Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Working with physician assistants: Collaborating while managing risks

Originally published April 2016
W16-002-E

Today, about 500 physician assistants practise in Canada1 and that number is likely to climb. For physicians, this increase provides more opportunity to develop a collaborative working relationship with these health professionals. While the current work arrangement between physicians and physician assistants has the potential to expose doctors to certain risks, these risks can be managed.

A physician assistant primer

Physician assistants, or PAs, are health professionals who care for patients by carrying out medical acts that have been delegated by a supervising physician.2 Since the 1960s they have worked in the Canadian Armed Forces’ healthcare system3 and today practise primarily in Manitoba, New Brunswick, Alberta, and Ontario.4

The regulation of PAs varies from province to province and continues to evolve. For example, in Manitoba and New Brunswick, PAs are regulated by the provincial medical regulatory authorities (Colleges). In Alberta, the College has a voluntary register of non-regulated physician assistants. In Ontario, the Health Professions Regulatory Advisory Council has recommended that PAs should remain unregulated, but that a compulsory registry be established under the governance and oversight of the Ontario College.5

Unlike in other provinces, there are regulations in Manitoba and New Brunswick that set out minimum educational and training requirements for PAs.6 The Colleges in those provinces have also established specific requirements with respect to supervision and other conditions on the practice of PAs.

Know the risks

Regardless of what provincial structure or system they work under, PAs are not independent healthcare providers. The medical services provided by PAs must be delegated by a licensed physician who then supervises their work.7 It is this responsibility of delegation and supervision of PAs by supervising physicians that exposes doctors to the risk of liability if the PA provides negligent care.

From a legal perspective, the courts expect supervising physicians to appropriately delegate and supervise a PA. In the event of litigation, supervising physicians will be evaluated on whether they met the standard of care when delegating and supervising tasks. The courts usually consider the degree of care and skill that might reasonably have been applied by a supervising physician in similar circumstances. Doctors who delegate tasks that are beyond an individual PA’s training and experience or do not properly supervise the PA may be criticized.

In addition, physicians who are employers of a PA should also be alert to the potential risk of vicarious liability. The principle of vicarious liability holds that as employers, physicians may be liable for the negligence of their employees when they are acting within the scope of their employment. Employees in these circumstances should also carry their own liability protection.

Managing the risks

None of these risks, however, should stop physicians from working collaboratively with PAs. Delegating certain medical acts to PAs allows physicians to tend to other duties and extend their services to patients. Their collaborative working relationship is most effective when supervising physicians take steps to manage the risks that can accompany the delegation of work and supervision of another health provider.

When deciding which medical acts to delegate and how much supervision is appropriate, supervising physicians should first assess a PA’s competencies, skills, and experience in the targeted practice setting (e.g. emergency department, anaesthesia, family medicine, etc.). It is important to recognize that PAs cannot perform tasks that are outside the scope of practice of their supervising physician.8

Assessing a PA’s capabilities can be difficult for supervising physicians, particularly when there is no regulatory authority that can be consulted. The physician must ultimately exercise good clinical judgment when determining if the PA is clinically competent to perform a particular task.

Physicians should also check with their College and their hospital or health authority, if appropriate, to see if these organizations have policies and guidelines on the degree to which PAs can perform certain tasks.9 This is particularly important in those provinces in which PAs are regulated.

Once supervising physicians determine what medical acts can be delegated, they must ensure that the PA performs the acts properly and safely. Physicians are responsible, for example, for giving direction, appropriately reviewing the assistant’s work and records, and ensuring the PA only performs the delegated activities. The supervising physician should also be available to the PA to give direction. The specific requirements for a supervising physician’s availability vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. Physicians should consult with their College for the requirements in their area.

While PAs are not independent practitioners, they can work with a “…degree of autonomy,"10 depending on the clinical task and their skills. The degree of autonomy should be agreed to by the supervising physician and the PA. 11,12 Many PAs may work under medical directives or standing orders issued by the supervising physician. Physicians must keep in mind, however, that the use of medical directives does not reduce their exposure to the risk of liability or discipline if there is any negligence on the part of the PA while carrying out the order.

CMPA protection

The CMPA supports collaborative healthcare, including between physicians and physician assistants, but it also recognizes that for collaborative care to be effective, all the health professionals practising within a healthcare team must have adequate liability protection.

