Physician wellness

Coping with the stress of medical practice

The aging physician: Maintaining competence and practising safely

Originally published March 2016
P1601-2-E

As physicians age, there is increasing attention on their ongoing clinical competency by medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) and others. Aging physicians and their colleagues should be familiar with the main issues associated with working later in life, including the key medical-legal risks, and how to support the ongoing delivery of safe medical care.

Research and anecdotal reports suggest a range of clinical performance among older physicians. These doctors can bring significant knowledge and experience to their practice and the profession, and many perform at the same level or close to the same level as their younger peers.1 Some are able to maintain their full practice or continue in some form by modifying their work, for example changing the type of activities they perform or the number of patients they see. Others may experience challenges as they age and may need to stop their medical practice earlier than they expected. And some may have limited ability to assess their own competence2 and may be unaware of a decline in their performance.

Health problems and cognitive decline

Physicians generally retain their deep medical knowledge as they age, but several factors related to aging may impact their health and cognitive abilities. A 2011 study shows the prevalence of mild cognitive impairment is estimated to be 10% to 20% in individuals who are 65 years old and older.3 Sensory and motor impairment, decreasing working memory, and slowing speed of mental operations can affect physicians’ analytical processes as they grow older.4 While the effects of aging vary from doctor to doctor, other factors impacting an older physician’s level of competence include personal issues, practice setting, clinical volume, specialty, and overall level of stress.5

Doctors also face the same health issues as the general aging population, making them susceptible to infections, stroke, diabetes, dementia, and other acute and chronic illnesses and conditions. These health issues, and others, may be detrimental to older physicians’ performance and may increase risks in their practice.

Risks to healthcare safety

Several studies indicate deficient performance due to age-related issues of some physicians may place patients at risk. An American 2005 study concluded some “…older physicians possess less factual knowledge, are less likely to adhere to appropriate standards of care, and may also have poorer patient outcomes.”6 As well, some older physicians may be less likely to acquire knowledge over time and others may hesitate to renew their training or to stay abreast of the latest clinical practices.5 A 2006 study that looked at surgeon age and operative mortality in the United States found that “for most procedures “…surgeon age is not an important predictor of operative risk,” however, "for some complex procedures, surgeons older than 60 years, particularly those with low procedure volumes, have higher operative mortality rates than their younger counterparts."7

This does not discount the fact many senior physicians bring advanced experience that can positively affect patient outcomes. And as some areas of the country are experiencing doctor shortages, it can be to everyone’s advantage to support older physicians who are performing well in practice.8

Monitoring aging physicians: College and hospital policies

There are no national guidelines in Canada to help ensure older doctors are still competent to practise safely and effectively, nor is there a mandatory retirement age for doctors. Some Colleges monitor and test older physicians through audits, competency reviews, and other programs. For instance, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba initiates chart audits at age 75 and repeats them every five years,9 while the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario conducts peer assessments at the age of 70 and then every five years.10 The Collège des médecins du Québec evaluates physicians 60 years of age and over through a questionnaire designed to assess certain risk factors.11

Some hospitals have specific guidelines requiring older physicians undergo screening to evaluate their clinical competency, as a condition to renew their privileges, and as a way to retain particular expertise that may not otherwise be available. It also has been reported many Canadian hospitals began creating senior staff categories nearly a decade ago to address these and other concerns about doctors who are aging.8

The numbers — Statistics collected by the Canadian Medical Association indicate 15% of physicians (12,128 out of 78,657 medical doctors) are 65 years of age and older. This cohort is followed by 19,555 doctors in the 55-64 age group.12 Moreover, it is estimated 20% of Canadian physicians will be 65 years or older by 2026.8

How to practise safely and maintain competence

The following tips may be helpful for physicians as they age:

