Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

International medical graduates face daunting challenges; getting help is key to success

Originally published August 2017
17-18-E

When a young and enthusiastic pediatrician from east Asia immigrated to Canada with her family three years ago, she was largely unprepared for what lay before her—navigating Canada’s complex healthcare system and medical regulatory framework, and trying to land a suitable position in her field. This was in addition to the usual hurdles facing immigrants generally, including learning a new language and adjusting to different cultural norms. Indeed, the road to a successful medical career for many international medical graduates who arrive in Canada can be a challenging one.

"International medical graduate," or IMG, refers to a variety of individuals: foreign students completing their medical training in Canada, immigrant doctors practising medicine in Canada, as well as Canadians who studied medicine abroad and who return to Canada. Approximately one-quarter of Canada’s physicians received their medical degree outside of Canada,1 and often these IMGs help to alleviate shortages of physicians in underserved regions of the country such as in rural areas.2 IMGs have proven to perform comparably to their counterparts in their adopted country.3 4 However, learning the "soft" skills associated with medical practice—notably adapting communication styles and learning an official language, understanding appropriate boundaries with colleagues and patients, and internalizing a new set of norms of professionalism—often remains an ongoing process.

Practice requirements for IMGs

Most IMGs in Canada practise in Ontario.5 To practise medicine in Ontario, an individual must have a medical degree recognized by the World Health Organization, and obtain an Ontario Certificate of Independent Practice from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario.6 To do this, an IMG must:

  • obtain Canadian citizenship, permanent resident status, or authorization to work in Canada;
  • have passing results on the Medical Council of Canada examinations;
  • demonstrate proof of language proficiency;
  • obtain certification by either the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the College of Family Physicians of Canada;
  • complete one year of postgraduate training or active medical practice in Canada, or complete a full clinical clerkship at an accredited Canadian medical school.

Other provinces and territories have similar requirements; IMGs are encouraged to check with the regulatory authority (College) in their province or territory for details.

Language and communication barriers

Lack of fluency in the official language being used in the workplace (i.e. English, French, or both) can obviously hinder communication with patients and colleagues—and potentially put the safety of patients at risk. Patient care may also be affected if documentation such as test orders and medical record entries are inadequate or difficult to read or interpret.

Overcoming language barriers

If language skills pose a difficulty and misunderstandings are possible, IMGs may want to consider ways to manage the risk:

  • Consider additional language training, preferably including medical terminology.
  • Ask a trusted interpreter or a colleague to help with oral and written communication, when required.
  • Be aware of others’ tone of voice, facial gestures, body language, and other non-verbal cues that might help in avoiding misunderstandings.

Cultural differences

Differing cultural norms, values, and beliefs among physicians, patients, and other healthcare providers can have an impact on medical encounters, and may influence treatment choices and ongoing patient care.7 Problems can arise, for example, when an IMG is from a part of the world where mental health disorders such as depression are not widely recognized or even considered to be illnesses, and which would not have been part of the IMG’s professional training.8 Compounding matters is the culturally diverse makeup of the Canadian population, which may affect some physicians’ ability to provide culturally sensitive care.3

Cultural issues with potential impacts for IMGs include the following:

  • In some parts of the world education is more hierarchical, with fewer opportunities for self-directed learning and teacher-learner collaboration. 3 IMGs from such backgrounds may have trouble with team-based healthcare, and may lack an appreciation for the expertise of other healthcare professionals.
  • Standards of professionalism in medicine may be different than those in Canada. For example, expectations for dealing with conflict with colleagues and determining appropriate boundaries with patients may be different in Canada than in the IMG’s country of origin.
  • Socially constructed gender roles in the IMG’s homeland may influence the care provided by the IMG in Canada.7 For example, an IMG may be uncomfortable providing care for a patient of the other gender, as well as for transgender individuals, especially when potentially sensitive questions arise and during physical examinations. (The article "Treating transgender individuals," available on the CMPA website, provides guidance in this area.)

