Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Direct-to-consumer genetic test results: Be prepared

Originally published June 2017
17-16-E

Direct-to-consumer genetic testing is now available in Canada and some healthcare providers have expressed concerns about the tests. Some have questions about the value of the tests for their patients and the need to assist patients in interpreting the results.1-4

While this new direction in genetic testing can be challenging for physicians, the best approach to caring for patients who have engaged in direct-to-consumer (DTC) genetic testing is to continue practising sound medicine. In these circumstances that means being respectful of patients’ rights to make autonomous decisions about their health, taking the time to consider the DTC genetic test results, providing care within the limits their knowledge, seeking a consult with a specialist in genetics when appropriate, and documenting discussions with patients about DTC test results and any recommended treatment.

Physician- vs. consumer-driven tests

Most physicians are familiar with ordering genetic tests for their patients to identify "a predisposition to illness, the prognosis of disease, and potential responses to certain medications."5 These tests are usually conducted through the public healthcare system and have had some quality assurance analysis before being put into place.6

In contrast, the genetic tests offered by commercial companies are marketed directly to individuals without needing to consult with a healthcare professional. Consumers can go to a website, order a personal testing kit, return the kit to the company with a saliva or blood sample or both, and then obtain personalized results.

The DTC companies’ test results may include reports for numerous health conditions and genetic traits, information about inherited risk factors, and responses to certain medications. In some cases, "customer’s results may include individualized risk assessments for single-gene disorders, like cystic fibrosis, as well as complex multifactorial diseases like cardiovascular disease. Risk is assessed by comparing an individual’s genetic make-up against population data."5

Some companies may include genetic counselling for patients with the initial purchase or offer it as an extra at an additional cost. Most of the companies suggest consumers discuss their test results with their physician.1

Physicians’ concerns

DTC genetic testing raises a number of considerations for patients, physicians, and the healthcare system.

The DTC genetic test results can be difficult for patients to interpret, and the commercial companies suggest patients share their results with their primary care physician. Accordingly, patients who want to understand the results of their genetic test will likely turn to their family physicians for assistance.

Interpreting the DTC test results can be challenging for any physician. Family physicians will, therefore, want to consider whether it is necessary to refer patients to genetic specialists.2 Patients may also be dissatisfied with their physician’s care if they decline to integrate the test results into the patient’s overall care.3

Physicians may face challenges in managing patients’ expectations in circumstances where the results show a patient’s predisposition to a condition for which there is little or nothing that can be done to prevent or treat the illness.1

The impact of DTC genetic testing on the already under-resourced healthcare system is also an important consideration. Scarce physician time and additional investigations may be required to follow-up on the genetic test results generated by commercial companies.

The validity of the DTC genetic test results has also raised concerns among healthcare providers. It is uncertain whether the labs that are conducting the genetic testing for these commercial companies are accredited.4 There have been reports that identical DNA samples sent to different DTC testing companies have come back with different results.4

How to respond to patients with DTC test results

Physicians’ best approach for appropriately dealing with DTC genetic testing issues is to continue practising sound medicine and follow any applicable standards of care established by the profession.

To begin, "physicians should respect patients’ autonomy, health goals, and treatment decisions. Patients have the right to make decisions about their health in accordance with their values and preferences," including the right to pursue services such as DTC genetic testing.7

If patients ask for an interpretation of their DTC genetic testing results, physicians should always answer professionally and within the limits of their knowledge, skill, and judgment. Physicians should not arbitrarily dismiss patients’ DTC genetic test results as there could be a possibility these results may trigger further investigations. Dismissing the results without clinical justification may lead to patient harm and expose physicians to medical-legal risks. For instance, if test results do suggest a possible risk that warrants further investigation, and the patient’s physician does not investigate, the physician may face a College investigation or legal action. In these situations, the physician would likely be asked to justify how the suggested risk was managed.8

Some physicians may not feel confident in their ability to interpret and counsel patients on their DTC genetic test results. In these cases, physicians should generally consult with or make a referral to a specialist in genetics. In fact, physicians have an obligation to refer or consult when the required counselling is beyond their competence or experience.9

Finally, physicians should document in the health record any discussions about DTC genetic test results and the rationale behind any follow-up investigations and treatment decisions related to those results.

