Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Medical assistance in dying and the law: One year later

Originally published June 2017
17-14-E

Healthcare has undergone remarkable changes since June 2016 when the federal government amended the Criminal Code of Canada to allow medical assistance in dying (MAID) in certain circumstances.1 Canadians now have access to MAID, and healthcare providers wanting to provide the service have a legal framework in which to do so.

As the country gains experience with MAID, it is apparent Canadians want the service. Reports suggest that between June 17 and December 31, 2016, at least 803 Canadians received MAID.2 Yet, questions are being asked about a range of issues around MAID including eligibility criteria, consent, conscientious objections, and safeguards. Despite the federal legislation, and Québec’s 2015 An Act Respecting End of Life Care, which governs end-of-life issues in that province,3 some physicians are uncertain about how to apply the rules, and their legal and professional rights and obligations. Some are also wary of potential medical-legal risks and seek to reconcile these risks with providing appropriate patient care.

The CMPA continues to receive requests from members for advice concerning MAID, and is monitoring developments by governments, regulatory authorities, and medical associations and federations as the situation evolves. With the one-year anniversary of the federal legislation this month, it is a good occasion to take stock of the current state of MAID in Canada and the medical-legal impacts on physicians.

Eligibility criteria and access

It is sometimes difficult to determine who is eligible, and patients in some parts of the country may have problems finding a healthcare professional willing to provide the service.

The Criminal Code states that patients may be eligible if they are mentally capable (competent) adults, eligible for government-funded health services, have made a voluntary request, are able to give informed consent, and suffer from a "grievous and irremediable medical condition."4 Questions remain around how to apply some of the criteria, for example, how to interpret the term "grievous and irremediable medical condition,"5,6 which is not defined by the Criminal Code.

Some suggest the current federal legislation impedes particular Canadians’ access to MAID,7 including those under the age of majority and those suffering from some mental illnesses. The legislation is currently facing a constitutional challenge in British Columbia on the basis that the requirement for a patient’s natural death be reasonably foreseeable is too restrictive and violates constitutional rights.8 Another court challenge is underway in the province of Québec.9

The federal government has started an independent review of the legislation to provide information. This will allow an informed dialogue to take place on the possibility of expanding the current legislation to include Canadians suffering strictly from mental illnesses, as well as mature minors, and to allow advance requests for MAID.7 The Québec government also indicated its intention to examine issues related to its MAID legislation.10

Informed consent

Physicians have a duty to obtain informed consent for end-of-life care from patients or their substitute decision-maker. When it comes to MAID, however, only the patient can request and consent to it; substitute decision-makers do not have this authority. To the extent possible, physicians should encourage patients to consent to including their family in MAID discussions. This can help ensure everyone is on board with the decision and minimizes the risk of issues arising after the patient’s death.

The Criminal Code requires that the health practitioner providing MAID confirm the patient’s capacity and consent immediately before providing MAID, thereby precluding "advance requests" for assisted dying.11 There has been interest in providing for advance requests, which would allow individuals to prepare directives addressing their wishes to receive MAID in the future once certain criteria will have been met.12

Conscientious objections

Some physicians object to medical assistance in dying on moral or religious grounds. While the law is clear that physicians have no obligation to provide MAID, there continues to be discussion on whether conscientiously objecting physicians should be required to provide referrals for patients who request MAID.

The Supreme Court of Canada recognizes a physician’s right to refuse to help a patient to die based on freedom of conscience. However, neither the Court nor federal legislation specifically address whether physicians are required to provide a referral for MAID.13 Most doctors who have indicated they would not be willing to provide MAID are similarly uncomfortable referring patients to a colleague.14 They view such a referral as morally equivalent to personally assisting patients to die.

In response to these issues, the regulatory authorities (Colleges) have developed policies and guidelines on MAID aimed at reconciling the Charter rights of patients and physicians.1 These guidelines differ from one jurisdiction to another and reaction to them has varied.

In 2016, faith-based medical groups and individual physicians launched a legal action in Ontario, arguing that the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario policy violates their Charter rights.15 In another development, some Catholic hospitals are opting not to provide MAID within their facilities and are instead transferring patients who request an assisted death.16, 17

Conscientious objection to MAID will likely remain a contentious issue, as the regulations try to strike the appropriate weighting between the rights and convictions of doctors while ensuring they uphold their duty of care.

