Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Using electronic record systems with care

Originally published December 2017
17-24-E

Electronic records are both a reality of modern clinical practice and a leading cause of stress for physicians.1 As they grow in sophistication, these systems offer new capabilities to support care and enhance safety. However, if not designed, implemented, or used appropriately, electronic medical records (EMRs) and electronic health records (EHRs) have the potential to negatively affect patient care and increase medical-legal risk, sometimes in unexpected ways.

The CMPA reviewed its medical-legal cases2 that closed between 2012 and 2016, and involved an issue with the EMR or EHR. The main issues identified in this review underline the importance of taking the following actions:

  • Implementing electronic record systems appropriately, with functions installed and used optimally, and with supporting procedures in place.
  • Verifying the accuracy of information when using an electronic record system.
  • Ensuring that the use of these technologies does not interfere with the doctor-patient relationship.

How EMRs differ from EHRs

An electronic medical record (EMR) is an electronic version of the paper record maintained by physicians for their patients. It may be a simple office-based system or a shared record that connects healthcare professionals through a network. An electronic health record (EHR) is maintained by a hospital, regional health authority, or provincial or territorial government and typically includes a wider cross-section of information from a number of sources and is usually accessed by several authorized parties from a number of places of care.3

Implementing and optimizing electronic record systems

The diagnosis of a severe heart defect in a fetus is delayed when an obstetrician-gynecologist fails to review the results and follow-up recommendations of her patient’s 18-week morphology ultrasound. The delay occurred because the report was not flagged or filed in the expected section of her office's recently implemented EMR.

A hospital's department of medical imaging discovers that close to 100 reports were not uploaded into the computer system and not sent to ordering physicians during the period in which the EHR was being upgraded.

A family physician’s practice is audited after the medical regulatory authority (College) receives multiple complaints from patients. The complaints stem from the physician’s EMR not properly transmitting immunization records to the public health system.

In CMPA cases in which results go missing in a paper-based system, peer experts will often note that using an EMR can prevent such errors. While it is true that electronic records can facilitate test result management, delays in diagnosis can occur when systems are not properly implemented or optimized.

In this CMPA review, some cases involved missed or delayed diagnoses related to electronic record systems. In these cases, the systems made it difficult for users to identify when consultant reports or test results were not received or reviewed by the ordering physician. The system failures in these cases occurred because important functions in the EMR or EHR were not available, not installed, not working, or were overridden.

Another common issue is incomplete or illegible (i.e. scanned handwritten) entries in the record. This issue may be due to challenges entering information from the patient encounter or other sources into the record due to a lack of integration with different systems.

To minimize risk, consider the following features and functions when purchasing, implementing, or familiarizing yourself with a new system:

  • The interface—Is information easy to enter and review? Can you find the latest entries and most recent results?
  • Drop-down lists—Are they complete? Can drop-downs be customized to minimize the risk of error?
  • System notifications—Can users create alerts and markers?
  • Inter-operability—Can the EMR or EHR integrate with other electronic systems to ease information receipt and follow-up? If it is necessary to use a hybrid paper-electronic system for certain functions, what procedures can be developed to minimize error in information transfer?
  • Audit trails—Does the record’s audit trail satisfy by-laws or regulations that stipulate audit trail functionality? Can you easily reproduce a copy of some or all of the record if a patient were to request it?

It is also important to plan for the transition from paper to electronic records. Consider how to prevent the loss of patient information or delays in the follow-up of test results during the implementation, upgrade, or transfer of a records system.

Verifying accuracy when using electronic records

A patient with rheumatoid arthritis is prescribed 7 times her weekly regular dose of methotrexate when her family physician accidentally uses his new EMR's pre-populated dosing frequency of "q daily" rather than adjusting it to reflect the weekly dosage schedule.

A patient develops C. difficile after receiving an inappropriate course of antibiotics for sinusitis. It is discovered that the family physician’s EMR transmitted the wrong prescription to the pharmacy under the patient’s name, resulting in the patient receiving a drug regimen intended for another patient.

