Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

How to address vaccine hesitancy and refusal by patients or their legal guardians

Originally published January 2017
17-01-E

Vaccines are considered one of the most valuable methods of preventing and controlling infectious diseases1 and have saved countless lives.2 They are readily available in most parts of the world and are generally accepted as safe and effective in preventing disease. Yet, some people still debate their necessity, efficacy, and safety. This may present challenges for physicians who know a particular vaccine is indicated and appropriate, but the patient or the patient’s legal guardian is hesitant about or refuses the vaccine.

Physicians who provide vaccinations should be appropriately aware of their obligations, including providing patients (or patients’ legal guardians) with sufficient information about recommended vaccines so that they can make an informed decision.

Trends and attitudes toward vaccinations

The National Advisory Committee on Immunization3 and the Canadian Paediatric Society4 recommend routine immunizations to prevent certain infectious diseases and their consequences. However, some individuals refuse or delay routine vaccination for themselves or their children. A 2015 national survey of attitudes toward vaccines indicated more than one in four Canadians are hesitant or misinformed about vaccines.5 The 2013 Childhood National Immunization Coverage Survey found high vaccination coverage rates for Canadian toddlers, ranging from 73% for chicken pox to 91% for polio, but experts said that these rates fall below the rates needed for community immunity to keep vaccine-preventable diseases at bay.6

Public health officials and studies in recent years expressed concern about vaccine hesitancy and refusal increasing the risk of epidemics of vaccine-preventable illnesses.5,7 The factors that influence hesitancy and refusal can be placed into one of three categories: complacency, confidence, and convenience.8 They are also diverse, ranging from a lack of knowledge and information, to past negative experience with vaccinations, to risk perceptions, to lack of trust in health professionals, to moral or religious convictions on disease and vaccines.9

Discussing vaccines with patients

When physicians determine that it is in the best interests of a patient to recommend a specific vaccination, they must obtain the informed consent of the patient (or legal guardian) before administering the vaccination. In most cases, the informed consent discussion might include:

  • benefits of the vaccine
  • risks of the vaccine (including material risks and uncommon risks with serious consequences, such as paralysis or death)
  • risks of the disease including complications
  • possible consequences of refusing the vaccine
  • relevant recommendations from authoritative groups, governments, provincial medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), and medical specialty associations
  • need for follow up, for example if immunization requires a series of doses
  • any cost of the vaccine if it is not covered by the provincial or territorial health plan

When the patient (or the patient’s legal guardian) chooses to have the vaccine administered, physicians should also inform them about signs or symptoms of common side effects and complications, and what to do if these symptoms occur.

The details of the informed consent discussion and the patient’s (or legal guardian’s) consent to the vaccine should be documented in the patient’s medical record. The Public Health Agency of Canada’s Canadian Immunization Guide recommends that healthcare providers record vaccinations in the following documents: the immunization record held by the vaccine recipient (or legal guardian); the patient’s personal health record maintained by the healthcare provider who administered the vaccine; and the local provincial or territorial immunization registry, if it has been established.10

To help patients (or their guardians) manage their vaccinations, including keeping a record of those they’ve received, physicians may want to make them aware of available resources, such as those on the websites of Health Canada, the Public Health Agency of Canada, and ImmunizeCA.

Patients (or legal guardians) may have questions and concerns on the safety and efficacy of new vaccines. And some may wonder about alternatives to routine vaccines, such as unproven homeopathic therapies.11 To respond appropriately to these concerns, primary care physicians and those practising in related areas should remain up to date on relevant or common vaccines, their effectiveness, any significant risks, and the risks of the diseases being prevented. Physicians should be prepared to communicate clearly and professionally with patients or legal guardians on the matter. The healthcare provider’s advice has significant influence on parental decision-making.12

When the patient or legal guardian is hesitant or refuses vaccination

If patients (or legal guardians) are reluctant about a vaccine, physicians should explore and address the reasons for their concern, answer any questions to the best of their ability and consider referring patients or guardians to other relevant resources for additional information.13 Physicians should be empathetic and respectful throughout these discussions and remind patients or guardians that their best interests (or those of their child) are the primary concern.13 The 2016 Practice Point from the Canadian Paediatric Society, "Working with vaccine-hesitant parents," provides useful evidence-based approaches on how to communicate effectively.12

Physicians should make every effort to continue to care for patients in the existing doctor-patient relationship in accordance with current standards of care.14 For assistance and advice on caring for patients who are reluctant about a vaccine, physicians should consult with the expectations and guidance of their College, other organizations such as the Canadian Paediatric Society, and contact the CMPA.

