Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Patient portals—A new communication tool for doctors and patients

Originally published March 2017
17-04-E

Online patient portals are emerging as an important tool for improving communication between physicians and their patients, and as a means of empowering patients to become more engaged in managing their healthcare.

Patient portals are being adopted by a growing number of physicians, hospitals, and healthcare clinics in Canada and abroad. Some portals allow patients to upload health information for physicians to view, while others give patients access to their health information online. This article looks at the latter type of portal, where patients can access their information online.

Physicians and healthcare administrators are seeing benefits in making patients’ personal health information and records accessible through secure online portals that patients can view on their own time and from virtually any location.

The benefits

Some of the benefits of providing online access to health information include:

  • empowering patients to take an active role in their healthcare
  • helping patients to better understand their medical condition
  • bolstering patient adherence to healthcare advice and the taking of medications
  • engaging patients to confirm that their health record is correct and complete, which may assist in reducing errors
  • giving patients another way to communicate with their physician, which is convenient and secure

Regardless of the existence of a patient portal, physicians continue to be responsible for ensuring that patients receive test results in a timely manner, and are informed of a diagnosis and the consequences of the diagnosis. Doctors still play a critical role in explaining medical information, exercising clinical judgment regarding diagnoses and treatments, and interpreting and communicating test and lab results for their patients in a timely and appropriate fashion. But securely posting clinical notes, test results and other pertinent information online for patients to view can help to better manage individual healthcare needs, and may lessen the likelihood of important information not being acted on.

"Seeing written information, including notes, helps patients to remember and understand a plan of care and reinforces positive behaviour," says Dr. Gordon Wallace, Managing Director of Safe Medical Care at the Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA). "Beyond these benefits, online patient portals are an important risk management tool. The more a patient is involved and knowledgeable about their own healthcare, the better."

Risks and security concerns

As a transparent way of sharing information, online patient portals do carry some risks for physicians.1 Those risks may include:

  • Security and privacy of patient information could be compromised when shared online.
  • Test results and notes could be misinterpreted by patients who do not have a medical background or extensive knowledge of the healthcare system.
  • Anxiety levels among patients could be raised when viewing clinical notes and test results concerning their health without a physician present to provide context and reassurance.
  • Online patient portals may not be the best medium to inform patients in certain situations, such as when providing a serious or life-threatening diagnosis.
  • Patient informed consent will be needed to use an online patient portal to share information among the healthcare team.

"E-health is a rapidly growing trend, and patients should be invited to use online portals to review their test results and clinical notes, as well as seek clarification, and take action on an agreed-on plan of care," says Dr. Lisa Calder, Director of Medical Care Analytics at CMPA. "It is also important for physicians to take steps to mitigate the risks to ensure that patient portals are used successfully."

To lessen risks when using patient portals, doctors should consider taking the following steps2:

  • Use robust security and privacy protections: Physicians have professional and legal obligations to ensure patient information is kept private and secure. Patient portals should have security features that adequately protect patient information from unauthorized access. Features, such as encryption, along with rules about who can access data can help minimize these risks. Privacy and security issues should be part of discussions with patients when introducing patient portals.3
  • Manage expectations: To manage expectations, physicians should explain to patients how the portal will be used and any limitations. Expectations should also be set around response times and when information will be posted to a portal. In some cases, patients may expect information to appear on a portal immediately. The CMPA recommends physicians include terms of use on their web-based patient portals, which clarify expectations and outline the terms and conditions under which patients may access the portal.3 The CMPA has developed a template terms of use agreement, which includes a provision for websites with patient portals. Physicians wanting to develop a terms of use agreement for their own portal can consider using the Association’s template agreement, Terms of use agreement template for physician websites [PDF].
  • Write clear, concise notes: Physician notes and information should be written clearly and concisely, and in a way that is easy to understand. Avoid abbreviations and jargon (medical or otherwise) as these can confuse patients and other clinicians who view the file.
  • Draw attention to important information or desired actions: Physicians can draw attention to information they feel is most important for patients to know, or actions that are critically important for patients to take. For example, physicians may remind a patient of the importance of following a vaccination schedule.
  • Highlight patient accomplishments: Patient portals can also be used to highlight patient accomplishments and encourage patients to make positive changes that will improve their health. Clinicians often focus on positive change when speaking to patients directly, and the same can be done with online patient portals. Doing so may motivate patients and inspire a change of behaviour.
  • Keep the language professional: Keep language professional and focused on the diagnosis and plan of care. Remember that the information is being accessed by people outside the clinical setting.
  • Provide additional information: As a communication tool, patient portals can provide people with helpful resources and additional information concerning their health and plan of care. Physicians may insert links to reliable online resources that can help to inform and educate patients, provide context and clarification, and inspire action.
  • Ensure follow-up plans are clearly visible: Physicians should make follow-up plans visible and easily understood. Seeing the plan of care and next steps documented can help reduce patients’ anxiety and make them see that proactive steps are being taken to manage their condition. A tangible plan of action may also help patients move beyond denial and prompt behaviour change. Physicians should also tell the patient to contact the physician if they need clarification or have any concerns.

Special circumstances

Patient portals should not be used as the sole method of communicating with patients. There are often times when face-to-face consultations are a more appropriate means of communication. These could involve providing a diagnosis, or having a need to carefully explain a test result and provide fulsome context around what the test result means for the patient’s long-term health.

It is worth noting that most electronic health systems allow doctors to block specific notes or parts of a medical record from being visible to the patient on the portal. This may be helpful in certain situations, such as when physicians believe that reading a note on their own may cause patients anxiety, or when there is information patients do not want shared with others who may have access to the portal. Patients do have a general legal right of access to their personal health information, but there may be rare exceptions that physicians can rely on to delay access, if appropriate. More details on exceptions can be found in the CMPA article, "Sharing records, improving care, staying safe."3

There may be other situations where a patient’s medical information is deemed too sensitive to share on a portal, such as when it includes details of a person’s sexual history, instances of abuse, or mental health issues. Each patient case should be treated as unique, and physicians should exercise prudence when deciding when it is appropriate to use an online portal.

Physicians should also be aware that some patients may request that changes be made to their medical notes—whether it is an omission or having some information rewritten. Physicians should be aware of the legal and College requirements in their jurisdiction for making corrections or addendums (late entries) in the record. Not all requests for amendments need to be accommodated. More information on making appropriate changes to a medical record can be found in the CMPA article, "The medical record: A legal document—Can it be corrected?."4

 


 

References

  1. Gulick S. Risk management strategies for patient portal use. Med Econ [Internet]. 2015 May 25[cited 2016 Nov 28];92(10):38-39. Available from: http://medicaleconomics.modernmedicine.com/medical-economics/news/risk-management-strategies-patient-portal-use
  2. Klein JW, Jackson SL, Bell SK, Anselmo MK, Walker J, Delbanco T, Elmore JG. Your patient is now reading your note: Opportunities, problems, and prospects. Am J Med [Internet]. 2016 Oct [cited 2016 Nov 28];29(10):1018–1021. Available from: http://www.amjmed.com/article/S0002-9343(16)30548-4/abstract doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.amjmed.2016.05.015
  3. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; Dec 2014. Sharing records, improving care, staying safe [cited 2016 Nov 28]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/sharing-records-improving-care-staying-safe
  4. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; Oct 2009. The medical record: A legal document—Can it be corrected? [cited 2016 Nov 28]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/the-medical-record-a-legal-document-can-it-be-corrected-

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Portails-patients : nouvel outil de communication pour les médecins et les patients

Publié initialement en mars 2017
17-04-F

Les portails-patients sont de plus en plus considérés comme un outil important pour améliorer la communication entre les médecins et leurs patients; ils constituent un moyen de favoriser l’autonomisation des patients dans la gestion de leurs soins de santé.

