Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

How the patient’s voice advances safe care

Originally published December 2017
17-25-E

Several years ago, a 15-year-old male patient with a cardiac rhythm disorder underwent an ablation procedure. During the procedure, the patient unexpectedly became acutely unstable. His physician intervened immediately to identify and correct the problem.

While the patient made a full recovery, the patient’s mother wanted to find out what had happened and why. She did research and asked questions. Changes did take place, including a decision by her son’s physician to change how he performs ablations.1

As in the case of the young man and his mother, patients’ stories and experiences can be a powerful force leading to safer care and better patient outcomes.2,3,4 Their voices and involvement can contribute to planning and delivery, motivating learners in patient safety education, and improving quality and safety.

Patient engagement at multiple levels

Healthcare systems recognize that patient involvement can play a key role in planning and delivery at many levels.1,5

At the system level, patient engagement is being sought for activities such as the development of policies and practices. For example, the Federal Advisory Panel on Healthcare Innovation recommended in 2015 that patient engagement and empowerment be one of the five key areas to inspire innovation in healthcare.1

Organizations are also soliciting patient engagement for a number of purposes. Patients, families, and the community, for instance, have been actively involved in the development and design of a new children’s hospital in Saskatchewan.6

Engaging patients in their direct care

At the direct patient care level, research has linked patients’ increased engagement in their own care with better health outcomes.3 There are many ways to involve patients in their own care, but deciding which are most appropriate will depend on the patients’ needs, interests, and values.

Healthcare providers should consider each individual case and determine whether it is appropriate to do one or more of the following:

  • Ask patients relevant questions including about their health goals, and listen to their answers.
  • Invite patients to ask questions.
  • Communicate using plain language.
  • Offer available information, education, and decision aids to help patients make informed decisions.
  • Make it easy for patients to provide feedback. Offer them appropriate ways of communicating, such as online patient portals. These can give patients easier access to health information, facilitate interaction and communication with healthcare providers, and enhance adherence to healthcare advice and medication regimens. The benefits and risks of portals are examined in greater detail in the CMPA article, "Patient portals: A new communication tool for doctors and patients."7.

Motivating learners in patient safety education

Engaging patients in safety training for physicians gives learners the opportunity to view patient safety through a "patient lens," a significant move from traditional teaching in this area.8,9

Patient stories can be used to teach a variety of topics, including the imperative to improve clinical care, patient safety science principles (e.g. human factors, decision-making, cognitive biases, situational awareness), and communication, and to increase patient involvement in treatment decisions. These first-hand accounts bring a different perspective from that of the health professional and can be impactful. Patient involvement in curriculum development and medical conference planning can also be beneficial.10

Resources on engaging patients

Healthcare professionals looking for more guidance on engaging patients can turn to a number of resources. The Canadian Patient Institute’s patient-led program, Patients for Patient Safety Canada, brings patients’ healthcare experiences to patient safety at all levels in the health system.11,12,13 The institute also has produced a guide to engaging patients in quality and safety, Engaging Patients in Patient Safety – Canadian Guide.14 In the United States, the Institute for Healthcare Improvement is another source for information and tools on patient engagement.15

Patient involvement in quality and safety improvement

Engaging patients can advance process and system improvements. Patients and families, for example, can be involved as advisors on system improvement efforts.

By involving patients, "healthcare professionals no longer need to make assumptions about what patients value or how patients and families can contribute to safer care—they have a representative on the team to ask."16 Patient involvement also helps align quality improvement goals and activities with what is important to patients and families.

The following table provides examples of how patients and family members can be involved in quality and safety initiatives.16

Quality and safety initiativesPatient and family advisor role
Patient safety incident analysis (also known as root cause analysis)
  • Share personal story
  • Identify pieces of process that are missing from patient’s perspective
Process improvement teams
  • Serve on teams to reduce patient harm, such as avoidable readmissions, falls, and infections
Discharge planning process improvement
  • Contribute to content and design of new patient education materials
  • Proactively participate in bedside rounds (discussion)
  • Assist in piloting new patient education materials

The CMPA’s booklet Disclosing harm from healthcare delivery: Open and honest communication with patients17 notes that the patient’s and family’s perspectives on what happened are important to the success of a quality improvement (QI) or incident review. Their views on system-level improvements could benefit other patients.

