Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Laparoscopic cholecystectomy: We can still be safer

Originally published June 2018
18-11-E

Since its introduction more than 25 years ago, laparoscopy has become the approach of choice for cholecystectomy. Despite ongoing advances in surgical technique and experience with specialized equipment, intra-operative injuries still occur.

Understanding the circumstances under which these injuries occur and their contributing factors may help improve surgical safety. As a result, the CMPA reviewed 53 of its medical-legal cases involving intra-operative injuries sustained during cholecystectomy. All of the cases closed between 2008 and 2012 and involved complications from laparoscopic (n=50) or open (n=3) procedures. The most frequent complications were biliary tract injuries (83%), intestinal injuries (23%), and vascular or hemorrhagic injuries (8%). Some cases involved more than one complication. Thirty-one patients died or experienced serious harm as a result of their injury.

Biliary tract injury

What happened?

During a laparoscopic cholecystectomy for symptomatic cholelithiasis, a surgeon encounters bleeding and places multiple hemoclips, some close to the common bile duct (CBD). The patient is admitted overnight due to nausea and discharged the next day.

After discharge, the patient experiences decreased appetite, abdominal pain, and ongoing nausea; she also vomits all fluid intake. Five days after the operation, she presents at the emergency department (ED) and says her urine has been dark for 48 hours.

The ED physician reviews the dictated operative report, but sees no mention of anything unusual. He notes jaundice and elevated liver function tests. An endoscopic retrograde cholangio-pancreatography (ERCP) demonstrates narrowing of the CBD with a high-grade stricture at the level of the cystic duct. The patient is treated with a biliary stent, and her liver function returns to normal.

What did peer experts say about this case?

The surgical experts were critical of the number of hemoclips used (as identified during the ERCP study) as well as their application so close to the CBD. This indicated substandard surgical technique. Furthermore, the operative report did not reflect the difficulties encountered during the procedure.

Overview

Our review identified 44 cases involving biliary tract complications; two-thirds (68%) had unfavourable legal outcomes. Peer experts noted that the majority of cases involved an anatomical misidentification. In most cases, there was a complete ligation or transection of the CBD or hepatic duct. In other cases, the injury to the duct was less severe, leading to a bile leak, stricture, or fistula.

Experts reviewing these cases expressed concerns about:

  • a lack of an informed consent discussion that addresses the risks of bile duct injury
  • failures in converting to an open approach or performing intra-operative cholangiography when unsure of anatomy or experiencing difficulty
  • inappropriate delays in post-operative investigation and intervention in symptomatic patients
  • incomplete discharge instructions leading to delays in patients seeking care.

In some cases, peer experts emphasized the importance of achieving a “critical view of safety”1 to identify structures within the triangle of Calot and minimize the risk of bile duct injury.

Intestinal injury

What happened?

Following a seemingly uneventful laparoscopic cholecystectomy, a patient is kept in hospital overnight for control of nausea. The surgeon is going on vacation, so he transfers care of the patient to another surgeon.

Over the next couple of days, the patient develops an ileus and increased abdominal distension and discomfort. Investigations show no biliary tract abnormalities but do confirm distended loops of small bowel and a sub-hepatic fluid collection. The ileus persists, and the surgical team attributes it to a hematoma, noting there is significant abdominal wall ecchymosis.

One week after the operation, the original surgeon returns and realizes the patient's condition is not improving. He reviews the previous investigations, is suspicious of peritoneal irritation on physical examination, and orders a CT scan for the next morning. The scan shows a right paracolic fluid collection that is interpreted as a potential hematoma collection. Purulent material is drained percutaneously the same day and antibiotics are started.

On the 17th day after the operation, the patient develops a fever and elevated white blood cell count. A CT scan shows a new fluid collection in the gallbladder bed and pararectal area. Percutaneous drainage is contemplated, but the patient becomes septic and is taken to the operating room for a laparotomy, which demonstrates a perforated terminal ileum and peritonitis. Following extensive bowel resection and primary anastomosis, the patient is left with partially controlled diarrhea.

What did peer experts say about this case?