Responsibilities to the patient

The Code of Ethics, published by the Canadian Medical Association, provides ethical guidance for physicians in Canada, focusing on decision making, consent, privacy, confidentiality, and physician responsibilities. On the issue of responsibilities to the patient, the Code of Ethics states: "Inform your patient when your personal values would influence the recommendation or practice of any medical procedure that the patient needs or wants." It goes on to say, "In providing medical service, do not discriminate against any patient on such grounds as age, gender, marital status, medical condition, national or ethnic origin, physical or mental disability, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status."9

Coping and adjusting

Clearly, IMGs can face challenges as they adjust to the Canadian milieu—in addition to the usual challenges that all physicians encounter. The CMPA, together with other healthcare organizations, recognize the cumulative effects these challenges can have on an IMG’s wellness and on the ability to provide safe and effective patient care.3

IMGs can take comfort in knowing that help is available. Various provincial organizations offer health programs to support physicians, residents, and their families. These are listed on the CMPA website at www.cmpa-acpm.ca/physician-wellness.

CMPA liability protection and support

In most provinces and territories, physicians (including medical trainees) must obtain liability protection before they can be licensed to practise. Liability protection may also be required by hospitals, postgraduate medical education programs, and by employers. IMGs should contact the College in their province or territory, or their hospital, university or employer, to obtain details on the liability protection requirements applicable in that jurisdiction.

The CMPA’s liability protection ensures that physician members, including IMGs, are eligible for assistance in the event of medical-legal difficulties, such as if a patient launches a civil legal action or files a complaint with a College. CMPA membership also gives access to our physician advisors and to legal counsel when warranted.

The CMPA additionally offers various resources to help physicians develop skills that are essential for a well-functioning medical practice: communicating and documenting effectively, working in healthcare teams, managing clinical risks, and what to do in the event of unexpected outcomes. These resources include articles on the CMPA website, the CMPA Good Practices Guide, handbooks such as the Medical-legal Handbook for Physicians in Canada [PDF], and various conferences and workshops at locations across Canada.

Making the right move

Like many IMGs, the aforementioned pediatrician tapped into the resources available to her and successfully landed a position at a nearby community hospital. For instance, she went online to read her College’s guidelines and polices that have an impact on her work, and she developed an understanding of her continuing professional development obligations. Looking back at the experience of emigrating from her native country and starting a new life in Canada, she has no regrets: "The first couple of years were tough. But I drew strength from my family and I now have great colleagues from whom I continue to learn every day. And it’s so reassuring to know we have organizations like CMPA to turn to for support."

Additional reading

The following resources provide more information of interest to IMGs:

To learn more about CMPA membership and what to do before practising in Canada, go to the CMPA website section on "Joining CMPA":




References

  1. Physicians in Canada, 2015: Summary Report [Internet]. Ottawa (ON); Canadian Institute for Health Information; [cited 2017 May 9]. Available from: https://secure.cihi.ca/free_products/Summary_Report_2015_EN.pdf
  2. Islam, Nazrul. The dilemma of physician shortage and international recruitment in Canada. Int J Health Policy Manag [Internet]. 2014 [cited 2017 May 9]; 3(1): 29-32. Available from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4075100/pdf/ijhpm-3-29.pdf
  3. Triscott, Jean A.C. et al. Cultural Transition of International Medical Graduate Residents into Family Practice in Canada. Int J Med Educ [Internet]. 2016 [cited 2017 May 9]; 7: 132–141. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4860287/pdf/ijme-7-132.pdf
  4. Tsugawa, Yusuke et al. Quality of care delivered by general internists in US hospitals who graduated from foreign versus US medical schools: observational study. BMJ [Internet]. 2017 [cited 2017 May 10]; 356: j273. Available from http://www.bmj.com/content/356/bmj.j273
  5. Supply, Distribution and Migration of Physicians in Canada, 2015: Data Tables. Ottawa (ON); Canadian Institute for Health Information; [cited 2017 May 9]. Available from: https://secure.cihi.ca/estore/productFamily.htm?pf=PFC3269&lang=en&media=0
  6. For more information see HealthForceOntario, "International Medical Graduate Living in Ontario": http://www.healthforceontario.ca/en/Home/Physicians/Training_%7C_Practising_Outside_Ontario/International_Medical_Graduate_Living_in_Ontario
  7. When medicine and culture intersect. Canadian Medical Protective Association. 2014 [cited 2017 May 11]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2014/when-medicine-and-culture-intersect
  8. Immigrant health issues: What physicians should know and do. Canadian Medical Protective Association. 2015 [cited 2017 May 11]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/immigrant-health-issues-what-physicians-should-know-and-do
  9. CMA Code of Ethics [Internet]. Ottawa (ON); Canadian Medical Association; 2004 [cited 19 May 2017]. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/policy-research/CMA_Policy_Code_of_ethics_of_the_Canadian_Medical_Association_Update_2004_PD04-06-e.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Médecins diplômés à l’étranger : sachez comment obtenir de l’aide pour surmonter les défis qui vous attendent!