Patients and families could provide their comments to the QI committee conducting the review. They could write to the committee or meet with committee members. As QI reviews are confidential in nature, patients and families are generally unable to participate in any other aspect of the QI committee’s investigation. To ensure these reviews are successful and effective, physicians and other health professionals must have satisfactory assurances that the investigation of the information will not be used or disclosed outside of the QI process in subsequent legal proceedings. The statutes governing QI information apply only if the review is conducted by a properly constituted QI committee.

The patient voice—a vital resource

The CMPA encourages physicians, other healthcare providers, and health system leaders to actively engage patients in healthcare, when appropriate. Whether in various levels of care planning and delivery, medical education, or direct patient care, the patient perspective is a vital and invaluable resource.




References

  1. Canadian Patient Safety Institute [Internet]. Patient stories: ‘If something doesn’t feel right, you have to ask the question.’ Edmonton (AB): Canadian Patient Safety Institute; 2014 [cited 2017 Aug 10]. Available from: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/ Member-Videos-and-Stories/Pages/default.aspx
  2. Health Affairs [Internet}. James J. Health Policy Brief: Patient Engagement. Bethesda (MD): Project HOPE —The People-to-People health Foundation, Inc.; February 14, 2013 [cited 2017 Aug. 10]. Available from: http://healthaffairs.org/healthpolicybriefs/brief_pdfs/healthpolicybrief_86.pdf
  3. Hibbard JH, Greene J. What the evidence shows about patient activation: better health outcomes and care experiences; few data on costs. Health Aff [Internet]. 2013 Feb [cited 2017 Aug 10]; 32(2):207-214. Available from: http://content.healthaffairs.org/content/32/2/207.long doi: 10.1377/hlthaff.2012.1061
  4. Fooks C, Obarski G, Hale L, Hylmar S. The patient experience in Ontario 2020: What is possible? HealthcarePapers [Internet]. 2015 Jan [cited 2017 Aug 10]; 14(4):8-18. Available from: http://www.longwoods.com/content/24339 doi: 10. 12927/hcpap.2015.24339
  5. Health Innovation Forum [Internet]. Baker GR. Patient engagement to improve quality and system performance. In: Health Innovation Report, Raising the bar on health system performance. Montreal: Health Innovation Forum; 2015 [cited 2017 Aug. 10]. 52 p. Available from: https://www.healthinnovationforum.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Patients-as-partners_2015.pdf
  6. Baker GR, Fancott C, Judd M, O’Connor P. Expanding patient engagement in quality improvement and health system redesign: Three Canadian case studies. Healthcare Management Forum [Internet]. 2016 [cited 2017 Aug 10]; 29(5):176-182. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27576853 doi: 10.1177/0840470416645601
  7. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Patient portals: A new communication tool for doctors and patients. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; 2017 Mar [cited 2017 Nov 16]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2017/patient-portals-anew-communication-tool-for-doctors-and-patients