Surgical experts noted that the laparoscopy was done according to standard and intestinal injury is an inherent risk of such surgery. They also agreed that percutaneous drainage of the abscess was appropriate. They did state, however, that the laparotomy should have been done sooner because the etiology of the abscess was not established, and the patient continued to have an ileus.

Overview

Our review identified 12 cases in which patients developed intestinal complications following cholecystectomy; half of these cases had unfavourable legal outcomes. All patients underwent a laparoscopic approach, and most of the complications were from direct trauma to the small bowel, as opposed to devascularization injuries.

Injury was often caused by a trocar, cautery, or other instrument. However, in some cases, the mechanism of injury was difficult to determine, since there was often significant inflammatory response by the time the site was visually examined.

Experts reviewing care in these cases were often critical of the surgical technique, as well as failure to recognize a bowel injury earlier in the post-operative period, and failure to investigate other reasons for peritonitis when a biliary tract injury was ruled out.

Vascular and hemorrhagic injuries

Four cases in the review involved vascular injuries, mainly at the liver bed. Surgical experts reviewing these cases stated that significant bleeding as a complication of laparoscopic surgery is rare, and usually presents in one of two different clinical patterns. The patient can become hemodynamically unstable immediately following the peritoneal access technique or during the dissection. A more subtle presentation with signs of ileus and decreasing hemoglobin over time can also occur in the first few hours post-operatively, demonstrating a "silent" hemorrhage. The main criticism in these cases was the delay in recognizing the vascular injury.

The bottom line

  • An informed consent discussion for laparoscopic cholecystectomy should not leave the patient with the impression that it is a minor procedure without the possibility of significant complications.
  • The symptoms and signs of post-operative complications of cholecystectomy (usually related to biliary tract or intestinal injuries) may be non-specific initially and develop hours to days after the surgery. Discharge instructions alerting patients to possible symptoms of complications may prompt them to seek early attention.
  • Family or emergency physicians often face the challenge of assessing patients post-operatively with early and non-specific symptoms of a complication. They should communicate directly with the surgical team for further assessment of any suspicion of intra-operative injury.


Additional reading




References

  1. Madani A, Watanabe Y, Feldman LS, et al. Expert Intraoperative Judgment and Decision-making: Defining the Cognitive Competencies for Safe Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy. J Am Coll Surg [Internet]. 2015 Nov [cited 2018 March 26]; 221(5):931-40. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26292647 doi: 10.1016/j.jamcollsurg.2015.07.450

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Pour une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie plus sécuritaire

Publié initialement en juin 2018
18-11-F

Depuis son introduction, il y a plus de 25 ans, la laparoscopie est devenue l’approche de choix à la cholécystectomie. Malgré les progrès constants en techniques chirurgicales et une plus grande expérience en utilisation d’équipement spécialisé, des lésions peropératoires sont encore constatées.

Le fait de mieux comprendre l’origine des traumatismes, ainsi que les facteurs contributifs, pourrait améliorer la sécurité des soins chirurgicaux. L’ACPM a donc analysé 53 de ses dossiers médico-légaux associés à des traumatismes peropératoires survenus lors de cholécystectomies. Tous les dossiers conclus entre 2008 et 2012 faisaient état de complications liées à des interventions pratiquées par laparoscopie (n = 50) ou par laparotomie (n = 3). Les complications les plus fréquentes étaient : les traumatismes des voies biliaires (83 %), suivis des traumatismes intestinaux (23 %) et des complications vasculaires et hémorragiques (8 %). Certains dossiers présentaient plus d’une complication. Trente et un patients sont décédés ou ont subi un préjudice grave résultant de leurs lésions.

Traumatismes des voies biliaires

Qui s’est-il produit?

Au cours d’une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie chez une patiente qui présente une cholélithiase symptomatique, le chirurgien constate des problèmes de saignement; il pose plusieurs clips de ligature, certains à proximité du cholédoque. La patiente demeure à l’hôpital pour la nuit parce qu’elle a des nausées, mais elle reçoit son congé le lendemain.

