Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Safe care in obstetrics: Keys to effective interprofessional care

Originally published December 2016
P1604-1-E

Interprofessional care—also known as multidisciplinary, collaborative, shared, or team care—can enhance the quality of care provided to patients by combining the knowledge and skills of health professionals in various disciplines, facilitating continuity across the system, and improving access to care. Nevertheless, some physicians have concerns about the potential for increased risk of liability when working collaboratively.

Obstetrical care is shared by many health professionals who are responsible for different aspects of patient care before, during, and after delivery. The makeup of this interprofessional team may vary by patient preference, practice context, or circumstance.

The CMPA reviewed 135 recent cases1 involving interprofessional care for obstetrical patients, and found that when medical-legal difficulties arise, they are frequently a consequence of poor coordination of care and inadequate communication brought about by a lack of clarity of roles and responsibilities or due to interprofessional conflict.

Regulated independent healthcare professionals are responsible, and individually accountable, for their clinical decisions.2 To support this, the Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) and the CMPA emphasize the importance of consistent and meaningful communication among all members of the healthcare team. Appropriate and adequate professional liability protection for all health professionals involved in the patient’s care is also essential.3

Consent for shared care

Pregnant patients should be informed early about the nature of shared care they may receive throughout pregnancy and delivery, including the involvement of other providers, which may include trainees.

Prenatal testing and antepartum care

In the CMPA case review, the 20 antepartum cases that were identified involved a diverse group of health professionals: obstetricians, radiologists, family physicians, pharmacists, physiotherapists, and midwives.

Cases related to prenatal investigations often involved poor follow-up that stemmed from confusion about which healthcare provider was responsible to communicate test results or coordinate further testing. These cases typically involved a delayed diagnosis of a serious fetal condition, such as trisomy 21 or hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Incomplete review of the medical record (in particular the entries of other providers) and poor communication with the patient about the need for follow-up were contributing factors in these cases.

Poor coordination in the antepartum period also involved the diagnosis and management of new or pre-existing maternal conditions. These included evolving conditions—such as gestational diabetes, pregnancy-induced hypertension, and spinal cord compression— which could have been better managed with earlier intervention. These cases were characterized by a lack of collaboration and communication among providers.

Case example: Critical information falls through the cracks

A baby is born at 29 weeks gestation in a pregnancy complicated by oliogohydramnios. At a few months of age, he is diagnosed with renal dysplasia resulting from his mother’s use of an angiotensin receptor blocker (ARB) for hypertension throughout pregnancy.

What happened?

The woman had been taking the ARB for two years. She was not intending to become pregnant and was using an intrauterine device at the time of conception. At her initial visit to discuss the pregnancy, her family physician (FP) ordered an ultrasound for dating and to assess the viability of the pregnancy. He also referred the patient to the hospital for genetic testing based on her age-related risk. There was no discussion of her anti-hypertensive medication.

At the first formal antenatal appointment a couple of weeks later, the obstetrician noted that the patient was taking a medication for hypertension. As the patient couldn’t remember the drug’s name, the obstetrician asked her to bring it with her at the next visit. He also prescribed a drug to treat the patient’s hyperemesis.

The patient filled the prescription for the anti-emetic, and at the same time, obtained a refill of her anti-hypertensive medication. The dispensing pharmacist did not caution the patient that ARBs should not be used in pregnancy.

At her subsequent appointments, the subject of her anti-hypertensive medication was not revisited. When oligohydramnios was suspected at 29 weeks, the patient was referred to a consultant for further assessment. The ARB was stopped at this time.

Peer experts who were consulted on the legal case were critical of all of the antenatal healthcare providers, including the pharmacist, for failing to recognize that the patient was on a medication contraindicated in pregnancy.

Intrapartum care

Shared situational awareness and effective communication are essential to interprofessional care in labour and delivery. Two recently published CMPA articles examine these topics in depth.4,5 Additionally, well-designed team structures and communication processes that make best use of the skills of each provider help to achieve reliable intrapartum care.6

Case example: Resources not optimized for competing demands

A baby is born severely compromised after an emergency caesarean section was delayed.