  • Consider your own health issues and the possibility of cognitive decline. Strive to maintain a healthy lifestyle through good diet and exercise.5
  • Carefully consider the concerns of family members, treating physicians, colleagues, friends, and patients regarding your own health and practice. Seek timely assistance and support for issues and problems.
  • Where appropriate, consider narrowing or limiting the scope of your practice or work, shortening your work hours or week, and decreasing the workload based on the time demands, your stamina, and fatigue levels.4
  • Take appropriate time with cases requiring rapid cognitive processing, when necessary. Plan for longer appointments for patients with complex medical problems.5
  • Avoid, where possible, practising in isolation and work in collaboration with other providers.
  • Be familiar with any relevant College competency review programs, and hospital guidelines and policies regarding screening to maintain competency and proficient performance in practice.
  • Consider self-assessment programs such as those offered by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada13 to assess your knowledge and practice to further enhance your competence.
  • Keep up to date with clinical standards, and meet requirements for continuing medical education and professional development.
  • Document patient care in medical records. A physician’s thought process is demonstrated through good documentation.
  • Consider your approach to retirement so you can continue to meet the needs of your patients and your own personal goals.
  • If you are in an administrative position, collaborate with all members of your department to support aging physicians.
  • If you encounter a colleague or another doctor who appears to be having difficulties possibly due to advancing age, it is advisable to talk with the doctor directly and privately. An open and honest discussion, carried out with empathy, is usually well-received. If it is not, speak to another colleague or physician leader for guidance and support. Furthermore, be familiar with the legislation and College policies on reporting in your province or territory in case you conclude you have a legal duty or ethical responsibility to report a physician’s health decline possibly due to advanced age.14
  • If you feel you are being discriminated against based on your age, consider contacting the CMPA for advice.

In many cases, doctors can successfully modify their medical practice to accommodate changes as they age and continue to meet their patients’ needs.

 
 
  1. Drag LL, Bieliauskas LA, Langenecker SA, Greenfield LJ. Cognitive functioning, retirement status, and age: results from the Cognitive Changes and Retirement among Senior Surgeons study. J Am Coll Surg 2010;211(3):303-7.
  2. Davis DA, Mazmanian PE, Fordis M. Accuracy of physician self-assessment compared with observed measures of competence. JAMA 2006 Sep 6;296(9):1094-102.
  3. Peterson RC. Mild Cognitive Impairment. N Engl J Med. 2011;364(23): 2227-234.
  4. American Medical Association. Competency and Retirement: Evaluating the Senior Physician. AMA Wire [Internet]. 2015 June 23 [cited 2015 Nov 2]. Available from: http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/ama-wire/post/competency-retirement-evaluating-senior-physician.
  5. Lee L, Weston W. The Aging Physician. Can Fam Physician [Internet]. 2012 [cited 2015 Nov 2];58(1):17-18. Available from. http://www.cfp.ca/content/58/1/17.full.
  6. Choudhry NK., Fletcher RH, Soumerai SB. Systematic Review: The Relationship between Clinical Experience and Quality of Health Care. Ann Intern Med [Internet]. 2005 [cited 2015 Nov 2];142( 4):260-74. Available from: http://annals.org/article.aspx?articleid=718215.
  7. Waljee F, Greenfield L, Dimick J, Birkmeyer J. Surgeon age and operative mortality in the United States. Ann  Surg [Internet]. 2006 [cited 2016 March 29]; 244(3):353-362. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1856535/.
  8. Collier R. Diagnosing the Aging Physician. CMAJ [Internet]. 2008 [cited 2015 Nov 2];178( 9):1121-123. Available from: http://www.cmaj.ca/content/178/9/1121.full?ijkey=93ec04862c1862cbf333b253bb42abcf780cb25f&keytype2=tf_ipsecsha.
  9. Annual Report 2014 [Internet]. Winnipeg (MB); College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba;[cited 2016 Jan 21]. Available from: http://cpsm.mb.ca/cjj39alckF30a/wp-content/uploads/CPSMAnnRep2014.pdf.
  10. Selection for Assessment [Internet]. Toronto (ON); College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Peer Assessment section; [cited 2016 Jan 21]. Available from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/CPSO-Members/Peer-Assessment/Selection-for-Assessment.
  11. Nouveau Programme 60 Ans. Le Collège [Internet]. 2015 [cited 2015 Nov 10];55(1): 21. Available from : http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-5-2015-01-01-fr-hiver-2015.pdf.
  12. Canadian Medical Association. Number of Active Physicians by Age, Sex and Province/Territory, Canada, 2015. CMA Masterfile. 2015. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/04AgeSexPrv.pdf.
  13. Self-Assessment Programs (SAPs) [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, About Us section; 2010[cited 2016 Jan 21]. Available from: http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/members/cpd/cpd_accreditation/self_assessment_programs.
  14. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Reporting another physician. Dec. 2010. [Internet]. [cited 2016 Jan 21] Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/physician-wellness1/-/asset_publisher/la3xaaAQQE06/content/reporting-another-physician.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Bien-être des médecins

