Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Providing medical records to patients seeking alternative medicine

Originally published March 2017
17-07-E

When patients ask for a copy of their medical record so they can give it to a provider of complementary or alternative medicine, some physicians may be taken aback or feel uncertain how to respond.

Conventional medicine and alternative (or complementary) medicine continue to evolve, and the boundaries between the two are neither fixed nor absolute. Some alternative treatments have become part of conventional medical practice, while others do not have the necessary scientific support and are consequently considered unproven.1

 

Some patients may be reluctant to inform their doctor of their intention to seek alternative medicine, sometimes fearing how their physician might react. Others may not consider it necessary to let their physician know.

Regardless, a patient request for the medical record for the purpose of sharing with an alternative medicine provider can raise professional, ethical, and legal concerns. Doctors may ask themselves questions such as: Should I give them the medical record if the other healthcare professional will be basing treatment on my notes? Should a copy of the record be transferred directly to the other healthcare professional? Will honouring this request expose me to liability? How can I speak with patients about the alternative treatment they’re considering and the potential risks?

Having the answers to these questions can equip physicians to react confidently to such requests and give patients good advice and guidance.

Providing access to medical records

When patients ask for their record, physicians should keep the original, providing patients with copies of the contents including clinical notes, investigation reports or results, and consultation reports. The courts have ruled that physicians own the physical medical record and patients have a right to access the information in the record. Physicians who deny access or delay in responding to the request could be the subject of a medical regulatory authority (College) complaint or a legal action.2

There is an exception to patients’ right of access to their medical information. If physicians reasonably believe there is a significant likelihood of a substantial adverse effect on a patient’s physical, mental, or emotional health, or harm to a third party, they can deny access. In those cases, the information or specific part of the medical record would not be disclosed to patients. However, such exceptions are rare and the onus is on the physician to justify denying access.2

It is good practice for physicians to ask patients to make a written request. A signed letter documents a patient’s request, helps confirm the scope of the request, and documents a physician’s authorization for the information. In some provinces and territories, such as British Columbia, the College instructs physicians to ask for a written request.3

When providing copies, physicians can charge a reasonable fee to cover copying and administrative expenses. Physicians should check with their medical association and College for guidelines on charging fees in these circumstances, including what constitutes a reasonable charge.2

Physicians’ obligations

When physicians discover their patient is considering an alternative treatment, the practitioner should consider speaking with the patient. This provides the opportunity to learn more about the treatment, discuss the implications, and consider potential interactions with the patients’ conventional treatments. In fact, if the physician is aware that there is a possibility the two treatments may result in negative interactions or an adverse outcome, the physician should discuss this with the patient.

Although physicians may be concerned that speaking about an alternative treatment may expose them to liability and complaints, taking no action may place them at greater risk. The courts and Colleges may expect physicians in some circumstances to make reasonable attempts to become aware of other treatments their patients are using, and if needed talk to them about possible interactions. The Canadian Medical Association Code of Ethics instructs physicians to "Consider first the well-being of the patient," and "Take all reasonable steps to prevent harm to patients…." 4 In Québec, the Code of Ethics of Physicians states, "A physician's paramount duty is to protect and promote the health and well-being of the persons he [/she] attends to, both individually and collectively."5

Starting the conversation

When speaking with patients about alternative therapies, physicians should keep a few things in mind. First, physicians should be mindful that they are communicating in a professional manner. Second, they should respect patients’ right to make health decisions independently, based on their values and preferences. Finally, any advice physicians give should stay within the limits of their medical knowledge, skill, and judgment.1

Physicians might consider beginning the conversation by explaining that the "alternative treatment may affect the treatments we’re doing together." Practitioners should make it clear that their concern is for the well-being of the patient and their interest in the treatment is to protect patients’ safety. The discussion may also provide an opportunity for physicians to review the medical record with the patient and the consent to the conventional treatment they're currently receiving.