Safeguards

The legislation’s safeguards, which are aimed at protecting vulnerable patients from abuse of the MAID provisions, can be hard to apply in certain circumstances.

For example, to complete the MAID request form, patients must find witnesses that meet the legislation’s strict requirements for independence. This can be a struggle. Challenges have also been encountered when trying to determine the independence of the two practitioners involved in providing MAID.16 And issues have surfaced about the application and shortening of the 10-day period of reflection.

Despite concerns about applying some of the safeguards in specific situations, a number of physicians are now developing a special interest and experience in MAID.16 Some hospitals and health authorities have policies and resources to assist physicians and other healthcare providers with the processes around MAID, including interpreting and complying with the various safeguards. However, other hospitals and health authorities have not yet implemented any policies, which can present additional challenges for physicians caring for patients who request MAID within that facility.

Medical-legal risks

Unlike other healthcare services, MAID is governed by criminal law. If the safeguards and eligibility criteria for MAID are not met, it could result in criminal charges against a physician and imprisonment of up to 14 years.1 This is in addition to the usual risks associated with medical care, which may result in College sanctions and civil legal actions.

Because the Québec legislation is generally more restrictive than the federal legislation, physicians providing assistance in dying in Québec should act in accordance with both the Criminal Code and provincial legislation, adhering to whichever requirements are more restrictive.

Tips when considering a request for MAID

When patients request assistance in death, physicians should consider the following:

  • Become familiar with your obligations as set out in the federal legislation, provincial or territorial laws and regulations, and College and hospital policies.
  • Treat each request for assisted death as unique. Assess it on its own merits based on the facts and circumstances of the case.
  • Document carefully in the medical record the processes and discussions around MAID, especially assessments on eligibility and mental capacity (competence), informed consent discussions, consultations with other healthcare professionals, and, if appropriate, discussions with family members.
  • Consider consulting with colleagues for support in dealing with end-of-life care and requests for MAID.
  • Contact the CMPA if you have medical-legal questions or concerns about MAID.

