    • des comorbidités préopératoires (p. ex., diabète, obésité et tabagisme)
    • des précautions postopératoires, notamment les risques causés par le tabagisme, l’importance de la mobilisation et l’utilisation de vêtements de compression
    • de l’utilisation nouvelle ou novatrice d’approches ou de dispositifs non approuvés ou d’une utilisation non indiquée par le fabricant d’un médicament.

La discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement était souvent insuffisante dans le cas d’interventions successives ou de reprise et pour les patients ayant déjà subi une chirurgie esthétique.

Exemple de cas : FORMULAIRE DE CONSENTEMENT TROMPEUR

Un homme de 51 ans souhaitant améliorer sa myopie à l’œil gauche se présente à une clinique de correction de la vue au laser. Il est vu deux fois par une infirmière en ophtalmologie qui l’évalue et qui lui explique l’intervention prévue. Lors d’une visite subséquente, une infirmière auxiliaire procède à la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement. Le mois suivant, l’ophtalmologiste rencontre le patient immédiatement avant la chirurgie et lui demande s’il a des questions. Le patient répond qu’il n’en a pas. Ni la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement ni le formulaire de consentement ne contiennent d’informations quant à l’effet de la chirurgie sur l’acuité visuelle de près du patient. Le patient subit une intervention LASIK sans complications à l’œil gauche. En période postopératoire, le patient est consterné de constater une réduction marquée de sa vision de près qui requiert le port de lunettes.

Le patient intente une action en justice alléguant l’absence d’un consentement éclairé. Le juge conclut que les documents d’information donnés au patient et le libellé du formulaire de consentement manquaient de détails et qu’ils ne respectaient pas la norme attendue dans les circonstances. Bien que ces documents mentionnaient comme résultat possible la nécessité de porter des lunettes de lecture, le juge conclut que le patient n’a pas été informé qu’en acceptant de subir la chirurgie, il acceptait nécessairement et automatiquement un compromis : il n’aurait définitivement plus besoin de lunettes ou de verres de contact pour sa vision de loin, mais en échange, il aurait probablement besoin de lunettes pour sa vision de près. Le juge a donné raison au patient.

Lorsqu’ils obtiennent le consentement à une intervention esthétique, les médecins doivent s’assurer d’expliquer en détail les risques et les résultats escomptés. Les tribunaux peuvent imposer aux médecins une norme de divulgation plus exigeante relativement à ces interventions.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Les médecins et les chirurgiens qui pratiquent des interventions esthétiques devraient tenir compte des suggestions suivantes, qui se fondent sur l’opinion des experts consultés dans les dossiers analysés :

  • Obtenir une anamnèse détaillée afin d’évaluer la motivation du patient et de déterminer le caractère approprié de l’intervention et les autres options raisonnables.
  • Évaluer la capacité du patient à comprendre l’information qui lui est présentée.
  • Avoir recours à des services d’interprétation médicale, au besoin.
  • Songer à utiliser des aides à la décision pour faciliter la compréhension et l’évaluation des options chez les patients, y compris les interventions de rechange, les traitements non chirurgicaux ou le report de l’intervention.
  • Utiliser des documents d’information approprié, contenant des diagrammes et un langage simple plutôt que des termes médicaux, pour compléter les discussions verbales en vue d’obtenir le consentement.
  • Avant de confirmer le consentement, donner au patient du temps pour absorber l’information, ainsi que l’occasion de poser des questions.
  • Veiller à ce que les discussions en vue d’obtenir le consentement incluent les éléments suivants :
    • les résultats escomptés
    • les risques importants
    • les complications qui surviennent rarement, mais qui peuvent avoir de lourdes conséquences
    • les précautions préopératoires et postopératoires
    • la compréhension et les attentes que semble avoir le patient.
  • Documenter les discussions en vue d’obtenir le consentement dans le dossier médical du patient.
  • S’assurer que les formulaires de consentement du patient sont signés et versés au dossier médical, et qu’ils précisent toutes les interventions effectuées et les prothèses utilisées.
  • Répéter ces pratiques liées au consentement pour toute intervention de reprise et à des intervalles réguliers dans le cas d’interventions successives.

 


 

  1. Constantian, MB, Lin, CP. Why some patients are unhappy: part 2. Relationship of nasal shape and trauma history to surgical success. Plastic Reconstructive Surgery. #2014:134(4); 836-51.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.