Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Navigating the challenges of safe antibiotic prescribing

Originally published September 2016
P1603-4-E

It’s estimated that up to half of all prescriptions for antibiotics in Canada and the United States are inappropriate.1–3 Because overuse is linked to antibiotic-resistant infections, healthcare organizations are focusing on educating patients and providers about the need to reduce unnecessary prescribing. For example, in 2012 Accreditation Canada made antibiotic stewardship a required organizational practice,4 and the Choosing Wisely Canada5 campaign has raised awareness of overuse of antibiotics.

In this article, antibiotic prescribing issues include:

  • inappropriate ordering (e.g. wrong choice of drug)
  • unnecessary prescribing, (e.g. prescribing an antibiotic at the request of a patient)
  • inadequate monitoring or follow-up of patients on antibiotics

For more information on CMPA cases related to physicians missing or failing to appreciate the severity of a bacterial infection, members are encouraged to read the CMPA articles on sepsis and meningitis.6,7

The CMPA reviewed 150 medical-legal cases (closed between 2011 and 2015) that involved issues with antibiotic prescriptions. The analysis provides insight into where improvements can be made, particularly in patient assessment, communication, and monitoring and follow-up.

Inappropriate ordering

Assessment issues

Most inappropriate prescriptions in the CMPA cases reviewed resulted from either incomplete patient assessment or poor clinical judgment. The most common issue was not performing a focused history and physical examination before prescribing. In cases where history taking was deficient, it most often meant patients were not asked about allergies, patients’ allergy information was not verified in the medical records, or both. In a few cases, physicians relied on incomplete documentation in the medical record and did not verify allergy information with the patient.

There were some cases in which empiric treatment was appropriate, but in other cases physicians were found by peer experts to have prescribed too early. These types of issues occurred both in the community and in the emergency department.

Knowledge gaps were apparent when the prescribed antibiotic was found in retrospect to be the wrong choice for the clinical presentation or the patient (e.g. patient’s age), or was contraindicated for its potential to interact with another drug the patient was known to be taking. Other issues included not appreciating co-morbidities that would warrant more aggressive treatment or a decreased dosage. In a few cases, peer experts were of the opinion that consultation with an infectious disease specialist was warranted.

A few of these inappropriate prescriptions were identified by pharmacists before being filled, while others were not. In terms of professional liability, both physicians and pharmacists are considered independent providers, each owing a separate duty to the patient for care that falls within their individual scopes of practice. Other errors might have been prevented had additional checks been in place and followed (e.g. electronic health record warnings for providers).

Patient requests for antibiotics

An infrequent, but noteworthy, issue in the CMPA cases was patients requesting an antibiotic, but physicians not prescribing it as they didn’t believe it was necessary. These requests are common in practice and can result in conflict between physicians and patients. They also highlight the need for physicians to have communication strategies that reinforce sound clinical decision-making.

Case example: Unnecessary prescription influenced by patient demand

A young man visits a walk-in clinic complaining of a persistent dry cough that has lasted for more than one month. He has no other symptoms. He does not have a fever and his chest is clear on examination.

The family physician (FP) assessing the patient believes he has a post-viral cough or possibly a reactive airway. The FP offers the patient a trial of prescription cough syrup or a bronchodilator puffer, but the patient declines both, insisting on antibiotics. After unsuccessfully trying to explain the rationale for his decision, the FP relents and prescribes a 10-day course of antibiotics. He documents in the medical record that the prescription was written on the patient’s insistence.

The patient files a medical regulatory authority (College) complaint alleging that the physician was dismissive of his concerns and reluctant to prescribe the requested treatment. The committee is critical of the FP’s decision to prescribe the antibiotic without medical justification.

The College’s decision in this case reinforces that physicians are expected to use their clinical judgment to determine whether the medication is necessary and whether the potential benefits outweigh the potential harms. Also, for an encounter to be successful, physicians should discuss their clinical opinion with patients, which are not always easy conversations.

Strategies to support appropriate prescribing

  • Obtain an adequate history, including current medications and medication history; consider comorbidities; and conduct an appropriate examination before prescribing a medication.
  • Consider whether the prescribed medication has any absolute or relative contraindications, such as patient allergies, and the possibility of multi-drug allergy syndrome.
  • Formalize how your office manages communication with pharmacists to ensure that requests for information can be responded to appropriately and efficiently.

