Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Avoiding pitfalls in the emergency department: Recognizing and managing risks of diagnostic error

Originally published December 2018
18-25-E

Physicians treating patients in the emergency department (ED) strive to make the most likely diagnosis, while frequently contending with complicating factors such as complex triaging, transitions in care, interruptions, crowding, and fatigue. An inadequate differential diagnosis, however, can mean a potentially serious condition is missed.

Among legal cases closed by the CMPA in the past five years, diagnostic error was the most common criticism of emergency physicians made by peer experts reviewing the cases.1 Between 2013 and 2017, the CMPA closed 486 legal cases in which patients or families alleged there was a wrong, missed, or delayed diagnosis by an ED physician. In 251 cases, peer experts were critical of a physician’s diagnostic process in the ED—and nearly all these cases resulted in patient harm, including death. The most prevalent contributing factor in the CMPA legal cases, based on peer expert opinion, was a physician’s inadequate clinical assessment of a patient.1

What is diagnostic error?

Diagnostic error is a "failure to establish an accurate and timely explanation of the patient’s health problem, or to communicate that explanation to the patient."2


Case example

An unstable patient with atrial fibrillation is misdiagnosed as a typical, uncomplicated case

An older woman with extensive cardiac co-morbidities—including congestive heart failure with severe left ventricular dysfunction—presents to the ED in a wheelchair following an in-hospital, pre-operative anaesthesia consultation for valve replacement surgery. She carries her ECG from that morning, showing rapid atrial fibrillation, and the anesthesiologist’s consultation note mentioning her grey skin colour. On initial assessment, an ED physician notes the ECG along with the patient’s blood pressure of 80/40 and heart rate of 160. She orders a nurse to administer 25 milligrams of intravenous diltiazem in two divided doses and then leaves to attend to other patients. The nurse administers the first dose and within minutes, the second dose. The patient soon becomes more hypotensive and nauseated. The nurse calls the ED physician, but the patient progresses to pulmonary edema and cardiogenic shock. During a three-week ICU stay—requiring intubation, vasopressors, renal dialysis, and an intra-aortic balloon pump—her ventricular function gradually improves.

What did the experts say?

In this case, the CMPA paid a settlement to the patient on behalf of the ED physician. Peer experts3  commented on the care provided.Based on the medical record, these experts opined that the ED physician did not take the time to obtain an appropriate medical history from the patient and, as a result, did not appreciate the extent of her pre-existing cardiovascular disease. Given the patient’s hypotension and extensive cardiac history, experts noted further that the ED physician should have supervised the diltiazem administration or considered a different management plan.

Most common expert criticisms

Peer experts retained by the parties in the CMPA legal cases most commonly criticized ED physicians for failing to ascertain an adequate medical history and physical exam, and for not ordering adequate diagnostic testing and sufficiently following up.

Inadequate medical history and physical exam

In approximately 60% of the CMPA cases in which there was expert criticism of the ED physician, peer experts opined that the ED physician performed an inadequate physical exam or obtained an overly limited medical history, as illustrated in the case example.

Multiple patient and system factors contributed to the outcomes. Many patient conditions were rare, atypical, difficult to detect, or prone to "search satisficing bias."4 For example, among patients with fractures, about 40% presented with multiple injuries.

Common biases: Search satisficing, premature closure

There are more than 40 types of cognitive biases that influence clinical decision-making in the ED. Common types include "search satisficing bias," which involves calling off the search once something is found, and "premature closure," which involves accepting a diagnosis before it has been fully verified.4

Resource shortages were also contributing factors. For example, experts criticized one ED physician for discharging a trauma patient with co-morbidities from a busy ED "hallway bed" with only one vital sign measurement, at triage. Another ED physician treated a patient’s laceration, but the ED was busy at the time and no charting was made of the visit.