The CMPA will generally assist physician members with medical-legal difficulties arising from their medical professional work, including from the supervision of other healthcare professionals such as PAs. The Association’s assistance, however, does not extend to non-physician healthcare providers, including physician assistants, who may see patients with a degree of autonomy.

In situations where PAs are employed by a hospital, region, or institution, physicians should inquire whether the PAs have liability protection through the employer’s insurance provider. When employed by individual physicians or private group practices, PAs generally must obtain their own liability protection from a commercial carrier. This protection, which can be obtained through the Canadian Association of Physician Assistants, should address all aspects of their employment and be adequate and appropriate for the work they do.

The last word

Physicians working with or employing PAs may be exposed to the risk of liability arising from the actions of the assistant. These risks do not need to be a barrier to collaborative care if physicians and physician assistants take appropriate steps to mitigate these risks, including using appropriate communication protocols.

Physicians wanting specific information on the medical-legal aspects of working with a physician assistant are encouraged to contact the CMPA.

 
 
  1. Canadian Association of Physician Assistants, PA Fact Sheet. Retrieved August 4, 2015 from: https://capa-acam.ca/about-pas/pa-fact-sheet/
  2. The College of Family Physicians of Canada, Position Statement: Physician Assistants, April 2011. Retrieved August 4, 2015 from: http://www.cfpc.ca/ProjectAssets/Templates/Resource.aspx?id=3309
  3. Canadian Medical Association and the Canadian Association of Physician Assistants, Physician Assistant Toolkit, A Resource Tool for Canadian Physicians, Revised Edition December 2012, Ottawa Ontario, page 6. Retrieved August 4, 2015 from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/PA-Toolkit-e.pdf#search=PA%20Toolkit
  4. Ibid, p. 22
  5. Ontario Health Professions Regulatory Advisory Council, The Health Profession Assistant: Consideration of the Physician Assistant Application for Regulation, August 31, 2012.
  6. The Manitoba Regulations define both “clinical assistants” and “physician assistants” that are eligible for licensure as associate members of the College. Different qualifications and requirements exist for these two types of assistants.
  7. Canadian Medical Association and the Canadian Association of Physician Assistants, Physician Assistant Toolkit, A Resource Tool for Canadian Physicians, Revised Edition December 2012, Ottawa Ontario, page 6. Retrieved August 4, 2015 from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/PA-Toolkit-e.pdf#search=PA%20Toolkit
  8. Ibid, p. 10
  9. Ibid, p. 13
  10. Ibid, p. 6
  11. Ibid, p. 6
  12. In Manitoba, approval by the College of the level of supervision in accordance with the requirements set out in the Regulations is also required.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le travail avec les adjoints au médecin : Collaborer tout en gérant les risques

Publié initialement en avril 2016
W16-002-F

De nos jours, quelque 500 adjoints au médecin pratiquent au Canada.1 Ce chiffre va probablement augmenter. Grâce à cette augmentation, les médecins auront plus de possibilités de développer une relation de travail collaborative avec ces professionnels de la santé. La formule de collaboration actuellement suivie par les médecins et les adjoints au médecin peut potentiellement exposer les médecins à certains risques. Il est toutefois possible de gérer ces risques.

Introduction aux adjoints au médecin

Les adjoints au médecin, ou AM, sont des professionnels de la santé qui s’occupent des patients en effectuant des actes médicaux délégués par un médecin superviseur.2 Depuis les années 1960, ils travaillent au sein du système de santé des Forces armées canadiennes.3 Aujourd’hui, ils travaillent principalement au Manitoba, au Nouveau Brunswick, en Alberta et en Ontario.4

Le règlement qui régit les AM varie d’une province à l’autre et ne cesse d’évoluer. Au Manitoba et au Nouveau Brunswick, par exemple, les AM sont régis par les organismes provinciaux de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges). En Alberta, le Collège dispose d’un registre volontaire d’adjoints au médecin non réglementés. En Ontario, le Conseil consultatif de réglementation des professions de la santé recommande que les AM restent non réglementés, mais qu'un système d’enregistrement obligatoire soit mis en place sous la gouvernance et la supervision de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario.5

Contrairement aux autres provinces, le Manitoba et le Nouveau Brunswick disposent de règlements qui précisent les exigences minimales en matière de formation pour les AM.6 Les Collèges de ces provinces ont également établi des exigences spécifiques quant à la supervision ainsi que d’autres conditions concernant la pratique des AM.

