Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Medical assistance in dying: Where do we stand two years later?

Originally published June 2018
18-12-E

Despite current federal1 and Québec2 legislation that makes medical assistance in dying (MAID) legal, there continues to be uncertainty among some physicians about their rights and obligations, and the processes to be followed in this area. Indeed, in the first 18 months following the June 2016 amendments to the relevant sections of Criminal Code of Canada, the CMPA received over one thousand enquiries from members about this developing issue.

The uncertainty felt by physicians is due, in part, to a lack of clarity surrounding the definition of certain requirements for MAID, such as “reasonably foreseeable death,” which is currently the subject of court challenges. There is also a potential for the law to evolve as it relates to conscientious objection, advanced directives, mature minors, and mental health diagnoses, among other aspects. The CMPA continues to monitor decisions and guidance by courts, governments, regulatory authorities (Colleges), and medical associations and federations as new issues and concerns emerge.

This article identifies issues physicians may encounter when asked to provide MAID. In addition to carefully considering and applying the eligibility criteria and safeguards in the Criminal Code, physicians involved in MAID must comply with provincial and territorial laws and regulations, as well as College and hospital policies. Physicians who have provided MAID on several occasions need to ensure they continue to have a thorough approach to assessing each request for MAID based on the individual circumstances of their patient. Physicians are encouraged to call the CMPA for case-specific advice, including on the issues discussed below.

Case example: Patient with ALS requests MAID

A 45-year-old patient with ALS requests MAID. She lives in a rural community where very few physicians are comfortable being involved in MAID.

She is not yet at the “end of life”—her treating physicians believe she could live another four years. However, she is concerned she could choke on her saliva and die at any time. She is not currently experiencing intolerable physical suffering, but is suffering severe psychological and emotional distress. She has a history of mental health issues.

Although her husband supports her request, the patient’s daughter opposes her mother’s choice.

Eligibility and safeguards

The case study illustrates some of the challenges physicians may face in determining eligibility for MAID. The law currently requires that the patient make a voluntary request, and be a mentally capable (competent) adult, eligible for government-funded health services, able to give informed consent, and suffering from a “grievous and irremediable medical condition.”3

There continues to be uncertainty in applying some of these criteria in specific cases. For example, does the ALS patient suffer from a “grievous and irremediable medical condition” and has her natural death become “reasonably foreseeable”? These terms are not clearly defined in the Criminal Code,4 nor do they reflect language used by healthcare practitioners in their clinical work. Moreover, there have been very few court decisions to date to help clarify these terms.5 Court challenges are underway in British Columbia6 and Québec7 in which the issue is whether the requirement that “natural death be reasonably foreseeable” is too restrictive and violates patients’ constitutional rights.

The case study also highlights challenges that can arise when family members disagree with the patient’s request. Only patients can request and consent to MAID, not substitute decision-makers. To help minimize the risk of difficulties arising after a patient’s death, physicians should—to the extent possible—encourage patients to involve their family in MAID discussions, with the understanding that a request for MAID is the patient’s decision.

Physician advisors at the CMPA stress that conversations with patients and their families about MAID are among the most important and challenging clinical conversations. As such, careful advance planning and preparation should be put into these conversations. In addition to ensuring the criteria and safeguards are met, the physician advisors suggest the preparation include considering whether the healthcare team, the patient, and those around the patient have the necessary resources and supports.

Capacity to consent

Given this patient’s mental health history, consideration must be given to her capacity to consent to MAID. The patient must be capable of consenting at the time of the request and immediately before MAID is provided. For this reason, “advance requests” for assisted dying are currently not permitted. The government continues to consider whether eligibility for MAID should be expanded to allow advance requests, as well as requests by mature minors and where mental illness is the sole underlying condition.8

The CMPA has also heard from physicians about issues with the application of the required 10-day reflection period, which can only be shortened if two practitioners agree that the person’s death, or the loss of their capacity to consent, is imminent.

Access to MAID

The patient in the case study lives in a rural community and may experience challenges finding a healthcare professional willing to provide MAID. That said, some healthcare facilities have policies and resources to assist healthcare providers and identify physicians who have a special interest and experience in MAID. Other healthcare facilities have not yet implemented policies, which can present challenges for physicians practising in those facilities.

