Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Smartphone, smarter physician: Safely recommending mobile health apps in your practice

Originally published December 2016
P1604-2-E

Infographic: #mHealth– Smartphone, smarter physician: 7 tips to help you safely recommend mobile health apps in your practice

Patients are increasingly playing a greater role in directing and managing their personal health. This is good news for physicians who rely on engaged patients to enable them to provide the best possible care. Already a part of our daily lives, mobile technology offers the potential to enhance patient engagement and enable effective and efficient healthcare management.

While mobile health tools hold the promise of greater convenience and better health outcomes, technological innovations continue to advance at a rate that exceeds changes in related information privacy and security regulations. This reality raises privacy and security concerns, and both physicians and patients who embrace mobile health tools should understand the risks and take reasonable steps to manage them.

Dr. Patrick Ceresia, the CMPA’s Chief Privacy Officer, is not surprised that mobile health has become an integral part of our healthcare delivery system, given the entrenchment of technology in our everyday lives. And while he notes that such advancements are contributing to patient engagement, he cautions: "Regulations and best practices are still unfolding, and we must focus on integrating mobile tools appropriately in our practices."

Recommending mHealth apps to patients

Mobile health, or mHealth, is the practice of medicine and public health supported by mobile technologies. Through the use of mHealth apps on smartphones and tablets, patients and physicians can monitor and manage patients’ health. These apps are intended to educate patients and raise their awareness of medical conditions, manage chronic disease symptoms, and track a range of activities and conditions like physical activity, caloric intake, ovulation, medication, and perceived mental health.1

According to the 2014 National Physician Survey, approximately 50% of physicians use mobile apps in their practices, and 16.5% are recommending them to their patients.2 This limited usage may be due to concerns about the effectiveness and reliability of apps, and an absence of unbiased reviews of available mHealth apps.3

To assist physicians in making informed decisions about choosing the right health apps, the Canadian Medical Association’s Guiding Principles for Physicians Recommending Mobile Health Applications to Patients (2015) suggests ways to assess mHealth apps and the appropriateness to recommend a particular app to a patient. Among the factors the CMA advises physicians to consider is whether the mHealth app is endorsed by a credible medical association or organization, offers a user-friendly experience, updates information regularly, adheres to stringent security and privacy standards, does not result in a conflict of interest, and maintains continuity of the patient’s health information.3

How physicians can avoid medical-legal risks

Physicians who recommend mHealth apps to patients or who are using them in their practice should consider the following points to help minimize the risk of privacy breaches and medical-legal difficulties:

  • Trusted apps from reputable sources: mHealth apps are typically not approved by Health Canada, are often programmed by developers who lack healthcare training, and do not undergo a formal testing process by healthcare professionals.4 As a consequence, physicians may want to compile their own list of personally tested apps that are proven reliable and suitable for their practice. Physicians should advise patients that information supplied by apps should not be construed as specific medical advice.
  • Functionality and maintenance: Both physicians and patients should know how to use specific mHealth apps as intended. Physicians should ensure patients have access to adequate instructions on how to use a recommended mHealth app, and remind patients to keep their installed apps current (i.e. download any updates without delay when prompted to do so).
  • Information security: Physicians should ensure reasonable information security safeguards are in place to reduce the risk of privacy breaches. For example, mobile devices should be locked when not in use, and privacy settings such as password protection for apps should be enabled. When recommending an app, physicians should review the privacy policies of the apps to ensure third parties do not have access to identifiable personal health information without the express consent of the patient. If physicians store patients’ personal health information on mobile devices, the correct level of encryption should be used as mandated by most provincial privacy laws and regulations. When a physician recommends an app, both the physician and the patient must agree to be accountable for the protection of the patient’s personal health information. In the event of a breach, both the physician and patient should take reasonable steps to prevent further losses, and take corrective action such as limiting the use of the app. Some jurisdictions require physicians to report the breach.
  • Consent: Patients should provide their informed consent to using an mHealth app when suggested by the physician. The CMPA’s Consent to use electronic communications form may be useful in guiding and documenting the consent discussion. Physicians should document both the consent discussion and file any written agreement in the patient’s medical record.
  • Patient records: To ensure continuity of the patient’s health information, physicians should create a process for importing, reviewing, and discussing the data collected by the mHealth app with the patient. Patients should be aware of, and agree to, the terms of physicians’ processes. Physicians should generally include only clinically relevant information to avoid having to manage a surplus of unnecessary data.
  • Medical liability: Most mHealth apps are accompanied by a disclaimer limiting the app’s responsibility for accuracy, reliability, and completeness. While such statements do not absolve the developers of the app from liability, physicians should carefully consider apps with disclaimers intended to shift legal responsibility onto the physicians.5
  • Billing: As some provinces do not include electronic health activities in their billing structure, physicians who use mHealth apps should be aware of the billing requirements that apply in their jurisdiction.