De retour à la maison, elle a moins d’appétit et éprouve des douleurs abdominales. Elle a toujours des nausées et vomit tous les liquides ingérés. Le cinquième jour postopératoire, elle revient à l’urgence parce qu’elle a une urine foncée depuis 48 heures.

Le médecin à l’urgence revoit le compte rendu opératoire dicté, mais il ne trouve aucune mention d’événements inhabituels. Il note un ictère et des résultats élevés à l’épreuve de fonction hépatique. Une cholangio-pancréatographie rétrograde endoscopique (CPRE) révèle un rétrécissement du cholédoque témoignant d’une sténose de haut grade près de la jonction avec le canal cystique. La patiente est traitée au moyen d’une endoprothèse biliaire et les résultats de l’épreuve de fonction hépatique reviennent à la normale.

Qu'ont dit les experts au sujet de ce dossier?

Les experts en chirurgie ont critiqué le nombre de clips utilisés (tel que révélé dans la CPRE) de même que leur mise en place si près du cholédoque. Selon eux, la technique chirurgicale ne respectait pas la norme. De plus, le compte rendu opératoire ne mentionne pas de problèmes pendant l’intervention.

Aperçu

L’analyse de l’ACPM a permis de dénombrer 44 dossiers associés à des traumatismes des canaux biliaires; les deux tiers (68 %) se sont soldés par un résultat de l’action en justice défavorable pour les médecins. Les experts consultés dans ces dossiers ont remarqué que, dans la majorité des dossiers, le chirurgien a mal visualisé la structure anatomique et a ligaturé ou complètement sectionné le canal cholédoque. Dans d’autres dossiers, les traumatismes au canal étaient moins graves et ont causé une fuite de la bile, une sténose ou une fistule. 

Les experts ont exprimé les préoccupations suivantes :

  • le chirurgien n’a pas abordé le risque de traumatisme aux voies biliaires lors de la discussion visant à obtenir un consentement éclairé;
  • le chirurgien n’a pas converti son approche en laparotomie ni effectué de cholangiographie peropératoire lorsqu’il n’arrivait pas à repérer la structure anatomique ou lorsqu’il a rencontré des problèmes;
  • les retards dans l’investigation postopératoire et l’intervention chez les patients symptomatiques étaient excessifs;
  • les patients ont reçu des instructions incomplètes préalablement au congé et ont donc trop attendu avant de consulter lorsque des complications sont survenues.

Dans certains dossiers, les experts ont mis l’accent sur l’importance d’obtenir une « vision critique de la sécurité »1 pour permettre de circonscrire les structures du triangle de Calot et de minimiser les risques de traumatismes des voies biliaires.

Traumatismes intestinaux

Que s'est-il produit?

Un patient subit une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie sans complication apparente; toutefois, on le garde à l’hôpital pour la nuit pour traiter ses nausées. Comme le chirurgien part en vacances, il transfère les soins du patient à un autre chirurgien.

Au cours des jours qui suivent, le patient présente un iléus, une augmentation de la distension abdominale et de l’inconfort. Les résultats d’examens ne révèlent aucune anomalie des voies biliaires, mais confirment une distension d’anses du grêle et un épanchement sous-hépatique. L’iléus est toujours présent et l’équipe chirurgicale l’attribue à un hématome; elle note aussi qu’il y a des ecchymoses importantes à la paroi abdominale.

Une semaine après l’intervention, le premier chirurgien revient de vacances et s’aperçoit que l’état du patient ne s’est pas amélioré. Il revoit les résultats d’examens et soupçonne une irritation péritonéale lorsqu’il examine le patient; il demande donc qu’une tomodensitométrie soit effectuée le lendemain matin. Celle-ci révèle un épanchement dans la gouttière paracolique droite qui est interprété comme pouvant être un hématome. Un exsudat purulent est drainé le jour même et une antibiothérapie est amorcée.

Au 17e jour postopératoire, le patient présente de la fièvre et une leucocytose. Une nouvelle tomodensitométrie montre un épanchement dans le lit vésiculaire et la région pararectale. Un autre drainage percutané est envisagé, mais le patient éprouve un choc septique et il subit une laparotomie; celle-ci confirme la perforation de l’iléon terminal et une péritonite. À la suite d’une résection importante de l’intestin et d’une anastomose primaire, le patient a toujours une diarrhée partiellement maîtrisée.