  8. Peat M, Entwistle VA, Hall J, Birks YF, Golder S, on behalf of the PipsGroup. A scoping reviewand approach to appraisal of interventions intended to involve patients in patient safety. J Health Serv Res Policy [Internet]. 2010 Jan 1 [cited 2017 Aug 10]; 15(Suppl 1):17–25. Available from: http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1258/jhsrp.2009.009040?url_ver=Z39.88-2003&rfr_id=ori%3Arid%3Acrossref.org&rfr_dat=cr_pub%3Dpubmed&
  9. World Health Organization. Patient Safety Curriculum Guide: Multi-professional edition [Internet]. Geneva, Switzerland: WHO Press; 2011 [cited 2017 July 7]. 271 p. Available from: http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/44641/1/9789241501958_eng.pdf
  10. Nixon D, Wallace G. Patient engagement in teaching patient safety and QI. Slides presented at ASPIRE, Advancing Safety for Patients in Residency Education workshop hosted by Canadian Patient Safety Institute, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Choosing Wisely Canada. 2016 May 10 – 13; Ottawa, ON.
  11. Canadian Patient Safety Institute [Internet]. Tips for partnering with patients/families on committees. Edmonton (AB): Patient Safety Institute; 2014 Nov 20[cited 2017 Aug 10]. Available from: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/Pages/Tips-forpartnering-with-patients-families-on-committees.aspx
  12. Canadian Patient Safety Institute [Internet]. Tips on ways to share your story. Edmonton (AB): Patient Safety Institute; 2014 Nov 20 [cited 2017 Aug 10]. Available from: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/pages/tips-on-ways-to-share-your-story.aspx
  13. Canadian Patient Safety Institute [Internet]. Tips for patient engagement in patient safety and quality committees. Edmonton (AB): Patient Safety Institute; 2014 Nov 20 [cited 2017 Aug 10]. Available from: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/Pages/PFPSC-Patientengagement-in-safety-committees.aspx
  14. Canadian Patient Safety Institute, Atlantic Health Quality and Patient Safety Collaborative, Health Quality Ontario, Patients for Patient Safety Canada. Engaging Patients in Patient Safety: A Canadian Guide [Internet]. Edmonton, AB: CPSI;2017 May [cited 2017 July 7]. 67 p. Available from: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/en/toolsResources/Patient-Engagement-in-Patient-Safety-Guide/Documents/Engaging%20Patients%20in%20Patient%20Safety.pdf
  15. Tools to support patient engagement [Internet]. Cambridge (MA): Institute for Healthcare Improvement; 2015 Mar 5 [cited 2017 Sept 20]. Available from: http://www.ihi.org/communities/blogs/_layouts/15/ihi/community/blog/ItemViewaspx?List=0f316db6%2D7f8a%2D430f%2Da63a%2Ded7602d1366a&ID=46&Web=1e880535%2Dd855%2D4727%2Da8c1%2D27ee672f115d
  16. Health Research & Educational Trust. Partnering to improve quality and safety: A framework for working with patient and family advisors [Internet]. Chicago (IL): Health Research & Educational Trust; 2015 [cited 2017 July 7]. Available from: http://www.hpoe.org/Reports-HPOE/2015/2015_patient_fam_engagement_FINAL.pdf
  17. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Disclosing harm from healthcare delivery: Open and honest communication with patients. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; 2015 [cited 2017 July 7]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/disclosing-harm-from-healthcare-delivery-open-and-honest-communication-with-patients

