Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Is that eConsultation or eReferral service right for your medical practice?

Originally published September 2017
17-19-E

A busy professional tells his family physician about a rash on his back that is not getting better. After detailing his family history of skin cancer, he describes his growing anxiety. All he can think about is how would he, as a single parent, deal with a serious health problem?

After examining the rash, the family physician decides to consult with a dermatologist. However, the patient lives in a rural area that is two hours from the nearest dermatologist’s office, which has a 6–9 month wait for non-emergencies. There is another option—a remote consultation using technology to connect with a specialist, otherwise known as an eConsultation.

The physician informs the patient about the technology used for an eConsultation and, in particular, any risks to privacy and the confidentiality of personal health information. With the patient’s consent, the physician photographs the rash. She logs into the secure electronic consultation website, clicks on the drop-down list of available specialties, and selects "dermatology." She fills in the form, gives the patient’s history, uploads the photograph, and submits the request for a consultation.

Within a few days, the family physician receives a secure email from a dermatologist. The specialist doesn’t see a need for a referral visit, but does suggest a biopsy. The family physician calls the patient and arranges for the procedure, which is performed locally. The rash, diagnosed as early skin cancer, is treated quickly and effectively. The family physician summarizes the care process in the patient’s record.

Technology enhancing patient care

Across Canada, individuals and groups are using new technology to improve consultations and referrals. These initiatives are generally referred to as eConsultation and eReferral services.

While the services can be diverse in the technology used and the features offered, they share a common goal: to streamline consultations and referrals, giving patients and primary care physicians more effective and efficient access to specialist care.

eReferral services generally allow primary care physicians to request a referral to a specialist electronically, rather than by fax or mail.1 eReferral services can involve migrating relevant patient information already contained in the physician’s electronic medical record systems into an electronic referral form that is sent to the specialist and also saved in the patient’s electronic record.

eConsultation services typically connect primary care physicians with specialists using information and communication technology. They allow physicians to have an electronic dialogue to manage patient care, without requiring a face-to-face visit with the patient. 1

eConsultation and eReferral services vary

eConsultation and eReferral services vary widely. Some use the Internet, while others use traditional technology. For example, the Champlain BASE (Building Access to Specialists through eConsultation) eConsult Service is a web-based service primarily available in parts of Ontario.2 In British Columbia, the Rapid Access To Consultative Expertise (RACE) eConsultation service uses the telephone.3 Some are developed by public organizations and are provided without charge,2 while others are created by private groups and charge users a fee.4

"eConsultations and eReferrals are exciting because of their potential benefits," says Dr. Dennis Desai, CMPA’s Senior Physician Advisor, Quality Improvement and eHealth. "There is real potential for patient care to be enhanced because wait times for specialist care may be reduced and the barriers that prevent patients from accessing care may be removed."

Before participating in this type of service, physicians should be satisfied that it would serve their patients’ needs, and also support them in meeting their legal, professional and ethical obligations.

What are physicians’ legal, professional, and ethical obligations?

Duty of care

In an eConsultation and eReferral situation, primary care physicians have a doctor-patient relationship with the patient, which creates a duty of care.

That duty may also extend to consulting physicians who have been involved in the patient’s care, even if they have not seen or interacted directly with the patient. The law continues to evolve in this area, but it is probable that discussing a patient’s care through an eConsultation would establish a duty of care. And, at least one Canadian court has suggested that a physician may owe a duty to patients even in the absence of a doctor-patient relationship.5

Standards of care

When evaluating an eConsultation or eReferral service, physicians should question if it supports them in meeting their obligation to treat patients according to current and applicable standards of care.

Some medical organizations and specialty societies, and all regulatory authorities (Colleges) have established standards for in-person consultations and referrals. It is likely that those would apply equally to eConsultations and eReferrals.

In general, referring physicians should be able to provide necessary information about the patient’s problem; the clinical question to be answered; patient details; and relevant investigations, treatments, and medications. Consulting physicians should have sufficient details about the patient’s condition to be able to provide answers to specific questions and give appropriate advice.6

Specialists should generally decline to provide an eConsultation if they feel that the available information is inadequate or a physical examination is needed to provide the appropriate advice. A physician who proceeds with an eConsultation that does not meet the standard of care may be subject to disciplinary proceedings by the physician’s College and may be liable in a civil action for any injury the patient suffers because of that failure.