Publié initialement en août 2017
17-18-F

Lorsqu’une jeune pédiatre d’Asie de l’Est, pleine d’enthousiasme, a immigré au Canada avec sa famille il y a trois ans, elle s’est retrouvée plutôt dépourvue face à la tâche qui l’attendait : démêler les complexités du système de santé et du cadre de réglementation de la médecine, et se dénicher un poste approprié dans son domaine. Tout cela venait s’ajouter aux embûches qui se posent en général pour les immigrants, y compris l’apprentissage d’une nouvelle langue et l’adaptation à des normes culturelles distinctes. La voie de la réussite en médecine peut en effet se révéler difficile pour de nombreux médecins diplômés à l’étranger à leur arrivée au Canada.

On entend par « médecins diplômés à l’étranger » (MDÉ) ou « diplômés internationaux en médecine » (DIM) : des étudiants étrangers terminant leur formation médicale au Canada, des médecins immigrants exerçant leur profession au Canada, ainsi que des Canadiens ayant étudié la médecine à l’étranger et revenant exercer au pays. Environ un quart des médecins du Canada obtiennent leur diplôme de médecine à l’étranger.1 Souvent, ces MDÉ servent à réduire les pénuries de personnel médical dans les régions mal desservies du pays, comme en milieu rural.2 Il a été démontré que les MDÉ se comparent favorablement sur le plan technique à leurs homologues dans leur pays d’adoption.3,4 Toutefois, l’acquisition de compétences générales associées à l’exercice de la médecine – notamment l’adaptation des styles de communication et l’apprentissage d’une des langues officielles, la compréhension des limites appropriées à respecter avec les collègues et patients, ainsi que l’assimilation de nouvelles normes de professionnalisme – demeure souvent un processus continu.

Exigences en matière de pratique pour les MDÉ

Au Canada, la plupart des MDÉ exercent en Ontario.5 Pour exercer la médecine dans cette province, il faut détenir un diplôme en médecine reconnu par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé, ainsi qu’un certificat d’inscription autorisant l’exercice indépendant de la médecine auprès de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario.6 À cette fin, un MDÉ doit :
  • obtenir la citoyenneté canadienne, le statut de résident permanent ou une autorisation de travailler au Canada;
  • réussir les examens du Conseil médical du Canada;
  • démontrer qu’il maîtrise la langue;
  • obtenir la certification du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada ou du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada;
  • suivre une formation postdoctorale ou exercer activement la médecine au Canada pendant un an, ou effectuer un stage clinique complet dans une faculté de médecine agréée au Canada.
Les autres provinces et territoires ont établi des exigences semblables; les MDÉ sont invités à consulter l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) de leur province ou territoire pour obtenir plus de détails.

Barrières linguistiques et entraves à la communication

Une mauvaise connaissance de la langue officielle utilisée au travail (c.-à-d., le français, l’anglais ou les deux) peut évidemment entraver la communication avec les patients et les collègues, et représenter un risque pour la sécurité des patients. Les soins aux patients peuvent aussi être affectés si certains documents tels que les demandes d’examens et les dossiers médicaux sont inadéquats, ou sont difficiles à lire ou à interpréter.

Surmonter les barrières linguistiques

Lorsque les compétences linguistiques posent un problème pouvant entraîner des malentendus, les MDÉ devraient envisager divers moyens de gérer leurs risques :

  • Suivre une formation linguistique supplémentaire, qui comprend de préférence la terminologie médicale.
  • Demander à un interprète ou à un collègue de confiance de l’aide avec la communication verbale et écrite, au besoin.
  • Être attentif au ton de la voix, aux expressions faciales, au langage corporel et à tout indice non-verbal pouvant aider à éviter les malentendus.