What happened?

The patient was labouring under the care of an FP. When the fetal heart rate tracing became a concern, an obstetrician was consulted who recommended delivery by caesarean. The patient was transferred to the operating room within 10 minutes.

During this time, the obstetrician was called away for a vaginal delivery for another patient. The obstetrician’s return was delayed owing to a postpartum hemorrhage.

Meanwhile in the operating room, several calls were made by the team to enquire on the whereabouts of the obstetrician. They were repeatedly told that she was on her way. The obstetrician arrived 45 minutes later to begin the caesarean. A neurologically compromised baby was delivered.

When the events were reviewed as part of legal proceedings, the FP expressed surprise at the length of time between the transfer and caesarean. She observed that a nursing shift change had occurred at the time of transfer. The incoming team did not recognize that the fetal scalp clip had been removed and was never reattached, which compromised the team’s ability to appreciate the urgency of the situation.

Peer experts were critical of the obstetrician for prioritizing the less urgent delivery, and of the family physician for not remaining alert to the passage of time and not appropriately communicating to the larger team about the ongoing urgency to proceed with the caesarean section.

Interprofessional conflict

Knowledge of the training and expertise of other professionals plays a key role in facilitating collaboration and reducing conflict.6 In the CMPA cases, incidents of interprofessional conflict tended to occur during consults or at transfers of care.

Case example: Interprofessional tensions contribute to a breach in the duty of care

An obstetrician declines to assess a patient who arrives at the emergency department (ED) with her midwife and without antenatal records.

What happened?

The midwife called the local ED to advise that her patient, at 33 weeks’ gestation had experienced a premature rupture of membranes. The patient had intended to deliver at a birthing centre in an adjacent community. The triage nurse advised her not to bring the patient to the ED, as the hospital did not deliver babies earlier than 34 weeks.

The midwife nonetheless arrived with the patient and her partner one hour later.

On her way to perform a caesarean delivery, the obstetrician spoke to the midwife and stated that she could not assess the patient without reviewing the antenatal record, which was stored at the birthing centre. The obstetrician reiterated that this hospital did not perform deliveries before 34 weeks. She recommended that the patient travel to the hospital affiliated with the midwife’s birthing centre, as it had better facilities for managing the care of preterm infants.

The midwife transferred the patient to the nearby level II hospital where the patient subsequently delivered a healthy preterm infant.

In the hospital complaint that followed, the parents noted that the obstetrician had appeared exasperated. The obstetrician explained that she was new to the region and had limited experience working with midwives. She also stated that she was taken aback by the midwife’s abrupt manner.

Hospital investigators were critical of the obstetrician’s refusal of care, noting that she had a duty to assess the patient, regardless of the original birth plan or the unavailability of antenatal records.

Strategies for enhancing interprofessional care

Various strategies may be employed to enhance interprofessional care in labour and delivery, such as establishing a series of structured teams to manage the unit’s different functions including emergency response,7 tailored communication tools for information sharing,8 and team training.9 These strategies all recognize the need to fully integrate all team members in the functioning of the unit.

The bottom line

  • Inform pregnant patients early about the nature of the shared care they may receive and the protocols in place for potential emergencies.
  • Be familiar with the scope of practice, qualifications, experience, training, and liability protection of other healthcare providers who you know will be involved in the patient’s care.
  • Have an agreement about who is the most responsible healthcare provider at any given time and what the division of responsibilities will be at any given time.
  • Carefully review the patient’s medical record, including all entries made by other providers.
  • Consider using a structured communication tool for sharing information during handovers.
  • Remain aware of your independent duty of care to the patient, particularly in difficult or ambiguous shared care scenarios.
 