Connaître les risques

Indépendamment de la structure ou du système dans lequel ils évoluent, les AM ne sont pas des professionnels de la santé autonomes. Les services médicaux qu’ils fournissent doivent en effet être délégués par un médecin titulaire d’un permis d’exercice qui supervise leur travail.7 C’est cette responsabilité de délégation et de supervision des AM qui expose les médecins superviseurs au risque de responsabilité professionnelle si les AM prodiguent des soins médicaux négligents.

D’un point de vue juridique, les tribunaux s’attendent à ce que les médecins superviseurs délèguent aux AM et les supervisent de manière adéquate. En cas de litige, les médecins superviseurs seront évalués afin de déterminer s’ils ont satisfait à la norme de pratique lors de la délégation et de la supervision des tâches. En général, les tribunaux prendraient en compte le degré de soin et de compétence qu’un médecin superviseur aurait raisonnablement appliqué dans des circonstances semblables. La délégation de tâches inappropriées, à savoir des tâches qui vont au-delà du niveau de formation et d’expérience d’un AM, ou le défaut de superviser adéquatement un AM pourrait valoir des critiques au médecin.

Si le médecin est, de surcroît, l’employeur de l’AM, il doit faire preuve de vigilance quant au risque de responsabilité du fait d’autrui. Le principe de responsabilité du fait d’autrui stipule en effet que le médecin, en sa qualité d’employeur, peut être tenu pour responsable de la négligence de ses employés si ces derniers agissent dans le cadre de leur emploi. Les employés qui sont dans cette situation doivent aussi être munis de leur propre protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle.

Gérer les risques

Aucun de ces risques ne devrait, toutefois, empêcher les médecins de travailler en collaboration avec les AM. La délégation de certains actes médicaux aux AM permet aux médecins de s’occuper d’autres tâches et d’élargir leurs services aux patients. La collaboration est plus efficace lorsque les médecins superviseurs prennent les mesures nécessaires pour gérer les risques liés à la délégation de tâches et à la supervision d’un autre professionnel de la santé.

Lorsque les médecins superviseurs envisagent de déléguer des actes médicaux et mesurent le degré de supervision nécessaire, ils doivent d’abord évaluer les compétences, les qualifications et l’expérience de l’AM par rapport au milieu de pratique ciblé (p. ex., urgences, anesthésiologie, médecine familiale, etc.).Il est important de reconnaître que les AM ne peuvent se voir confier des tâches qui ne relèvent pas du champ d’exercice du médecin qui les supervise.8 L’évaluation des aptitudes de l’AM peut s’avérer difficile pour les médecins superviseurs, surtout lorsqu’il n’y a aucun organisme de règlementation à consulter. En fin de compte, il incombe au médecin de faire preuve de bon jugement clinique et de déterminer si l’AM est compétent, sur le plan clinique, pour accomplir une tâche donnée.

Les médecins devraient aussi, si nécessaire, s’informer auprès de leur Collège et de leur hôpital ou autorité en matière de santé pour vérifier si ces organismes ont des politiques et des lignes directrices concernant les critères d’attribution de tâches aux AM.9 C’est particulièrement important dans les provinces où la profession d’AM est réglementée.

Une fois qu’ils auront déterminé les actes médicaux pouvant être délégués, les médecins superviseurs devront s’assurer que les AM exécutent ces actes de manière adéquate et sécuritaire. Le médecin a pour responsabilités, entre autres, d’orienter son adjoint, de bien revoir son travail et ses dossiers, et de s’assurer que l’AM n’exécute que les actes délégués. Le médecin superviseur doit également se rendre disponible pour donner des directives à l’AM. Les exigences spécifiques en matière de disponibilité du médecin superviseur varient d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre. Les médecins devraient consulter leur Collège pour en savoir plus sur les exigences dans leur région.