Gestion du stress et maintien de la santé

L’effet du vieillissement chez les médecins : maintien des compétences et exercice sécuritaire

Publié initialement en mars 2016
P1601-2-F

Les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), entre autres, accordent une attention accrue au maintien des compétences cliniques chez les médecins qui continuent d’exercer jusqu’à un âge avancé. Ces médecins et leurs collègues devraient connaître les principaux enjeux associés à la prolongation de la vie professionnelle, notamment les risques médico-légaux, et la façon d’appuyer la prestation continue des soins médicaux sécuritaires.

Des résultats de recherche et des rapports anecdotiques révèlent qu’il existe divers niveaux de rendement clinique chez les médecins âgés. Ces derniers apportent une expérience et des connaissances considérables à la pratique et à la profession, et beaucoup d’entre eux ont un rendement identique ou semblable à celui de leurs collègues plus jeunes.1 Il y a des médecins qui peuvent continuer à exercer à temps plein ou qui choisissent de modifier leur façon de travailler (p. ex., en réduisant leur champ d’exercice et le nombre de patients vus en consultation). D’autres, par contre, peuvent faire face à certains défis liés au vieillissement, de sorte qu’ils doivent mettre fin à leur pratique plus tôt qu’ils ne l’avaient prévu. Enfin, certains peuvent avoir de la difficulté à évaluer leurs propres compétences2 et ne pas être conscients de la baisse de leur rendement au travail.

Problèmes de santé et diminution des capacités cognitives

De façon générale, les médecins conservent, avec l’âge, des connaissances médicales approfondies. Cependant, de nombreux facteurs peuvent avoir une incidence sur leur santé et leurs capacités cognitives. Selon une étude réalisée en 2011, la prévalence d’un trouble cognitif léger se situerait entre 10 % et 20 % chez les personnes âgées de 65 ans ou plus.3 Des déficits sensoriels et moteurs, une diminution de la mémoire de travail et une réduction de la rapidité des opérations mentales peuvent influer sur les processus analytiques du médecin avec le temps.4 Si les effets du vieillissement varient d’un médecin à l’autre, d’autres facteurs ont une influence sur le niveau de compétence du médecin âgé, notamment les problèmes personnels, le milieu de pratique, le volume de travail clinique, la spécialité et le niveau général de stress.5

Les médecins sont confrontés aux mêmes problèmes de santé liés au vieillissement que la population générale, ce qui les prédispose aux infections, aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux (AVC), au diabète, à la démence et à d’autres maladies ou états chroniques et aigus. Ces problèmes de santé, entre autres, peuvent nuire au rendement des médecins âgés et augmenter les risques dans leur pratique.

Risques pour la sécurité des soins

De nombreuses études révèlent que les problèmes de rendement liés au vieillissement chez certains médecins peuvent mettre les patients à risque. En 2005, une étude américaine conclut que certains « …médecins âgés ont moins de connaissances factuelles et sont moins susceptibles de respecter les normes de pratique appropriées, et les résultats peuvent être moins favorables chez leurs patients. »6 De plus, certains médecins âgés peuvent être moins enclins à acquérir de nouvelles connaissances avec le temps, alors que d’autres peuvent hésiter à suivre des activités de développement professionnel continu ou à se tenir au fait des dernières pratiques cliniques.5 Une autre étude réalisée en 2006, portant sur l'âge des chirurgiens et la mortalité opératoire aux États-Unis, a démontré que « dans la plupart des interventions [...], l'âge du chirurgien ne constitue pas une variable importante permettant de prédire le risque opératoire. » Toutefois, « les taux de mortalité étaient plus élevés à la suite de certaines interventions chirurgicales complexes pratiquées par des chirurgiens âgés de plus de 60 ans, en particulier lorsque ces derniers n'effectuaient qu'un volume peu élevé d'interventions, par rapport aux taux de mortalité postopératoire des chirurgiens moins âgés. »7