 

References

  1. Legal, medical regulatory authority (College), and hospital matters that closed in the last 10 years.
  2. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Collaborative Care: A medical liability perspective [Internet]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/web/guest/-/collaborative-ca-1
  3. Canadian Medical Protective Association and Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada. Joint Statement on Liability Protection for Midwives and Physicians [Internet]. June 2007. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/public-policy/-/asset_publisher/9rnAcJbTAZA6/content/joint-statement-on-liability-protection-for-midwives-and-physicians
  4. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Safe care in obstetrics: Improving teamwork and communication in an emergency. June 2016 [cited 2016 July 5]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/-/improving-teamwork-and-communication-in-an-emergency
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Safe care in obstetrics: Recognizing signs of potential trouble in labour and delivery [Internet]. September 2016 [cited 2016 September 30]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/improving-teamwork-and-communication-in-an-emergency
  6. Morgan L, Carson G, Gagnon A, et al. Collaborative practice among obstetricians, family physicians and midwives. CMAJ. 2014 Nov 18;186(17):1279-80.
  7. Mann S, Marcus R, Sachs B. Grand Rounds: Lessons from the cockpit: How team training can reduce errors on L&D. Contemporary OB/GYN. 2006;Jan:1-7.
  8. Poot EP, de Bruijne MC, Wouters MG, et al. Exploring perinatal shift-to-shift handover communication and process: an observational study. J Eval Clin Pract. 2014 Apr;20(2):166-75.
  9. Thanh NX, Jacobs P, Wanke MI, et al. Outcomes of the Introduction of the MOREOB Continuing Education Program in Alberta. J Obstet Gynaecol Can. 2010;32:749-55.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Soins sécuritaires en obstétrique : Efficacité des soins interprofessionnels

Publié initialement en décembre 2016
P1604-1-F

Les soins interprofessionnels (également appelés soins multidisciplinaires, concertés, partagés ou d’équipe) peuvent rehausser la qualité des soins prodigués aux patients, car ils permettent de combiner les connaissances et les compétences de professionnels de la santé issus de diverses disciplines, d’assurer la continuité à l’échelle du système et d’améliorer l’accès aux soins. Quoi qu’il en soit, certains médecins s’inquiètent des risques accrus liés à la responsabilité professionnelle dans ce genre de travail d’équipe.

Les soins obstétricaux sont assurés conjointement par de nombreux professionnels de la santé, chacun assumant la responsabilité d’un aspect distinct des soins aux patients avant, pendant et après l’accouchement. La composition de cette équipe peut varier en fonction des préférences de la patiente, du contexte de pratique ou des circonstances.

L’ACPM a analysé 135 dossiers récents1 mettant en cause des soins interprofessionnels prodigués à des patientes en obstétrique et a constaté que lorsque surviennent des difficultés médico-légales, celles-ci sont fréquemment tributaires d’une mauvaise coordination des soins et d’une communication inadéquate dont l’origine remonte à un manque de clarté quant aux rôles et aux responsabilités, ou à des conflits interprofessionnels.

Les membres indépendants de professions de la santé réglementées assument la responsabilité de leurs décisions cliniques et celles-ci leur sont personnellement imputables.2 Pour assurer le bon fonctionnement de la prestation des soins, l’Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) et l’ACPM soulignent l’importance d’une communication harmonieuse et efficace entre tous les membres de l’équipe de soins. Il s’avère également essentiel que tous les professionnels de la santé prodiguant des soins aux patients disposent d’une protection appropriée et adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle.3

Consentement aux soins interprofessionnels

Les patientes enceintes devraient être avisées dès le début des soins interprofessionnels dont elles pourraient bénéficier au long de leur grossesse et pendant leur accouchement, y compris la participation d’autres professionnels de la santé (dont des stagiaires et des résidents)

Dépistage prénatal et soins antepartum

Dans le cadre de l’analyse de dossiers menée par l’ACPM, les 20 dossiers antepartum relevés impliquaient un groupe diversifié de professionnels de la santé : obstétriciens, radiologistes, médecins de famille, pharmaciens, physiothérapeutes et sages-femmes.