Despite good explanations, parents and/or legal guardians may still have a variety of reasons for refusing to consent to the vaccination of their children. Except in Québec, physicians should generally respect an informed decision by a child who they consider to be a mature minor and capable of understanding the risks of refusing the vaccination. In Québec, the law generally only permits children 14 years of age and older to consent to care.15 Physicians should document the wishes of the minor and the parent, if known, on the medical record along with the physician’s assessment of the child’s capacity to consent and understanding of the risks.15

If a vaccine is recommended but refused, a detailed note of both the consent discussion and the refusal should be made in the medical record. The physician should also keep the lines of communication open for future discussions about immunization and consider directing the patient or legal guardian to a trusted source of reliable information.13

Physicians with unvaccinated patients will want to consider how to arrange their office processes to address any risks associated with these patients coming into contact with vulnerable patients, such as those with suppressed immune systems or those who have not yet received vaccinations. Scheduling appointments at different times of the day or week to treat each type of patient could be one approach. Physicians should encourage unvaccinated patients or their legal guardians to inform the healthcare providers they come in contact with that they are not fully immunized.

Physicians may be troubled if a patient refuses a vaccine solely for reasons of cost. The patient or legal guardian can be informed to contact their provincial health ministry on programs and assistance available for vaccinations.

In exceptional circumstances where a patient (or a patient’s legal guardian) has refused immunization, but the vaccine is medically appropriate and necessary to preserve the life or health of the child, it may be necessary for physicians to contact child protection agencies. For information on child protection agencies across Canada, physicians can refer to the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal.16 Physicians may also wish to contact the CMPA for advice in these circumstances.

The necessity for follow-up

In situations where adequate immunization will require a series of doses, physicians should remind patient or legal guardians of the importance of obtaining all doses on schedule. Physicians should be aware of the immunization schedules in their province or territory. This schedule should be discussed before the first dose is administered. Physicians should discuss any risks associated with dosing delays and the importance of staying on the recommended immunization schedule.13 It may be appropriate to have a system in place to follow up with any patients who do not return for their subsequent doses and to document the steps taken and the response.

The bottom line

  • Provide information to patients or their legal guardians about the benefits and any significant risks associated with recommended vaccines, as well as the risks of the disease being prevented.
  • Be familiar with the provincial or territorial immunization schedule, legislation, and College policies in your jurisdiction regarding vaccination.
  • Carefully document the information given to patients and their responses in the medical record (including their reasons for refusing the vaccine, if that is the case).
  • Accurately document vaccines discussed with, refused by, or administered to a patient.
  • Patients or legal guardians have the right to accept or refuse the vaccine. Be patient and empathetic to their needs and beliefs on vaccines and keep lines of communication open.
  • Arrange follow up for patients to complete the course of immunization, if required.
 
 