Il n’en demeure pas moins que de nombreux médecins âgés possèdent une solide expérience qui peut influencer favorablement les résultats chez les patients. Compte tenu de la pénurie de médecins dans certaines régions du pays, il peut être avantageux pour tous d’encourager le maintien en poste de médecins âgés qui continuent de bien travailler.8

Surveillance des médecins âgés

Il n’existe pas de lignes directrices nationales au Canada permettant d’assurer que les médecins âgés demeurent aptes à exercer de façon sécuritaire et efficace, ni d’âge de la retraite obligatoire. Certains Collèges surveillent et évaluent les médecins âgés au moyen de vérifications, d’examens de la compétence et d’autres programmes. À titre d’exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Manitoba effectue des vérifications de dossiers de patients pour les médecins âgés de 75 ans et les répète tous les cinq ans,9 alors que l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario procède à des évaluations par des pairs à l’âge de 70 ans, puis aux cinq ans.10 Quant au Collège des médecins du Québec, il évalue les médecins dès l’âge de 60 ans à l’aide d’un questionnaire conçu pour mesurer certains facteurs de risque.11

Certains hôpitaux disposent de directives qui exigent qu’à partir d’un âge précis, les médecins se soumettent à des tests pour évaluer leurs compétences cliniques : il s’agit d’une condition pour le renouvellement de leurs privilèges et d’un moyen de préserver une expertise particulière qui ne serait pas accessible autrement. Depuis près d’une décennie, de nombreux hôpitaux au Canada ont commencé à créer des catégories de personnel sénior afin d’aborder ces préoccupations, entre autres, liées aux médecins âgés qui continuent d’exercer.8

Les chiffres – Selon les statistiques recueillies par l’Association médicale canadienne, 15 % des médecins (12 128 sur un échantillon de 78 657) ont 65 ans ou plus. Ce groupe est suivi de 19 555 médecins âgés entre 55 et 64 ans.12 Par ailleurs, on estime que 20 % des médecins au Canada auront 65 ans ou plus d’ici 2026.8

Comment exercer de façon sécuritaire tout en maintenant ses compétences

Les conseils suivants peuvent s’avérer utiles pour les médecins qui avancent en âge :

  • Tenez compte de vos problèmes de santé et de la possibilité d’une diminution de vos capacités cognitives. Veillez à maintenir un mode de vie sain alliant alimentation équilibrée et exercice.5
  • Songez aux préoccupations des membres de votre famille, de vos médecins traitants et collègues, amis et patients en ce qui concerne votre santé et votre pratique. Obtenez de l’aide et un soutien, en temps opportun, pour tout enjeu ou problème.
  • Réduisez ou limitez votre champ d’exercice ou votre travail, écourtez vos heures ou votre semaine de travail et allégez votre charge de travail au besoin, en fonction des exigences de temps, de votre endurance et de votre niveau de fatigue.4
  • Prenez le temps nécessaire pour analyser les cas qui exigent un traitement rapide de l’information lorsque ceci est nécessaire. Prévoyez de plus longs rendez-vous avec les patients ayant des problèmes médicaux complexes.5
  • Évitez, dans la mesure du possible, d’exercer en solo et travaillez plutôt en collaboration avec d’autres professionnels de la santé.
  • Soyez au fait de tout programme pertinent d’examen de la compétence du Collège et de toute directive ou politique hospitalière d’évaluation visant à assurer le maintien des compétences et un rendement acceptable dans la pratique.
  • Envisagez des programmes d’autoévaluation tels que ceux offerts par le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada13 visant à évaluer vos connaissances et votre pratique afin d’améliorer vos compétences.
  • Tenez-vous au fait des normes cliniques et respectez les exigences en matière de formation médicale et de développement professionnel continus.
  • Documentez les soins au patient dans le dossier médical. Une bonne documentation reflète votre processus de réflexion en tant que médecin.
  • Réfléchissez à votre démarche en ce qui concerne la retraite de façon à continuer à répondre aux besoins de vos patients et à atteindre vos buts personnels.
  • Si vous occupez un poste administratif, collaborez avec tous les membres de votre département afin d’appuyer les médecins âgés.
  • Si vous rencontrez un collègue ou un autre médecin qui semble avoir des problèmes pouvant être attribuables à l’âge, il est conseillé de lui parler directement et en privé. Une discussion franche et honnête, empreinte d’empathie, est généralement bien reçue. Si ce n’est pas le cas, parlez à un autre collègue ou à un médecin chef de file pour obtenir conseils et soutien. En outre, il importe de connaître les dispositions législatives et les politiques du Collège liées au signalement dans votre province ou votre territoire au cas où vous arriveriez à la conclusion que vous avez une obligation légale ou une responsabilité déontologique de signaler la détérioration de la santé, possiblement causée par l’âge avancé, d’un médecin.14
  • Si vous croyez être victime de discrimination en raison de votre âge, songez à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