Common patient conditions in CMPA legal cases (closed, 2013-2017) with expert criticism of the diagnostic process.  Fracture: 49 cases; Non-fracture musculoskeletal injury: 22 cases; Acute coronary syndrome: 23 cases; Arterial or venous embolism: 11 cases; Aortic aneurysm: 10 cases; Stroke: 10 cases; Infection, no sepsis: 33 cases; Sepsis: 16 cases

Experts in these cases commonly noted underestimating a patient’s risk level or not investigating key symptoms or concerns raised by a patient or family members. Consequently, ED teams failed to implement clinical protocols in a timely manner, such as a sepsis protocol. Sometimes, patients made repeat visits to the ED for the same condition as symptoms persisted or evolved. For example, a patient developing necrotizing fasciitis visited the ED three times within days, each time with worsening symptoms. Experts felt that by the second visit the ED physician should have further investigated the cause of the patient’s unexplained, intolerable pain.

In some cases, experts criticized a consultant or a nurse for not relaying important aspects of a patient’s history to the ED physician. There were also criticisms of ED physicians for not reading the medical record for a patient handed over to them. Other pitfalls included ED physicians not communicating crucial monitoring instructions to nurses, or not expressing the severity of a patient’s condition to another ED physician at handover.

Inadequate diagnostic testing and follow-up

Inadequate diagnostic testing was the second-most common criticism of ED physicians, occurring in nearly 50% of the cases reviewed. Peer experts noted ED physicians failing to order important diagnostic tests (including follow-up tests when appropriate), or relying on sub-optimal test results such as X-rays that were missing a clinically relevant field of view. In some cases, experts felt the ED physician should have applied a clinical decision rule to assess the need for diagnostic imaging.

In other cases experts opined that an ED physician took too long to review, or failed to act on, a significant test finding. These cases included ED physicians who misinterpreted or misread a test result. Some physicians failed to follow up in a timely manner on discrepant reports sent by a radiologist. Experts also identified faulty hospital systems that directed test results to the wrong physician, or failed to notify a physician or patient about a test result.

Risk management strategies

Peer experts acknowledge that diagnosing patients in a resource-restricted ED is difficult. Yet, expert opinions in the CMPA legal cases are consistent with the following strategies for lowering your medical-legal risk:

  • Gather an appropriate medical history of the patient, and conduct and document an appropriate, focused physical exam.
  • Be familiar with clinical practice guidelines and clinical decision rules for investigating common conditions encountered in the ED.
  • When a patient returns to the ED, re-evaluate the diagnostic assumption and consider a repeat history and physical exam with full vital signs.
  • Consider using a structured communication approach or tool for handovers.
  • Be familiar with your ED’s and hospital’s system for managing test results and promptly advise appropriate personnel of system deficiencies.

The bottom line

Diagnostic error is an inherent risk of working in the ED. It arises from cognitive and system factors that are often intertwined.5,6 Fortunately, there are ways to mitigate medical-legal risk from diagnostic error, such as recognizing your cognitive biases7and documenting your clinical thinking in the medical record. Consider advocating for reliable systems and effective teamwork8,9 in your ED to better communicate diagnoses between physicians, nurses, diagnostic labs, and patients.

Additional reading




References

  1. Includes physicians specializing in emergency medicine, residents working in the ED, and other physicians practising emergency medicine in the ED.
  2. Improving Diagnosis in Health Care [Internet]. Washington DC: The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; 2015 [cited 2018 July 25]. Available from: https://www.nap.edu/catalog/21794/improving-diagnosis-in-health-care
  3. Peer experts refer to physicians retained by the parties in a legal action to interpret and provide their opinion on clinical, scientific, or technical issues surrounding the care provided. They are typically of similar training and experience as the physicians whose care they are reviewing.
  4. Croskerry P. Chapter 32: Cognitive and affective dispositions to respond. In: Cosby KS, Schenkel SM, Wears RL, editors. Patient Safety in Emergency Medicine. Philadelphia (USA): Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2009. p.219-27
  5. Kachalia A, Gandhi TK, Puopolo AL, et al. Missed and delayed diagnoses in the emergency department: a study of closed malpractice claims from 4 liability insurers. Ann Emerg Med. 2007;49(2):196-205
  6. Okafor N, Payne VL, Chathampally Y, et al. Using voluntary reports from physicians to learn from diagnostic errors in emergency medicine. Emerg Med J. 2016;33(4):245-52
  7. Clinical reasoning toolkit - Reducing Cognitive Error [Internet]. Evanston(USA): Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine [cited 2018 July 25]. Available from: https://www.improvediagnosis.org/general/custom.asp?page=Remedies.
  8. Graber ML, Rusz D, Jones ML, et al. The new diagnostic team. Diagnosis (Berl). 2017;4(4):225-38
  9. Schiff GD. Diagnosis and diagnostic errors: time for a new paradigm. BMJ Qual Saf. 2014;23(1):1-3