References

  1. Taylor G. Message from the deputy chief public health officer, Canadian Immunization Guide. Ottawa (ON): Public Health Agency of Canada:2014 Apr 15 [cited 2016 May 31].
  2. Worboys M. Vaccines: Conquering untreatable diseases. Brit Med J [Internet]. 2007 Jan [cited 2016 May 31];334 (suppl 1):s19. Available at: http://www.bmj.com/content/334/suppl_1/s19 doi: 10.1136/bmj.39045.558889.94.
  3. National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI). Ottawa (ON): Public Health Agency of Canada; 2015 May 10 [cited 2016 April 20]. Available from: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/naci-ccni/index-eng.php
  4. Canadian Paediatric Society. Immunization [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Canadian Paediatric Society; 2016 Apr 26 [cited 2016 Apr 20]. Available from: http://www.cps.ca/en/status-report/immunization-2016-report
  5. Payne E. Survey raises concern about vaccine ‘hesitancy’ among Canadian parents, shows some harbour misinformation. National Post [Internet]. 2015 Dec 18[cited 2016 Apr 20];Health:[about 3 screens]. Available from: http://news.nationalpost.com/health/survey-raises-concern-about-vaccine-hesitancy-among-canadian-parents-shows-some-harbour-misinformation
  6. Public Health Agency of Canada. Vaccine coverage in Canadian children : results from the 2013 Childhood National Immunization Coverage Survey (CNICS) [Internet]. Ottawa (ON):Public Health Agency of Canada; 2016 May [cited 2016 Dec 12]. http://publications.gc.ca/site/eng/9.816369/publication.html
  7. Li J. Vaccine refusal linked to recent U.S. measles outbreak, study suggests. CBC News [Internet]. 2016 March 30 [cited 2016 Apr 25];Health:[about 5 screens]. Available from: http://www.cbc.ca/news/health/vaccination-refusal-measles-outbreak-study-1.3490506
  8. MacDonald NE. SAGE Working Group on Vaccine Hesitancy. Vaccine hesitancy: Definition, scope, and determinants [Internet]. Vaccine. 2015 Aug 14;33(34):4161-4. Available from: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0264410X15005009
  9. Dubé E, Laberge C, Guay M, Bramadat P, Roy R, Bettinger J. Vaccine hesitancy [Internet]. Human Vaccines & Immunotherapeutics. 2013;9(8):1763-1773. Available from: http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.4161/hv.24657
  10. Canadian Immunization Guide [Internet]. Ottawa (ON):Public Health Agency of Canada; 2016 Feb 2[cited 2016 Apr 25]. Available from: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/cig-gci/p01-11-eng.php
  11. Rieder MJ, Robinson JL. Canadian Paediatric Society , Drug Therapy and Hazardous Substances Committee, Infectious Diseases and Immunization Committee. ‘Nosodes’ are no substitute for vaccines [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Canadian Paediatric Society. 2015 May 11. Updated: Feb 23 2016. Paediatr Child Health. 2015 [cited 2016 Apr 25]; 20(4):221-22. Available from: http://www.cps.ca/en/documents/position/nosodes-are-no-substitute-for-vaccines
  12. MacDonald NE, Finlay JC. Canadian Paediatric Society. Infectious Diseases and Immunization Committee. Working with vaccine-hesitant parents. Paediatr Child Health [Internet]. 2013 [cited 2016 June 30];18(5):265-7. Available from: http://www.cps.ca/en/documents/position/working-with-vaccine-hesitant-parents
  13. Talking with parents about vaccines for children: Strategies for healthcare professionals [Internet]. Copenhagen (DK):World Health Organization, Regional Office for Europe. 2012 [cited 2016 Apr 25]. Available from: http://www.euro.who.int/__data/assets/pdf_file/0006/160755/Talking-with-Parents.pdf?ua=1
  14. Fortune J, Wilson K. Preserving relationships with antivaccine parents: Five suggestions from social psychology. Can Fam Physician [Internet]. 2007 Dec [cited 2016 Apr 25];53(12):2083-2085. Available from: http://www.cfp.ca/content/53/12/2083.full.pdf+html
  15. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Can a child provide consent? [Internet]. Ottawa (ON):Canadian Medical Protective Association; 2014 May [cited 2016 Apr 25]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/can-a-child-provide-consent-
  16. Provincial and Territorial Assistance [Internet]. Montreal (QC): Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal; 2011 [cited 2016 May 20]. Available from: http://cwrp.ca/help

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Vaccination : réticence ou refus des patients ou de leurs tuteurs légaux

Publié initialement en janvier 2017
17-01-F

Les vaccins sont considérés comme l’une des méthodes les plus utiles pour prévenir et freiner la transmission des maladies infectieuses1; ils ont aussi permis de sauver d’innombrables vies.2 Il est facile d’y avoir accès dans la plupart des régions du monde, et il est généralement accepté qu’il s’agit de moyens sûrs et efficaces de prévenir les maladies. Néanmoins, certaines personnes remettent toujours en question la nécessité, l’efficacité et la sécurité de la vaccination. Une telle situation peut présenter des défis aux médecins qui sont convaincus du bien-fondé d’un vaccin particulier, mais qui doivent faire face à la réticence ou au refus du patient ou de son tuteur légal.