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La voix du patient : peut-elle mener à des soins plus sécuritaires?

Publié initialement en décembre 2017
17-25-F

Il y a plusieurs années, un jeune de 15 ans a dû subir une ablation par cathéter pour corriger un trouble du rythme cardiaque. Lors de l’intervention, son état s’est gravement détérioré, mais le médecin est immédiatement intervenu pour cerner et rectifier le problème.

Heureusement, le patient s’est complètement rétabli. Sa mère a toutefois voulu savoir non seulement ce qui s’était passé, mais aussi comment un tel incident avait pu se produire. Elle a donc effectué des recherches et posé des questions. À la lumière des réponses obtenues, il a été possible de changer les processus, et le chirurgien ayant pratiqué l’intervention a adopté une nouvelle approche aux ablations.1

Tout comme dans le cas de ce jeune homme et de sa mère, les témoignages et le vécu des patients peuvent jouer un rôle décisif et mener à des soins plus sécuritaires ainsi qu’à de meilleurs résultats pour les patients.2,3,4 La voix et la participation des patients sont en effet susceptibles d’améliorer la planification et la prestation des soins, de motiver l’apprentissage en sécurité des patients, et d’améliorer la qualité et la sécurité des soins.

Engager les patients à de multiples échelons

Les régimes de santé reconnaissent que les patients peuvent jouer un rôle important dans la planification et la prestation des soins, et ce, à de nombreux échelons.1,5

À l’échelon du système, cette collaboration est recherchée dans des activités telles que l’élaboration de politiques et de pratiques. En 2015, le Groupe consultatif sur l’innovation des soins de santé du gouvernement fédéral a, par exemple, recommandé que la mobilisation et l’habilitation du patient constituent l’un de cinq thèmes prioritaires inspirant l’innovation en soins de santé.1

Des organismes cherchent également à mobiliser les patients à de nombreuses autres fins. À titre d’exemple, des patients, les membres de leur famille ainsi que la collectivité ont contribué à la conception d’un nouveau centre hospitalier pour enfants en Saskatchewan.6

Mobiliser les patients à adhérer aux autosoins

En ce qui a trait aux soins directs aux patients, des recherches ont établi un lien entre une adhésion accrue des patients aux autosoins et de meilleurs résultats de santé.3 Il existe de nombreuses façons d’encourager cette initiative, mais il faut tenir compte des besoins, des intérêts et des valeurs de chacun avant de déterminer lesquelles seraient les mieux adaptées.

Les professionnels de la santé devraient donc examiner chaque cas individuellement pour déterminer s’il est avisé d’intégrer l’une ou plusieurs des mesures suivantes :

  • poser aux patients des questions pertinentes sur leurs objectifs de santé, et écouter leurs réponses;
  • inviter les patients à poser des questions;
  • communiquer à l’aide de termes simples;
  • offrir de l’information, de l’éducation et des aides à la décision pour aider les patients à prendre des décisions éclairées;
  • faciliter le processus de rétroaction pour les patients; leur offrir des moyens de communication appropriés, comme des portails-patients. Ceux-ci peuvent leur permettre d’avoir plus facilement accès à leurs renseignements sur la santé, faciliter l’interaction et la communication avec les professionnels de la santé, ainsi qu’encourager l’adhésion aux conseils de santé et aux plans de soins pharmaceutiques. Les avantages et les risques de tels portails sont examinés en détail dans l’article de l’ACPM, « Portails-patients : nouvel outil de communication pour les médecins et les patients ».7

Motiver l’apprentissage en sécurité des patients

La participation des patients à la formation des médecins en sécurité des soins permet aux apprenants d’aborder ce thème du point de vue des patients, une approche qui se démarque considérablement de l’enseignement traditionnel dans ce domaine.8,9

Les témoignages de patients peuvent servir d’aide à l’enseignement de divers sujets, dont la nécessité d’améliorer les soins cliniques, les principes scientifiques de la sécurité des patients (p. ex. facteurs humains, prise de décisions, biais cognitifs, conscience situationnelle) et la communication, ainsi que dans les efforts visant à intégrer davantage les patients aux décisions concernant leur traitement. Ces témoignages de première main apportent une perspective différente de celle du professionnel de la santé et peuvent se révéler percutants. La participation des patients à l’élaboration des programmes de cours et à la planification de conférences médicales présente aussi de l’intérêt.10

Ressources sur l’engagement des patients

Les professionnels de la santé désireux d’obtenir plus d’information sur la façon de promouvoir les autosoins chez les patients ont diverses ressources à leur disposition. Le programme de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, Patients pour la sécurité des patients, met à contribution les expériences des patients pour améliorer la sécurité à tous les niveaux du système de santé.11,12,13 L’Institut a également publié Le Guide canadien de l’engagement des patients en matière de sécurité.14 Aux États-Unis, l’Institute for Healthcare Improvement constitue une autre source d’information et d’outils sur l’engagement des patients.15

Améliorer la qualité et la sécurité des soins

Des patients jouant un rôle actif peuvent aussi proposer des améliorations au système et au processus. Les patients et leur famille peuvent, entre autres, agir à titre de conseillers en ce qui a trait à l’amélioration du système.

En faisant appel aux patients, les professionnels de la santé n’ont plus à présumer de ce qui importe à ces derniers ou de la façon dont ceux-ci et leur famille peuvent contribuer à des soins plus sécuritaires, vu qu’ils ont toujours un représentant vers lequel se tourner dans l’équipe.16 Cette intervention permet aussi d’harmoniser les buts et les activités d’amélioration de la qualité avec ce qui importe le plus aux patients et aux familles.