The bottom line

Physicians who are asked by patients to provide counselling or treatment based on DTC genetic test results should respond by continuing to practise sound medicine and by meeting the profession’s standards of care. Practising sound medicine means physicians should:

  • respect their patients’ right to make autonomous decisions in looking after their health
  • don’t ignore the DTC test results—take the time to consider their potential implications
  • provide care that is within the limits of their knowledge
  • ask for a consult with or make a referral to a specialist in genetics if appropriate
  • document discussions with patients about DTC test results and any recommended treatment

References

  1. Born K, Sullivan T. Direct-to-consumer genetic testing comes to Canada [Internet]. Healthy debate (Toronto). 2011 Mar 23 [cited 2016 Aug 10], 3 screens. Available from: http://healthydebate.ca/2011/03/topic/cost-of-care/the-ethics-cost-of-direct-to-consumer-genomewide-profiling
  2. Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA), Human Genetics Society of Australasia (HGSA). Pathology, The facts. What should I know about direct-to-consumer genetic testing? [Internet]. Surry Hills (NSW): Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA), Human Genetics Society of Australasia (HGSA); [cited 2016 Aug 10] 3 p. Available from: https://www.rcpa.edu.au/getattachment/c7768ade-842d-4c9d-852a-6e38656964f8/FctSht-9-DrctConsumerGenTesting.aspx
  3. Consumer perceptions may influence satisfaction with physician discussion of DTC genetic testing results. Genomeweb (New York). 2016 Mar 1: [Internet]. Available from: https://www.genomeweb.com/molecular-diagnostics/consumer-perceptions-may-influence-satisfaction-physician-discussion-dtc
  4. Allen L, Hamidi M, Argintaru N. Direct-to-consumer genetic testing in Canada [Interent]. UWOMJ – University of Western Ontario Medical Journal [Internet]. 2011 spring [cited 2016 Aug 10];80(1); 15-16. Available from: http://scholar.uwindsor.ca/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1004&context=schulichwp-students
  5. Doctors of BC. Policy Statement: Direct-to-consumer genetic testing (DTC GT) for health purposes [Internet]. Vancouver (BC): 2015 Sept. [cited Aug 10] 3 p. Available from: https://www.doctorsofbc.ca/sites/default/files/dtc_gt-policy_statement-final.pdf
  6. Caulfield T, Ries NM, Ray PN, Shuman C, Wilson B. Direct-to-consumer genetic testing: good, bad or benign? Clin Genet [Internet]. 2010 Feb [cited 2016 Aug 10];77(2):101-5. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19968666 doi: 10.1111/j.1399-0004.2009.01291.x.
  7. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Alternative medicine — what are the medico-legal concerns? [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): 2012 Mar [cited 2016 Aug 10]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/alternative-medicine-what-are-the-medico-legal-concerns-
  8. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Managing information to deliver safer care [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): 2013 Dec [cited 2016 Aug 10]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/managing-information-to-deliver-safer-care
  9. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Common medico-legal questions asked by members. [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): 2013 Aug [cited 2016 Aug 10]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/common-medico-legal-questions-asked-by-members

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Les résultats de tests génétiques offerts directement aux consommateurs : Comment mieux y donner suite?

Publié initialement en juin 2017
17-16-F

Il y a au Canada tout un éventail de tests génétiques maintenant offerts directement aux consommateurs (DAC). Certains professionnels de la santé ont exprimé des préoccupations au sujet de ces tests, alors que d’autres se questionnent sur la valeur de ceux-ci pour leurs patients et sur la nécessité d’aider ces derniers à interpréter leurs résultats.1-4

Ces nouveaux procédés de tests génétiques peuvent poser des défis aux médecins; la meilleure approche, pour traiter les patients qui ont eu recours à ces services, est de continuer à exercer dans les règles de l’art. Cela signifie que le médecin doit respecter les droits du patient à prendre des décisions autonomes sur sa santé, prendre le temps d’examiner les résultats des tests génétiques offerts DAC, prodiguer des soins dans les limites de ses connaissances, obtenir une consultation auprès d’un spécialiste en génétique lorsque la situation l’impose, et documenter les discussions avec le patient quant aux résultats et aux traitements recommandés.

Recommandés par le médecin ou demandés par le consommateur?