After confirming with patients what treatment they're considering, physicians should decide what information, if any, they could give that would help patients to make informed choices. Knowledge of unconventional treatments varies from practitioner to practitioner. While some have concentrated on conventional medicine alone, others have explored alternative therapies, and yet others practise it themselves.1

If a physician believes that an alternative therapy may be harmful, the patient should be informed. If a doctor doesn't have the knowledge to comment on the therapy, including the potential for adverse reactions, the physician should let the patient know.

In some cases, it may be appropriate for doctors to consider consulting with or referring patients to others who may be more knowledgeable; for example, a physician colleague, when it’s in the best interests of the patient and where there is reason to believe that the patient would be exposed to harm.1 Giving information to a patient does not mean that a particular therapy is being endorsed or ordered.

Documenting the patient encounters

All pertinent encounters with patients should be documented in the medical record, from the request for copies of the record itself, to discussions about the alternative therapy, and any advice provided. Accurate documentation that is made as close to the time of the encounters as possible contributes to the delivery of high-quality care and may help physicians recall details when needed in the future. Documentation can also serve as important evidence in a legal action or College complaint.6

Taking action is in the best interests of patients and physicians

Physicians who become aware they have a patient considering alternative medicine should consider taking appropriate action to act in the patient’s best interests and to protect the patient’s health. To the best of their ability, doctors should speak with the patient about the alternative treatment and, if reasonably possible, advise them of potential interactions with conventional medicine treatments.

 
 

References

  1. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Alternative medicine — What are the medical-legal concerns? [Internet]. Ottawa: CMPA; 2012 March [cited 2016 Feb 10]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/alternative-medicine-what-are-the-medico-legal-concerns-
  2. Canadian Medical Protective Association. When law and medicine intersect: Influential court decision still relevant to patients’ access to medical records [Internet]. Ottawa: CMPA; 2011 Dec [cited 2016 Feb 10]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/-/when-law-and-medicine-intersect-influential-court-decision-still-relevant-to-patients-access-to-medical-records
  3. FAQs [Internet]. Vancouver (BC): College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, For the Public [cited 2016 Feb 10]. Available from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/for-public/faqs
  4. CMA Code of Ethics, #1, 14. Ottawa (ON); Canadian Medical Association; 2004 [cited 2016 Feb. 10]. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx
  5. Collège des médecins du Québec [Internet]. "Code of ethics of physicians," Article 3. [cited 2016 Feb 18]. Available from http://aldo.cmq.org/en/Partie%201/AspecDeonto/DevoirObligations/~/media/Files/ReglementsANG/cmqcodedeontoan.pdf
  6. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Why good documentation matters. [Internet]. Ottawa: CMPA; 2011 March [cited 2016 Feb 10]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/why-good-documentation-matters

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les thérapies complémentaires et le dossier médical

Publié initialement en mars 2017
17-07-F

Lorsqu’un patient demande une copie de son dossier médical dans le but de le transmettre à un praticien de médecine complémentaire ou parallèle, le médecin peut se sentir déconcerté et ne pas trop savoir comment réagir.

La médecine conventionnelle et les thérapies complémentaires et parallèles ne cessent d’évoluer et la délimitation entre les deux n’est ni fixe ni absolue. En effet, certaines thérapies jadis estimées parallèles ont été adoptées en médecine conventionnelle, alors que d’autres ne jouissent pas du soutien scientifique nécessaire et n’ont, par conséquent, pu être démontrées par des données probantes.1

 

Certains patients peuvent hésiter à révéler à leur médecin, par crainte de sa réaction, qu’ils envisagent de consulter un praticien de médecine complémentaire ou parallèle. D’autres peuvent estimer qu’il n’est pas nécessaire d’informer leur médecin.

Quoi qu’il en soit, une demande d’accès au dossier médical dans le but de le transmettre à un praticien de médecine complémentaire ou parallèle peut soulever des enjeux professionnels, éthiques et juridiques. Le médecin peut se poser des questions telles que : Devrais-je fournir le dossier médical si le traitement de l’autre professionnel de la santé se fonde sur mes notes? Devrais-je envoyer une copie du dossier directement à l’autre professionnel de la santé? Si j’acquiesce à cette demande, serai-je exposé à des problèmes de responsabilité? Comment puis-je m’y prendre pour discuter avec les patients des thérapies parallèles ou complémentaires qu’ils envisagent et des risques éventuels?