Ces portails sont adoptés par un nombre croissant de médecins, d’hôpitaux et de cliniques de santé au Canada et à l’étranger. Certains permettent aux patients de téléverser des renseignements sur leur santé pour que leurs médecins puissent les consulter, tandis que d’autres leur accordent un accès en ligne à leurs renseignements de santé. Cet article porte sur ce dernier type de portail.

Les médecins et les administrateurs des services de santé reconnaissent les avantages que représentent ces portails sécurisés, qui permettent aux patients d’avoir accès à leurs dossiers et renseignements personnels sur la santé virtuellement à toute heure et en tout lieu.

Avantages

L’accès en ligne aux renseignements sur la santé offre, entre autres, les avantages suivants :

  • permettre aux patients de jouer un rôle actif dans leurs soins de santé
  • aider les patients à mieux comprendre leur état de santé
  • favoriser l’adhésion des patients aux conseils de santé et à la pharmacothérapie prescrite
  • inciter les patients à confirmer l’exactitude et l’exhaustivité de leur dossier médical, ce qui pourrait contribuer à la réduction du nombre d’erreurs
  • offrir aux patients un autre moyen pratique et sécuritaire de communiquer avec leur médecin.

Qu’ils aient recours ou non à un portail-patients, les médecins n’en demeurent pas moins responsables de s’assurer que les patients reçoivent leurs résultats d’examens en temps opportun, et qu’ils soient avisés d’un diagnostic et de ses conséquences. Les médecins ont toujours un rôle crucial à jouer dans l’explication des renseignements médicaux, l’exercice d’un jugement clinique à l’égard des diagnostics et des traitements, et l’interprétation et la communication en temps opportun et de façon adéquate des résultats d’examens et de laboratoire. Cela dit, la mise en ligne sécurisée de notes cliniques, de résultats d’examens et d’autres renseignements pertinents à l’intention des patients peut permettre de mieux gérer les besoins de chaque patient, et pourrait atténuer la probabilité que des renseignements importants passent inaperçus.

« Le fait de voir les renseignements et notes cliniques par écrit aide les patients à mieux comprendre leur plan de soins et à s’en souvenir, ce qui renforce l’adoption de comportements positifs », affirme le Dr Gordon Wallace, directeur administratif, Soins médicaux sécuritaires, à l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM). « Outre ces avantages, les portails-patients constituent un important outil de gestion des risques. Plus un patient s’engage envers les soins qui lui sont prodigués et plus il accumule de renseignements à cet égard, meilleur sera le résultat. »

Risques et préoccupations en matière de sécurité

Puisqu’ils permettent la communication de renseignements sur la santé de façon transparente, les portails-patients donnent lieu à certains risques pour les médecins1 :

  • La sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements du patient pourraient être compromises à la suite de leur mise en ligne.
  • Les résultats d’examens et les notes cliniques pourraient être mal interprétés par les patients qui n’ont pas de formation en médecine ou qui n’ont pas une connaissance approfondie du système de santé.
  • Les patients pourraient devenir très anxieux au moment de consulter les notes cliniques et les résultats d’examens en l’absence d’un médecin étant à même de les rassurer et de replacer ces renseignements dans leur contexte.
  • Les portails-patients pourraient ne pas constituer le meilleur moyen de renseigner les patients dans certaines situations; p. ex. au moment de communiquer un diagnostic de maladie grave ou pouvant menacer la vie.
  • Les patients devront consentir de façon éclairée à l’utilisation de portails pour la transmission de renseignements à leur sujet à d’autres membres de l’équipe de soins.

