Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Transparency of physician information: What members need to know

Originally published June 2016
P1602-3-E

The Medical Post’s 2015 Canadian Physician Trends Survey found 69% of doctors believe their provincial medical regulatory authority (College) will become more involved in their practices over the next five years. The survey also revealed physicians are almost evenly divided as to whether or not they believe their provincial College is supportive of the medical profession.1

These findings are not surprising. In the last few years, medical regulatory authorities have taken some well-publicized steps to ensure public safety and enhance their own public accountability. These steps have included increasing the amount of information about doctors that they make available to the public in registries, including those posted online. While each College maintains a public register that includes specific information about each doctor practising in their jurisdiction, the information being made available by Colleges varies. The CMPA’s focus is to ensure the information publicly available is necessary to fulfill the College’s statutory mandate to protect the public.

College activities

All Colleges are feeling the pressure of public accountability and are taking a variety of steps to address this. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) was among the first to use a multi-phase approach. The CPSO approved new bylaws in 2015 to post a range of additional information on its public register.2  The information includes criminal charges, cautions in-person, specified continuing education or remediation program (SCERP) orders, discipline findings, and licences in other jurisdictions. The CPSO makes public any undertakings against a physician, as these are generally seen to be tied to issues that are either moderate or high risk to the public. Most recently, the College implemented a policy whereby disciplinary decisions involving criminal activities will be forwarded to the police.3 

In September 2015, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador announced that it will make more information about physicians available on its website including licence or practice restrictions.4  The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan allows the public to access a variety of information about physicians in that province, including medical education, qualifications, licence history, and discipline history.5 

What it means for physicians

The CMPA estimates more than 75% of the complaints made to the Colleges about doctors are dismissed outright or dismissed with some concern,6  yet doctors experience stress and anxiety when dealing with a College complaint or proceeding. This anxiety may have negative effects on a physician’s personal life or medical practice, and some physicians even consider leaving medicine or changing the scope of their practice to minimize the risk of future complaints. With Colleges making more physician information available to the public, the CMPA believes a balanced approach must be struck that includes reasonable precautions to protect public safety and respect for the privacy rights of individual physicians.

When information about a physician is placed in a College registry, particularly online, doctors’ anxieties normally revolve around how much will be made public, especially frivolous or unproven allegations. Physicians are also concerned about what information they must disclose to their hospital or regional health authority, as many of these organizations are requiring physicians to disclose information about a variety of topics. Additionally, in considering whether to accept disposition of a College complaint, many physicians worry about the outcome being made public.

CMPA advocacy efforts

The Association regularly communicates with medical regulatory authorities about protecting physician information. The CMPA generally encourages the Colleges to consider whether the information is necessary to protect the public and to balance this against the physician’s right to privacy. In specific cases, the CMPA may ask the College not to publicly distribute information about a physician on the basis that it is not relevant to the protection of the public. In other cases, the Association might suggest the College provide written notification to the affected physician in advance of publicly posting the information.

Member assistance

CMPA members requiring support when their personal information is available to the public are encouraged to contact the Association. A physician advisor can offer confidential support, assistance, and advice on Colleges’ processes.

Physicians are reminded to remain professional and objective when their personal information is placed on the public register. Focusing on appropriate continued medical practice, knowledge, and clinical skills is recommended. It is also important to remember that most patients will continue to seek care from the physician they know and trust, even when an online registry lists an adverse ruling. Physicians should seek personal support or professional help if a College-related matter results in excessive anxiety or distress.  