Les dossiers associés à des investigations prénatales mettaient souvent en cause un suivi inadéquat attribuable à une confusion quant à l’identité du professionnel de la santé ayant la responsabilité de communiquer les résultats d’analyse ou de coordonner la tenue d’autres tests. Ces dossiers impliquaient habituellement le diagnostic différé d’une pathologie fœtale grave, comme la trisomie 21 ou l’hypoplasie du cœur gauche. Une analyse incomplète du dossier médical (en particulier, les notes des autres professionnels de la santé) et une communication inadéquate avec la patiente au sujet de la nécessité d’un suivi figuraient parmi les facteurs contributifs dans ces dossiers.

Le manque de coordination pendant la période antepartum mettait également en cause le diagnostic et la prise en charge d’affections préexistantes ou d’apparition nouvelle chez la mère. Des troubles évolutifs (tels que le diabète gestationnel, l’hypertension gravidique et la compression de la moelle épinière), qui auraient pu être mieux pris en charge si des interventions avaient été pratiquées plus tôt, faisaient partie de ces problèmes de santé. Ces dossiers étaient caractérisés par un manque de collaboration et de communication entre les professionnels de la santé.

Exemple de cas : Données cruciales passées inaperçues

Un enfant naît à 29 semaines de gestation, à la suite d’une grossesse compliquée par un oligohydramnios. Après quelques mois, un diagnostic de dysplasie rénale, attribuable à l’utilisation par la mère d’un antagoniste des récepteurs de l’angiotensine (ARA) pour contrer son hypertension pendant la grossesse, est établi chez cet enfant.

Que s’est-il produit?

Cette femme prenait un ARA depuis deux ans. Elle ne cherchait pas à devenir enceinte et utilisait un dispositif intra-utérin au moment de la conception. Au cours de la consultation initiale traitant de cette grossesse, son médecin de famille prescrit une échographie visant à établir la date de conception et à évaluer la viabilité de la grossesse. Il demande également à la patiente de se présenter à l’hôpital pour y subir un test de dépistage génétique en raison de son risque lié à l’âge. Le traitement antihypertenseur de la patiente n’est pas abordé au cours de cette consultation initiale.

Quelques semaines plus tard, au cours du premier rendez-vous prénatal officiel, l’obstétricien note que la patiente prend un médicament contre l’hypertension. Puisqu’elle ne se rappelle plus du nom de ce médicament, l’obstétricien lui demande de l’apporter à la prochaine consultation. Il lui prescrit également un médicament contre l’hyperémésie.

La patiente se procure l’antiémétique auprès de son pharmacien et en profite pour renouveler son ordonnance d’antihypertenseur. Le pharmacien n’avise pas la patiente que les ARA sont contre-indiqués pendant la grossesse.

Au cours des rendez-vous subséquents, le sujet des antihypertenseurs pris par la patiente n’est pas abordé de nouveau. Lorsque la présence d’un oligohydramnios est soupçonnée à 29 semaines, la patiente est dirigée vers un consultant en vue d’une analyse plus approfondie. Elle cesse de prendre l’ARA à ce moment.

Les experts consultés dans ce dossier ont formulé des critiques à l’endroit de tous les professionnels ayant participé aux soins prénataux, y compris le pharmacien, pour ne pas avoir constaté que la patiente prenait un médicament contre-indiqué pendant la grossesse.

Soins intrapartum

Une conscience situationnelle commune et une communication efficace sont des facteurs essentiels aux soins interprofessionnels pendant le travail et l’accouchement. Deux articles récemment publiés par l’ACPM examinent ces sujets de façon approfondie.4,5 De surcroît, l’utilisation de structures d’équipe bien conçues et de processus communicationnels qui tirent le maximum des compétences de chacun des professionnels de la santé contribue à la fiabilité des soins intrapartum.6

Exemple de cas : Incapacité de répondre à des demandes concurrentes

La santé d’un nouveau-né est gravement compromise à la suite d’un retard dans une césarienne d’urgence.