References

  1. An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to make related amendments to other Acts (medical assistance in dying), S.C. 2016, c. 3, amending R.S.C., 1985, c. C-46). Available from: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-46/
  2. Government of Canada. Interim update on medical assistance in dying in Canada June 17 to December 31, 2016 [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Government of Canada; 2017 April 17 [cited 2017 Apr 28]. Available from: https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/publications/health-system-services/medical-assistance-dying-interim-report-dec-2016.html
  3. An Act Respecting End-of-Life Care, RSQ 2014, c S-32.0001. Available from: https://www.canlii.org/en/qc/laws/stat/rsq-c-s-32.0001/latest/rsq-c-s-32.0001.html
  4. Medical assistance in dying. Government of Canada. 2016 [cited 2017 Feb 2]. Available from: https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/medical-assistance-dying.html
  5. Government of Canada. Legislative Background: Medical Assistance in Dying (Bill C-14) [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Government of Canada, Department of Justice; 2016 [cited 2017 Apr 28]. 55 p. Available from: http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr/other-autre/ad-am/ad-am.pdf
  6. Government of Canada [Internet]. Legislative Background: Medical Assistance in Dying (Bill C-14) –Addendum. Ottawa (ON): Department of Justice (Canada); 2016 July 15 [cited 2017 Feb 28]. Available from: http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr/other-autre/addend/index.html
  7. Laucius J. Reviews on expanding assisted dying to mature minors, those with mental illness, to begin in new year. Ottawa Citizen [Internet] 2016 December 28 [cited 2017 Feb 7]; National: [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://ottawacitizen.com/news/national/reviews-on-expanding-assisted-dying-to-begin-in-the-new-year
  8. Lamb v Canada: the Death with Dignity case continues [Internet]. Vancouver (BC), [cited 2017, Feb 28]. Available from: https://bccla.org/our-work/blog/lamb/ British Columbia Civil Liberties Association.
  9. D’Amico et Saba c. Procureure générale du Québec, Dec. 1, 2015. Court File 500-17-082567-143 (C.S.Q.)
  10. Government of Québec [Internet]. Élargissement de l'aide médicale à mourir - Le ministre Barrette propose des mesures pour alimenter la réflexion : Québec (PQ); Government of Québec; 2017 March 24 [cited 2017 Apr 28]. Available from: http://www.fil-information.gouv.qc.ca/Pages/Article.aspx?aiguillage=ajd&lang=fr&idArticle=2503243228
  11. Criminal Code, RSC, 1985, c. C-46, ss 241.2 (1)(b)(3)(h)
  12. Government of Canada. Government of Canada Initiates Studies Related to Medical Assistance in Dying [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Government of Canada; 2016 Dec 13 [cited 2017 Apr 28]. Available from: http://news.gc.ca/web/article-en.do?nid=1167919&tp=1&_ga=1.199899374.1575693374.1480427381
  13. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Conscientious objection to medical assistance in dying: Protecting Charter rights. Ottawa (ON):CMPA; June 2016. [cited 2017 Feb 8]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/conscientious-objection-to-physician-assisted-dying-protecting-charter-rights
  14. Canadian Medical Association [Internet]. Results of the CMA Member Survey on Medical Assistance in Dying. Ottawa (ON);CMA; June 2016. [cited 2017 Feb 6]. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/maid-survey-summary-june-2016-english.pdf
  15. Fine S. Christian doctors challenge Ontario’s assisted-death referral requirement. The Globe and Mail [Internet] 2016 June 22 [cited 2017 Jan 31]; National: [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/christian-doctors-challenge-ontarios-assisted-death-referral-policy/article30552327/
  16. Grant K. Incomplete stats paint fuzzy picture of assisted-death impact in Canada. The Globe and Mail [Internet] 2016 October 6 [cited 2017 Jan 31]; National: [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/despite-assisted-dying-law-barriers-still-remain-doctors-say/article32286253/
  17. Cross B. Low number of doctor-assisted deaths may be due to good palliative care. Windsor Star [Internet] 2016 October 16 [cited 2017 Jan 31]; Local News: [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://windsorstar.com/news/local-news/low-number-of-doctor-assisted-deaths-may-be-due-to-good-palliative-care

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

L’aide médicale à mourir et la législation : Où en sommes-nous un an plus tard?

Publié initialement en juin 2017
17-14-F

Le milieu des soins de santé a subi des changements importants depuis juin 2016, alors que le gouvernement fédéral modifiait le Code criminel dans le but de permettre l’aide médicale à mourir dans certaines circonstances.1 Les Canadiens peuvent maintenant avoir accès à cette aide et les professionnels de la santé qui veulent prodiguer ce service ont un cadre législatif pour les guider.

Plus nous gagnons en expérience dans le domaine de l’aide médicale à mourir, plus nous constatons le besoin qu’expriment les Canadiens à l’égard de cette aide; des rapports affirment qu’entre le 17 juin et le 31 décembre 2016, au moins 803 Canadiens y ont eu recours.2 Toutefois, des questions sont soulevées concernant de nombreux aspects de cette aide; entre autres, les critères d’admissibilité, le consentement, les objections de conscience et les mesures de sauvegarde. Malgré la loi fédérale, ainsi que la Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie du Québec dont les dispositions sont entrées en vigueur en décembre 2015 et régissent les questions de fin de vie dans cette province3, certains médecins ne savent pas trop comment mettre en œuvre les règles, et s’acquitter de leurs obligations et droits légaux et professionnels. Certains craignent aussi la possibilité de risques médico-légaux et cherchent à en tenir compte lors de la prestation de soins appropriés aux patients.

L’ACPM continue de recevoir des demandes d’assistance, de la part des membres, concernant l’aide médicale à mourir; elle surveille aussi l’évolution de la situation auprès des gouvernements, des organismes de réglementation (Collèges), ainsi que des associations et fédérations médicales. La nouvelle loi fédérale est entrée en vigueur en juin 2016; le moment est donc bien choisi un an plus tard pour faire le point sur la situation actuelle de l’aide médicale à mourir au Canada et ses conséquences médico-légales pour les médecins.