La plupart des médecins connaissent bien les tests qu’ils peuvent prescrire à leurs patients pour déterminer si ces derniers ont une prédisposition génétique, établir le pronostic d’une maladie ou chercher à cerner les réactions possibles à certains médicaments.5 Ces tests sont normalement effectués dans le cadre du système de santé publique et font l’objet d’un certain contrôle de qualité avant d’être accessibles.6

En revanche, les tests génétiques offerts par des entreprises sont vendus directement aux patients sans qu’il soit nécessaire pour ces derniers de consulter préalablement un professionnel de la santé. Les consommateurs peuvent donc aller dans un site web pour y commander une trousse d’analyse personnelle, retourner cette trousse à l’entreprise en y incluant un prélèvement de salive ou de sang, parfois les deux, puis obtenir des résultats personnalisés.

Les résultats de ces tests peuvent inclure des rapports portant sur de nombreux problèmes de santé et caractères héréditaires, ainsi que des renseignements sur les facteurs de risque correspondant et les réactions à certains médicaments. Parfois, « les résultats peuvent inclure des évaluations de risque individualisées en ce qui a trait à certaines affections monogéniques, telle la fibrose kystique, et à des pathologies multifactorielles comme les maladies cardiovasculaires. Le risque est ensuite déterminé en comparant le profil génétique d’une personne aux données démographiques. »5

Certaines entreprises peuvent inclure un service de counselling génétique avec l’achat initial, ou l’offrir moyennant un supplément. La plupart suggèrent toutefois que le consommateur revoie les résultats des tests avec son médecin.1

Inquiétudes des médecins

Les tests génétiques DAC soulèvent un certain nombre de questions pour les patients, les médecins et le système de santé qui méritent d’être examinées.

Les résultats de ces tests peuvent en effet être difficiles à interpréter pour les patients, et les entreprises qui les offrent suggèrent que les consommateurs fassent part de leurs résultats à leur médecin de soins primaires. Il est donc probable que les patients se tournent vers leur médecin de famille pour comprendre les résultats de leurs tests génétiques.

L’interprétation de ces résultats peut poser des défis aux médecins. Les médecins de famille voudront donc, par conséquent, déterminer s’il est nécessaire de diriger le patient vers un spécialiste en génétique.2 Le patient peut également être insatisfait des soins de son médecin si celui-ci refuse d’intégrer les résultats de ces tests dans son plan de soins.3

Les médecins peuvent aussi trouver difficile de répondre aux attentes des patients lorsque les résultats indiquent une prédisposition à une affection pour laquelle il n’y a que peu, voire rien, qui puisse être fait pour prévenir ou traiter la maladie.1

Les répercussions que les tests génétiques offerts DAC peuvent avoir sur un système de santé déjà en manque de ressources représentent également une autre considération importante. Il se peut en effet que des tests supplémentaires soient requis et que le peu de temps dont disposent les médecins soit mis à contribution pour assurer le suivi de résultats produits par des entreprises commerciales.

Par ailleurs, la validité des résultats de tests génétiques offerts DAC a également été mise en doute, soulevant des inquiétudes chez les professionnels de la santé. Il n’est pas clair si les laboratoires effectuant les analyses de ces tests pour le compte d’entreprises commerciales sont agréés.4 Des rapports ont soulevé le fait que des prélèvements d’ADN identiques envoyés à diverses entreprises offrant de tels tests DAC ont donné lieu à des résultats différents.4

Comment répondre aux questions des patients

Pour les médecins, la meilleure approche pour aborder de façon appropriée les questions relatives aux tests génétiques offerts DAC est de continuer à exercer la médecine selon les règles de l’art, en respectant les normes de pratique applicables établies par la profession.

Avant tout, « les médecins doivent respecter l’autonomie, les objectifs de santé et les décisions de leurs patients en matière de traitement. Les patients ont le droit de prendre des décisions liées à leur santé en fonction de leurs valeurs et de leurs préférences », y compris le droit d’obtenir des services tels que les tests génétiques offerts DAC.7

Lorsqu’un patient demande à son médecin d’interpréter les résultats d’un test génétique offert DAC, le médecin devrait toujours lui répondre de manière professionnelle, dans la mesure de ses connaissances, de ses compétences et de son jugement. Il ne devrait pas écarter arbitrairement ces résultats, car ils pourraient signaler la nécessité de procéder à des examens plus poussés. Le fait de les rejeter sans justification clinique pourrait porter préjudice au patient et exposer le médecin à des risques médico-légaux. Par exemple, lorsque des résultats évoquent un risque qui pourrait mériter d’être examiné en plus de détail, le médecin pourrait faire l’objet d’une enquête de la part du Collège, voire d’une action en justice, s’il ne cherche pas à en savoir davantage. Dans une telle situation, le médecin serait sûrement appelé à justifier la façon dont il a géré le risque évoqué.8