Privacy

As physicians have ethical and legal obligations to keep their patients’ personal health information private and confidential, they should be satisfied that any eConsultation or eReferral service they rely on has adequate security and privacy protocols to protect patient information.

Physicians should ask the service provider to confirm that the service has the appropriate privacy safeguards. When practising within a healthcare facility that has adopted an eConsultation or eReferral service, physicians may wish to speak with their administration to ensure similar steps have been taken by the facility.

To learn about specific safeguard requirements, physicians can look to applicable federal or provincial or territorial privacy legislation, or College guidelines or standards of practice. More information about privacy considerations for eReferrals or eConsultations is available from provincial and territorial privacy commissioners, Colleges, and the CMPA.

Medical records

In investigating an eConsultation or eReferral service, physicians should consider if the service allows them to meet their legal and professional responsibilities to maintain proper medical records for patients.

Primary care physicians should document in the patient’s medical record the information that would normally be expected with any consult or referral request including the patient information provided to the specialist, details of exchanges with the specialist, the specialist’s recommendations, and the reasons for following the specialist’s recommendations (or not). A consulting physician providing treatment recommendations to a primary care physician through an eConsultation should document the information provided by the treating physician, the substance of any exchange with the treating physician, information considered in the course of the consultation, and their recommendations to the treating physician.

These records can provide invaluable evidence in case a question arises later about the information provided or advice given. Legal proceedings often start long after a referral is made and consultation provided, and these records may be physicians’ only source of information to refresh their memory.

Licensing

Before participating in an eConsultation or eReferral with physicians located in a different province or territory, doctors should consider whether they have met applicable licensing requirements.

Some eConsultations may be considered telemedicine, which can have specific licensing requirements. The Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada defines telemedicine as "the provision of medical expertise for the purpose of diagnosis and patient care by means of telecommunications and information technology where the patient and the provider are separated by distance. Telemedicine may include, but is not limited to, the provision of pathology, medical imaging and patient consultative services."7

Telemedicine licensing requirements vary for each province and territory. Some physicians practising telemedicine might need to be licensed in both the jurisdiction in which they are located and in the jurisdiction where the patient is located. Some Canadian jurisdictions may also require special registration, or they may place conditions on the provision of such services, or both. So, physicians should be familiar with the requirements of each province and territory in which they practise and the patients are located.

Moving forward with care

eConsultations and eReferrals represent an exciting and promising new frontier in medical care. They offer great potential for remotely connecting referring and consulting physicians, and enhancing patient care. Before participating in such a service, clinicians should carefully examine it to satisfy themselves that it will also allow them to meet their legal, ethical, and professional responsibilities.

CMPA assistance

Some eConsultation or eReferral services may allow physicians to offer medical advice for patients living outside of Canada. For the purposes of determining whether the CMPA will generally assist members with an issue related to telemedicine, the CMPA deems the location where care is provided to be the patient’s location at the time of the telemedicine encounter. While CMPA members are generally eligible for assistance in the event of medical-legal difficulties if the patient is located in Canada, they are generally not eligible for CMPA assistance if the medical-legal problems arise outside of Canada or result from care provided to patients located outside of Canada.




References

  1. Canada Health Infoway [Internet]. Advanced clinical e-Functions and patient e-Services. Toronto (ON): Canada Health Infoway;[cited 2017 May 25]. Available from: https://www.infoway-inforoute.ca/en/component/edocman/2842-advanced-clinical-e-functions-and-patient-e-services-descriptions/view-document?Itemid=101
  2. The Champlain BASE eConsult Service [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Champlain BASE eConsult; [cited 2017 May 25]. Available from: http://www.champlainbaseeconsult.com/
  3. RACE Rapid Access to Consultative Expertise [Internet]. Vancouver (BC): RACE; [cited 2017 May 25]. Available from: http://www.raceconnect.ca/contact-us/
  4. Consult conduit [Internet]. Toronto (ON): E-Consultations made easy; 2017 [cited 2017 May 25]. Available from: https://www.consultconduit.com/
  5. Crawford v Penney, 2003 CanLll 22314 (ON CA)
  6. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Improving communication between physicians. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; June 2011 [cited 2017 May 25]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2011/improving-communication-between-physicians
  7. Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada [Internet]. FMRAC Policy on Telemedicine. Ottawa (ON): FMRAC; June 2010 [cited 2017 May 25]. Available from: http://fmrac.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/FMRAC_Policy_on_Telemedicine_June2010.pdf)

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Ce service de demande électronique de téléconsultation convient-il à votre pratique?