 


 

References

  1. Ho K. Are you prepared for the mobile health tsunami? Alberta Doctors’ Digest [Internet]. 2015 September/October [cited 2016 April 11];40(5):6,7. Available from: https://www.albertadoctors.org/Publications%20-%20ADD/Digest_SepOct2015_lores.pdf
  2. National Physician Survey. Q17: Do you use any telehealth or telemedicine technologies in your practice?. 2014 National Results by Province/Territories [Internet]. Mississauga: National Physician Survey; 2014 December 2 [cited 2016 April 11]. Available from: http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/2014-ByProvince-TelehealthTelemedicine-EN.pdf
  3. CMA Policy. Guiding principles for physicians recommending mobile health applications to patients [Internet]. Ottawa: Canadian Medical Association; 2015 [cited 2016 April 11]. 5 p. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/cma_policy_guiding_principles_for_physicians_recommending_mobile_health_applications_to_patients_pd1-e.pdf
  4. Franko OI. How helpful are mobile healthcare apps? Without clinician input and validation, healthcare apps could be a liability. AAOS Now [Internet]. 2013 March [cited 2016 April 11]. Available from: http://www.aaos.org/AAOSNow/2013/Mar/managing/managing5/?ssopc=1
  5. Canadian Nurses Protective Society. Mobile healthcare apps. Info Law [Internet]. 2013 Dec [cited 2016 April 11];21(2):1-3. Available from: http://www.cnps.ca/upload-files/pdf_english/mobile_healthcare_apps.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

La recommandation d’applications mobiles en santé : Téléphone intelligent = Médecin plus intelligent?

Publié initialement en décembre 2016
P1604-2-F

Infographique: #SantéMobile- Téléphone intelligent = Médecin plus intelligent? 7 conseils pour vous aider à recommander des applications de santé mobile sécuritaires pour votre pratique

Les patients assument un plus grand rôle dans la gestion de leur santé. C’est là une bonne nouvelle pour les médecins qui comptent sur des patients engagés pour les aider à prodiguer les meilleurs soins possibles. Déjà présente dans nos activités de la vie quotidienne, la technologie mobile permet d’accroître l’engagement du patient, et de gérer les soins de manière efficace et efficiente.

Bien que les outils mobiles en santé promettent de faciliter notre vie et d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats de santé, les innovations technologiques continuent de progresser à un rythme plus rapide que les changements liés à la réglementation de la sécurité et de la protection des renseignements personnels. Cette réalité soulève donc des préoccupations quant à la sécurité et à la protection des renseignements personnels; autant les médecins que les patients doivent comprendre les risques des outils mobiles en santé et prendre des mesures raisonnables pour les gérer.

Le Dr Patrick Ceresia, chef de la protection des renseignements personnels à l’ACPM, se dit aucunement surpris que la santé mobile soit devenue une composante intégrale de notre système de prestation des soins de santé puisque la technologie s’intègre dans nos vies de tous les jours. Même s’il fait remarquer que de telles avancées contribuent à l’engagement du patient, il émet tout de même une mise en garde : « La réglementation et les pratiques exemplaires suivent leur cours, et nous devons chercher à intégrer les outils mobiles de façon appropriée dans nos pratiques. »

Recommander des applications mobiles en santé aux patients

La santé mobile se définit comme l’exercice de la médecine et de la santé publique avec le soutien de technologies mobiles. Au moyen d’applications mobiles en santé pour téléphones intelligents ou tablettes numériques, les patients et les médecins peuvent surveiller la prise en charge thérapeutique et y contribuer. Ces applications ont pour but d’éduquer les patients et de les sensibiliser davantage aux pathologies et à la gestion des symptômes de maladies chroniques, ainsi que de suivre un éventail d‘activités et certains paramètres comme l’activité physique, l’apport calorique, le cycle d’ovulation, la pharmacothérapie et la perception de l’état mental.1

Selon les données du Sondage national des médecins mené en 2014, environ 50 % des médecins utilisent des applications mobiles dans leur pratique et 16,5 % en recommandent à leurs patients.2 Cet usage restreint peut être associé à des préoccupations quant à l’efficacité et à la fiabilité des applications, et à l’absence d’analyses non biaisées des applications mobiles en santé déjà sur le marché.3

Pour aider les médecins à prendre des décisions éclairées sur le choix d’applications en santé appropriées, l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a publié une politique intitulée « Principes directeurs pour les médecins qui recommandent à leurs patients des applications mobiles sur la santé »; ce document propose des façons d’évaluer les applications et d’en déterminer le caractère approprié en vue de leur recommandation. L’AMC suggère entre autres que les médecins déterminent si l’application a reçu l’aval d’une association, d’une fédération ou d’une organisation médicale crédible; s’assurent de sa convivialité; vérifient qu’il y ait des mises à jour régulières; déterminent si l’application respecte des normes solides en matière de sécurité et de protection des renseignements personnels; prennent des mesures pour éviter tout conflit d’intérêts qu’ils pourraient avoir par rapport à l’application; et veillent à ce que l’outil permette d’assurer la continuité des renseignements de santé du patient.3

Comment éviter les risques médico-légaux?

