Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Safe surgery: Closing the gap with the surgical safety checklist

Originally published March 2017
17-08-E

Since the introduction of the Surgical Safety Checklist (SSCL) by the World Health Organization (WHO) in 2008 and the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) in 2009, there has been increased focus on the use of checklists to help improve the safety of operating rooms (ORs). In 2010, Accreditation Canada recognized the use of the surgical safety checklist as essential to patient safety and established it as a required organizational practice.

While healthcare facilities had pre-existing surgical safety protocols, these were not always consistently followed, often because of breakdowns in communication or a lack of standardized system protocols.1,2 The SSCL established a more comprehensive surgical team approach aimed at improving communication and consistency of care in ORs.

Read the CMPA/HIROC report on surgical safety

As a member of the National Patient Safety Consortium, the CMPA applies its medical-legal expertise to help improve surgical safety. In collaboration with the Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC), in 2016 the CMPA jointly released the report Surgical Safety in Canada: A 10-year review of CMPA and HIROC medico-legal data [PDF], which provides recommendations on system and practice improvements to support patient safety.

Medical-legal issues related to the use of the SSCL3 can be grouped by the 3 surgical phases of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) SSCL:

  1. Briefing: before the induction of anaesthesia
  2. Time out: before the first incision
  3. Debriefing: before the patient leaves the OR

The CMPA reviewed 54 closed medical-legal cases involving events that occurred between 2011 and 2015 and which included in-hospital SSCL-related issues. In many of the cases, peer experts found surgical safety processes to be inadequate, non-existent, or not followed by the OR team. The analysis also revealed that almost two-thirds of the surgical incidents (35/54 cases) occurred during the briefing or time-out phase, and the remaining ones occurred during debriefing (i.e. before the patient left the OR). The events analyzed in the review took place within a variety of surgical specialties and involved all members of the healthcare team.

Briefing and time-out phases

Recurring themes in the analyzed cases were the following: inadequate verification of the identity of the patient, the failure to confirm the planned procedure and site, the lack of documentation of informed consent, the absence of appropriate marking  of the surgical site (when applicable), and the failure to display relevant imaging. These lapses were associated with wrong-site surgery in 15 cases and performing the wrong procedure in 6 cases.

A further concern of the experts in these cases was the absence of a timely review of the patient's documented clinical history or the results of pre-operative assessments. This often resulted in the physician or anesthesiologist overlooking relevant risk factors, consultant recommendations, or abnormal laboratory investigations that would have required immediate attention or follow-up.

Less commonly, checklist items that were overlooked in the briefing phase were checking patients’ allergy status and expiration dates, and failing to note that prophylactic antibiotics had not been administered.

Debriefing phase

Cases with issues involving sponge or instrument counts resulted in unintentionally retained surgical items. Either the surgical counts were not documented, were erroneously reported as correct, or imaging was not performed when there was a reported discrepancy in the surgical count. In one case where the surgical count was correct, an 18 cm forceps was overlooked and retained despite a final sweep of the cavity.

In some cases problems also arose when regularly used and additional surgical items, instruments, or instrument parts were not added to the surgical count. Retained surgical items often took weeks or months to identify following prolonged investigation of ongoing post-operative symptoms.

In a small number of cases, specimens procured intra-operatively were not processed appropriately due to breakdowns in the specimen management process. In other cases, inadequate communication of critical intra-operative events (e.g. respiratory arrest) with the post-operative team members resulted in delay to initiate mitigating therapies (e.g. hypothermia protocol).

Effective implementation

An effective SSCL addresses team training, dynamics, and communication. It involves all members of the surgical team and requires leadership engagement. Supporting a patient safety culture, the SSCL facilitates communication across the care team and reduces the likelihood of certain surgical incidents.

“While it is recognized that optimal use of an SSCL will not prevent all surgical patient safety incidents, it is considered a fundamental step toward enhanced surgical safety.”4

Case examples

The following cases illustrate SSCL-related issues.

Wrong procedure performed

A patient presents for a trigger finger release but mistakenly undergoes a carpal tunnel release.

What happened?