Les médecins qui offrent des services de vaccination doivent être bien informés de leurs obligations, dont celle de remettre à leurs patients (ou à leurs tuteurs légaux) suffisamment de renseignements au sujet des vaccins recommandés de façon à ce qu’ils puissent prendre une décision éclairée.

Tendances et attitudes

Le Comité consultatif national de l’immunisation3 et la Société canadienne de pédiatrie4 recommandent la vaccination systématique pour prévenir certaines maladies infectieuses et de leurs conséquences. Toutefois, certaines personnes refusent ou reportent cette vaccination pour elles-mêmes ou pour leurs enfants. Un sondage en ligne national mené en 2015 pour recenser les attitudes envers les vaccins a révélé que plus d’un parent sur quatre, d’un enfant de moins de cinq ans, exprimait une réticence ou se disait mal renseigné au sujet des vaccins.5 Bien que l’Enquête sur la couverture vaccinale nationale des enfants de 2013 ait révélé de forts taux de vaccination chez les jeunes enfants canadiens, allant de 73 % contre la varicelle à 91 % contre la poliomyélite, les experts ont souligné que ces taux se situent en deçà de ceux requis pour assurer l’immunité collective permettant de faire échec aux maladies évitables par la vaccination.6

Au cours des dernières années, des responsables de la santé publique et des chercheurs ont exprimé des préoccupations quant à la possibilité de voir la réticence ou le refus face aux vaccins accroître le risque d’épidémies de maladies évitables par la vaccination.5,7 Les facteurs qui influencent la réticence et le refus peuvent être répartis en trois catégories : la complaisance, la confiance et la commodité.8 Ils tirent également leur origine de multiples sources, entre autres : un manque de connaissances et d’information, des expériences négatives quant aux vaccins, une perception faussée des risques, un manque de confiance envers les professionnels de la santé, des convictions morales ou religieuses quant à la maladie et aux vaccins.9

Discussion avec les patients

Lorsqu’un médecin détermine qu’il est dans l’intérêt d’un patient de recevoir un vaccin particulier, il se doit d’obtenir le consentement éclairé du patient (ou de son tuteur légal) avant de le lui administrer. Dans la plupart des cas, la discussion au sujet du consentement éclairé pourrait comprendre ce qui suit :

  • les avantages du vaccin;
  • les risques du vaccin (y compris les risques importants et les risques peu courants qui s’accompagnent de conséquences graves, telles que la paralysie ou la mort);
  • les risques de la maladie que l’on veut éviter, y compris ses complications;
  • les conséquences possibles du refus de la vaccination;
  • les recommandations pertinentes de la part des groupes faisant autorité, des gouvernements, des organismes provinciaux de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) et des associations ou fédérations de médecins spécialistes;
  • la nécessité d’un suivi, p. ex. lorsque l’immunisation nécessite l’administration d’une série de doses;
  • les coûts associés au vaccin, lorsqu’ils ne sont pas couverts par les programmes de santé provinciaux ou territoriaux.

Lorsque le patient (ou son tuteur légal) choisit de recevoir le vaccin, le médecin doit également l’aviser des signes ou des symptômes propres aux complications et aux effets secondaires courants, et de la marche à suivre en présence de tels symptômes.

Les détails de la discussion visant l’obtention du consentement éclairé et le consentement du patient (ou de son tuteur légal) à l’administration du vaccin doivent être documentés dans le dossier médical du patient. Le Guide canadien d’immunisation de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada recommande aux professionnels de la santé de consigner les vaccins administrés dans les documents suivants : le carnet de vaccination personnel conservé par la personne vaccinée (ou par son tuteur légal); le dossier personnel de santé tenu par le professionnel de la santé qui a administré le vaccin; et le registre d’immunisation local, provincial ou territorial (s’il en existe un).10

Pour aider les patients (ou leurs tuteurs légaux) à gérer leurs vaccins (y compris le maintien d’un registre des vaccins reçus), les médecins pourraient les orienter vers des ressources, telles que celles publiées dans les sites web de Santé Canada, de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et d’Immunisation Canada.