Publié initialement en septembre 2017
17-19-F

Un professionnel à l’horaire chargé consulte son médecin de famille au sujet d’une éruption cutanée au dos qui ne semble pas guérir. Après lui avoir fait part en détail de ses antécédents familiaux de cancer de la peau, il lui décrit son anxiété grandissante. Il se demande sans cesse comment il pourrait bien parvenir, en tant que parent seul, à affronter un grave problème de santé.

Après avoir examiné l’éruption cutanée, le médecin de famille décide de consulter un dermatologue. Cependant, le patient habite une région rurale qui se trouve à deux heures du cabinet du dermatologue le plus près, où la liste d’attente est de 6 à 9 mois pour les cas non urgents. Une autre option s’offre toutefois : une consultation à distance faisant appel à la technologie pour joindre un spécialiste, soit une téléconsultation.

Le médecin informe le patient de la technologie utilisée aux fins de la téléconsultation et, en particulier, de tout risque encouru en matière de protection de la vie privée et de confidentialité des renseignements personnels sur la santé. Après avoir obtenu le consentement du patient, le médecin photographie l’éruption cutanée. Elle ouvre une session dans le site web sécurisé de demande de téléconsultation, clique sur la liste déroulante des spécialités accessibles et sélectionne « dermatologie ». Elle remplit le formulaire, décrit les antécédents du patient, téléverse la photographie et soumet la demande de consultation.

Quelques jours plus tard, le médecin de famille reçoit un courriel sécurisé de la part d’un dermatologue. Bien que le spécialiste estime qu’une consultation en personne ne s’avère pas nécessaire, il lui suggère de faire une biopsie. Le médecin de famille communique avec le patient et prend les mesures nécessaires à l’intervention, pratiquée localement. L’éruption cutanée, diagnostiquée comme un cancer de la peau à un stade précoce, est traitée rapidement et efficacement. Le médecin de famille résume le processus des soins dans le dossier du patient.

Technologie améliorant les soins prodigués au patient

Partout au Canada, de nouvelles technologies permettant d’améliorer les consultations et les demandes de consultation sont utilisées tant par des personnes que des groupes. En général, ces initiatives peuvent globalement être désignées comme étant des services de demande électronique de téléconsultation.

Bien que de tels services puissent compter des technologies et des caractéristiques leur étant propres, ils partagent un objectif commun : rationaliser les consultations et les demandes de consultation dans le but d’offrir aux patients et aux médecins de soins primaires un accès plus efficace et efficient aux soins prodigués par des spécialistes.

Les services de demande de consultation par voie électronique (plutôt que par télécopieur ou par la poste) permettent généralement aux médecins de soins primaires d’obtenir une consultation auprès d’un spécialiste.1 Ces services peuvent nécessiter la migration des données pertinentes sur le patient déjà contenues dans le dossier médical électronique du médecin traitant vers un formulaire électronique de demande de consultation qui sera transmis au spécialiste, en plus d’être sauvegardé dans le dossier électronique du patient.

La téléconsultation met habituellement des médecins de soins primaires en relation avec des spécialistes au moyen de technologies de l’information et de la communication. Elle permet aux médecins d’engager un dialogue sur la gestion des soins au patient, sans nécessiter une consultation en personne avec le patient.1

Diversité des services de demande électronique de téléconsultation

Les services de demande électronique de téléconsultation présentent une grande diversité. Certains font appel à Internet, tandis que d’autres utilisent des technologies traditionnelles. Par exemple, le service de téléconsultation Champlain BASE (Building Access to Specialists through eConsultation) est un service web qui est principalement accessible dans certaines régions de l’Ontario.2 En Colombie-Britannique, le service de téléconsultation Rapid Access To Consultative Expertise (RACE) utilise le téléphone.3 Certains de ces services ont été conçus par des organisations publiques et sont offerts gratuitement,2 tandis que d’autres ont été créés par des groupes privés et exigent des frais d’utilisation.4

« Les services de demande électronique de téléconsultation sont emballants en raison de leurs avantages potentiels », affirme le Dr Dennis Desai, médecin-conseil sénior, Amélioration de la qualité et cybersanté, à l’ACPM. « Ils pourraient réellement améliorer les soins aux patients en réduisant les temps d’attente pour la consultation d’un spécialiste et en supprimant les obstacles qui empêchent les patients d’accéder aux soins. »

Avant de participer à ce type de service, les médecins doivent d’abord s’assurer que cela leur permettrait de répondre aux besoins des patients, et ce, sans nuire à leurs obligations légales, professionnelles et déontologiques.