At the consult visit, the surgeon diagnosed a stenosing tenosynovitis and discussed the trigger finger release with the patient. The surgeon’s dictated consult referred to the trigger finger diagnosis, and the patient consented to pulley release surgery. On the day of surgery, the patient’s name did not appear on the OR schedule and the paperwork had not arrived; consequently, the plastic surgeon did not have access to the patient’s health record including the consent or his consult notes. The hospital registration sheet, meanwhile, incorrectly stated carpal tunnel release. The patient was nervous and the surgeon did not spend time discussing the surgery, but rather focused on addressing the patient’s anxiety concerning the procedure.

Surgery done on wrong site

The OR team operated on the wrong knee when “time out” was not performed properly.

What happened?

On the day of surgery, the orthopaedic surgeon met the patient outside the OR, confirmed the site and procedure, and marked the patient’s correct knee below the tibial turberosity. Once in the OR theatre and prior to prepping the patient, the team initiated a “time out” while the patient was still awake; this included confirming the patient’s identity, the site, and the procedure.

The time-out protocol had recently been introduced at the hospital with no specific team training. Furthermore, the team was using a new leg holder, and while everyone was focused on applying the holder properly, the wrong leg was being set up and the surgeon’s marking on the operative leg was no longer visible. At the subsequent correct surgery, the surgeons marked the limb at the patient's patella and two portal sites.

Surgical item unintentionally retained

Five months after surgery for metastatic colorectal cancer, an elderly man requires a second surgery to remove a retained gauze.

What happened?

While excising an isolated metastatic lesion on the patient’s pelvic bone, the orthopaedic surgeon consulted with a general surgeon because the tumour was adherent to the patient’s bowel. The general surgeon resected and anastomosed part of the bowel, and left the OR before the end of the 12-hour surgery. In this long and complex procedure the surgical count was only carried out twice and reported as correct. As was the orthopaedic surgeon’s usual practice after a complex case, he ordered an abdominal X-ray to rule out retained surgical items. He reviewed the X-ray and noted there was a radio-opaque line over the sacrum. He consulted a radiologist who attributed the findings as likely representing anastomotic staples. No further imaging studies were done. Four months later the patient sought care for new onset abdominal pain. A CT scan identified the retained gauze.

Strategies to support appropriate use of the surgical safety checklist

Strategies to reduce surgical safety incidents are based on peer expert opinions in the reviewed cases.

For care providers

  • Promote a culture of safety with open and respectful communication that encourages patients, families, and providers to speak up when they have concerns.
  • Work as a team to customize the SSCL according to the facility and specialty.
  • Support team members as they use the SSCL and discuss any issues involving common and necessary surgical tasks.
  • Follow the hospital policy and procedure (if available) for surgical counts: count any items added to the field, document the count, and take appropriate measures in the event of a discrepancy. Document the measures taken to address the discrepancy.
  • Use a structured communication tool during the transfer of care.
  • Document the effective use of the SSCL and any issues.

For healthcare leaders

  • Develop and implement clear surgical safety policies and procedures.
  • Allocate appropriate resources for effective implementation and periodic evaluation of the SSCL to enable continuous quality improvement. Provide feedback to the healthcare providers.
  • Foster a culture of safety by supporting multidisciplinary education programs to support policies related to teamwork, communication, and situational awareness.

More information

For more information on surgical safety checklists, read the CMPA's report Surgical safety checklists: A review of medical-legal data [PDF].


References

  1. World Health Organization. WHO Guidelines for Safe Surgery 2009, Safe Surgery Saves Lives [Internet]. Geneva; 2009 [cited 2016 August 17]; Available from: http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/44185/1/9789241598552_eng.pdf
  2. Christian CK, Gustafson ML, Roth EM, et.al. A prospective study of patient safety in the operating room. Surgery. 2006; 139:159-173
  3. SSCL-related issues are clinical care issues the SSCL is intended to address and which contributed to a surgical incident. The CMPA defines a surgical incident as a patient safety incident that occurs prior to, during, or after a surgical procedure.
  4. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): CMPA;June 2015. Surgical safety checklists, A review of medical-legal data [cited 2017 March 2]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/documents/10179/47890/com_16_SurgicalSafety_Checklist-e.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Soins chirurgicaux sécuritaires : le pourquoi des listes de vérification

Publié initialement en mars 2017
17-08-F

Depuis l’introduction de la Liste de contrôle de la sécurité chirurgicale par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) en 2008 et de celle de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) en 2009, on a constaté qu’une plus grande importance était accordée à l’utilisation de listes de vérification dans le but d’améliorer la sécurité en salle d’opération. En 2010, Agrément Canada a reconnu que le recours à une liste de vérification d’une chirurgie sécuritaire (LVCS) est essentiel à la sécurité des patients et l’a établi à titre de pratique organisationnelle requise.