Critères d’admissibilité et accès

Il est parfois difficile de déterminer l’admissibilité à cette aide et les patients, dans certaines régions du pays, peuvent avoir de la difficulté à trouver un professionnel de la santé qui acceptera de prodiguer le service.

Le Code criminel énonce qu’un patient pourrait être admissible : s’il est apte à consentir aux décisions concernant sa santé; est admissible à des soins de santé financés par l’État; fait une demande de manière volontaire; fournit un consentement éclairé; est affecté de problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables.4 Toutefois, des questions subsistent quant à l’application de certains critères : entres autres, l’interprétation de l’expression « problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables »5, 6 qui n’est pas définie dans le Code.

Certaines personnes avancent que la loi fédérale actuelle entrave l’accès à l’aide médicale à mourir chez des groupes précis de Canadiens, notamment les personnes mineures et celles atteintes de troubles de santé mentale.7 En Colombie-Britannique, cette loi fait l’objet d’une contestation constitutionnelle, l’argument soulevé étant que l’exigence de la mort naturelle raisonnablement prévisible d’un patient est trop restrictive et qu’elle viole les droits constitutionnels.8 Au Québec, une autre instance est contestée par les tribunaux.9

Le gouvernement fédéral a donc amorcé un examen indépendant de la loi pour obtenir plus de précisions. Cela donnera lieu à un dialogue éclairé sur l’élargissement possible de la loi pour y intégrer les Canadiens atteints exclusivement de troubles de santé mentale et les mineurs matures, ainsi que pour permettre les demandes anticipées d’aide médicale à mourir.7 Le gouvernement du Québec a aussi indiqué son intention d’examiner les enjeux associés à sa Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie.10

Consentement éclairé

Les médecins doivent obtenir le consentement éclairé des patients ou de leurs décideurs-remplaçants pour prodiguer des soins de fin de vie. Cependant, quand il s’agit de l’aide médicale à mourir, seul le patient peut faire une telle demande et y consentir; les décideurs-remplaçants n’ont pas ce mandat. Dans la mesure du possible, les médecins devraient encourager les patients à consentir à faire participer leurs proches aux discussions sur l’aide médicale à mourir. Cette approche contribuera à assurer l’accord de tous quant aux décisions et minimisera le risque que des problèmes surgissent après le décès du patient.

Le Code criminel apporte les précisions suivantes : le médecin ou l’infirmier praticien doit, immédiatement avant de fournir l’aide médicale à mourir, donner à la personne la possibilité de retirer sa demande et s’assurer qu’elle consent expressément à recevoir l’aide médicale à mourir, empêchant ainsi le recours aux demandes anticipées pour l’aide médicale à mourir.11 Les demandes anticipées ont toutefois suscité un certain intérêt, puisqu’elles permettraient à une personne de préparer des directives indiquant ses souhaits de recevoir l’aide médicale à mourir dans le futur, si elle se conforme à des critères prédéterminés.12

Objections de conscience

Certains médecins contestent l’aide médicale à mourir pour des raisons d’ordre moral ou religieux. Bien que la législation précise clairement que les médecins n’ont aucune obligation de prodiguer l’aide médicale à mourir, la question de savoir si l’on doit obliger les médecins ayant des objections de conscience à diriger les personnes demandant cette aide vers les professionnels appropriés continue d’être débattue.

La Cour suprême du Canada reconnaît le droit d’un médecin de refuser d’aider un patient à mourir pour des raisons de liberté de conscience. Cependant, ni la Cour suprême ni la loi fédérale ne précisent si les médecins doivent diriger les patients souhaitant l’aide médicale à mourir vers le professionnel approprié.13 La plupart des médecins ayant indiqué qu’ils ne participeraient pas à l’aide médicale à mourir expriment les mêmes réserves quant à la question de diriger ou non les patients vers un collègue.14 Ils perçoivent une telle demande de consultation comme étant moralement l’équivalent d’assister personnellement les patients à mourir.

En réponse à ces problèmes, les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ont élaboré des politiques et des lignes directrices sur l’aide médicale à mourir pour mieux concilier les droits des patients prévus par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et ceux des médecins.1 Ces lignes directrices diffèrent d’une province ou d’un territoire à l’autre, et les réactions varient selon les groupes.