« La cyberSanté est une tendance de plus en plus marquée, et les patients devraient être conviés à utiliser des portails pour prendre connaissance de leurs résultats d’examens et des notes cliniques, pour obtenir des clarifications et pour prendre les mesures nécessaires à la mise en œuvre du plan de soins qu’ils ont accepté », précise la Dre Lisa Calder, directrice, Analytique des soins médicaux, à l’ACPM. « Il est également important que les médecins prennent des mesures pour atténuer les risques, de façon à assurer la réussite de l’utilisation des portails-patients. »

Pour réduire les risques liés à l’utilisation de ces portails, les médecins devraient envisager les mesures suivantes2 :

  • Utiliser des mesures de protection solides pour assurer la sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements personnels : Les médecins ont des obligations professionnelles et légales à l’égard de la protection des renseignements personnels de leurs patients. Les portails-patients doivent donc compter des dispositifs de sécurité offrant une protection adéquate contre l’accès non autorisé aux renseignements qui s’y trouvent. La mise en œuvre de ces dispositifs (p. ex. le chiffrement) et de règles contrôlant l’accès aux données peut contribuer à minimiser les risques. Les questions entourant la sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements personnels devraient être abordées avec les patients au moment de leur offrir l’accès à des portails en ligne.3
  • Gérer les attentes : Pour gérer les attentes de leurs patients, les médecins devraient leur expliquer la façon dont le portail sera utilisé et leur faire part des limites qui seront imposées à cette utilisation. Les attentes devraient également être définies quant aux délais de réponse et à la chronologie de l’affichage des renseignements sur le portail; certains patients pourraient s’attendre à ce que ceux-ci y apparaissent immédiatement. L'ACPM recommande que les médecins insèrent les conditions d'accès et d'utilisation directement sur leur portail-patients; ceci permet de préciser les attentes que les patients peuvent entretenir à l’égard d’un accès en ligne à leur dossier.3 L’ACPM a élaboré un modèle de contrat d’utilisation comportant une clause pour les sites avec portail pour les patients; les médecins souhaitant élaborer leurs propres conditions d’utilisation pour leur portail peuvent envisager de se servir de ce modèle (Modèle de contrat d’utilisation des sites web de médecins [PDF]).
  • Rédiger des notes claires et concises : Les notes et les renseignements cliniques devraient être rédigés avec clarté et concision, pour en faciliter la compréhension. Éviter les abréviations et le jargon (médical ou autre) puisqu’ils peuvent créer de la confusion chez les patients et les autres cliniciens qui consultent le dossier.
  • Attirer l’attention des patients aux renseignements importants ou aux mesures souhaitées : Les médecins peuvent attirer l’attention des patients aux renseignements qu’ils considèrent les plus importants ou aux mesures dont la mise en œuvre revêt une importance cruciale. Par exemple, les médecins peuvent souhaiter rappeler aux patients l’importance de respecter un calendrier de vaccination.
  • Souligner les réussites des patients : Les portails-patients peuvent également être utilisés pour souligner les réussites des patients et les encourager à adopter des changements positifs qui amélioreront leur santé. Les cliniciens abordent souvent les changements positifs lorsqu’ils rencontrent leurs patients, et peuvent en faire tout autant par l’intermédiaire des portails. Cette approche pourrait motiver les patients et favoriser un changement de comportement.
  • Utiliser un ton professionnel : Utiliser un ton professionnel et axer la conversation sur le diagnostic et le plan de soins. N’oubliez pas que les patients ne se trouvent plus dans un contexte clinique au moment de consulter ces renseignements.
  • Offrir des renseignements supplémentaires : À titre d’outils de communication, les portails peuvent offrir aux patients des ressources utiles et des renseignements supplémentaires en ce qui concerne leur santé et leur plan de soins. Les médecins peuvent y inclure des liens vers des ressources en ligne fiables pouvant aider à renseigner et à éduquer les patients, à replacer le propos dans son contexte et le clarifier, et à pousser les patients à jouer un rôle actif dans leurs soins.
  • S’assurer que les plans de suivi sont clairement visibles : Les médecins devraient s’assurer que les plans de suivi sont visibles et faciles à comprendre. En documentant le plan de soins et les étapes suivantes du traitement, on peut aider à réduire l’anxiété chez les patients; de plus, ceux-ci sont alors à même de constater que des mesures sont bel et bien prises pour assurer le traitement de leur problème. Un plan d’action concret peut également aider les patients à passer au-delà du déni et les inciter à modifier leurs comportements. Les médecins devraient également aviser leurs patients de communiquer avec eux pour obtenir des clarifications ou des réponses à leurs questions.