  1. Godkin D. Poll: 69% of doctors say Colleges are getting more intrusive. CandianHealthcareNetwork.ca. [Internet]. 2015 Sept 29 [cited 2015 Nov 23]; [about 2 screens]. Available from: http://www.canadianhealthcarenetwork.ca/physicians/news/professional/poll-69-of-doctors-say-colleges-are-getting-more-intrusive-41351
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. More information to be posted on the public register. Dialogue 2015, Issue 2:27-9.
  3. Butler D. College of physicians and surgeons shares information with police about MDs’ alleged criminal acts. Ottawa Citizen [Internet]. 2015 October 5 (updated October 6) [cited 2015 Nov 23]; Local [about 3 screens]. Available from: http://ottawacitizen.com/news/local-news/college-of-physicians-and-surgeons-forwarding-discipline-decisions-to-police
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador, Notice to College Members. [Internet]. 2015 Sept 30 [cited 2015 Nov 23].  Available from: https://www.cpsnl.ca/default.asp?com=News&m=326&y=2015&id=209
  5. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan [Internet]. Public website homepage. [cited 2015 Dec 9]. Available from: https://www.cps.sk.ca/
  6. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Coping with a College complaint: Suggestions for reducing anxiety [Internet]. April 2013. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/coping-with-a-college-complaint

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Transparence des renseignements sur les médecins : Ce que vous devez savoir

Publié initialement en juin 2016
P1602-3-F

Selon le sondage de 2015 effectué par le Medical Post sur les tendances chez les médecins canadiens, 69 % des médecins croient que l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine de leur province ou de leur territoire (Collège) interviendra davantage dans leur pratique au cours des cinq prochaines années. Ce sondage révèle aussi que les points de vue des médecins sont partagés de façon presque égale sur l’affirmation que leur Collège appuie la profession.1 

Ces résultats ne sont guère surprenants. Au cours des dernières années, les Collèges ont pris des mesures très publicisées visant à assurer la sécurité du public et à accroître leur propre responsabilisation envers la population. Parmi ces mesures, ils publient dans leurs registres ainsi qu’en ligne une plus grande quantité d’information sur les médecins. Bien que chaque Collège tienne un registre public contenant des renseignements précis au sujet de chaque médecin exerçant dans la province ou le territoire, l’information communiquée varie d’un Collège à l’autre. Pour sa part, l’ACPM tient à s’assurer que l’information rendue publique est bien nécessaire pour permettre au Collège de s’acquitter de son mandat statutaire de protéger le public.

Activités des Collèges

Tous les Collèges ressentent la pression de leur obligation publique de rendre des comptes, aussi prennent-ils diverses mesures pour s’en acquitter. À titre d’exemple, l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario a été l’un des premiers à mettre en œuvre une approche de communication échelonnée. En 2015, il a approuvé un nouveau règlement interne visant à publier de nouveaux renseignements dans son registre public,2 dont les accusations criminelles, les admonestations effectuées en personne, les ordonnances de formation continue ou de mesures correctives particulières, les décisions disciplinaires et les permis d’exercice dans d’autres provinces ou territoires. L’Ordre publie également tout recours intenté contre un médecin, étant donné que ceci est généralement perçu comme un enjeu présentant un risque moyen ou élevé pour le public. Plus récemment, il a mis en œuvre une politique selon laquelle les décisions disciplinaires liées aux activités criminelles seront communiquées à la police.3   

En septembre 2015, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a annoncé qu’il affichera davantage de renseignements sur les médecins sur son site web, notamment les restrictions au permis d’exercice ou à la pratique.4 Le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Saskatchewan permet au public d’avoir accès à divers renseignements au sujet des médecins dans cette province, y compris la formation médicale, la qualification, les antécédents relatifs au permis d’exercice et les antécédents disciplinaires.5 

Ce que cela signifie pour les médecins

L’ACPM estime que plus de 75 % des plaintes déposées auprès des Collèges sont rejetées, que ce soit sans condition ou avec admonestation;6 pourtant, les médecins vivent tout de même de l’anxiété et du stress lorsqu’ils font l’objet d’une plainte ou d’une instance. Ceci peut avoir des effets néfastes sur leur vie personnelle ou leur pratique et certains médecins peuvent aller jusqu’à envisager d’abandonner la médecine ou de modifier leur champ d’exercice afin de réduire le risque de plaintes à l’avenir. Compte tenu du fait que les Collèges mettent à la disposition du public de plus en plus de renseignements sur les médecins, l’ACPM est d’avis qu’il y a lieu de privilégier une approche équilibrée, prévoyant des précautions raisonnables pour protéger la sécurité du public, tout en respectant le droit des médecins à la protection de leurs renseignements personnels. 