Même si de nombreux établissements de santé avaient déjà mis en œuvre des protocoles de sécurité chirurgicale, ceux-ci n’étaient pas toujours respectés, souvent en raison de problèmes de communication ou de l’absence de protocoles normalisés.1,2 Les listes de vérification ont permis d’établir une approche mieux intégrée au travail d’équipe dans le but d’améliorer la communication et d’uniformiser les soins périopératoires.

Consultez le rapport de l’ACPM et de l’HIROC sur la sécurité des soins chirurgicaux

En tant que membre du Consortium national de la sécurité des patients, l’ACPM contribue à l’amélioration de la sécurité des soins chirurgicaux grâce à son expertise médicolégale. En collaboration avec la Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC), l’ACPM a publié en 2016 le rapport Sécurité des soins chirurgicaux au Canada : Examen sur 10 ans des dossiers médicolégaux de l’ACPM et de l’HIROC [PDF], qui présente des recommandations sur les modifications à apporter au système et aux pratiques pour améliorer la sécurité des patients.

Les problèmes médico-légaux que l’on souhaite prévenir au moyen de l’utilisation d’une LVCS3 peuvent être groupés en fonction des trois étapes d’une intervention chirurgicale, telles qu’établies dans la liste de vérification de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) :

  1. Instructions : avant l’induction de l’anesthésie
  2. Pause : immédiatement avant l’incision de la peau
  3. Retour sur l’intervention : juste avant que le patient ne quitte la salle d’opération.

L’ACPM a analysé 54 dossiers médico-légaux conclus mettant en cause des événements survenus entre 2011 et 2015, qui incluaient des problèmes liés à l’utilisation d’une LVCS en milieu hospitalier. Dans de nombreux dossiers, les experts ont déterminé que les processus de sécurité chirurgicale étaient inadéquats, inexistants, ou non respectés par l’équipe chirurgicale. L’analyse a également révélé que près des deux tiers des incidents chirurgicaux (soit 35 dossiers sur 54) sont survenus à l’étape des instructions ou à celle de la pause, alors que les autres se sont déclarés lors du retour sur l’intervention (c.-à-d. avant que le patient ne quitte la salle d’opération). Les événements analysés sont survenus dans diverses spécialités chirurgicales, et tous les membres de l’équipe ont été mis en cause.

Étapes des instructions et de la pause

L’analyse des dossiers a permis de faire ressortir les thèmes récurrents suivants : vérification inadéquate de l’identité du patient, absence de confirmation de l’intervention prévue et du site opératoire, absence de documentation du consentement éclairé, absence de marquage approprié du site de l’intervention (le cas échéant), ainsi qu’absence de recours à l’imagerie pertinente. Ces lacunes ont été associées à une intervention pratiquée sur le mauvais site dans 15 dossiers, ainsi qu’à l’exécution de la mauvaise intervention dans 6 dossiers.

Les experts consultés dans ces dossiers se sont également dits inquiets du fait que les anamnèses documentées ou les résultats des évaluations préopératoires n’avaient pas été revus en temps opportun. Pour ces raisons, il est souvent arrivé que le médecin ou l’anesthésiologiste ne tienne pas suffisamment compte des facteurs de risque pertinents, des recommandations du consultant, ou des résultats anormaux de tests de laboratoire qui auraient immédiatement mérité une attention ou un suivi.

À une moindre fréquence, les éléments de la liste oubliés à l’étape des instructions étaient la vérification des allergies et des dates de péremption des médicaments, ainsi que la documentation de l’absence d’une antibiothérapie prophylactique.

Retour sur l’intervention

Dans les dossiers où le décompte chirurgical était problématique, on a noté que des corps étrangers avaient été laissés par inadvertance. Le décompte chirurgical n’avait pas été documenté ou avait été confirmé alors qu’il était inexact, et aucune imagerie n’avait été effectuée en dépit d’un écart dans le décompte signalé. Dans un dossier où le personnel avait confirmé l’exactitude du décompte, un forceps de 18 cm a été oublié malgré l’inspection visuelle et manuelle de la cavité.