En 2016, certains médecins et groupes confessionnels de médecins ontariens ont déposé une action en justice alléguant que la politique formulée par l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario violait leurs droits prévus par la Charte.15 Certains hôpitaux catholiques ont aussi choisi de ne pas prodiguer l’aide médicale à mourir dans leurs établissements mais plutôt de transférer les patients qui demandaient une telle aide.16, 17

L’objection de conscience à l’aide médicale à mourir demeurera probablement une question litigieuse, et la législation continuera de tenter d’établir un équilibre entre les droits et les convictions des médecins, tout en cherchant à s’assurer que ceux-ci respectent leur devoir de diligence.

Mesures de sauvegarde

Les mesures de sauvegarde de la loi, qui visent à protéger les patients vulnérables d’une utilisation abusive des dispositions de l’aide médicale à mourir, peuvent être difficiles à mettre en œuvre dans certaines circonstances.

Lorsqu’il s’agit de remplir le formulaire de demande d’aide médicale à mourir, par exemple, les patients doivent trouver des témoins qui respectent les exigences strictes de la loi en matière d’indépendance, ce qui peut demander des efforts considérables. Des défis se posent également lorsque vient le temps de déterminer l’indépendance des deux professionnels impliqués dans la prestation de l’aide médicale à mourir.16 Des problèmes ont aussi surgi en ce qui concerne l’application et la réduction de la période de réflexion de 10 jours.

Malgré des préoccupations quant à la mise en œuvre de certaines mesures de sauvegarde dans des situations particulières, quelques médecins manifestent maintenant un intérêt pour l’aide médicale à mourir et acquièrent une expérience en la matière.16 Quelques hôpitaux et autorités en matière de santé possèdent des politiques et des ressources pour aider les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé dans leurs démarches entourant l’aide médicale à mourir, y compris l’interprétation et le respect des diverses mesures de sauvegarde. Cependant, d’autres établissements et autorités en matière de santé n’ont pas encore de politiques en vigueur, ce qui peut présenter des défis additionnels pour les médecins traitant des patients qui demandent l’aide médicale à mourir dans ces établissements.

Risques médico-légaux

L’aide médicale à mourir est régie par le droit criminel, contrairement aux autres services en soins de santé. Les médecins pourraient donc faire face à des accusations criminelles et à une peine d’emprisonnement pouvant aller jusqu’à 14 ans si les mesures de sauvegarde et les critères d’admissibilité ne sont pas respectés.1 À cela s’ajoutent les risques usuels associés à la prestation de soins médicaux, ces risques pouvant donner lieu à des admonestations de la part de l’organisme de réglementation (Collège), ainsi qu’à des actions civiles.

Puisque le Québec a adopté sa propre loi en matière d’aide médicale à mourir (généralement plus restrictive que la loi fédérale), les médecins du Québec qui prodiguent cette aide doivent se conformer tant aux dispositions du Code criminel qu’à celles de la loi de leur province, en s’assurant de respecter les conditions les plus exigeantes.

Que faire devant une demande d’aide médicale à mourir

Lorsqu’un patient demande une aide médicale à mourir, un médecin devrait envisager les éléments suivants :

  • Se familiariser avec les obligations du médecin telles qu’énoncées dans la loi fédérale, les lois et les règlements des provinces ou des territoires, de même que les politiques des Collèges et des hôpitaux.
  • Traiter les demandes d’aide médicale à mourir au cas par cas, en les évaluant en toute objectivité, en fonction des faits et des circonstances en cause.
  • Documenter soigneusement, dans le dossier médical, la démarche et les discussions au sujet de l’aide médicale à mourir, en particulier les évaluations concernant l’admissibilité et l’aptitude à consentir, les discussions associées au consentement éclairé, les consultations avec d’autres professionnels de la santé et, le cas échéant, les discussions avec les proches.
  • Envisager de consulter des collègues pour obtenir du soutien quant à la prise en charge thérapeutique des soins de fin de vie et à l’évaluation des demandes d’aide médicale à mourir.
  • Communiquer avec l’ACPM si vous avez des questions médico-légales ou des préoccupations au sujet de l’aide médicale à mourir.