Les patients (ou leurs tuteurs légaux) pourraient avoir des questions et des préoccupations au sujet de l’innocuité et de l’efficacité des nouveaux vaccins. Certains pourraient s’interroger sur des solutions de rechange à la vaccination systématique, telles que des traitements homéopathiques non éprouvés.11 Pour pouvoir répondre adéquatement à ces préoccupations, les médecins de soins primaires et ceux qui exercent dans des domaines connexes doivent maintenir leurs connaissances à jour quant aux vaccins courants ou pertinents, à leur efficacité, aux risques importants qui pourraient leur être associés et aux risques propres aux maladies que ces vaccins cherchent à prévenir. Les médecins doivent se préparer de façon à pouvoir dialoguer de manière claire et professionnelle avec les patients ou leurs tuteurs légaux à ce sujet. Il est à noter que les conseils d’un professionnel de la santé exercent une influence importante sur le processus décisionnel des parents.12

En présence de réticence ou refus

Lorsque le patient (ou son tuteur légal) exprime des réticences au sujet d’un vaccin, le médecin devrait explorer et aborder les raisons qui sous-tendent les préoccupations exprimées, répondre de son mieux à toutes les questions du patient et envisager d’orienter ce dernier (ou son tuteur légal) vers d’autres sources pertinentes de renseignements.13 Les médecins doivent faire preuve d’empathie et de respect tout au long de ces discussions, et rappeler aux patients ou à leurs tuteurs légaux que leurs intérêts (ou ceux de l’enfant) demeurent l’enjeu principal de la relation thérapeutique.13 Le point de pratique publié en 2016 par la Société canadienne de pédiatrie, « Les parents qui hésitent à faire vacciner leur enfant : une approche clinique », présente des approches utiles (fondées sur des données probantes) pour assurer une communication efficace.12

Les médecins ne doivent ménager aucun effort pour continuer à prodiguer, dans le cadre de leur relation existante avec leurs patients, des soins conformes aux normes de pratique en vigueur.14 Pour obtenir de l’assistance et des conseils quant à la prestation de soins aux patients qui expriment des réticences face à un vaccin, les médecins devraient s’enquérir des attentes et des directives formulées par leur organisme de réglementation (Collège) ou d’autres organisations (comme la Société canadienne de pédiatrie), et communiquer avec l’ACPM.

Malgré de bonnes explications, les parents ou les tuteurs légaux pourraient, pour de nombreuses raisons, continuer de refuser la vaccination de leurs enfants. Sauf au Québec, les médecins doivent généralement respecter la décision éclairée formulée par un enfant qu’ils considèrent être un mineur mature, en mesure de comprendre les risques du refus de la vaccination. Au Québec, la loi n’autorise en général que les enfants de 14 ans ou plus à consentir aux soins.15 Les médecins doivent documenter les souhaits du mineur et du parent, s’ils sont connus, dans le dossier médical, conjointement avec l’évaluation médicale de l’aptitude de l’enfant à consentir aux soins et à comprendre les risques.15

À la suite du refus d’un vaccin recommandé, une note détaillée traitant de la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement et du refus doit être consignée dans le dossier médical. Le médecin doit également s’assurer de ne pas couper les ponts avec le patient, de façon à permettre de futures discussions sur l’immunisation; il doit également envisager d’orienter le patient ou son tuteur légal vers une source fiable de renseignements à ce sujet.13

Les médecins qui comptent parmi leur clientèle des patients n’ayant pas été vaccinés devront se pencher sur l’organisation de leur cabinet pour gérer les risques découlant des contacts possibles entre ces patients et des patients vulnérables, tels que ceux qui présentent un déficit immunitaire ou qui n’ont pas encore été vaccinés. L’une des approches à envisager pourrait être de prévoir des rendez-vous à différents moments de la journée ou de la semaine pour chaque type de patients. Les médecins devraient encourager les patients non vaccinés ou leurs tuteurs légaux à aviser les professionnels de la santé avec lesquels ils entrent en contact du fait qu’ils ne sont pas pleinement immunisés.