Différences culturelles

Les normes, valeurs et convictions culturelles diffèrent chez les médecins, les patients et les autres professionnels de la santé, ce qui peut avoir des répercussions sur les rencontres médicales, ainsi que sur les choix de traitement et les soins continus au patient.7 Des problèmes pourraient, par exemple, survenir lorsqu’un MDÉ est originaire d’une région où les troubles de santé mentale, tels que la dépression, ne sont pas généralement reconnus ni même considérés à titre de maladie, et n’auraient donc pas fait partie de la formation professionnelle de ce médecin.8 La diversité ethnoculturelle du Canada peut compliquer les choses pour certains MDÉ, affectant ainsi leur aptitude à prodiguer des soins en tenant compte de la dimension culturelle.3

Les embûches culturelles pouvant toucher les MDÉ comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Dans certains pays, l’éducation suit une structure plus hiérarchique qu’au Canada et présente moins d’occasions d’apprentissage autodirigé et de collaboration entre l’enseignant et l’apprenant.3 Les MDÉ formés dans le cadre d’une telle structure peuvent avoir plus de difficulté à prodiguer des soins dans un contexte pluridisciplinaire et ne pas comprendre ou apprécier l’expertise des autres professionnels de la santé.
  • Les normes du professionnalisme en médecine peuvent être différentes à l’étranger. Par exemple, il se peut que les attentes au Canada à l’égard de la résolution des conflits avec des collègues et de la détermination des limites appropriées à respecter avec les patients diffèrent de celles dans le pays d’origine du MDÉ.
  • Les rôles d’ordre social dévolus aux hommes et aux femmes dans le pays d’origine du MDÉ peuvent influer sur les soins que celui-ci prodigue au Canada.7 Par exemple, un MDÉ peut se sentir mal à l’aise de prodiguer des soins à une personne du sexe opposé, ainsi qu’à des personnes transgenres, tout particulièrement lorsque des questions de nature délicate sont soulevées et lors des examens physiques. (L’article « Traiter les personnes transgenres » accessible sur le site web de l’ACPM, présente des conseils dans ce domaine.)

Responsabilités envers le patient

Le Code de déontologie de l’AMC [PDF], publié par l’Association médicale canadienne, offre une orientation éthique aux médecins du Canada, qui se concentre sur la prise de décisions, le consentement, la protection de la vie privée, la confidentialité et les responsabilités du médecin. En ce qui a trait aux responsabilités envers le patient, le Code de déontologie de l’AMC fait la recommandation suivante aux médecins : « Prévenir votre patient lorsque vos valeurs personnelles auraient un effet sur la recommandation ou la prestation de toute intervention médicale que le patient souhaite ou dont il a besoin. » Il poursuit en précisant : « Dans la prestation des services médicaux, n’exercer de discrimination envers aucun patient en raison, notamment, de son âge, son sexe, son état civil, son état de santé, son origine nationale ou ethnique, son incapacité physique ou mentale, son affiliation politique, sa race, sa religion, son orientation sexuelle ou sa situation socioéconomique. »9

Faire face et s’adapter

Il est évident que des défis attendent les MDÉ dans leur adaptation au milieu de travail canadien, en plus des défis habituels qui se posent à tous les médecins. L’ACPM, de concert avec d’autres organisations du domaine de la santé, reconnaît les effets cumulatifs que ceci peut avoir sur le bien-être des MDÉ et sur leur capacité à prodiguer aux patients des soins sécuritaires et efficaces.3

Les MDÉ peuvent trouver rassurant de savoir que de l’aide leur est offerte. Divers organismes provinciaux et territoriaux offrent des programmes de santé pour venir en aide aux médecins, aux résidents, ainsi qu’à leurs familles. Ils sont présentés sur le site web de l’ACPM au www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/physician-wellness.

Protection en matière de responsabilité et appui de l’ACPM

Dans la plupart des provinces et des territoires, les médecins (y compris les résidents) doivent détenir une protection en matière de responsabilité avant d’obtenir leur permis d’exercice. Une protection en matière de responsabilité peut également être exigée par les hôpitaux, les programmes de formation postdoctorale en médecine, ainsi que les employeurs. Les MDÉ devraient communiquer avec le Collège de leur province ou territoire, ou avec leur hôpital, université ou employeur, pour obtenir des détails sur la protection requise en matière de responsabilité.