Les réponses à ces questions peuvent outiller le médecin et lui permettre de réagir à de telles demandes avec assurance, d’orienter ses patients et de leur donner des conseils judicieux.

Accès aux dossiers médicaux

Lorsqu’un patient demande d’avoir accès à son dossier, le médecin doit conserver le dossier original et remettre au patient une copie de son contenu, notamment les notes cliniques, les rapports ou les résultats d’examens et les rapports des consultants. Les tribunaux ont déterminé que le dossier médical physique appartient au médecin et que le patient a pour sa part un droit d’accès à l’information qui s’y trouve. Le médecin qui refuse l’accès ou qui tarde à donner suite à une demande d’accès peut faire l’objet d’une plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) et même d’une action en justice.2

Toutefois, il y a une exception au droit d’accès du patient à ses renseignements médicaux; le médecin peut refuser cet accès s’il a des motifs raisonnables de croire à une importante probabilité de réaction défavorable marquée sur la santé physique, psychologique ou émotionnelle du patient ou de préjudice à un tiers. Dans ces cas, l’information ou une partie précise du dossier médical n’est pas communiquée au patient. De telles exceptions sont rares et il incombe au médecin de justifier ce refus.2

Une bonne pratique pour le médecin consiste à demander aux patients de faire la demande par écrit. Une lettre signée confirme la demande du patient, la portée de celle-ci et l’autorisation accordée au médecin pour communiquer l’information. Dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires (p. ex., la Colombie-Britannique), le Collège conseille aux médecins d’exiger une demande écrite.3

Lorsqu’un médecin fournit à un patient une copie de son dossier, il peut exiger des honoraires raisonnables pour les photocopies et les frais d’administration. Les médecins devraient consulter les lignes directrices de leur association médicale et de leur Collège portant sur les frais exigibles en pareille situation, y compris ce qui constitue des frais raisonnables.2

Obligations des médecins

Lorsqu’un médecin apprend qu’un patient envisage une thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle, il devrait aborder le sujet avec le patient. Cela fournit une occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur le traitement, de discuter des conséquences et d’évaluer les interactions possibles avec les traitements conventionnels du patient. En fait, si le médecin est conscient de la possibilité que les deux traitements entraînent des interactions médicamenteuses négatives ou un résultat défavorable, il devrait en discuter avec le patient.

Bien qu’un médecin puisse craindre de s’exposer à une plainte et à des problèmes en matière de responsabilité s’il discute d’une thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle, il risque en fait de s’exposer à un plus grand risque s’il ne fait rien. Les tribunaux et les Collèges peuvent s’attendre à ce que, dans certaines circonstances, le médecin fasse des efforts raisonnables pour prendre connaissance des autres traitements auxquels ses patients ont recours et, le cas échéant, qu’il leur parle des interactions possibles. Le Code de déontologie de l’AMC rappelle aux médecins de « tenir compte d’abord du mieux-être du patient » et de « prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour éviter de causer un préjudice aux patients… » 4 Au Québec, le Code de déontologie des médecins précise que « le médecin a le devoir primordial de protéger et de promouvoir la santé et le bien-être des individus qu’il sert, tant sur le plan individuel que collectif. »5

Amorcer la conversation

Lorsqu’un médecin parle de thérapies complémentaires ou parallèles avec ses patients, il doit garder certaines choses à l’esprit. D’abord, il doit s’assurer de communiquer de manière professionnelle. Il doit aussi respecter le droit du patient de prendre, de manière autonome, des décisions liées à sa santé en fonction de ses valeurs et de ses préférences. Enfin, tout conseil donné par le médecin doit se situer dans les limites de ses connaissances médicales, de ses compétences et de son jugement.1

Le médecin pourrait amorcer la conversation en expliquant que la thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle pourrait avoir des répercussions sur les traitements suivis actuellement. Il devrait préciser au patient qu’il se préoccupe de son bien-être et de sa sécurité. La discussion pourrait aussi fournir au médecin l’occasion de revoir avec le patient le dossier médical et le consentement au traitement conventionnel qu’il reçoit à ce moment.