Monitoring and follow-up issues

The majority of the cases related to the monitoring or follow-up of antibiotics involved the prolonged use of aminoglycosides (mostly gentamicin) without adequate monitoring, resulting in permanent renal or oto-vestibular injury. As these prescriptions originated in hospitals, pharmacists often shared criticism for poor monitoring.

Other follow-up issues stemmed from failure to recognize the need for closer monitoring of some patients, inadequate monitoring processes and protocols, or poor coordination of care among physicians or with other healthcare providers.

Case example: Follow-up issues due to inadequate system

A middle-aged woman presents to her family physician’s office with symptoms suggestive of a urinary tract infection. The FP prescribes a broad-spectrum antibiotic and orders a urine culture. The patient returns three days later as her symptoms have not improved. The office assistant calls for the lab results, but they are not yet available. The FP changes the prescription to another type of broad-spectrum antibiotic. The patient’s results arrive the next day. They are reviewed by the FP, who plans to reconcile them with the drugs prescribed later that day. However, a staff member enters the results into the record before this can occur. A few days later, the patient attends the practice’s walk-in clinic, and sees a colleague of the FP. This physician reviews the test results and discovers that the infection is caused by bacteria that are resistant to both antibiotics that had been previously prescribed. The patient leaves with a new prescription for the appropriate antibiotic.

The patient files a College complaint that alleges her FP failed to provide appropriate care and adequate follow-up. The FP implements a new office system to ensure that test results are properly managed.

Strategies for better monitoring

  • Identify the need for monitoring.
  • Communicate the need for ongoing monitoring to the patient and to the healthcare provider who is responsible for the follow-up.
  • Ensure there is a reliable system in place to facilitate the timely receipt, effective review, and appropriate management and follow-up of tests.

The bottom line

Inappropriate antibiotic prescribing negatively impacts public health. It contributes to antimicrobial resistance, is potentially harmful to patients, and poses medical-legal risks for physicians. Physicians can minimize medical-legal risks associated with antibiotic prescribing by speaking with patients about appropriate treatment options for their health concerns, planning appropriate monitoring and follow-up, and working with other healthcare providers and administrators to create effective systems for the care of patients requiring antibiotics.

 
 

References

  1. Glass-Kaastra SK, Finley R, Hutchinson J, Patrick DM, Weiss K, Conly J. Variation in outpatient oral antimicrobial use patterns among Canadian provinces, 2000 to 2010. Can J Infect Dis Med Microbiol [Internet]. 2014 Mar – Apr [cited 2016 May 20];25(2):95-8. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4028675/
  2. United States Centers for Disease Control. Antibiotic resistance threats in the United States, 2013 [Internet]. Atlanta (GA): United States Centres for Disease Control; 2013 [cited 2016 May 20].114 p. Available from: http://www.cdc.gov/drugresistance/threat-report-2013/pdf/ar-threats-2013-508.pdf
  3. Fleming-Dutra KE, Hersh AL, Shapiro DJ, et al. Prevalence of inappropriate antibiotic prescriptions among US ambulatory care visits, 2010-2011. JAMA. 2016;315(17):1864-73.
  4. Accreditation Canada. Safety in Canadian health care organizations: A focus on transitions in care and Required Organizational Practices [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Accreditation Canada, 2013 [cited 2016 May 20]. Available at: https://accreditation.ca/sites/default/files/char-2013-en.pdf
  5. Public Health Agency of Canada. “Choosing Wisely Canada” and antimicrobial stewardship: A shared focus on reducing unnecessary care. Canada Communicable Disease Report (CCDR):Volume 41 S-4, June 18, 2015. Ottawa (ON):Public Health Agency of Canada;2015 Jun 18. Available from: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/ccdr-rmtc/15vol41/dr-rm41s-4/overview-apercu_02-eng.php
  6. The Canadian Medical Protective Association. Sepsis can be difficult to recognize, but early diagnosis and treatment is essential. CMPA Perspective [Internet]. 2015 June [cited 2016 May 20];7(3):14-16. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/sepsis-can-be-difficult-to-recognize-but-early-diagnosis-and-treatment-is-essential
  7. The Canadian Medical Protective Association. Meningitis — Understanding the vulnerabilities. CMPA Perspective [Internet]. 2015 December [cited 2016 May 20];7(5):7-9. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/meningitis-understanding-the-vulnerabilities

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Prescrire des antibiotiques de façon sécuritaire : tout un défi!