Quelles sont les obligations légales, professionnelles et déontologiques des médecins?

Devoir de diligence

Dans une situation de demande électronique de téléconsultation, les médecins de soins primaires ont une relation thérapeutique avec le patient, ce qui crée un devoir de diligence.

Ce devoir pourrait s’étendre aux médecins consultants qui ont participé aux soins, même lorsqu’ils n’ont pas rencontré le patient ou interagi directement avec lui. Bien que le droit soit en constante évolution dans ce domaine, il est probable que le fait de discuter des soins d’un patient lors d’une téléconsultation donne lieu à un devoir de diligence. De plus, au moins un tribunal canadien a affirmé qu’un médecin pourrait avoir un devoir de diligence envers le patient, et ce, même en l’absence d’une relation thérapeutique.5

Normes de pratique

Au moment d’évaluer un service de demande électronique de téléconsultation, les médecins devraient déterminer si celui-ci leur permet de respecter leur obligation de traiter les patients conformément aux normes de pratique actuelles et applicables.

Certaines organisations médicales, sociétés de spécialistes et l’ensemble des organismes de réglementation (Collèges), ont établi des normes pour les consultations en personne et les demandes de consultation. Il est probable que ces normes s’appliqueraient également aux services de demande électronique de téléconsultation.

En général, les médecins traitants devraient pouvoir : décrire le problème, énoncer la question clinique, et préciser les renseignements sur le patient, ainsi que les examens, traitements et médicaments pertinents. Les médecins consultants devraient disposer de données suffisantes sur l’état du patient pour répondre à des questions précises et offrir des conseils.6

Les spécialistes devraient généralement refuser d’accorder une téléconsultation lorsqu’ils estiment que les renseignements disponibles ne sont pas adéquats ou qu’un examen physique s’impose. Un médecin qui accorde une téléconsultation ne répondant pas aux normes de pratique pourrait faire l’objet de procédures disciplinaires devant le Collège et être responsable dans une action civile si le patient subit un préjudice découlant de cette situation.

Confidentialité

Puisque les médecins ont des obligations déontologiques et légales en ce qui concerne le maintien de la confidentialité des renseignements personnels sur la santé de leurs patients, ils doivent s’assurer que les services de demande électronique de téléconsultation qu’ils utilisent disposent des protocoles de sécurité et de confidentialité nécessaires.

Les médecins doivent demander aux fournisseurs de leur confirmer que ces services comptent des mesures adéquates de protection de la confidentialité. Lorsqu’ils travaillent dans un établissement de santé ayant adopté un service de demande électronique de téléconsultation, les médecins pourraient consulter les représentants de l’administration pour s’assurer que l’établissement a mis en œuvre des mesures semblables.

Pour en en savoir plus sur les exigences particulières en matière de protection, les médecins peuvent consulter les lois fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales applicables en matière de confidentialité, ou encore les lignes directrices/normes de pratique des Collèges. De plus amples renseignements sur les facteurs à considérer en matière de confidentialité au moment d’avoir recours à des services de demande électronique de téléconsultation sont accessibles auprès des Commissaires à la protection de la vie privée et des Collèges, ainsi que de l’ACPM.

Dossiers médicaux

Au moment d’évaluer un service de demande électronique de téléconsultation, les médecins devraient déterminer si le service en question leur permet de s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités légales et professionnelles en ce qui a trait à la tenue des dossiers médicaux de leurs patients.

Les médecins de soins primaires doivent inscrire au dossier médical du patient les renseignements qui accompagnent habituellement toute consultation ou demande de consultation, y compris les renseignements au sujet du patient qui ont été fournis au spécialiste, les détails concernant les échanges avec le spécialiste, les recommandations de ce dernier et les motifs du respect (ou non) de ces recommandations. Un consultant qui formule des recommandations au médecin traitant par téléconsultation doit consigner l’information qui lui a été fournie, l’essentiel de tout échange avec le médecin, les données prises en considération lors de la consultation, ainsi que les recommandations faites au médecin traitant.