Challenges can also arise, particularly in small communities, in finding two practitioners independent from one another. To address this issue, some regions have referral services to facilitate connecting patients with providers. Groups have also organized to assist patients finding volunteers willing to act as independent witnesses.

The emotional impact of MAID among physicians

Some reports suggest that the emotional toll of providing this service is causing some physicians to reconsider offering MAID.9 Despite the emotional strain, many members calling the CMPA for advice on participating in MAID do so because they feel they are meeting an important need in this select patient group.

Some physicians object to MAID on moral or religious grounds. While the law is clear that physicians have no obligation to provide MAID, the CMPA continues to encounter questions about providing an effective referral for patients seeking MAID.

Most regulatory authorities (Colleges) have policies or guidelines that attempt to reconcile the Charter rights of patients and physicians. These guidelines differ from one jurisdiction to another, including with respect to what is required by way of a referral for a conscientiously objecting physician.

A court in Ontario has confirmed the constitutionality of CPSO policies requiring conscientiously objecting physicians to provide effective referrals to patients seeking MAID.10 This decision has been appealed. The CMPA is also aware that some faith-based hospitals have decided not to provide MAID in their facilities and are instead transferring or referring to other facilities patients who request an assisted death.

Recognizing the challenge of balancing rights, conscientiously objecting physicians should comply with their College’s requirements, while respectfully and appropriately following their personal views.

Medical-legal risks

Unlike most other healthcare services, MAID is governed by criminal law. Failure to ensure that the safeguards and eligibility criteria, as well as the reporting requirements for MAID, are met could result in criminal charges and imprisonment of up to 14 years, in addition to College sanctions, civil legal actions, or both.

When considering a request for MAID

  • Know your obligations under the federal and provincial and territorial laws and regulations, and College and hospital policies, in particular the criteria and safeguards required by the Criminal Code. You may contact the CMPA for medical-legal advice concerning MAID. 
  • Assess each request on its own merits based on the facts and circumstances of the case.
  • Document carefully in the medical record the processes and discussions around MAID.
  • While respectfully and appropriately following your personal views, comply with College expectations regarding conscientious objections. 
  • Consider consulting with colleagues for support.

References

  1. An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to make related amendments to other Acts (medical assistance in dying) (formerly Bill C-14), 1st Sess, 42nd Leg, Canada, 2016 (assented to June 17, 2016)
  2. An Act Respecting End-of-Life Care, RSQ 2014, c S-32.0001
  3. Criminal Code, RSC, 1985, c. C-46, ss 241.2(1)
  4. Government of Canada [Internet]. Legislative Background: Medical Assistance in Dying (Bill C-14) [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Government of Canada, Department of Justice; 2016 [cited 2018 Jan 19]. 55 p. Available from: http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr/other-autre/ad-am/ad-am.pdf; Government of Canada [Internet]. Legislative Background: Medical Assistance in Dying (Bill C-14) –Addendum. Ottawa (ON): Department of Justice (Canada); 2016 July 15 [cited 2018 Jan 19]. Available from: http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr/other-autre/addend/index.html
  5. A.B. v Canada (Attorney General), 2017 ONSC 3759
  6. British Columbia Civil Liberties Association [Internet]. Vancouver (BC): The Association; 2016. Lamb v Canada Case Documents [cited 2018 Jan 19]. Available from: https://bccla.org/our_work/lamb-v-canada-case-documents/
  7. D’Amico et Saba c Procureure générale du Québec, Dec. 1, 2015. Court File 500-17-082567-143 (C.S.Q.)
  8. Medical assistance in dying [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Council of Canadian Academies [cited 2018 Jan 19]. Available from: http://www.scienceadvice.ca/en/assessments/in-progress/medical-assistance-dying.aspx
  9. Opatrny L, Bouthillier M. Decoding conscientious objection in medical aid in dying, First results from a unique study. Le spécialiste [Internet]. Dec 2017; 19(4): 36-40. Available from: https://www.fmsq.org/en/mediatheque/editions/le-specialiste
  10. The Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada v CPSO, 2018 ONSC 579

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

L’aide médicale à mourir... deux ans plus tard

Publié initialement en juin 2018 / révisé en mai 2019
18-12-F

Malgré les lois actuelles, tant au fédéral1 qu’au Québec,2 légalisant l’aide médicale à mourir, l’incertitude demeure chez les médecins quant à leurs droits et obligations, ainsi qu’aux démarches à suivre. En effet, l’ACPM a reçu plus de mille demandes d’information des membres sur ce sujet au cours des 18 premiers mois suivant les modifications apportées au Code criminel du Canada en juin 2016.