La protection en matière de responsabilité offerte par l’ACPM permet de veiller à ce que les médecins membres, y compris les MDÉ, soient admissibles à une assistance dans l’éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux, par exemple si un patient intente une action civile ou dépose une plainte auprès du Collège. L’adhésion à l’ACPM donne également accès aux services de nos médecins-conseils et avocats au besoin.

Par ailleurs, l’ACPM offre diverses ressources pour aider les médecins à acquérir des compétences essentielles à la pratique médicale : communication et documentation efficaces, travail d’équipe, gestion des risques cliniques et que faire lorsque surviennent des résultats inattendus. Ces ressources comprennent les articles publiés dans le site web de l’ACPM, le Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM, des publications telles que le Guide médico-légal à l’intention des médecins du Canada [PDF], ainsi que des conférences et ateliers présentés dans l’ensemble du pays.

Faire les bons choix

Comme de nombreux autres MDÉ, notre pédiatre a consulté les ressources mises à sa disposition et a réussi à obtenir un poste dans un hôpital communautaire à proximité. Elle a, par exemple, étudié les lignes directrices et les politiques du Collège touchant son travail, et a pris connaissance de ses obligations en matière de développement professionnel continu. De son expérience d’émigration de son pays natal pour entreprendre une nouvelle vie au Canada, elle n’a aucun regret : « Les premières années ont été dures. C’est auprès de ma famille que j’ai puisé la force de continuer et je compte maintenant sur de bons collègues auprès desquels j’apprends un peu plus chaque jour. Il me faut aussi dire que je suis très rassurée de savoir que nous pouvons nous tourner vers des organisations telles que l’ACPM pour obtenir de l’aide. »

Suggestions de lecture

Les MDÉ peuvent consulter les ressources suivantes pour obtenir plus d’information :

Pour en savoir plus sur l’adhésion à l’ACPM et les mesures à suivre avant d’exercer au Canada, consultez la section « Adhérer » du site web de l’Association :




Références

  1. Les médecins au Canada, 2015 : Rapport sommaire [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON); Institut canadien d’information sur la santé; [cité le 9 mai 2017]. Disponible : https://secure.cihi.ca/free_products/Rapport_Sommaire_2015_FR.pdf
  2. Islam N. The dilemma of physician shortage and international recruitment in Canada. Int J Health Policy Manag [En ligne]. 2014 [cité le 9 mai 2017]; 3(1): 29-32. Disponible : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4075100/pdf/ijhpm-3-29.pdf
  3. Triscott JAC, Szafran O. Waught EH, Torti JMI, Barton M. Cultural Transition of International Medical Graduate Residents into Family Practice in Canada. Int J Med Educ [En ligne]. 2016 [cité le 9 mai 2017]; 7: 132-41. Disponible : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4860287/pdf/ijme-7-132.pdf
  4. Tsugawa Y, Anupam BJ, Newhouse RL, Orav EJ, Jha AK. Quality of care delivered by general internists in US hospitals who graduated from foreign versus US medical schools: observational study. BMJ [En ligne]. 2017 [cité le 10 mai 2017; 356: j273. Disponible : http://www.bmj.com/content/356/bmj.j273
  5. Nombre, répartition et migration des médecins canadiens, 2015 : tableaux de données Ottawa (ON); Institut canadien d’information sur la santé; [cité le 9 mai 2017]. Disponible : https://secure.cihi.ca/estore/productFamily.htm?locale=fr&pf=PFC3269
  6. Pour en savoir plus, consulter le site ProfessionsSantéOntario, « Diplômé international en médecine vivant en Ontario » : http://www.health.gov.on.ca/fr/pro/programs/hhrsd/physicians/international_medical_graduates.aspx
  7. À la croisée de la médecine et de la culture Association canadienne de protection médicale. 2014 [cité le 11 mai 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2014/when-medicine-and-culture-intersect
  8. La santé des immigrants : Ce que les médecins doivent savoir et faire. Association canadienne de protection médicale. 2015 [cité le 11 mai 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/immigrant-health-issues-what-physicians-should-know-and-do
  9. Code de déontologie de l’AMC [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON); Association médicale canadienne; 2004 [cité le 19 mai 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/advocacy/policy-research/CMA_Policy_Code_of_ethics_of_the_Canadian_Medical_Association_Update_2004_PD04-06-f.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.