Le tableau suivant illustre la façon dont les patients et les familles peuvent participer aux initiatives en matière de qualité et de sécurité des soins.16

Initiatives en matière de qualité et de sécurité des soinsRôle de conseiller du patient et de la famille
Analyse des incidents pour la sécurité des patients (aussi appelée analyse des causes souches)
  • Présenter des témoignages personnels
  • Déterminer ce qui manque dans le processus selon le patient
Équipes d’amélioration du processus
  • Faire partie d’équipes chargées de la réduction des préjudices pour les patients; p. ex. réhospitalisations, chutes et infections évitables
Amélioration de la planification des congés
  • Contribuer au contenu et à la conception de nouveaux documents d’éducation pour les patients
  • Prendre part aux discussions lors des visites au chevet des patients
  • Se joindre à l’essai de nouveaux documents d’éducation pour les patients

Le guide de l’ACPM Divulgation d'un préjudice résultant de la prestation des soins : Pour une communication ouverte et honnête avec les patients17 précise que les points de vue des patients et des familles sur ce qui s’est passé contribuent au succès de l’évaluation de l’amélioration de la qualité ou de l’analyse de l’incident. La perspective des patients et des familles sur les améliorations à apporter au système pourrait également profiter à d’autres patients.

Les patients et leurs familles ont la possibilité de transmettre leurs commentaires au comité d’amélioration de la qualité responsable de l’analyse, que ce soit par écrit ou en personne. Étant donné la nature confidentielle des évaluations d’amélioration de la qualité, les patients et les familles n’ont généralement pas le droit de prendre part aux autres aspects de l’analyse. Pour que ces évaluations soient menées à bien, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé doivent être assurés que l’analyse de l’information ne servira pas, hors du processus d’amélioration de la qualité, dans d’autres procédures. Les lois régissant l’information sur l’amélioration de la qualité ne s’appliquent que si une analyse est effectuée par un comité d’amélioration de la qualité dûment constitué.

La voix du patient – une ressource vitale

L’ACPM encourage les médecins, les autres professionnels de la santé ainsi que les chefs de file du système de santé à mobiliser les patients à participer aux soins de santé lorsque ceci est approprié. Qu’il s’agisse des divers paliers de planification et de prestation des soins, de la formation médicale ou des soins directs au patient, le point de vue des patients constitue une ressource vitale d’une valeur inestimable.