Cette incertitude est causée, en partie, par le manque de clarté dans la définition de certaines exigences de l’aide médicale à mourir, dont la « mort raisonnablement prévisible », un sujet qui fait actuellement l’objet de contestations judiciaires. La législation pourrait aussi évoluer en ce qui a trait, entre autres, à l’objection de conscience, aux directives de fin de vie, aux mineurs matures et aux diagnostics de problèmes de santé mentale. L’ACPM continue de surveiller les décisions et les recommandations des tribunaux, des gouvernements, des organismes de réglementation (Collèges) et des associations ou fédérations médicales, au fur et à mesure que sont soulevées de nouvelles questions et préoccupations.

Cet article traite des problèmes que peuvent avoir les médecins lorsqu’un patient formule une demande d’aide médicale à mourir. En plus de soigneusement examiner et mettre en œuvre les critères d’admissibilité ainsi que les mesures de sauvegarde établis dans le Code criminel, les médecins offrant l’aide médicale à mourir doivent se conformer aux lois et aux règlements, ainsi qu’aux exigences en matière de production de rapports de la province ou du territoire, de même qu’aux directives du Collège ou de l’hôpital. Les médecins qui ont déjà prodigué de l’aide médicale à mourir doivent s’assurer de continuer à respecter une démarche rigoureuse afin que chaque demande soit évaluée en fonction des circonstances individuelles du patient. L’ACPM encourage les médecins à communiquer avec elle pour obtenir des conseils précis et discuter des enjeux présentés dans cet article.

Exemples de cas : patiente atteinte de SLA

Une patiente de 45 ans, atteinte de sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA), demande l’aide médicale à mourir. Elle habite en milieu rural où très peu de médecins sont à l’aise de prodiguer cette aide.

Elle ne se trouve pas encore en fin de vie; ses médecins pensent qu’elle pourrait vivre encore quatre ans. Elle croit toutefois qu’elle pourrait s’étouffer avec sa salive et mourir n’importe quand. En ce moment, elle ne souffre pas de douleurs physiques intolérables, mais présente plutôt une détresse émotionnelle et psychologique importante. La patiente a des antécédents de problèmes de santé mentale.

Bien que son conjoint appuie sa décision, sa fille s’oppose au choix de sa mère.

Admissibilité et mesures de sauvegarde

Cet exemple de cas illustre quelques-uns des défis qui se posent aux médecins devant déterminer l’admissibilité d’un patient à l’aide médicale à mourir. Selon le Code criminel, un patient doit être apte à consentir aux décisions concernant sa santé; avoir droit à des soins de santé financés par l’état; faire une demande de manière volontaire; fournir un consentement éclairé; et être affecté de problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables.3

L’incertitude règne toujours dans l’application de certains de ces critères dans des dossiers particuliers. À titre d’exemple, la patiente souffrant de SLA a-t-elle des « problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables »? Sa mort est-elle « raisonnablement prévisible »? Ces expressions ne sont pas définies clairement dans le Code criminel4 et ne reflètent pas le langage utilisé par les professionnels de la santé dans le cadre de leur travail clinique. D’ailleurs, à ce jour, très peu de décisions judiciaires ont contribué à clarifier cette terminologie.5 Des contestations judiciaires sont en cours en Colombie-Britannique6 et au Québec7; l’enjeu consiste à déterminer si l’exigence de « mort naturelle raisonnablement prévisible » se veut trop restrictive et enfreint les droits constitutionnels des patients.

L’exemple de cas met aussi en évidence les défis qui peuvent survenir lorsque les membres d’une famille n’acceptent pas la demande du patient. Seuls les patients peuvent demander l’aide médicale à mourir et y consentir; les décideurs-remplaçants n’ont aucun pouvoir. Pour être en mesure de minimiser les risques à la suite du décès d’un patient, les médecins devraient, dans la mesure du possible, encourager les patients à faire participer les membres de la famille aux discussions sur l’aide médicale à mourir, tout en clarifiant qu’une telle demande relève de la décision du patient.