Qu’ont dit les experts au sujet de ce dossier?

Les experts en chirurgie ont fait remarquer que la laparoscopie avait été exécutée selon la norme et qu’un traumatisme intestinal constituait un risque inhérent d’une telle intervention. Ils ont aussi confirmé la pertinence du drainage percutané de l’abcès. Ils ont cependant précisé que la laparotomie aurait dû être effectuée plus tôt puisque l’étiologie de l’abcès n’avait pas été établie et que le patient continuait d’avoir un iléus.

Aperçu

L’analyse effectuée par l’ACPM a permis de cerner 12 dossiers où les patients ont subi des complications intestinales à la suite d’une cholécystectomie; dans la moitié de ces dossiers, les résultats de l’action en justice ont été défavorables pour le médecin. L’approche par laparoscopie avait été choisie pour tous ces patients; dans la plupart des complications, il s’agissait d’un traumatisme direct à l’intestin grêle, plutôt que des traumatismes par dévascularisation. 

Le traumatisme était souvent attribuable à un trocart, un électrocautère ou un autre instrument. Dans certains dossiers, cependant, le mécanisme du traumatisme a été difficile à déterminer puisqu’il y a souvent eu une réaction inflammatoire importante avant que le médecin puisse procéder à l’examen visuel. 

Les experts consultés dans ces dossiers ont souvent critiqué les techniques chirurgicales, le fait que les traumatismes intestinaux n’avaient pas été détectés rapidement en période postopératoire, ainsi que l’absence de recherche d’autres causes de péritonite une fois qu’un traumatisme aux voies biliaires avait été écarté.

Traumatismes hémorragiques et vasculaires

Dans l’analyse en question, quatre dossiers faisaient état de traumatismes vasculaires, principalement au lit vésiculaire périhépatique. Les experts en chirurgie ont affirmé qu’un saignement important, interprété comme étant une complication d’une chirurgie par laparoscopie, est rare et que, lorsqu’il survient, ce saignement suit normalement l’une de deux présentations cliniques distinctes. L’état du patient peut devenir instable sur le plan hémodynamique immédiatement après l’accès péritonéal ou lors de la dissection. Une présentation plus insidieuse, avec des signes d’iléus et une diminution progressive du taux d’hémoglobine, peut également survenir dans les premières heures postopératoires, révélant une hémorragie « silencieuse ». Dans tous ces dossiers, les experts ont surtout critiqué le fait que le traumatisme vasculaire n’avait pas été décelé assez rapidement. 

En bref

  • La discussion visant à obtenir un consentement éclairé à une cholécystectomie par laparoscopie ne devrait pas donner au patient l’impression qu’il s’agit d’une intervention mineure sans risque de complications importantes.
  • Les signes et symptômes de complications postopératoires d’une cholécystectomie (généralement associés à des traumatismes des voies biliaires ou de l’intestin) peuvent être imprécis au début et apparaître seulement quelques heures ou quelques jours après l’intervention. Les instructions préalables au congé peuvent alerter le patient aux symptômes possibles de complications et l’inciter à obtenir des soins plus rapidement.
  • Les médecins de famille et ceux à l’urgence sont souvent confrontés au défi d’évaluer des patients présentant les premiers signes non spécifiques d’une complication postopératoire. Ils doivent donc communiquer directement avec l’équipe chirurgicale pour obtenir une évaluation plus approfondie lorsqu’ils soupçonnent un traumatisme peropératoire. 

Suggestions de lecture




Référence

  1. Madani A, Watanabe Y, Feldman LS, et al. Expert Intraoperative Judgment and Decision-making: Defining the Cognitive Competencies for Safe Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy. J Am Coll Surg [En ligne]. 2015 Nov [cité le 26 mars 2018]; 221(5):931-40. Disponible: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26292647 doi: 10.1016/j.jamcollsurg.2015.07.450

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.