Références

  1. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients [En ligne]. Récits de patients: « Si quelque chose semble anormal, il ne faut pas hésiter à poser des questions. » Edmonton (AB): Institut pour la sécurité des patients; 2014 [cité le 10 août 2017]. Disponible : http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/fr/toolsresources/member-videos-and-stories/pages/default.aspx
  2. Health Affairs [En ligne}. James J. Health Policy Brief: Patient Engagement. Bethesda (MD): Project HOPE —The People-to-People health Foundation, Inc.; February 14, 2013 [cité le 10 août 2017]. Disponible : http://healthaffairs.org/healthpolicybriefs/brief_pdfs/healthpolicybrief_86.pdf
  3. Hibbard JH, Greene J. What the evidence shows about patient activation: better health outcomes and care experiences; fewer data on costs. Health Aff [En ligne]. 2013 Feb [cité le 10 août 2017]; 32(2):207-214. Disponible : http://content.healthaffairs.org/content/32/2/207.long doi: 10.1377/hlthaff.2012.1061
  4. Fooks C, Obarski G, Hale L, Hylmar S. The patient experience in Ontario 2020: What is possible? HealthcarePapers [En ligne]. 2015 Jan [cité le 10 août 2017]; 14(4):8-18. Disponible : http://www.longwoods.com/content/24339 doi: 10. 12927/hcpap.2015.24339
  5. Forum d’innovation en santé [En ligne]. Baker GR. La participation du patient dans l’amélioration de la qualité et du rendement du système. Dans : Santé en devenir, Relever la performance du système de santé. Montréal : Forum d’innovation en santé; 2015 [cité le 10 août 2017]. 52 p. Disponible : https://www.healthinnovationforum.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Le-patient-partenaire.pdf
  6. Baker GR, Fancott C, Judd M, O’Connor P. Expanding patient engagement in quality improvement and health system redesign: Three Canadian case studies. Forum Gestion des soins de santé [En ligne]. 2016 [cité le 10 août 2017]; 29(5):176-182. Disponible : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27576853 doi: 10.1177/0840470416645601
  7. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Portails-patients : Nouvel outil de communication pour les médecins et les patients. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; Mars 2017 [cité le 16 novembre 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2017/patient-portals-a-new-communication-tool-for-doctors-and-patients
  8. Peat M, Entwistle VA, Hall J, Birks YF, Golder S, on behalf of the PipsGroup. Scoping review and approach to appraisal of interventions intended to involve patients in patient safety. J Health Serv Res Policy [En ligne]. 2010 Jan 1 [cité le 10 août 2017]; 15(Suppl 1):17–25. Disponible : http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1258/jhsrp.2009.009040?url_ver=Z39.88-2003&rfr_id=ori%3Arid%3Acrossref.org&rfr_dat=cr_pub%3Dpubmed&
  9. Organisation mondiale de la Santé. Guide pédagogique de l’OMS pour la sécurité des patients : édition multiprofessionnelle [En ligne]. Genève, Suisse: Service de presse de l’OMS; 2011 [cité le 7 juillet 2017]. 270 p. Disponible : http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/250728/1/9782111395572-fre.pdf
  10. Nixon D, Wallace G. Patient engagement in teaching patient safety and QI. Diapositives présentées dans le cadre de l’atelier ASPIRE, Promouvoir la sécurité des patients dans la formation des résidents, organisé par l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, Choisir avec soin, du 10 au 13 mai 2016; Ottawa, ON
  11. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients [En ligne]. Conseils pour un partenariat avec les patients/familles au sein des comités. Edmonton (AB): Institut pour la sécurité des patients; 20 novembre 2014 [cité le 10 août 2017]. Disponible : http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/fr/toolsresources/pages/ tips-for-partnering-with-patients-families-on-committees.aspx
  12. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients [En ligne]. Quelques conseils sur la façon de partager votre histoire. Edmonton (AB): Institut pour la sécurité des patients; 20 novembre 2014 [cité le 10 août 2017]. Disponible : http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/fr/toolsresources/pages/tips-on-ways-to-share-your-story.aspx
  13. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients [En ligne]. Conseils sur la participation des patients dans les comités de sécurité des patients et de qualité des soins. Edmonton (AB): Institut pour la sécurité des patients; 20 novembre 2014 [cité le 10 août 2017]. Disponible : http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/fr/toolsresources/pages/pfpsc-patient-engagement-in-safety-committees.aspx
  14. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, Collaboration sur la qualité des soins et la sécurité des patients de l’Atlantique, Qualité des services de santé Ontario, Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada. Le Guide canadien de l’engagement des patients en matière de sécurité [En ligne]. Edmonton, AB: ICSP; mai 2017 [cité le 7 juillet 2017]. 77 p. Disponible : http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/fr/toolsresources/Patient-Engagement-in-Patient-Safety-Guide/Documents/Engaging%20Patients%20in%20Patient%20Safety%20FR.pdf#search=engaging%20patients%20in%20patient%20safety%3A%20a%20canadian%20guide
  15. Tools to support patient engagement (and patient safety) [En ligne]. Cambridge (MA): Institute for Healthcare Improvement; 2015 Mar 5 [cité le 20 septembre 2017]. Disponible : http://www.ihi.org/communities/blogs/ layouts/15/ihi/community/blog/ItemView.aspx? List=0f316db6%2D7f8a%2D430f%2Da63a%2Ded7602d1366a&ID =46&Web=1e880535%2Dd855%2D4727%2Da8c1%2D27ee672f115d
  16. Health Research & Educational Trust. Partnering to improve quality and safety: A framework for working with patient and family advisors [En ligne]. Chicago, (IL): Health Research & Educational Trust; 2015 [cité le 7 juillet 2017]. Disponible : www.hpoe.org/resources/ahahret-guides/1828
  17. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Divulgation d’un préjudice résultant de la prestation des soins : pour une communication honnête et ouverte avec les patients. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; 2015 [cité le 7 juillet 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/disclosing-harm-from-healthcare-delivery-open-and-honest-communication-with-patients

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.