Lorsque des renseignements personnels sont ajoutés au registre d’un Collège, surtout des informations en ligne, les médecins s’inquiètent généralement de la quantité d’information qui sera publiée, en particulier les allégations frivoles ou non prouvées. Les médecins sont également préoccupés par le genre d’information qu’ils sont tenus de communiquer à l’hôpital ou à l’autorité régionale en matière de santé où ils travaillent, puisque bon nombre de ces organismes exigent que les médecins communiquent divers renseignements. De plus, lorsqu’ils décident d’accepter ou non une décision du Collège relative à une plainte, de nombreux médecins s’inquiètent du fait que l’issue sera rendue publique.

Efforts de représentation de l’ACPM

L’Association communique régulièrement avec les Collèges au sujet de la protection des renseignements sur les médecins. De façon générale, l’ACPM encourage les Collèges à déterminer si l’information est requise pour protéger le public et à tenir compte du droit du médecin à la protection de ses renseignements personnels. Dans des cas précis, l’ACPM peut demander à un Collège de ne pas diffuser publiquement certains renseignements sur un médecin qui ne revêtent aucune utilité pour la protection du public. Dans d’autres cas, l’Association peut suggérer que le Collège informe le médecin en cause par écrit avant de publier l’information.

Assistance aux membres

L’Association encourage les membres qui requièrent un appui à la suite de la publication de leurs renseignements personnels à communiquer avec elle. Un médecin-conseil peut leur prodiguer un soutien confidentiel, une assistance et des conseils sur les processus du Collège.

L’ACPM rappelle aux médecins de demeurer professionnels et objectifs lorsque leurs renseignements personnels sont consignés dans un registre public. Il leur est recommandé de se concentrer sur l’exercice continu et approprié de la médecine, leurs connaissances et leurs habiletés cliniques. Il importe aussi de se souvenir que la plupart des patients continueront de consulter le médecin qu’ils connaissent et en qui ils ont confiance, même lorsqu’un registre en ligne affiche une décision défavorable. Les médecins devraient obtenir un soutien personnel ou professionnel si une plainte déposée au Collège entraîne une anxiété excessive ou de la détresse.


  1. Godkin D. Poll: 69% of doctors say Colleges are getting more intrusive. CanadianHealthcareNetwork.ca. [En ligne] Le 29 septembre 2015 [cité le 23 novembre 2015], [environ 2 écrans]. http://www.canadianhealthcarenetwork.ca/physicians/news/professional/poll-69-of-doctors-say-colleges-are-getting-more-intrusive-41351
  2. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario. More information to be posted on the public register. Dialogue Magazine. 2015; 2:27-9.
  3. Butler D. College of physicians and surgeons shares information with police about MDs’ alleged criminal acts. Ottawa Citizen. [En ligne] Le 5 octobre 2015 (mis à jour le 6 octobre) [cité le 6 mai 2016]; Local [environ 3 écrans]. http://ottawacitizen.com/news/local-news/college-of-physicians-and-surgeons-forwarding-discipline-decisions-to-police
  4. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Notice to College Members. [En ligne] Le 30 septembre 2015 [cité le 6 mai 2016]. https://www.cpsnl.ca/default.asp?com=News&m=326&y=2015&id=209 Le nom de l’article en date du 30 septembre 2015 = College’s Registers – Licence or Practice Improvement and Restrictions
  5. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Saskatchewan. [En ligne] Page d’accueil du site web public. [Cité le 6 mai 2016]. https://www.cps.sk.ca/
  6. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. Composer avec une plainte au Collège : Suggestions pour réduire l’anxiété. [En ligne] Avril 2013. [Cité le 6 mai 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/coping-with-a-college-complaint

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.