Que s’est-il produit?

Le travail de la patiente se déroule sous la supervision d’un médecin de famille. Le tracé de fréquence cardiaque fœtale devient préoccupant et l’obstétricienne consultée recommande une césarienne. La patiente est transférée à la salle d’opération dans les 10 minutes.

Pendant ce temps, l’obstétricienne se rend au chevet d’une autre patiente pour un accouchement vaginal. Son retour est différé en raison d’une hémorragie postpartum.

Au même moment, dans la salle d’opération, l’équipe demande plusieurs fois à savoir où se trouve l’obstétricienne. Chaque fois, on leur répond qu’elle arrive. L’obstétricienne se présente 45 minutes plus tard pour pratiquer la césarienne. La mère accouche d’un enfant présentant des atteintes neurologiques.

Au moment de l’analyse des événements menée dans le cadre de la procédure judiciaire, le médecin de famille exprime de la surprise en ce qui concerne le délai entre le transfert en salle d’opération et la césarienne. Elle souligne qu’un changement de quart du personnel infirmier s’est produit au moment du transfert. L’équipe d’infirmières débutant son quart de travail ne s’est pas aperçue que l’électrode posée au cuir chevelu du fœtus s’était détachée et qu’elle n’avait pas été replacée, ce qui a nui à la capacité de l’équipe d’apprécier l’urgence de la situation.

Les experts ont formulé des critiques à l’endroit de l’obstétricienne, pour avoir accordé la priorité à l’accouchement le moins urgent, et à l’endroit du médecin de famille, pour ne pas être demeuré vigilant quant au temps écoulé et pour ne pas avoir communiqué adéquatement, à l’ensemble de l’équipe, l’urgence continue de procéder à une césarienne.

Conflit interprofessionnel

Le fait de connaître la formation et l’expertise des autres professionnels de l’équipe est d’une importance primordiale pour favoriser la collaboration et réduire les conflits.6 Dans les dossiers analysés par l’ACPM, les incidents de conflit interprofessionnel ont eu tendance à se manifester pendant les consultations ou au moment du transfert des soins.

Exemple de cas : Manquement au devoir de diligence

Une obstétricienne refuse d’évaluer une patiente qui se présente au service des urgences avec sa sage-femme, sans dossier prénatal.

Que s’est-il produit?

La sage-femme communique avec le service local des urgences pour aviser les responsables que sa patiente a connu, à 33 semaines de gestation, une rupture prématurée des membranes. La patiente avait prévu accoucher au centre de naissance d’une localité avoisinante. L’infirmière de triage avise la sage-femme de ne pas se présenter au service des urgences avec sa patiente, puisque l’hôpital en question ne procède pas à des accouchements à moins de 34 semaines de gestation.

Une heure plus tard, la sage-femme se présente néanmoins avec sa patiente et le conjoint de celle-ci.

Alors qu’elle se rend en salle d’opération pour pratiquer une césarienne, l’obstétricienne s’adresse à la sage-femme et lui indique qu’elle ne peut évaluer la patiente sans passer en revue le dossier prénatal, lequel se trouve au centre de naissance. Elle lui réitère que cet hôpital ne procède pas à des accouchements à moins de 34 semaines de gestation et lui recommande de diriger sa patiente vers l’hôpital affilié au centre de naissance, car celui-ci dispose de meilleures installations pour assurer la prise en charge des prématurés.

La sage-femme transfère la patiente à l’hôpital de niveau II des environs et celle-ci y donne naissance à un prématuré en santé.

Dans la plainte intrahospitalière qui a été déposée, les parents indiquent que l’obstétricienne semblait exaspérée. L’obstétricienne a expliqué qu’elle en était à ses débuts dans la région et qu’elle ne comptait qu’une expérience limitée de collaboration avec des sages-femmes. Elle a également affirmé s’être sentie déconcertée par le comportement abrupt de la sage-femme.