Publié initialement en septembre 2016
P1603-4-F

On estime que plus de la moitié de toutes les antibiothérapies prescrites au Canada et aux États-Unis sont inappropriées.1-3 Puisque la surconsommation de ce genre de médicament est liée à des infections résistantes aux antibiotiques, les organismes de soins de santé misent sur l’éducation des patients et des professionnels de la santé pour réduire les antibiothérapies non indiquées. À titre d’exemple, Agrément Canada exige depuis 2012 que la gérance des antimicrobiens devienne une pratique organisationnelle,4 et la campagne nationale Choisir avec soin5 a fait prendre conscience de la surconsommation d’antibiotiques.

Aux fins de cet article, les problèmes liés à la prescription d’antibiotiques comprennent, entre autres :

  • les ordonnances inappropriées (p. ex. mauvais choix de médicament);
  • les ordonnances non indiquées (p. ex. antibiotiques prescrits à la demande des patients);
  • la surveillance ou le suivi inadéquat des patients sous antibiothérapie

L’ACPM encourage ses membres à lire ses articles traitant de la septicémie et de la méningite6,7 pour en savoir davantage sur les dossiers médico-légaux de l’Association liés aux instances où les médecins n’ont pas tenu compte de la sévérité d’une infection bactérienne.

L’ACPM a analysé 150 dossiers médico-légaux, conclus entre 2011 et 2015, traitant de problèmes liés à la prescription d’antibiothérapie. Cette analyse donne un aperçu des étapes où des améliorations peuvent être mises en œuvre, en particulier l’évaluation du patient, la communication, la surveillance et le suivi.

Ordonnances inappropriées

Problèmes liés à l’évaluation

L’analyse des dossiers de l’ACPM a révélé que la plupart des ordonnances inappropriées résultaient d’une évaluation incomplète du patient ou d’un piètre jugement clinique de la part du médecin. Le plus souvent, une antibiothérapie avait été prescrite en l’absence d’une anamnèse précise ou d’un examen physique. Dans les dossiers où l’anamnèse était incomplète, les patients n’avaient, la plupart du temps, pas été questionnés au sujet de leurs allergies et ces informations n’avaient pas été vérifiées dans le dossier médical. Dans quelques cas, les médecins s’étaient fondés sur une documentation incomplète dans le dossier médical et n’avaient pas vérifié les antécédents d’allergies auprès du patient.

Il y avait quelques dossiers où le traitement empirique était approprié, mais aussi d’autres situations où les experts ont jugé que les médecins avaient prescrit une antibiothérapie trop tôt. Ces deux genres de situations sont survenus autant dans la collectivité qu’au service des urgences.

Il apparaissait évident que les connaissances des médecins étaient insuffisantes lorsque l’antibiotique prescrit s’est révélé, en rétrospective, le mauvais plan de traitement compte tenu du tableau clinique ou du patient (p. ex. l’âge de ce dernier), ou lorsque l’antibiothérapie était contre-indiquée en raison d’une interaction possible avec un autre médicament pris par le patient. Le fait de ne pas avoir tenu compte de maladies concomitantes requérant un traitement plus énergique ou une diminution de la posologie constituait un autre problème. Dans certains dossiers, les experts étaient d’avis qu’une consultation auprès d’un spécialiste des maladies infectieuses aurait été nécessaire.

Certaines ordonnances inappropriées ont été relevées par des pharmaciens avant qu’elles ne soient exécutées, alors que d’autres ont été manquées. En ce qui a trait à la responsabilité professionnelle, autant les médecins que les pharmaciens sont considérés comme des professionnels de la santé autonomes, chacun ayant des devoirs distincts vis-à-vis des soins des patients dans le cadre respectif de leur champ d’exercice. Il aurait été possible de prévenir d’autres erreurs si des vérifications additionnelles avaient été mises en place et le suivi effectué (p. ex. avertissements dans les systèmes de dossiers électroniques des professionnels de la santé).