Dans d’autres dossiers, il y a aussi eu des corps étrangers laissés par inadvertance lorsque du matériel utilisé régulièrement et des instruments chirurgicaux additionnels ou certaines de leurs composantes n’avaient pas été ajoutés au décompte chirurgical. Il a souvent fallu des investigations prolongées sur plusieurs semaines, voire des mois, pour repérer les corps étrangers alors que le patient continuait à présenter des symptômes postopératoires.

Dans un petit nombre de dossiers, des défaillances ont été relevées dans le processus du traitement des spécimens prélevés en période peropératoire. Dans d’autres dossiers, des événements critiques survenus en période peropératoire (p. ex. un arrêt respiratoire) ont été mal communiqués à l’équipe postopératoire, ce qui a retardé la mise en œuvre de traitements qui auraient pu réduire les risques de complications (p. ex. un protocole d’hypothermie).

Mise en œuvre efficace

La mise en œuvre efficace d’une LVCS repose sur la formation, la dynamique et la communication de l’équipe, ainsi que la participation de chaque membre de celle-ci. Elle requiert également l’engagement des chefs de file. Une LVCS non seulement appuie une culture de sécurité des patients, mais facilite aussi la communication au sein de l’équipe et permet de réduire les risques de certains incidents chirurgicaux.

« Certes, l’utilisation optimale de la LVCS ne permettra pas d’éviter tous les incidents chirurgicaux liés à la sécurité des patients, mais elle est jugée comme une étape fondamentale vers l’amélioration de la sécurité chirurgicale. »4

Exemples de cas

Les cas suivants illustrent des problèmes liés à la mauvaise utilisation d’une LVCS.

Exécution de la mauvaise intervention

Un patient ayant un doigt à ressaut se présente pour une décompression chirurgicale du tendon fléchisseur mais le chirurgien procède par erreur à une libération du nerf médian au canal carpien.

Que s’est-il passé?

Lors de la consultation, le chirurgien pose un diagnostic de ténosynovite sténosante et discute avec le patient de la décompression du tendon fléchisseur. Les notes dictées par le chirurgien à la suite de la consultation font état du diagnostic d’un doigt à ressaut et du fait que le patient a consenti à la décompression chirurgicale de la poulie du tendon fléchisseur. Le jour de l’intervention, le nom du patient ne figure pas dans l’annonce opératoire et les documents requis n’ont pas été reçus; par conséquent, le chirurgien plasticien n’a pas accès au dossier du patient, dans lequel se trouvent le consentement et ses notes de la consultation. Par ailleurs, la fiche d’inscription de l’hôpital indique qu’une libération du nerf médian au canal carpien est prévue, ce qui est inexact. Bien que le patient soit nerveux, le chirurgien ne prend pas le temps de discuter avec lui de l’intervention, cherchant plutôt à le rassurer par rapport à celle-ci.

Chirurgie pratiquée du mauvais côté

L’équipe chirurgicale connaît des lacunes au moment de prendre un temps de pause et procède à une intervention sur le mauvais genou.

Que s’est-il passé?

Le jour de l’intervention, le chirurgien orthopédiste rencontre le patient à l’extérieur de la salle d’opération, confirme auprès de celui-ci le site et l’intervention, et appose une marque sur le genou devant être opéré, juste en dessous de la tubérosité tibiale. Une fois dans le bloc opératoire, et avant de préparer le patient, l’équipe prend une pause alors que le patient est toujours éveillé; ce temps d’arrêt permet de confirmer l’identité du patient, le site et l’intervention.

Ce temps d’arrêt préopératoire n’avait été introduit que récemment dans les protocoles de l’hôpital, et n’avait fait l’objet d’aucune formation précise pour l’équipe. Par ailleurs, l’équipe utilise un nouveau porte-jambe, et pendant que chacun se concentre sur la mise en place de celui-ci, la mauvaise jambe est installée par inadvertance alors que la marque faite par le chirurgien sur la jambe à opérer n’est plus visible. Lors de la chirurgie de reprise, les chirurgiens marquent la jambe au niveau de la rotule ainsi que les deux points d’entrée.