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

L’urgence et les erreurs de diagnostic

Publié initialement en décembre 2018
18-25-F

Les médecins à l’urgence cherchent à poser le diagnostic le plus probable tout en composant avec des facteurs aggravants : triage complexe, transfert des soins, interruptions, achalandage et fatigue. S’ils établissent toutefois un diagnostic différentiel inadéquat, ils risquent de passer à côté d’un problème plus grave.

Parmi les dossiers d’actions en justice conclus par l’ACPM au cours des cinq dernières années, les experts ont le plus souvent critiqué l’erreur de diagnostic chez les médecins à l’urgence.1 Entre 2013 et 2017, l’ACPM a conclu 486 actions en justice dans lesquelles les patients ou leur famille avaient allégué que le médecin s’était trompé de diagnostic, était passé à côté ou encore en avait retardé l’établissement. Dans 251 dossiers, les experts ont critiqué le processus diagnostique du médecin à l’urgence – presque tous ces patients ont subi un préjudice, décès compris. Selon les experts, le facteur contributif le plus courant était l’évaluation clinique inadéquate effectuée par le médecin.1

Qu’est-ce qu’une erreur de diagnostic?

Une erreur de diagnostic est « l’incapacité de formuler une explication exacte et opportune du problème de santé, ou de communiquer celle-ci au patient ».2


Exemple de cas : Une patiente instable présente une fibrillation auriculaire

Une femme âgée ayant d’importants problèmes cardiaques concomitants – dont une insuffisance cardiaque congestive avec dysfonction ventriculaire gauche sévère – est amenée à l’urgence en fauteuil roulant à la suite d’une consultation préopératoire en anesthésie en vue d’un remplacement valvulaire. Elle a son tracé d’ECG effectué le matin même à l’hôpital qui révèle une fibrillation auriculaire, ainsi que la note de consultation de l’anesthésiologiste mentionnant son teint grisâtre. À l’évaluation initiale, une médecin à l’urgence note le résultat de l’ECG, la TA à 80/40 et la FC à 160. Elle demande à une infirmière d’administrer à la patiente 25 mg de diltiazem I.V., divisés en deux doses, avant d’aller s’occuper d’autres patients. L’infirmière administre la première dose, puis la seconde, quelques minutes plus tard. La patiente devient soudainement hypotensive et nauséeuse. L’infirmière appelle la médecin, mais l’état de la patiente évolue rapidement en œdème pulmonaire et choc cardiogénique. Au cours des trois semaines passées aux soins intensifs – où elle requiert intubation, vasopresseurs, dialyse, pompe à ballonnet intra-aortique – sa fonction ventriculaire s’améliore graduellement.

Opinion des experts

L’ACPM a réglé ce dossier en concluant une transaction avec la patiente au nom du médecin à l’urgence. En se fondant sur le dossier médical, les experts3 ont émis l’opinion que la médecin n’avait pas obtenu l’anamnèse appropriée et n’avait donc pas pris conscience de l’étendue de la maladie cardiovasculaire préexistante chez cette patiente. Compte tenu de l’hypotension et des antécédents cardiaques importants chez celle-ci, les experts ont également souligné le fait que la médecin aurait dû superviser l’administration du diltiazem ou envisagé un autre traitement.

Critiques les plus courantes des experts

Les experts retenus par les parties dans les dossiers d'actions en justice de l'ACPM ont le plus souvent critiqué les médecins à l'urgence qui n'avaient pas obtenu une anamnèse complète ou effectué une évaluation physique adéquate, et qui avaient omis de prescrire les examens diagnostiques qui s'imposaient ou encore d'assurer un suivi convenable.