Bien que n’étant pas des professionnels autonomes, les AM travaillent avec un certain « ...degré d’autonomie »10 , suivant la tâche clinique qui leur est assignée et les compétences qu’ils ont. Le médecin superviseur et l’AM doivent déterminer ce degré d’autonomie d’un commun accord.11,12 Beaucoup d’AM peuvent travailler en vertu de directives médicales ou d’ordres permanents du médecin superviseur. Toutefois, les médecins doivent garder à l’esprit que les directives médicales ne réduisent pas l’exposition au risque de responsabilité professionnelle ou d’actions disciplinaires s’il y a une faute quelconque de la part de l’AM dans l’exercice de l’ordre qui lui a été donné.

Protection de l’ACPM

L’ACPM soutient la pratique collaborative, y compris entre les médecins et les adjoints au médecin. Elle reconnaît, cependant, que pour rendre cette collaboration efficace, il faut que tous les professionnels de la santé qui font partie d’une équipe soignante disposent d’une protection adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle.

L’ACPM offre généralement son assistance aux médecins membres qui ont des problèmes médico-légaux découlant de leurs activités professionnelles médicales, y compris de la supervision d’autres professionnels de la santé tels que les AM. Toutefois, l’assistance de l’Association n’est pas offerte aux professionnels de la santé non-médecins. Cela inclut les adjoints au médecin, qui peuvent consulter des patients avec quelque degré d’autonomie.

Lorsque les AM sont employés d’un hôpital, d’une région ou d’une institution, les médecins doivent leur demander si leur employeur leur offre une protection en matière de responsabilité médicale. Les AM qui sont employés par des médecins ou des cabinets privés doivent en général se procurer leur propre protection en matière de responsabilité auprès d’une compagnie d’assurance commerciale. Cette protection, qui peut être obtenue auprès de l'Association canadienne des adjoints au médecin, devrait non seulement tenir compte de tous les aspects de leur emploi, mais aussi être adéquate et adaptée au travail qu’ils effectuent.

Le mot de la fin

Les médecins qui travaillent avec ou emploient des AM sont susceptibles d’être exposés au risque de responsabilité professionnelle découlant des actions de leurs adjoints. Cependant, les risques ne devraient pas constituer une barrière à la collaboration si les médecins et les adjoints au médecin prennent les mesures nécessaires pour les réduire, y compris en ayant recours à des protocoles de communication adéquats.

Nous encourageons les médecins qui veulent des renseignements précis sur les aspects médico-légaux de la collaboration avec les adjoints du médecin à communiquer avec l’ACPM.

 
 
  1. L’Association canadienne des adjoints au médecin, Faits et chiffres. Consulté le 4 août 2015. https://capa-acam.ca/fr/about-pas/pa-fact-sheet/
  2. Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, Adjoints au médecin. Énoncé de position, avril 2011. Consulté le 4 août 2015. http://www.cfpc.ca/ProjectAssets/Templates/Resource.aspx?id=3309&langType=3084
  3. L’Association médicale canadienne et l’Association canadienne des adjoints au médecin, Les adjoints au médecin – Guide pratique pour les médecins du Canada, Nouvelle Édition décembre 2012, Ottawa Ontario, page 6. Consulté le 4 août 2015. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/advocacy/PA-Toolkit-f.pdf#search=adjoints%20au%20médecins
  4. Ibid, p. 22
  5. Conseil consultatif de réglementation des professions de la santé, Adjoint, profession de la santé : Examen de la demande des adjoints au médecin relative au Règlement, 31 août 2012.
  6. Le Règlement du Manitoba décrit les « assistants cliniques » et les « adjoints au médecin » admissibles à l’obtention d’un permis d’exercice comme des membres associés. Des exigences existent pour ces deux types d’adjoints.
  7. L’Association médicale canadienne et l’Association canadienne des adjoints au médecin, Les adjoints au médecin – Guide pratique pour les médecins du Canada, Nouvelle Édition décembre 2012, Ottawa Ontario, page 6. Consulté le 4 août 2015. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/advocacy/PA-Toolkit-f.pdf#search=adjoints%20au%20médecins
  8. Ibid, p. 10
  9. Ibid, p. 13
  10. Ibid, p. 6
  11. Ibid, p. 6
  12. Au Manitoba, l’aval du Collège est aussi requis quant au niveau de supervision conformément aux exigences prévues dans le Règlement.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.