Le refus de la vaccination n’étant motivé que par des raisons économiques pourrait troubler certains médecins. Le patient ou son tuteur légal peut être avisé de communiquer avec le ministère de la Santé de la province ou d’un territoire pour s’enquérir de l’assistance et des programmes offerts en matière de vaccination.

Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, comme lorsqu’un patient (ou son tuteur légal) a refusé la vaccination, bien que le vaccin en question soit approprié sur le plan médical et nécessaire pour maintenir la vie ou la santé de l’enfant, il pourrait s’avérer nécessaire que les médecins communiquent avec les agences de protection de l’enfance. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les agences de protection de l’enfance au Canada, les médecins peuvent se reporter au Portail canadien de la recherche en protection de l’enfance.16 Les médecins pourraient également communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils lorsqu’ils font face à de telles circonstances.

Nécessité du suivi

Lorsque l’administration d’une série de doses est requise pour assurer une immunisation adéquate, le médecin doit rappeler au patient ou à son tuteur légal l’importance de recevoir toutes ces doses selon le calendrier établi. Les médecins devraient connaître les calendriers de vaccination de leur province ou de leur territoire. Ce calendrier devrait faire l’objet de discussions avec le patient ou son tuteur légal avant même l’administration de la première dose. Les médecins devraient également discuter avec eux des risques associés, le cas échéant, aux retards dans l’administration des doses et de l’importance de respecter le calendrier de vaccination recommandé.13 Il pourrait s’avérer approprié de mettre en place un système qui permettrait d’assurer le suivi des patients qui ne se présentent pas pour recevoir leurs doses subséquentes, et de documenter les mesures prises et la réponse du patient (ou de son tuteur légal).

En bref

  • Offrez des renseignements aux patients ou à leurs tuteurs légaux au sujet des avantages et de tous les risques importants associés aux vaccins recommandés, ainsi qu’à la maladie que l’on cherche ainsi à prévenir.
  • Familiarisez-vous avec le calendrier de vaccination, les lois applicables et les politiques de votre organisme de réglementation (Collège) à l’égard de la vaccination dans la province ou le territoire où vous exercez.
  • Documentez rigoureusement, dans le dossier médical, les renseignements que vous remettez à vos patients et leurs réactions (y compris les motifs invoqués pour le refus du vaccin, le cas échéant).
  • Documentez avec précision les vaccins qui ont fait l’objet d’une discussion avec vos patients, ce que vous leur administrez ou ce qu’ils refusent de recevoir.
  • Faites preuve de patience et d’empathie envers les besoins et les croyances de vos patients ou de leurs tuteurs légaux à l’égard des vaccins, et assurez-vous de ne pas couper les ponts avec eux, et ce, tout en ne perdant pas de vue qu’ils disposent du droit d’accepter ou de refuser de recevoir le vaccin.
  • Planifiez le suivi des patients pour mener à terme le processus de vaccination, au besoin.