Anamnèse et examen physique inadéquats

Dans près de 60 % des dossiers de l’ACPM où les soins prodigués par le médecin à l’urgence ont été critiqués, les experts ont soutenu que le médecin avait effectué un examen physique inadéquat ou obtenu une anamnèse insuffisante, comme l’illustre l’exemple de cas.

De multiples facteurs liés au patient et au système ont contribué aux résultats. Un grand nombre d’affections étaient rares, atypiques, difficiles à détecter ou encore susceptibles d’entraîner un biais de satisfaction par rapport à la recherche.4 Par exemple, 40 % des patients ayant subi une fracture présentaient également de multiples lésions.

Biais courants : satisfaction par rapport à la recherche, conclusion prématurée

Il existe plus de 40 types de biais cognitifs ayant une incidence sur la prise de décisions cliniques à l’urgence. Parmi les plus courants, on retrouve le « biais de satisfaction par rapport à la recherche », où l’on arrête de rechercher une chose une fois celle-ci découverte, ainsi que la « conclusion prématurée », où l’on accepte un diagnostic avant de l’avoir complètement vérifié.4

Il existe d’autres facteurs contributifs : les pénuries de ressources. Par exemple, les experts ont critiqué un médecin à l’urgence pour avoir accordé le congé à un patient qui avait été installé dans un « lit de corridor » alors qu’il avait subi un traumatisme et présentait des maladies concomitantes, et que ses signes vitaux n’avaient été pris qu’une seule fois, au triage. Un autre médecin à l’urgence avait traité la lacération d’un patient, mais le service était occupé à ce moment-là et il a omis de consigner les soins au dossier.

Dans ces dossiers, les experts ont fréquemment souligné que le médecin avait sous-estimé le niveau de risque pour le patient ou n’avait pas investigué les symptômes clés ou les inquiétudes du patient ou des membres de sa famille. Les équipes de l’urgence n’ont donc pu mettre en œuvre les protocoles cliniques en temps opportun, tel qu’un protocole de traitement de la septicémie. Parfois, les patients se sont présentés plusieurs fois à l’urgence pour le même problème parce que les symptômes persistaient ou évoluaient; p. ex. un patient ayant une fasciite nécrosante s’est rendu à l’urgence trois fois en quelques jours, chaque fois avec une aggravation de ses symptômes. Selon les experts, le médecin à l’urgence aurait dû, dès la deuxième visite de ce patient, investiguer davantage la cause de sa douleur inexplicable et intolérable.

Regroupement des affections dans les dossiers médico-légaux de l'ACPM (conclus entre 2013 et 2017) où les experts ont critiqué le processus diagnostique (n=251); Lésion : Fracture (49 dossiers); Lésion musculo-squelettique sans fracture (22 dossiers); Système circulatoire : Syndrome coronarien aigu (23 dossiers); Embolie artérielle ou veineuse (11 dossiers); Anévrisme de l'aorte (10 dossiers); Accident vasculaire cérébral (10 dossiers); Maladie infectieuse : Infection, sans septicémie (23 dossiers); Septicémie (16 dossiers)

Dans certains dossiers, les experts ont critiqué un consultant ou une infirmière qui n’avait pas transmis au médecin à l’urgence certains aspects importants de l’anamnèse du patient. D’autres médecins ont aussi fait l’objet de critiques pour ne pas avoir lu le dossier d’un patient qui leur avait été remis. L’absence de communication d’importantes instructions aux infirmières pour la surveillance de patients, ou de la gravité de l’état d’un patient lors du transfert des soins à des collègues constituait un autre problème.

Examens diagnostiques et suivis inadéquats

La deuxième critique la plus courante à l’égard des médecins à l’urgence, dans près de 50 % des dossiers analysés, portait sur des examens diagnostiques inadéquats. Les experts ont souligné que des médecins n’avaient pas prescrit des examens importants (de même que ceux pour le suivi, le cas échéant), ou qu’ils s’étaient fiés à de piètres résultats telles des radiographies sur lesquelles il manquait un cadrage cliniquement pertinent. Dans certains dossiers, les experts estimaient que le médecin aurait dû appliquer une règle de décision clinique pour évaluer la nécessité d’une imagerie diagnostique.