Après avoir obtenu confirmation du patient quant à la thérapie envisagée, le médecin doit déterminer quels renseignements il pourrait fournir, le cas échéant, en vue de permettre au patient de faire des choix éclairés. Les connaissances qu’ont les médecins en matière de traitements non conventionnels peuvent varier d’une personne à l’autre. Quoique des médecins se soient concentrés uniquement sur la médecine conventionnelle, certains ont exploré les médecines complémentaires et parallèles et d’autres les exercent.1

Si le médecin est d’avis qu’une thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle pourrait être préjudiciable pour le patient, il est important d’en faire part à ce dernier. Si le médecin n’a pas les connaissances voulues pour formuler des commentaires au sujet d’une thérapie, notamment pour évaluer la possibilité de réactions défavorables, il devrait en informer le patient.

Dans certains cas, il peut être approprié pour un médecin de consulter un collègue qui s’y connaît davantage ou de diriger le patient en consultation lorsque ceci est dans l’intérêt de ce dernier et qu’il y a raison de croire qu’il y a un risque d’exposition à un préjudice.1 Le fait de donner de l’information à un patient ne signifie pas qu’une thérapie en particulier a été recommandée ou prescrite.

Documentation des rencontres avec les patients

Toutes les rencontres pertinentes avec les patients devraient être documentées au dossier médical, qu’il s’agisse d’une demande pour une copie du dossier, des discussions au sujet des médecines complémentaires ou parallèles ou des conseils prodigués. Une documentation exacte, consignée dans le plus bref délai possible après la rencontre, contribue à la prestation de soins de grande qualité et peut aider les médecins à se remémorer les détails plus tard, au besoin. La documentation peut également servir de preuve importante dans une action en justice ou une plainte au Collège.6

Passer à l’action : dans l’intérêt tant du patient que du médecin

Le médecin qui apprend qu’un patient envisage une thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle devrait prendre les mesures appropriées pour agir dans l’intérêt du patient et protéger la santé de ce dernier. Il devrait discuter avec le patient, du mieux qu’il le peut, de la thérapie complémentaire ou parallèle et l’informer, aussi raisonnablement que possible, des éventuelles interactions avec les traitements de médecine conventionnelle.

 
 

Références

  1. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. Les médecines complémentaires et parallèles ¿ Quels sont les enjeux médico-légaux? [En ligne]. Ottawa : ACPM; mars 2012 [cité le 3 mai 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/alternative-medicine-what-are-the-medico-legal-concerns-
  2. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. Convergence de la loi et de la médecine : Pertinence soutenue d’une décision influente de la Cour sur l’accès des patients à leurs dossiers médicaux [En ligne]. Ottawa : ACPM; décembre 2011 [cité le 3 mai 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/when-law-and-medicine-intersect-influential-court-decision-still-relevant-to-patients-access-to-medical-records
  3. FAQs [En ligne]. Vancouver (C.-B.) : Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique, For the Public [cité le 3 mai 2016]. https://www.cpsbc.ca/for-public/faqs
  4. Code de déontologie de l’AMC, arts 1, 14. Ottawa (ON) : Association médicale canadienne; 2004 [cité le 3 mai 2016]. https://www.cma.ca/Fr/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx
  5. Collège des médecins du Québec [En lignet]. Code de déontologie des médecins, art 3 [cité le 3 mai 2016]. http:// http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-6-2015-01-07-fr-code-de-deontologie-des-medecins.pdf?t=1459277746629
  6. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. L’importance d’une bonne documentation. [En ligne]. Ottawa : ACPM; mars 2011 [cité le 3 mai 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/duties-and-responsibilities/-/asset_publisher/bFaUiyQG069N/content/why-good-documentation-matters

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.