Antibiotiques demandés par les patients

Il convient toutefois de noter, dans quelques rares dossiers, que ce sont les patients qui ont demandé des antibiotiques; les médecins n’en avaient pas prescrit puisqu’ils les jugeaient non indiqués. Ces demandes sont courantes dans la pratique, et peuvent donner lieu à des conflits entre le médecin et le patient. Ces situations illustrent aussi le fait que le médecin doit avoir recours à des stratégies de communication qui renforcent une prise de décision clinique solide.

Exemple de cas : Prescription non indiquée influencée par la demande du patient

Un jeune homme se présente à une clinique sans rendez-vous en raison d’une toux sèche persistante qui dure depuis plus d’un mois. Il n’a aucun autre symptôme. Il est apyrétique et ses poumons sont clairs à l’auscultation.

L’omnipraticien évalue le patient et pense qu’il s’agit d’une toux postvirale ou possiblement d’une bronchite irritative. Il propose au patient d’essayer un sirop contre la toux ou un bronchodilatateur en inhalateur, mais le patient refuse les deux traitements et insiste pour avoir des antibiotiques. N’ayant pas réussi à faire comprendre au patient la raison de sa décision, c’est avec réticence que l’omnipraticien lui prescrit une antibiothérapie de 10 jours. Il documente dans le dossier médical qu’il a prescrit une antibiothérapie à l’insistance du patient.

Le patient dépose une plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège), alléguant que le médecin était insensible à ses préoccupations et réticent à prescrire le traitement requis. Le comité du Collège se montre critique à l’égard de la décision de l’omnipraticien de prescrire l’antibiothérapie sans justification médicale.

La décision du Collège, dans cette situation, renforce le fait qu’il s’attend à ce que les médecins se fondent sur leur jugement clinique pour déterminer si le médicament est indiqué et si les avantages possibles surpassent les préjudices possibles. De plus, pour qu’une rencontre soit réussie, les médecins doivent expliquer leur opinion clinique aux patients, et ces conversations ne sont pas toujours faciles.

Stratégies pour prescrire de façon appropriée

  • Obtenir une anamnèse adéquate, incluant les médicaments que prend le patient, ainsi que les antécédents pharmacologiques, tenir compte de maladies concomitantes, et effectuer un examen approprié avant de prescrire un médicament.
  • Vérifier s’il existe des contre-indications relatives ou absolues à la prise du médicament, dont les allergies du patient et la possibilité d’une réaction allergique associée à une polypharmacie.
  • Officialiser la communication du cabinet avec les pharmaciens pour que les demandes d’information puissent être traitées de façon appropriée et efficiente

Questions de surveillance et de suivi

Dans la majorité des dossiers traitant de problèmes de surveillance ou de suivi d’une antibiothérapie, on a relevé l’usage prolongé d’aminosides (surtout la gentamicine) sans surveillance adéquate, ce qui a causé une insuffisance rénale ainsi qu’une insuffisance vestibulaire ou auditive permanentes. Puisque ces médicaments avaient été prescrits en milieu hospitalier, les experts ont également critiqué les pharmaciens ayant assuré une piètre surveillance des ordonnances.

Quant aux problèmes de suivi, ils provenaient du manquement à reconnaître l’importance d’une surveillance plus étroite de certains patients, de protocoles et de processus de surveillance inadéquats ou d’une piètre coordination des soins entre médecins ou encore entre médecins et autres professionnels de la santé.