Circonstances particulières

Les portails ne devraient pas constituer le seul moyen de communication avec les patients. Dans de nombreuses situations (p. ex. au moment de présenter un diagnostic ou lorsqu’un résultat d’examen doit être soigneusement expliqué et que, pour ce faire, ce résultat doit être entièrement replacé dans le contexte de ce qu’il signifie pour la santé du patient à long terme), les consultations en personne s’avèrent un moyen de communiquer plus adéquat.

Il est important de souligner que la plupart des systèmes de santé électroniques permettent aux médecins de bloquer certaines notes ou parties d’un dossier médical et d’en empêcher ainsi la consultation par le patient dans le portail. Cela pourrait s’avérer utile dans certaines situations, comme lorsque le médecin estime que la lecture d’une note par le patient pourrait générer de l’anxiété, ou encore en présence de renseignements que le patient ne souhaite pas voir être communiqués à des tiers ayant accès au portail. Bien que les patients jouissent généralement d’un droit légal d'accéder à leurs renseignements personnels sur la santé, il peut y avoir de rares exceptions qui permettent aux médecins de différer l’accès à ces renseignements, au besoin. L’article de l’ACPM intitulé « Partager les dossiers, améliorer les soins, se protéger »3, offre plus de détails sur ces exceptions.

Dans d’autres situations, les renseignements médicaux d’un patient peuvent être considérés comme étant de nature trop délicate pour être téléchargés dans un portail, comme lorsqu’ils comprennent des détails sur les antécédents sexuels du patient, des cas d’abus ou des problèmes de santé mentale. Chaque cas doit faire l’objet d’un examen particulier, et les médecins doivent faire preuve de prudence au moment de déterminer les circonstances convenant à l’utilisation d’un portail en ligne.

Les médecins doivent également être conscients que certains patients pourraient exiger des modifications à leurs notes médicales, qu’il s’agisse de rectifier une omission ou de reformuler certains renseignements. Les médecins doivent savoir ce que la loi et l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) de leur province ou territoire exigent en termes de correction ou d’ajouts (notes ultérieures) au dossier. Ce ne sont pas toutes les demandes de modification qui doivent être respectées. L’article de l’ACPM intitulé « Le dossier médical : un document juridique – Peut-on le corriger? »4 offre plus de renseignements sur la bonne façon de modifier un dossier médical.

 


 

Références

  1. Gulick SL. Risk management strategies for patient portal use. Med Econ [En ligne]. Le 20 mai 2015 [cité le 28 novembre 2016];92(10):38-39. http://medicaleconomics.modernmedicine.com/medical-economics/news/risk-management-strategies-patient-portal-use
  2. Klein JW, Jackson SL, Bell SK, Anselmo MK, Walker J, Delbanco T, Elmore JG. Your patient is now reading your note: opportunities, problems, and prospects. Am J Med [En ligne]. Octobre 2016 [cité le 28 novembre 2016];129(10):1018-21. http://www.amjmed.com/article/S0002-9343(16)30548-4/abstract DOI : 10.1016/j.amjmed.2016.05.015
  3. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; décembre 2014. Partager les dossiers, améliorer les soins, se protéger [cité le 28 novembre 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/sharing-records-improving-care-staying-safe
  4. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; octobre 2009. Le dossier médical : un document juridique - Peut-on le corriger? [cité le 28 novembre 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/the-medical-record-a-legal-document-can-it-be-corrected-

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.