Certains médecins peuvent ne pas avoir confiance en leur capacité d’interpréter les résultats de tests génétiques offerts DAC ou de conseiller les patients à ce sujet. Dans de tels cas, ils devraient consulter un spécialiste en génétique, ou diriger le patient vers un tel spécialiste. Les médecins ont en fait le devoir de diriger le patient vers un autre médecin ou de consulter un collègue lorsqu’une demande dépasse leur compétence ou leur expérience.9

En conclusion, les médecins devraient documenter au dossier de santé toute discussion entourant les résultats obtenus à des tests génétiques offerts DAC, ainsi que le raisonnement étayant les examens de suivi et les décisions concernant le traitement découlant de tels tests.

En bref

Les médecins ayant des patients qui, après avoir reçu des résultats de tests génétiques offerts DAC, leur demandent des services de counselling ou des traitements devraient continuer à exercer la médecine dans les règles de l’art, en respectant les normes de pratique de la profession. Ceci signifie que les médecins devraient :

  • respecter le droit des patients à prendre des décisions autonomes en ce qui a trait à leur santé;
  • tenir compte des résultats de tests offerts DAC et prendre le temps de considérer leurs conséquences possibles;
  • prodiguer des soins qui sont dans les limites de leurs connaissances;
  • consulter un collègue ou diriger le patient vers un spécialiste en génétique, le cas échéant;
  • documenter les discussions tenues avec les patients sur les résultats de tests offerts DAC ainsi que tout traitement recommandé.

Références

  1. Born K, Sullivan T. Direct-to-consumer genetic testing comes to Canada [En ligne]. Healthy debate (Toronto). Le 23 mars 2011 [cité le 10 août 2016], 3 écrans. http://healthydebate.ca/2011/03/topic/cost-of-care/the-ethics-cost-of-direct-to-consumer-genomewide-profiling
  2. Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA), Human Genetics Society of Australasia (HGSA). Pathology, The facts. What should I know about direct-to-consumer genetic testing? [En ligne]. Surry Hills (NSW): Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA), Human Genetics Society of Australasia (HGSA); [cité le 10 août 2016] 3 p. https://www.rcpa.edu.au/getattachment/c7768ade-842d-4c9d-852a-6e38656964f8/FctSht-9-DrctConsumerGenTesting.aspx
  3. Consumer perceptions may influence satisfaction with physician discussion of DTC genetic testing results [En ligne]. Genomeweb (New York). Le 1er mars 2016. https://www.genomeweb.com/molecular-diagnostics/consumer-perceptions-may-influence-satisfaction-physician-discussion-dtc
  4. Allen L, Hamidi M, Argintaru N. Direct-to-consumer genetic testing in Canada [En ligne]. UWOMJ – University of Western Ontario Medical Journal. Printemps 2011 [cité le 10 août 2016];80(1); 15-16. http://scholar.uwindsor.ca/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1004&context=schulichwp-students
  5. Doctors of BC. Policy Statement: Direct-to-consumer genetic testing (DTC GT) for health purposes [En ligne]. Vancouver (C.-B.): Septembre 2015 [cité le 10 août 2016] 3 p. https://www.doctorsofbc.ca/sites/default/files/dtc_gt-policy_statement-final.pdf
  6. Caulfield T, Ries NM, Ray PN, Shuman C, Wilson B. Direct-to-consumer genetic testing: good, bad or benign? [En ligne]. Clin Genet. Février 2010 [cité le 10 août 2016];77(2):101-5. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19968666 doi: 10.1111/j.1399-0004.2009.01291.x.
  7. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Les médecines complémentaires et parallèles – Quels sont les enjeux médico-légaux? [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): mars 2012 [cité le 10 août 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/alternative-medicine-what-are-the-medico-legal-concerns-
  8. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Gérer l’information pour prodiguer des soins plus sécuritaires [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): décembre 2013 [cité le 10 août 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/managing-information-to-deliver-safer-care
  9. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Questions médico-légales couramment posées par les membres. [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): août 2013 [cité le 10 août 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/common-medico-legal-questions-asked-by-members

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.