Dans bien des cas, les médecins peuvent modifier leur pratique médicale avec succès pour s’adapter aux changements liés au vieillissement et continuer de répondre aux besoins de leurs patients.

Lectures supplémentaires

 
 
  1. Drag LL, Bieliauskas LA, Langenecker SA, Greenfield LJ. Cognitive functioning, retirement status, and age : results from the Cognitive Changes and Retirement among Senior Surgeons study. J Am Coll Surg 2010; 211(3):303-7.
  2. Davis DA, Mazmanian PE, Fordis M. Accuracy of physician self-assessment compared with observed measures of competence. JAMA 6 septembre 2006; 296(9):1094-102.
  3. Peterson RC. Mild Cognitive Impairment. N Engl J Med. 2011; 364(23):2227-234.
  4. American Medical Association. Competency and Retirement:Evaluating the Senior Physician. AMA Wire [Internet]. Le 23 juin 2015 [cité le 17 février 2016]. http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/ama-wire/post/competency-retirement-evaluating-senior-physician.
  5. Lee L, Weston W. The Aging Physician. Can Fam Physician [Internet]. 2012 [cité le 17 février 2016]; 58(1):17-18. http://www.cfp.ca/content/58/1/17.full.
  6. Choudhry NK., Fletcher RH, Soumerai SB. Systematic Review : The Relationship between Clinical Experience and Quality of Health Care. Ann Intern Med [Internet]. 2005 [cité le 17 février 2016]; 142(4):260-74. http://annals.org/article.aspx?articleid=718215.
  7. Waljee F, Greenfield L, Dimick J, Birkmeyer J. Surgeon age and operative mortality in the United States. Ann  Surg [Internet]. 2006 [cité le 29 mars 2016]; 244(3):353-362.  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1856535
  8. Collier R. Diagnosing the Aging Physician. CMAJ [Internet]. 2008 [cité le 17 février 2016]; 178(9):1121-123. http://www.cmaj.ca/content/178/9/1121.full?ijkey=93ec04862c1862cbf333b253bb42abcf780cb25f&keytype2=tf_ipsecsha.
  9. Annual Report 2014 [Internet]. Winnipeg (MB); Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Manitoba; [cité le 17 février 2016]. http://cpsm.mb.ca/cjj39alckF30a/wp-content/uploads/CPSMAnnRep2014.pdf.
  10. Selection for Assessment [Internet]. Toronto (ON); Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario, section Évaluation par les pairs; [cité le 17 février 2016]. http://www.cpso.on.ca/CPSO-Members/Peer-Assessment/Selection-for-Assessment.
  11. Nouveau Programme 60 Ans. Le Collège [Internet]. 2015 [cité le 17 février 2016]; 55(1):21. http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-5-2015-01-01-fr-hiver-2015.pdf.
  12. Association médicale canadienne. Number of Active Physicians by Age, Sex and Province/territory, Canada, 2015. Fichier maître de l’AMC. 2015. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/04AgeSexPrv.pdf.
  13. Programmes d’auto-évaluation (PAE) [Internet]. Ottawa (ON) : Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, section À propos; 2010 [cité le 17 février 2016]. http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/members/cpd/cpd_accreditation/self_assessment_programs.
  14. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Signalement d’un autre médecin. Décembre 2010. [Internet]. [cité le 17 février 2016] https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/reporting-another-physician.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.