Corps étranger laissé par inadvertance

Cinq mois après avoir subi une intervention chirurgicale pour un cancer colorectal métastatique, un homme âgé doit subir une deuxième intervention pour retirer une compresse.

Que s’est-il passé?

Lors de l’excision d’une lésion métastatique isolée sur l’os iliaque, le chirurgien orthopédiste consulte un chirurgien général car la tumeur adhère à l’intestin. Le chirurgien général procède à la résection et à l’anastomose d’une partie de l’intestin, puis il quitte la salle d’opération avant la fin de l’intervention qui dure 12 heures. Le décompte chirurgical n’est effectué que deux fois lors de cette longue intervention compliquée, et son exactitude est confirmée. Le chirurgien orthopédiste demande qu’une radiographie de l’abdomen soit pratiquée pour écarter la possibilité qu’un corps étranger ait été laissé par inadvertance, conformément à sa pratique usuelle dans les cas complexes. En examinant la radiographie, il remarque une ligne radio-opaque au-dessus du sacrum. Il consulte alors un radiologiste qui estime qu’il s’agit probablement de la ligne des agrafes utilisées pour l’anastomose. On ne procède à aucune autre imagerie. Le patient revient en consultation quatre mois plus tard, se plaignant de nouvelles douleurs abdominales. Une tomodensitométrie révèle la présence d’une compresse.

Stratégies pour appuyer une utilisation appropriée de la liste de vérification d’une chirurgie sécuritaire

Les stratégies suivantes visant à réduire les incidents chirurgicaux reposent sur les opinions des experts consultés dans les dossiers analysés.

Pour les professionnels de la santé

  • Promouvoir une culture de sécurité favorisant une communication ouverte et respectueuse qui encourage les patients, les familles et les professionnels de la santé à s’exprimer lorsqu’ils ont des préoccupations.
  • Travailler en équipe pour adapter la LVCS en fonction de l’établissement et de la spécialité.
  • Soutenir les membres de l’équipe dans leur utilisation de la LVCS et discuter de tout problème à l’égard de tâches chirurgicales courantes et nécessaires.
  • Suivre les politiques et procédures de l’établissement, le cas échéant, pour le décompte chirurgical : compter tout article ajouté au champ opératoire, documenter le décompte et prendre les mesures appropriées en cas de différence dans les chiffres. Documenter les mesures prises pour régler l’écart.
  • Utiliser un outil de communication structurée lors du transfert des soins.
  • Documenter l’utilisation efficace de la LVCS, ainsi que tout problème relevé.

Pour les chefs de file du domaine de la santé

  • Élaborer et mettre en œuvre des politiques et procédures claires en matière de sécurité chirurgicale.
  • Allouer des ressources appropriées à la mise en œuvre efficace et à l’évaluation périodique de la LVCS permettant une amélioration continue de la qualité. Fournir une rétroaction aux professionnels de la santé.
  • Favoriser une culture de sécurité en appuyant des programmes d’éducation multidisciplinaire qui renforcent les politiques liées au travail d’équipe, à la communication et à la conscience situationnelle.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

Pour en savoir plus sur les listes de vérification d’une chirurgie sécuritaire, consultez le rapport de l’ACPM Listes de vérification pour une chirurgie sécuritaire : Examen des données médico-légales [PDF].




Références

  1. Organisation mondiale de la Santé. WHO Guidelines for Safe Surgery 2009, Safe Surgery Saves Lives [Internet]. Genève; 2009 [cité le 17 août 2016]. http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/44185/1/9789241598552_eng.pdf
  2. Christian CK, Gustafson ML, Roth EM, et coll. A prospective study of patient safety in the operating room. Surgery. 2006; 139(2):159-73.
  3. Les problèmes que l’on souhaite prévenir grâce à la LVCS relèvent de soins cliniques qui contribuent à un incident chirurgical et que l’utilisation d’une LVCS devrait permettre d’éviter. Selon l’ACPM, un incident chirurgical désigne un incident lié à la sécurité des patients qui survient avant, pendant ou après une intervention chirurgicale.
  4. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale. [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON) ACPM; juin 2016. Listes de vérification pour une chirurgie sécuritaire : Examen de données médico-légales [cité le 2 mars 2017]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/documents/10179/47890/com_16_SurgicalSafety_Checklist-f.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.