Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Is your patient a woman of reproductive age? Consider pregnancy

Originally published March 2018 / Revised August 2018
18-04-E

Case example

Two months after undergoing a breast augmentation, a 38-year-old woman discovers she is 3 months pregnant.

At the pre-operative visit, the plastic surgeon had obtained the patient’s history and conducted a physical examination, but did not ask about the possibility of pregnancy. The intake form also did not ask for this information.

The patient decides to continue the pregnancy. Despite the fact that the baby does not appear to have experienced any negative effects, the patient files a complaint to the medical regulatory authority (College). She alleges that the surgeon should have ordered a pregnancy test before surgery under general anaesthesia.

In this particular case, the College advises the surgeon that a pregnancy test should be routine before any surgical procedure, except emergent, on a woman of reproductive age.


CMPA members have contacted the Association describing cases like the example above, where treating physicians have been unaware that a patient was pregnant before they ordered an intervention or treatment. To get a better understanding of the factors that contribute to these cases, the Association conducted an analysis of its medical-legal files.

What the CMPA’s cases show

From its medical-legal cases that closed between 2011 and 2015, the CMPA identified 14 cases related to pregnancies that were unknown to the physician before investigations or treatments were ordered or performed. Of the 14 cases, 8 were legal actions and 6 were College complaints. Of the legal actions, 5 were settled, while the College was critical of the care provided in 5 cases.

The majority of physicians involved in these cases were obstetrician-gynecologists and family physicians. Patients ranged in age from 20 to 49 years.

Eight patients underwent surgical procedures including laparoscopy, hysterectomy, IUD insertion, endometrial biopsy, and breast augmentation; 5 were prescribed medications, such as hormonal therapy, antibiotics, or opioids. The remaining case was related to diagnostic imaging.

Experts’ opinions

Peer experts who commented on the care in these cases involving undiagnosed pregnancies had the following observations:

  • Physicians were not aware of the hospital's policies requiring testing for pregnancy before starting certain investigations and treatments.
  • Healthcare providers did not communicate adequately among themselves about a patient's pregnancy status.
  • The clinical evaluation, treatment options, and consent discussion were poorly documented.
  • Before the surgical procedures, pregnancy should have been ruled out, by obtaining an adequate medical history (e.g. last menstrual period, contraception) and conducting a thorough assessment (e.g. serum chorionic gonadotropin level, abdominal or pelvic exam, or both).
  • Before the surgical procedures, pregnancy should have been considered and ruled out, by obtaining an adequate medical history (e.g. last menstrual period, contraception) and/or conducting a thorough assessment (e.g. serum chorionic gonadotropin level, abdominal or pelvic exam, or both).
  • If the fetus had been exposed to a potentially harmful investigation or treatment and the patient chose to proceed with the pregnancy, it may have been advisable to initiate appropriate investigations or access consultation to assess the fetus on an ongoing basis. Consultation with maternal fetal medicine is often necessary.

Risk management considerations

These cases illustrate what physicians should consider before a non-emergent surgery that might potentially affect pregnancy. When contemplating investigations, procedures, or treatments for a woman of reproductive age, physicians should consider taking the following actions:

    • Ruling out pregnancy where and when appropriate, in accordance with professional, hospital, or other applicable protocols. Reviewing any outstanding test results with the patient.
    • If the patient is pregnant and an investigation, procedure, or treatment is proposed, evaluating the maternal and fetal impact, including that of medications, and informing the patient of the risks and benefits.
    • If the patient is pregnant and surgery is proposed, discussing the surgical risks and benefits, including risks to the fetus. Considering postponing elective surgery until after delivery, when appropriate.
    • If the patient has undergone an investigation or treatment with the potential to harm the pregnancy and it is later discovered that she is pregnant, speaking with the patient to evaluate the risks, consequences, and available options.
    • Talking with the patient about the importance of effective contraception to prevent pregnancy during a treatment that could be harmful to a fetus. Alerting patients to the importance of advising the treating physician as soon as she discovers she might be pregnant.

The bottom line

Certain investigations, medical treatments, procedures, and surgeries are potentially harmful to a fetus, pregnant patient, or both. If a pregnancy is detected before any of these are started, then the physician and patient can have a meaningful discussion about the possible physical risks to the fetus, and the possible physical and emotional risks to the woman.

Members should call the Association for advice if they have any medical-legal concerns with asking about or determining pregnancy.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La patiente est-elle en âge de procréer? Gardez en tête la possibilité d’une grossesse

Publié initialement en mars 2018/révisé en août 2018
18-04-F

Exemple de cas

Deux mois après avoir subi une augmentation mammaire, une femme de 38 ans découvre qu’elle est enceinte de 3 mois.

Lors de la visite préopératoire, le chirurgien plasticien avait recueilli l’anamnèse de la patiente et effectué un examen physique, mais n’avait pas posé de question concernant la possibilité d’une grossesse. Le formulaire préopératoire n’incluait pas non plus de question à cet effet.

La patiente décide de poursuivre sa grossesse. Même si le bébé ne semble pas avoir subi de conséquences négatives, la patiente dépose une plainte auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège). Elle allègue que le chirurgien aurait dû prescrire un test de grossesse avant de procéder à l’intervention chirurgicale effectuée sous anesthésie générale.