Les médecins qui recommandent des applications mobiles en santé ou qui en utilisent dans leur pratique devraient tenir compte des critères suivants pour minimiser les atteintes à la vie privée et les problèmes médico-légaux :

  • Applications fiables provenant de sources dignes de confiance : les applications en santé ne sont généralement pas approuvées par Santé Canada et sont souvent programmées par des concepteurs n’ayant reçu aucune formation en soins de santé, qui ne testent pas leurs produits auprès de professionnels de la santé.4 Les médecins peuvent donc compiler une liste d’applications qu’ils ont eux-mêmes mises à l’essai et qu’ils jugent fiables et appropriées pour leur pratique. Les médecins devraient informer leurs patients que les renseignements fournis par les applications ne constituent pas des conseils médicaux précis.
  • Fonctionnalité et maintenance : Autant les médecins que les patients devraient savoir comment utiliser des applications en santé particulières en fonction du but visé. Les médecins devraient veiller à ce que les patients aient accès à des informations adéquates sur la façon d’utiliser les applications recommandées et leur rappeler de les garder à jour (c.-à-d. de télécharger toute mise à jour dès réception de la notification).
  • Sécurité de l’information : Les médecins doivent s’assurer que des mécanismes de sécurité appropriés sont en place pour réduire les atteintes à la vie privée. Par exemple, les appareils mobiles devraient être verrouillés lorsqu’ils ne sont pas utilisés, et les réglages de confidentialité, telle la protection à l’aide d’un mot de passe, devraient être activés. Avant de recommander une application, les médecins devraient passer en revue ses politiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et veiller à ce que des tiers n’aient pas accès aux renseignements sur la santé concernant des personnes identifiables sans le consentement explicite du patient. Si les médecins stockent des renseignements personnels sur la santé de leurs patients sur des appareils mobiles, le niveau de chiffrement approprié devrait se conformer à celui dicté par la législation et la réglementation en matière de protection des renseignements personnels de la plupart des provinces et des territoires. Lorsqu’un médecin recommande une application, il doit s’entendre avec le patient sur le fait qu’ils sont tous deux responsables de protéger les renseignements personnels du patient. Dans l’éventualité d’une atteinte à la vie privée, le médecin et le patient devraient prendre des mesures raisonnables pour prévenir de futures atteintes, et mettre en place des mesures correctives telles que limiter l’usage de l’application. Certaines provinces et certains territoires exigent que les médecins signalent toute atteinte à la vie privée.
  • Consentement : Les patients devraient accorder un consentement éclairé à l’utilisation d’une application mobile en santé proposée par leur médecin. Le formulaire de l’ACPM Consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique pourrait être utile pour guider et documenter la discussion entourant le consentement. Les médecins devraient documenter la discussion menant au consentement et le fait qu’ils ont versé le consentement signé au dossier médical du patient.
  • Dossiers médicaux des patients : Pour assurer une continuité dans la transmission des renseignements sur la santé des patients, les médecins devraient créer un processus pour importer et passer en revue les données recueillies par l’application mobile en santé, puis en parler avec le patient. Les patients devraient connaître les modalités des processus utilisés par les médecins et y consentir. Les médecins ne devraient inclure que les renseignements cliniques pertinents et éviter ainsi d’avoir à gérer des données inutiles.
  • Responsabilité professionnelle : La plupart des applications mobiles en santé comprennent une clause de non-responsabilité qui restreint la responsabilité du concepteur de l’application en ce qui a trait à l’exactitude, à la fiabilité et à l’intégralité des données. Bien que de tels énoncés ne relèvent pas les concepteurs de leur responsabilité, les médecins devraient se méfier des applications dont la clause vise à transférer la responsabilité légale au médecin.5
  • Facturation : Certaines provinces ou certains territoires n’incluent pas les interventions électroniques en santé dans leur grille de facturation; les médecins qui utilisent de telles applications mobiles devraient donc connaître les exigences en matière de facturation qui s’appliquent dans leur région.

 


 

Références

  1. Ho K. Are you prepared for the mobile health tsunami? Alberta Doctors’ Digest [En ligne]. Septembre-octobre 2015 [cité le 11 avril 2016];40(5):6,7. https://www.albertadoctors.org/Publications%20-%20ADD/Digest_SepOct2015_lores.pdf
  2. Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, Association médicale canadienne, Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Sondage national des médecins 2014, Question 17 : Utilisez-vous des technologies de télésanté ou de télémédecine dans le cadre de votre pratique? [En ligne]. Décembre 2014 [cité le 11 avril 2016]. http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/2014-ByProvince-TelehealthTelemedicine-FR.pdf
  3. Association médicale canadienne. Politiques de l’AMC: Principes directeurs pour les médecins qui recommandent à leurs patients des applications mobiles sur la santé. [En ligne]. Ottawa: Association médicale canadienne; 2015 [cité le 11 avril 2016]. 5 p. http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD15-13f.pdf
  4. Franko OI. How helpful are mobile healthcare apps? Without clinician input and validation, healthcare apps could be a liability. AAOS Now [En ligne]. Mars 2013 [cité le 11 avril 2016]. http://www.aaos.org/AAOSNow/2013/Mar/managing/managing5/?ssopc=1
  5. Société de protection des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada. Applis mobile en santé. InfoDROIT [En ligne]. Décembre 2013 [cité le 11 avril 2016];21(2):1-4.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.