These situations illustrate the risk of human errors when using the automated functions in an electronic record. Automation can make it easy for these types of errors to occur. For example, it can lead to prescription errors when drop-down lists contain expired prescriptions, prepopulated dosages give adult instead of pediatric amounts for medications, and default dosage frequencies are not suitable for specific patients. EMRs may also make it easier to perpetuate an error, such as an incorrect repeat prescription sent from an EMR to a pharmacy.

Several strategies may minimize risks from automation. Consider reviewing and editing all default data, and implementing a process or mechanism to review and approve orders sent through the EMR. Take care when using templates and auto-populate features, verifying that only visit-specific data is recorded and that all other default text is removed. Where possible, limit the automatic population of information. In a number of College cases, peer experts were critical when entries contained only default text or "cut and paste" notes that did not reflect what actually occurred during the encounter.

Ensuring that technology does not interfere with the doctor-patient relationship

In 12 of the reviewed cases, patients complained of physicians’ unprofessional manner or communication when they used a computer during an appointment. These patients viewed physicians as being distracted or lacking concern or empathy when they were interacting with the computer.

To make technology less intrusive to the patient encounter, consider reconfiguring your office layout so it is easier to make eye contact with patients while using a computer.

The bottom line

To enhance patient care and get the most out of electronic record systems, consider taking the following actions:

  1. Learn how to optimally use your electronic records system and its functions, and evaluate how it may support or affect your clinical care.
  2. Create procedures to optimize the functions and minimize risk.
  3. Consider how your use of an EMR and the physical layout of technology will affect interactions with patients.




References

  1. Friedberg M, Chen P, Van Busum K, Aunon F, Pham C, Caloyeras J, Mattke S, Pitchforth E, Ingram Quigley D, Brook R, Crosson J, Tutty M. Factors Affecting Physician Professional Satisfaction and Their Implications for Patient Care, Health Systems, and Health Policy . Santa Monica (CA): RAND Corporation; 2013 [cited 2017 Sept. 12]. Available from:https://www.rand.org/pubs/research_reports/RR439.html.
  2. Legal, regulatory authority (College), and hospital cases.
  3. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Electronic Records Handbook. Ottawa (ON). CMPA; 2014 [cited 2017 Nov 11]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/static-assets/pdf/advice-and-publications/handbooks/com_electronic_records_handbook-e.pdf.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Systèmes de dossiers électroniques : prudence!

Publié initialement en décembre 2017
17-24-F

Les dossiers électroniques font dorénavant partie de la pratique clinique moderne et constituent l’une des principales causes de stress chez les médecins.1 Plus ces systèmes évoluent, plus ils offrent de nouvelles fonctions pour soutenir les soins et en améliorer la sécurité. Néanmoins, s’ils ne sont pas conçus, mis en œuvre ou utilisés adéquatement, les dossiers médicaux électroniques (DMÉ) et les dossiers de santé électroniques (DSÉ) peuvent nuire aux soins prodigués aux patients, et accroître les risques médico-légaux, de façons parfois inattendues.

L’ACPM a analysé ses dossiers médico-légaux2 conclus entre 2012 et 2016, impliquant des DMÉ ou des DSÉ. Les principaux enjeux cernés soulignent l’importance des mesures suivantes :

  • Mettre en œuvre les systèmes de dossiers électroniques de façon adéquate (fonctions activées et utilisées de façon optimale, et procédés de soutien mis en place)
  • Vérifier l’exactitude des données lorsque l’on utilise un système de dossiers électroniques
  • S’assurer que l’utilisation de ces technologies ne nuit pas à la relation médecin-patient.

DMÉ ou DSÉ?

Un dossier médical électronique (DMÉ) est une version électronique du dossier papier utilisé pour consigner les données sur les patients. Il peut s’agir d’un simple système en cabinet ou d’un dossier partagé qui relie des professionnels de la santé dans le cadre d’un réseau. Un dossier de santé électronique (DSÉ) est géré par un hôpital, une autorité régionale en matière de santé ou un gouvernement provincial ou territorial et comporte en général un échantillon plus important de données issues de nombreuses sources. Il est habituellement consulté par plusieurs parties autorisées dans un certain nombre de lieux de soins3.