Références

    1. Loi modifiant le Code criminel et apportant des modifications connexes à d’autres lois (aide médicale à mourir) LC 2016, c 3. http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-46/
    2. Aide médicale à mourir [En ligne]. Ottawa: Gouvernement du Canada; 2016 [cité le 2 février 2017]. https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/aide-medicale-mourir.html
    3. Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie, LRQ 2014, c S-32.0001. https://www.canlii.org/fr/qc/legis/lois/lrq-c-s-32.0001/derniere/lrq-c-s-32.0001.html
    4. Aide médicale à mourir [En ligne]. Ottawa: Gouvernement du Canada; 2016 [cité le 2 février 2017]. https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/aide-medicale-mourir.html
    5. Contexte législatif : aide médicale à mourir (projet de loi C-14) [En ligne]. Ottawa: Gouvernement du Canada, ministère de la Justice; 2016 [cité le 28 février 2017], 55 p. http://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/pr-rp/autre-other/am-ad/am-ad.pdf
    6. Contexte législatif : aide médicale à mourir (projet de loi C-14) – Addendum [En ligne]. Ottawa: Gouvernement du Canada, ministère de la Justice; 15 juillet 2016 [cité le 28 février 2017]. http://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/pr-rp/autre-other/addend/index.html
    7. Laucius J. Reviews on expanding assisted dying to mature minors, those with mental illness, to begin in new year. Ottawa Citizen [En ligne] 28 décembre 2016 [cité le 7 février 2017]; National: [environ 4 écrans]. http://ottawacitizen.com/news/national/reviews-on-expanding-assisted-dying-to-begin-in-the-new-year
    8. Lamb v Canada: the Death with Dignity case continues [En ligne]. Vancouver (C.-B.): British Columbia Civil Liberties Association, [cité le 28 février 2017]. https://bccla.org/our-work/blog/lamb/.
    9. D’Amico c. Québec (Procureure générale), 2015 QCCS 5556.
    10. Élargissement de l’aide médicale à mourir − Le ministre Barrette propose des mesures pour alimenter la réflexion [En ligne]. Gouvernement du Québec; 24 mars 2017. http://www.fil-information.gouv.qc.ca/Pages/Article.aspx?aiguillage=ajd&lang=fr&idArticle=2503243228
    11. Code criminel, LRC 1985, c C-46, art 241.2 (1)(b)(3)(h).
    12. Le gouvernement du Canada lance des études sur l’aide médicale à mourir [En ligne]. Ottawa: Gouvernement du Canada, Santé Canada; 13 décembre 2016 [cité le 28 avril 2017]. http://nouvelles.gc.ca/web/article-fr.do?nid=1167919&_ga=2.267433742.1091084091.1494013801-2106675762.1494013801
    13. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; juin 2016. Objection de conscience à l’aide médicale à mourir: protection des droits prévus par la Charte [cité le 8 février 2017]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/conscientious-objection-to-physician-assisted-dying-protecting-charter-rights
    14. Association médicale canadienne [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): AMC; juin 2016. Résultats du Sondage 2016 auprès des membres sur l’aide médicale à mourir, juin 2016 [cité le 6 février 2017]. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/advocacy/maid-survey-summary-june-2016-french.pdf
    15. Fine S. Christian doctors challenge Ontario’s assisted-death referral requirement. The Globe and Mail [En ligne] 22 juin 2016 [cité le 31 janvier 2017]; National: [environ 4 écrans]. http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/christian-doctors-challenge-ontarios-assisted-death-referral-policy/article30552327/
    16. Grant K. Incomplete stats paint fuzzy picture of assisted-death impact in Canada. The Globe and Mail [En ligne] 6 octobre 2016 [cité le 31 janvier 2017]; National: [environ 4 écrans]. http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/despite-assisted-dying-law-barriers-still-remain-doctors-say/article32286253/
    17. Cross B. Low number of doctor-assisted deaths may be due to good palliative care. Windsor Star [En ligne] 16 octobre 2016 [cité le 31 janvier 2017]; Local News: [environ 4 écrans]. http://windsorstar.com/news/local-news/low-number-of-doctor-assisted-deaths-may-be-due-to-good-palliative-care

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.