Dans d’autres, ils considéraient que le médecin avait trop tardé à revoir ou à donner suite à un résultat d’examen important. Ces dossiers mettaient en cause des médecins qui avaient mal interprété ou mal lu un résultat d’examen. Certains n’avaient pas été ponctuels dans le suivi de rapports de radiologie contradictoires. Les experts ont également fait ressortir des défaillances dans les systèmes des hôpitaux : résultats d’examens transmis au mauvais médecin, médecin ou patient jamais avisé du résultat.

Stratégies de gestion des risques

Les experts reconnaissent qu’il est difficile d’établir un diagnostic dans un service d’urgence où les ressources sont limitées. Pourtant, les opinions émises dans les dossiers de l’ACPM sont conformes à ces stratégies de réduction des risques médico-légaux :

  • Obtenir une anamnèse appropriée du patient, et effectuer et consigner un examen physique approprié et ciblé.
  • Connaître les lignes directrices et les règles de décision clinique sur l’investigation des problèmes courants à l’urgence.
  • Lorsqu’un patient revient à l’urgence, réévaluer l’hypothèse diagnostique, et envisager de refaire l’anamnèse et l’examen physique avec tous les signes vitaux.
  • Utiliser une approche structurée à la communication ou un outil pour le transfert des soins.
  • Connaître le système de gestion des résultats d’examen de l’urgence et de l’hôpital, et informer promptement le personnel responsable de toute défaillance du système.

En bref

Les erreurs de diagnostic constituent un risque inhérent au travail à l’urgence et découlent de facteurs cognitifs et systémiques souvent étroitement liés.5,6 Il existe des moyens d’atténuer les risques médico-légaux, dont la reconnaissance des biais cognitifs7 et la consignation du raisonnement clinique au dossier médical. Songez à préconiser des systèmes fiables et un travail d’équipe efficace8,9 dans votre service d’urgence dans le but de mieux communiquer les diagnostics entre médecins, infirmières, personnel de laboratoire diagnostique et patients.

Suggestions de lecture




Références

  1. Comprend les médecins spécialisés en médecine à l’urgence, les résidents travaillant à l’urgence, ainsi que d’autres médecins exerçant la médecine à l’urgence.
  2. Improving Diagnosis in Health Care [En ligne]. Washington DC: The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; 2015 [cité le 25 juilllet 2018]. Disponible:
    https://www.nap.edu/catalog/21794/improving-diagnosis-in-health-care
  3. On entend par experts les médecins retenus par les parties dans une action en justice pour interpréter les problèmes cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques entourant les soins prodigués et émettre une opinion. Ces médecins possèdent normalement une formation et une expérience semblables à celles de leurs collègues ayant prodigué les soins qu’ils doivent évaluer.
  4. Croskerry P. Chapter 32: Cognitive and affective dispositions to respond. In: Cosby KS, Schenkel SM, Wears RL, rédacteurs. Patient Safety in Emergency Medicine. Philadelphia,
    PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2009 . 219-27
  5. Kachalia A, Gandhi TK, Puopolo AL, et al. Missed and delayed diagnoses in the emergency department: a study of closed malpractice claims from 4 liability insurers. Ann Emerg Med. 2007;49(2):196-205
  6. Okafor N, Payne VL, Chathampally Y, et al. Using voluntary reports from physicians to learn from diagnostic errors in emergency medicine. Emerg Med J. 2016;33(4):245-52
  7. Clinical reasoning toolkit - Reducing Cognitive Error [En ligne]. Evanston, (USA): Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine [cité le 25 juillet 2018]. Disponible: https://www.improvediagnosis.org/general/custom.asp?page=Remedies.
  8. Graber ML, Rusz D, Jones ML, et al. The new diagnostic team. Diagnosis (Berl).
    2017;4(4):225-38
  9. Schiff GD. Diagnosis and diagnostic errors: time for a new paradigm. BMJ Qual Saf. 2014;23(1):1-3

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.