Mise en œuvre et optimisation des systèmes de dossiers électroniques

Le diagnostic d’une grave anomalie cardiaque fœtale est différé, car l’obstétricienne-gynécologue n’a pu consulter les résultats (et les recommandations de suivi connexes) de l’échographie morphologique à 18 semaines de grossesse. Ce retard s’explique par le fait que le rapport n’a été ni signalé ni versé dans la section prévue du système de DMÉ récemment mis en place dans le cabinet de cette obstétricienne-gynécologue.

Le service d’imagerie d’un hôpital découvre que près de 100 rapports n’ont pas été téléversés dans le système informatique et n’ont pas été transmis aux médecins prescripteurs pendant la période de mise à jour du système de DSÉ.

La pratique d’un médecin de famille fait l’objet d’une surveillance et d’une évaluation, à la suite de la réception de multiples plaintes de patients, par l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège). Ces plaintes sont attribuables au fait que le système de DMÉ du médecin ne transmet pas correctement les dossiers d’immunisation au système de santé publique.

Dans les dossiers de l’ACPM où des résultats ont été égarés dans un système de dossiers papier, les experts indiquent souvent qu’un DMÉ permet de prévenir de telles erreurs. Bien que les dossiers électroniques puissent faciliter la gestion des résultats d’examen, les diagnostics peuvent tout de même être différés lorsque les systèmes ne sont pas adéquatement mis en œuvre ou optimisés.

Dans l’analyse de l’ACPM, certains dossiers mettaient en cause des diagnostics manqués ou différés attribuables à des défaillances des systèmes de dossiers électroniques. Ces systèmes avaient en fait empêché les utilisateurs de s’apercevoir qu’un rapport de consultant ou un résultat d’examen n’avait pas été reçu ou analysé par le médecin prescripteur. Ils ont alors flanché parce que d’importantes fonctions du DMÉ ou du DSÉ n’étaient pas accessibles ou installées, ne fonctionnaient pas ou avaient été contournées.

La présence de notes partielles ou illisibles (p. ex. note manuscrite numérisée) dans le dossier constitue un autre problème courant, qui pourrait être attribuable à des difficultés à saisir, dans le dossier, les données issues de l’entretien avec le patient (ou provenant d’autres sources) en raison d’une intégration déficiente avec différents systèmes.

Pour minimiser les risques, portez attention aux caractéristiques et aux fonctions suivantes au moment d’acheter, de mettre en œuvre ou d’apprendre à connaître un nouveau système :

  • Interface – Est-il facile de saisir ou de passer en revue des données? Pouvez-vous localiser les dernières entrées et les résultats les plus récents?
  • Listes déroulantes – Sont-elles exhaustives? Ces listes peuvent-elles être adaptées pour minimiser les risques d’erreur?
  • Notifications du système – Les utilisateurs peuvent-ils créer des alertes et des marqueurs?
  • Interopérabilité – Le DMÉ ou le DSÉ peut-il s’intégrer à d’autres systèmes électroniques pour faciliter la réception de données et le suivi? Si l’utilisation d’un système hybride papier-électronique est nécessaire pour certaines fonctions, quels procédés peuvent être conçus pour minimiser les erreurs dans le transfert des données?
  • Pistes de vérification – Les exigences des règlements qui traitent de la fonctionnalité des pistes de vérification sont-elles respectées? Pouvez-vous facilement imprimer un exemplaire du dossier, en tout ou en partie, si un patient vous en fait la demande?

Il est également important de planifier la transition d’un système papier à un système électronique. Songez aux façons de prévenir les retards dans le suivi des résultats d’examen ou la perte de données pendant la mise en œuvre, la mise à jour ou le transfert d’un système de dossiers.