Références

  1. Taylor G. Message du sous-administrateur en chef de la santé publique, Guide canadien d’immunisation. Ottawa (ON) : Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Le 15 avril 2014 [cité le 31 mai 2016].
  2. Worboys M. Vaccines : Conquering untreatable diseases [En ligne]. Brit Med J. Janvier 2007 [cité le 31 mai 2016];334(suppl 1):s19. doi: 10.1136/bmj.39045.558889.94. http://www.bmj.com/content/334/suppl_1/s19
  3. Comité consultatif national de l’immunisation (CCNI) [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON) : Agence de la santé publique du Canada; le 10 mai 2015 [cité le 20 avril 2016]. http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/naci-ccni/index-fra.php
  4. Société canadienne de pédiatrie. Vaccination [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Société canadienne de pédiatrie; le 26 avril 2015 [cité le 20 avril 2016]. http://www.cps.ca/fr/status-report/vaccination-2016-report
  5. Payne E. Survey raises concern about vaccine ‘hesitancy’ among Canadian parents, shows some harbour misinformation. National Post [En ligne]. Le 18 décembre 2015 [cité le 20 avril 2016]; Health:[environ 3 écrans]. http://news.nationalpost.com/health/survey-raises-concern-about-vaccine-hesitancy-among-canadian-parents-shows-some-harbour-misinformation
  6. Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Couverture vaccinale des enfants au Canada : Résultats de l’enquête sur la couverture vaccinale nationale des enfants (ECVNE) de 2013 [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Agence de la santé publique du Canada; mai 2016 [cité le 12 décembre 2016]. http://publications.gc.ca/site/fra/9.816370/publication.html
  7. Li J. Vaccine refusal linked to recent U.S. measles outbreak, study suggests. CBC News [En ligne]. Le 30 mars 2016 [cité le 25 avril 2016]; Health:[environ 5 écrans]. http://www.cbc.ca/news/health/vaccination-refusal-measles-outbreak-study-1.3490506
  8. MacDonald NE. SAGE Working Group on Vaccine Hesitancy. Vaccine hesitancy: Definition, scope, and determinants [En ligne]. Vaccine. Le 14 août 2015;33(34):4161-4. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0264410X15005009
  9. Dubé E, Laberge C, Guay M, Bramadat P, Roy R, Bettinger J. Vaccine hesitancy [En ligne]. Human Vaccines & Immunotherapeutics. 2013;9(8):1763-1773. http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.4161/hv.24657
  10. Guide canadien d’immunisation [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Agence de la santé publique du Canada; le 2 février 2016 [cité le 25 avril 2016]. http://canadiensensante.gc.ca/publications/healthy-living-vie-saine/1-canadian-immunization-guide-canadien-immunisation/index-fra.php?page=12&_ga=1.268187405.2077088267.1480615605
  11. Rieder MJ, Robinson JL. Société canadienne de pédiatrie. Comité de pharmacologie et des substances dangereuses, Comité des maladies infectieuses et d’immunisation. Les « nosodes » ne remplacent pas les vaccins [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON) : Société canadienne de pédiatrie. Le 11 mai 2015. Mise à jour le 23 février 2016. Paediatr Child Health. 2015 [cité le 25 avril 2016];20(4):221-22. http://www.cps.ca/fr/documents/position/les-nosodes-ne-remplacent-pas-les-vaccins
  12. MacDonald NE, Finlay JC. Société canadienne de pédiatrie. Comité des maladies infectieuses et d’immunisation. Les parents qui hésitent à faire vacciner leur enfant : une approche clinique [En ligne]. Paediatr Child Health. 2013[cité le 30 juin 2016];18(5):268-70. http://www.cps.ca/fr/documents/position/les-parents-qui-hesitent-a-faire-vacciner-approche-clinique
  13. Dialogue avec les parents sur la vaccination des enfants : Stratégies à l’usage des professionnels de la santé [En ligne]. Copenhagen (DK): Organisation mondiale de la Santé, Bureau Régional de l’Europe. 2012 [cité le 25 avril 2016]. http://www.euro.who.int/__data/assets/pdf_file/0008/162296/Talking-with-Parents-about-Vaccines-for-Children-FRE.pdf?ua=1
  14. Fortune J, Wilson K. Préserver les relations avec les parents anti-vaccins : Cinq suggestions tirées de la psychologie sociale. Can Fam Physician [En ligne]. Décembre 2007 [cité le 25 avril 2016];53(12):2093-2095. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2231532/
  15. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Un enfant est-il apte à consentir? [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Association canadienne de protection médicale; mars 2014/révisé en juin 2016 [cité le 12 décembre 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/can-a-child-provide-consent-
  16. Assistance au niveau provincial et territorial [En ligne]. Montréal (QC) : Portail canadien de la recherche en protection de l’enfance; 2011 [cité le 20 mai 2016]. http://cwrp.ca/fr/help

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.