Ces dossiers peuvent constituer des preuves précieuses si les renseignements fournis ou les conseils offerts sont remis en question. Les actions en justice surviennent souvent bien après une demande de consultation et la consultation même, et de tels dossiers pourraient constituer la seule source d’information qu’ont les médecins pour se remémorer les circonstances d’un cas particulier.

Permis d’exercice

Avant de participer à une téléconsultation ou de procéder à une demande électronique de téléconsultation faisant intervenir des médecins exerçant dans une autre province ou un autre territoire, les médecins doivent déterminer s’ils répondent aux exigences applicables en matière de permis d’exercice.

Certaines téléconsultations pourraient être considérées comme des services de télémédecine, et avoir des exigences particulières en matière de permis d’exercice. La Fédération des ordres des médecins du Canada définit la télémédecine comme suit : « L’utilisation de compétences médicales pour poser un diagnostic ou soigner un patient par l’intermédiaire de technologies de télécommunication et d’information, le patient et le soignant étant séparés par la distance. La télémédecine peut comprendre, sans s’y limiter, la prestation de services de pathologie, l’imagerie médicale et la consultation par le patient. »7

Les exigences relatives aux permis d’exercice en télémédecine varient selon la province et le territoire. Pour offrir des services de télémédecine, certains médecins pourraient devoir détenir un permis d’exercice dans la province ou le territoire où se trouve le patient, en plus de celui qui est requis là où ils exercent. Dans certains cas, les médecins peuvent devoir détenir un permis spécial ou se voir imposer des conditions à la prestation de tels services, voire les deux. Les médecins doivent bien connaître les exigences de chaque province et territoire où ils exercent et où résident leurs patients.

Avenir des soins

Les services de demande électronique de téléconsultation représentent une nouvelle frontière prometteuse dans le domaine des soins médicaux. Ils offrent de grandes possibilités aux médecins traitants de joindre à distance des médecins consultants et ainsi améliorer les soins prodigués aux patients. Avant de participer ou d’avoir recours à de tels services, les cliniciens doivent soigneusement les examiner afin de s’assurer qu’ils leur permettront également de s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités légales, déontologiques et professionnelles.

Assistance de l’ACPM

Certains services de demande électronique de téléconsultation pourraient permettre à des médecins d’offrir des conseils médicaux pour des patients demeurant à l’étranger. Afin de déterminer si une assistance sera généralement apportée à un membre confronté à un problème lié à la télémédecine, l’ACPM considère que le lieu où les soins médicaux sont administrés sera réputé être celui où le patient se trouvait au moment de la téléconsultation. Bien que les membres soient généralement admissibles à une assistance lorsqu’ils font face à des problèmes médico-légaux dans le cas d’un patient situé au Canada, ils ne sont généralement pas admissibles en cas de problèmes médico-légaux survenant à l’extérieur du Canada ou résultant de soins administrés à des patients situés à l’étranger.




Références

  1. Inforoute Santé du Canada [En ligne]. Toronto (ON): Canada Health Infoway. Advanced clinical e-Functions and patient e-Services [cité le 25 mai 2017]; [environ 2 écrans]. https://www.infoway-inforoute.ca/en/component/edocman/2842-advanced-clinical-e-functions-and-patient-e-services-descriptions/view-document?Itemid=101
  2. The Champlain BASE eConsult Service [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Champlain BASE eConsult [cité le 25 mai 2017]. http://www.champlainbaseeconsult.com/
  3. RACE Rapid Access to Consultative Expertise [En ligne]. Vancouver (C.-B.): RACE [cité le 25 mai 2017]. http://www.raceconnect.ca/contact-us/
  4. Consult conduit [En ligne]. Toronto (ON): Consult conduit; 2017. E-Consultations made easy [cité le 25 mai 2017]. https://www.consultconduit.com/
  5. Crawford v Penney, 2003 CanLll 22314 (ON CA)
  6. Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; juin 2011. Améliorer la communication entre les médecins [cité le 25 mai 2017]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2011/improving-communication-between-physicians
  7. Fédération des ordres des médecins du Canada [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): FMRAC; juin 2010. FMRAC Policy on Telemedicine [cité le 25 mai 2017]. http://fmrac.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/FMRAC_Policy_on_Telemedicine_June2010.pdf)

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.