Utilisation de dossiers électroniques : Vérification de l’exactitude

Une patiente atteinte de polyarthrite rhumatoïde se voit prescrire 7 fois sa dose hebdomadaire régulière de méthotrexate lorsque son médecin de famille utilise par inadvertance une posologie « q.d. », soit la valeur qui apparaît par défaut dans son nouveau système de DMÉ, plutôt que de modifier le dossier de façon à ce que la posologie hebdomadaire y apparaisse.

Un patient contracte une infection à C. difficile après avoir reçu une antibiothérapie inadéquate pour le traitement d’une sinusite. On découvre que le système de DMÉ du médecin de famille a transmis la mauvaise ordonnance à la pharmacie au nom du patient, lequel a donc reçu le plan de soins pharmaceutiques d’un autre patient.

Ces situations illustrent que l’utilisation des fonctions automatisées d’un dossier électronique n’écarte pas les risques attribuables à l’erreur humaine. En fait, l’automatisation peut faciliter ces types d’erreurs. Elle peut, par exemple, occasionner des erreurs de prescription lorsque les listes déroulantes contiennent des ordonnances échues, que des champs de posologie préremplis indiquent des doses destinées aux adultes plutôt qu’aux enfants, et que les valeurs par défaut quant à la fréquence d’administration ne conviennent pas à certains patients. Les DMÉ peuvent également faciliter la perpétuation d’une erreur, comme la transmission à la pharmacie du renouvellement erroné d’une ordonnance.

Plusieurs stratégies pourraient minimiser les risques attribuables à l’automatisation. Songez à passer en revue et à modifier toutes les valeurs par défaut, et à mettre en œuvre un processus ou un mécanisme d’examen et d’approbation des ordonnances transmises par le système de DMÉ. Soyez prudents au moment d’utiliser des modèles et des fonctions de préremplissage des champs, en vous assurant de ne consigner que les données issues de la consultation et d’éliminer toutes les données superflues qui apparaissent par défaut. Dans la mesure du possible, limitez le préremplissage des champs. Dans un certain nombre de dossiers liés à des plaintes auprès des Collèges, les experts ont critiqué les notes ne contenant que du texte prérempli ou « copié-collé » qui ne reflétaient pas les éléments réellement abordés au cours de la consultation.

Technologies et relation médecin-patient

Dans 12 des dossiers analysés, les patients se sont plaints de la communication ou du comportement non professionnel des médecins lorsqu’un ordinateur était utilisé pendant la consultation. Ces patients estimaient que les médecins étaient distraits ou qu’ils manquaient de compassion ou d’empathie lorsqu’ils interagissaient avec leur ordinateur.

Pour mieux intégrer la technologie à vos consultations, songez à modifier la disposition de votre bureau de façon à faciliter le contact visuel avec les patients pendant l’utilisation de l’ordinateur.

En bref

Trois mesures qui peuvent vous aider à améliorer les soins aux patients et tirer le maximum des systèmes de dossiers électroniques :

  • Apprenez à optimiser votre utilisation du système de dossiers électroniques et de ses fonctions, et songez à la façon dont ce système pourrait soutenir ou affecter les soins.
  • Créez des processus pour optimiser les fonctions et minimiser les risques.
  • Songez aux effets de l’utilisation d’un DMÉ et de la disposition des appareils nécessaires sur vos interactions avec les patients.




Références

  1. Friedberg M, Chen P, Van Busum K, Aunon F, Pham C, Caloyeras J, Mattke S, Pitchforth E, Ingram Quigley D, Brook R, Crosson J, Tutty M. Factors Affecting Physician Professional Satisfaction and Their Implications for Patient Care, Health Systems, and Health Policy. Santa Monica (CA): RAND Corporation; 2013 [cité le 12 septembre 2017].
  2. Actions en justice, plaintes auprès des organismes de réglementation (Collèges) et problèmes intrahospitaliers.
  3. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Guide sur les dossiers médicaux électroniques. Ottawa (ON) : ACPM; 2014 [cité le 11 novembre 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/static-assets/pdf/advice-and-publications/handbooks/com_electronic_records_handbook-f.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.