Les enquêteurs de l’hôpital ont formulé des critiques à l’endroit de l’obstétricienne pour avoir refusé de prodiguer des soins, en indiquant qu’elle avait le devoir d’évaluer la patiente, malgré les modalités du plan de naissance d’origine ou l’absence du dossier prénatal.

Stratégies pour améliorer les soins interprofessionnels

Diverses stratégies peuvent améliorer la collaboration interprofessionnelle pendant le travail et l’accouchement, comme la mise sur pied d’une série d’équipes structurées devant gérer les diverses fonctions de l’unité (y compris les interventions d’urgence),8 l’adoption d’outils de communication spécialement conçus pour l’échange de renseignements,7 et le recours à la formation de l’équipe.9 Ces stratégies reconnaissent toutes la nécessité d’intégrer pleinement tous les membres de l’équipe dans le fonctionnement de l’unité.

En bref

  • Avisez promptement vos patientes enceintes de la nature des soins interprofessionnels dont elles pourraient bénéficier et des protocoles en vigueur pour répondre aux urgences possibles.
  • Familiarisez-vous avec les autres professionnels de la santé dont la participation aux soins de la patiente vous est connue : leur champ d’exercice, leurs compétences, leur expérience, leur formation et la protection en matière de responsabilité dont ils bénéficient.
  • Entendez-vous avec les autres membres de l’équipe pour que l’identité du professionnel le plus responsable et la répartition des responsabilités soient connues à chacune des phases de l’intervention.
  • Passez soigneusement en revue le dossier médical de la patiente, y compris les notes inscrites par d’autres professionnels de la santé.
  • Envisagez l’utilisation d’un outil de communication structuré pour l’échange de renseignements au cours du transfert des soins.
  • Demeurez conscient de votre devoir de diligence distinct envers la patiente, particulièrement dans des scénarios complexes ou ambigus mettant en jeu des soins interprofessionnels.
 
 

Références

  1. Dossiers liés à des actions en justice, à des plaintes déposées auprès d’un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou à des plaintes intrahospitalières, qui ont été conclus au cours des 10 dernières années.
  2. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Les soins concertés : Perspective de la responsabilité médicale [En ligne]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/web/guest/-/collaborative-ca-1
  3. Association canadienne de protection médicale et Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada. Énoncé commun sur la protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle des sages-femmes et des médecins [En ligne]. Juin 2007. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/public-policy/-/asset_publisher/9rnAcJbTAZA6/content/joint-statement-on-liability-protection-for-midwives-and-physicians
  4. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Soins sécuritaires en obstétrique : Améliorer le travail d’équipe et la communication dans une situation d’urgence [En ligne]. Juin 2016 [cité le 5 juillet 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/-/improving-teamwork-and-communication-in-an-emergency
  5. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Soins sécuritaires en obstétrique : reconnaître les signes précurseurs de problèmes pendant le travail et l’accouchement [En ligne]. Septembre 2016 [cité le 30 septembre 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/improving-teamwork-and-communication-in-an-emergency
  6. Morgan L, Carson G, Gagnon A, et al. Collaborative practice among obstetricians, family physicians and midwives. CMAJ. 18 novembre 2014;186(17):1279-80.
  7. Mann S, Marcus R, Sachs B. Grand Rounds: Lessons from the cockpit: How team training can reduce errors on L&D. Contemporary OB/GYN. Janvier 2006:1-7.
  8. Poot EP, de Bruijne MC, Wouters MG, et al. Exploring perinatal shift-to-shift handover communication and process: an observational study. J Eval Clin Pract. Avril 2014;20(2):166-75.
  9. Thanh NX, Jacobs P, Wanke MI, et al. Outcomes of the Introduction of the MOREOB Continuing Education Program in Alberta. J Obstet Gynaecol Can. 2010;32:749-55.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.