Dans ce dossier particulier, le Collège a avisé le chirurgien qu’un test de grossesse devrait faire partie de l’évaluation préopératoire de toute patiente en âge de procréer, sauf dans les situations de soins d’extrême urgence.


Des membres ont communiqué avec l’ACPM pour décrire des situations semblables à celle de cet exemple de cas où le médecin traitant ignorait que la patiente était enceinte avant de lui prescrire une intervention ou un traitement. Pour mieux comprendre les facteurs ayant contribué à ces situations, l’ACPM a effectué une analyse de ses dossiers médico-légaux.

Ce que les dossiers de l’ACPM ont révélé

Quatorze dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM conclus entre 2011 et 2015 étaient associés à des grossesses dont les médecins n’étaient pas informés avant de prescrire ou d’effectuer des examens ou des traitements. De ces 14 dossiers, on a dénombré huit actions en justice et six plaintes auprès des Collèges. Des transactions ont été conclues dans cinq des actions en justice tandis que le Collège a critiqué les soins prodigués dans cinq dossiers de plainte.

La majorité des médecins cités dans l’analyse étaient des obstétriciens-gynécologues et des médecins de famille. L’âge des patientes se situait entre 20 et 49 ans.

Huit patientes ont subi des interventions chirurgicales, dont la laparoscopie, l’hystérectomie, l’insertion d’un dispositif intra-utérin, la biopsie de l’endomètre et l’augmentation mammaire; cinq ont reçu des ordonnances d’hormonothérapie, d’antibiotiques ou d’opioïdes. L’autre dossier était associé à l’imagerie diagnostique.

Les opinions des experts

Les experts consultés à l’égard des soins prodigués dans les cas analysés ont formulé les observations suivantes :

  • Les médecins ignoraient qu’un test de grossesse était préalablement requis par les politiques de l’hôpital dans le cas d’examens et de traitements particuliers
  • Les professionnels de la santé n’ont pas communiqué adéquatement entre eux concernant une grossesse possible chez une patiente.
  • Les notes au dossier concernant l’évaluation clinique, les choix de traitement et la discussion entourant le consentement étaient inadéquates.
  • Avant de procéder à une intervention chirurgicale, le médecin aurait dû envisager et écarter la possibilité d’une grossesse à l’aide d’une anamnèse adéquate (p. ex. date de la dernière menstruation, contraception) et (ou) un examen minutieux (p. ex. taux sérique de gonadotropine chorionique, examen pelvien ou abdominal, ou les deux).
  • Avant de mettre en œuvre tout examen ou tout traitement pouvant causer une tératogenèse ou un danger pour le fœtus, il aurait fallu évaluer si la patiente pouvait être enceinte et discuter avec elle des risques associés à l’examen ou au traitement en présence d’une grossesse.
  • Si le fœtus a été exposé à un examen ou un traitement susceptible de présenter un danger et que la patiente choisit de poursuivre sa grossesse, il aurait pu s’avérer judicieux d’entreprendre les examens appropriés ou de demander une consultation pour évaluer le fœtus sur une base régulière. Une consultation auprès d’un spécialiste en médecine fœto-maternelle est aussi souvent nécessaire.

Gestion des risques

L’analyse de ces dossiers illustre ce que tout médecin devrait envisager avant une intervention non urgente qui pourrait avoir des conséquences sur une grossesse. Lors de la planification des examens, interventions ou traitements chez des patientes en âge de procréer, un médecin devrait considérer les mesures suivantes :

  • Au besoin, écarter la possibilité d’une grossesse tout en se conformant aux protocoles de la profession, de l’hôpital ou d’autres autorités. Passer en revue, avec la patiente, tout résultat d’examen en suspens.
  • Si la patiente est enceinte et qu’un examen, une intervention ou un traitement est proposé, évaluer les conséquences pour la mère et le fœtus, y compris celles des médicaments, puis l’informer des risques et des avantages.
  • Si la patiente est enceinte et qu’une intervention chirurgicale est proposée, parler des risques et des avantages, y compris les risques pour le fœtus. Songer à reporter une intervention non urgente après l’accouchement, le cas échéant.
  • Si la patiente a subi un examen ou un traitement susceptible de présenter un danger pour le fœtus et que l’on découvre plus tard qu’elle est enceinte, parler à la patiente pour évaluer les risques, les conséquences, ainsi que les options possibles.
  • Expliquer à la patiente l’importance d’une contraception efficace pour prévenir une grossesse lors d’un traitement susceptible de présenter un danger pour le fœtus. Aviser les patientes de l’importance d’informer leur médecin traitant dès qu’elles découvrent qu’elles pourraient être enceintes.

En bref

Il est possible qu’un examen, un traitement, un acte ou une intervention chirurgicale présente un danger pour le fœtus, la patiente enceinte, ou les deux. Si une grossesse est décelée à l’avance, le médecin et la patiente doivent alors discuter de façon approfondie des risques pour le fœtus, ainsi que des risques émotionnels et physiques pour la femme.

Les membres devraient communiquer avec l’Association pour obtenir des conseils s’ils ont des préoccupations médico-légales en ce qui a trait à toute discussion sur la possibilité d’une grossesse.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.