Exemple de cas : Problèmes de suivi en raison d’un système inadéquat

Une femme dans la quarantaine se présente au cabinet de son omnipraticien avec des symptômes suggérant une infection des voies urinaires. L’omnipraticien prescrit une antibiothérapie à large spectre et demande une culture d’urine. La patiente revient trois jours plus tard puisque ses symptômes ne se sont pas améliorés. L’assistante téléphone au laboratoire, mais les résultats ne sont pas encore accessibles. L’omnipraticien refait une ordonnance pour un autre type d’antibiothérapie à large spectre. Le résultat de la culture arrive le lendemain. L’omnipraticien en prend connaissance et planifie faire, plus tard dans la journée, le bilan comparatif des antibiothérapies prescrites. Cependant, un membre du personnel transcrit les résultats dans le dossier avant que cette démarche ne soit accomplie. Quelques jours plus tard, la patiente se rend à la clinique sans rendez-vous du cabinet et consulte un collègue de l’omnipraticien. Ce médecin passe en revue les résultats de laboratoire et découvre que l’infection est causée par une bactérie résistante aux deux antibiotiques prescrits auparavant. La patiente quitte la clinique avec une nouvelle ordonnance pour l’antibiothérapie appropriée.

La patiente dépose une plainte au Collège, alléguant que l’omnipraticien ne lui a pas prodigué les soins appropriés et n’a pas assuré un suivi adéquat. L’omnipraticien met en œuvre au nouveau système au cabinet pour s’assurer que les résultats d’examens sont gérés correctement.

Stratégies pour une meilleure surveillance

  • Déterminer la nécessité d’une surveillance;
  • Souligner l’importance d’une surveillance continue auprès du patient ainsi que du professionnel de la santé responsable du suivi;
  • Veiller à ce qu’un système fiable soit en place pour faciliter la réception, l’évaluation efficace et la gestion appropriée des résultats d’examens.

En bref

La prescription d’antibiothérapies inappropriées a un impact négatif sur la santé publique. Une telle approche contribue en effet à la résistance aux antimicrobiens et entraîne des risques de préjudice pour les patients ainsi que des risques médico-légaux pour les médecins. Les médecins peuvent minimiser ces risques en expliquant aux patients les choix de traitement appropriés en fonction de leurs problèmes de santé, en planifiant une surveillance et un suivi appropriés, et en travaillant avec les autres professionnels de la santé et les administrateurs pour créer des systèmes de soins efficaces pour les patients requérant une antibiothérapie.

 
 

Références

  1. Glass-Kaastra SK, Finley R, Hutchinson J, Patrick DM, Weiss K, Conly J. Variation in outpatient oral antimicrobial use patterns among Canadian provinces, 2000 to 2010. Can J Infect Dis Med Microbiol [En ligne]. Mars-avril 2014 [cité le 20 mai 2016];25(2):95-8. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4028675/
  2. United States Centers for Disease Control. Antibiotic resistance threats in the United States, 2013 [En ligne]. Atlanta (GA): United States Centres for Disease Control; 2013 [cité le 20 mai 2016].114 p. http://www.cdc.gov/drugresistance/threat-report-2013/pdf/ar-threats-2013-508.pdf
  3. Fleming-Dutra KE, Hersh AL, Shapiro DJ, et coll. Prevalence of inappropriate antibiotic prescriptions among US ambulatory care visits, 2010-2011. JAMA [En ligne]. 2016;315(17):1864-73. http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=2518263
  4. Agrément Canada. La sécurité dans les organismes de soins de santé canadiens : regard sur les points de transition des soins et les pratiques organisationnelles requises [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Agrément Canada, 2013 [cité le 20 mai 2016]. https://accreditation.ca/sites/default/files/char-2013-fr.pdf
  5. Agence de santé publique du Canada. « Choisir avec soin » et la gestion des antimicrobiens : un même souci de réduire les soins inutiles [En ligne]. Relevé des maladies transmissibles au Canada (RMTC):Volume 41 S-4, 18 juin 2015. Ottawa (ON): Agence de santé publique du Canada;18 juin 2015. http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/ccdr-rmtc/15vol41/dr-rm41s-4/overview-apercu_02-fra.php
  6. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. Difficile à reconnaître, la septicémie!. Perspective ACPM [En ligne]. Juin 2015 [cité le 20 mai 2016];7(3):14-16. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/sepsis-can-be-difficult-to-recognize-but-early-diagnosis-and-treatment-is-essential
  7. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. La méningite : Comprendre les vulnérabilités. Perspective ACPM [En ligne]. Décembre 2015 [cité le 20 mai 2016];7(5):7-9. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/meningitis-understanding-the-vulnerabilities

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.