Les médecins-conseils de l’ACPM soulignent que les conversations entourant l’aide médicale à mourir, avec les patients et leur famille, se trouvent parmi les discussions cliniques les plus importantes et les plus difficiles. Ces conversations devraient donc être soigneusement planifiées. En plus de veiller à ce que les critères d’admissibilité et les mesures de sauvegarde soient respectés, les médecins-conseils suggèrent que la planification prenne en compte de vérifier si l’équipe soignante, le patient et ses proches possèdent les ressources et le soutien nécessaires.

Aptitude à consentir 

Dans l’exemple de cas, la patiente a des antécédents de problèmes de santé mentale; il faut alors évaluer soigneusement son aptitude à consentir. Un patient doit accorder son consentement à l’aide médicale à mourir au moment de demander cette aide, puis immédiatement avant de la recevoir. Pour cette raison, les directives de fin de vie pour ce genre de demande sont actuellement interdites. Le gouvernement du Canada tente de déterminer si l’admissibilité à l’aide médicale à mourir devrait être élargie et permettre les directives de fin de vie, ainsi que les demandes provenant de personnes mineures matures, tout comme celles où l’unique maladie sous-jacente du patient est un problème de santé mentale.8

Des médecins ont aussi fait part à l’ACPM de leurs inquiétudes à l’égard de l’exigence d’une période de réflexion de 10 jours; ce délai ne peut être raccourci que si deux praticiens déterminent que le patient pourrait bientôt perdre sa capacité à accorder un consentement éclairé ou que son décès est imminent.

Accès à l'aide médicale à mourir

Dans l’exemple de cas, la patiente vit en milieu rural et pourrait donc avoir de la difficulté à trouver un professionnel de la santé disposé à lui prodiguer l’aide médicale à mourir. Cependant, certains établissements de soins de santé ont établi des politiques et des ressources pour assister les professionnels de la santé, et identifier les médecins qui s’intéressent à l’aide médicale à mourir et qui ont de l’expérience en la matière. D’autres établissements n’ont pas encore de politiques, ce qui peut causer des problèmes aux médecins exerçant dans ces hôpitaux.

Il peut également être difficile de trouver, surtout dans une petite localité, deux praticiens dont l’exercice est indépendant l’un de l’autre. Pour pallier une telle situation, certaines régions ont mis sur pied des services de consultation pour soutenir les patients dans leur recherche d’un professionnel. Des groupes se sont aussi créés pour aider les patients à trouver des bénévoles disposés à servir de témoins indépendants.

Fardeau émotionnel pour les médecins

Selon certains rapports, il y aurait des médecins qui choisissent de ne plus offrir d’aide médicale à mourir en raison du fardeau émotionnel que ce service représente.9 Toutefois, de nombreux membres qui communiquent avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils relatifs à l’aide médicale à mourir disent vouloir offrir ces soins parce qu’ils estiment répondre ainsi aux besoins de ce groupe particulier de patients, en dépit du stress que cela peut représenter.

D’autres médecins, par contre, contestent l’aide médicale à mourir pour des raisons d’ordre moral ou religieux. Même si la loi précise que les médecins n’ont aucune obligation de prodiguer l’aide médicale à mourir, l’ACPM reçoit toujours des questions sur la façon de diriger efficacement les patients vers des ressources appropriées.

La plupart des organismes de réglementation (Collèges) ont élaboré des politiques ou des lignes directrices pour mieux concilier les droits des patients prévus par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et ceux des médecins. Ces lignes directrices diffèrent d’une province ou d’un territoire à l’autre, y compris en ce qui a trait à l’exigence, pour un médecin qui invoque une objection de conscience, d’aider le patient à trouver un autre médecin.

La Cour d'appel de l'Ontario a confirmé la constitutionnalité des politiques de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario; celles-ci exigent que les médecins se prévalant d’une objection de conscience dirigent les patients demandant l’aide médicale à mourir vers d’autres professionnels.10 L’ACPM sait également que certains hôpitaux confessionnels ont aussi choisi de ne pas prodiguer l’aide médicale à mourir dans leurs établissements, mais plutôt de transférer les patients qui demandent cette aide.

Tout en reconnaissant les défis entourant le respect des droits, les médecins ayant recours à l’objection de conscience devraient se conformer aux politiques du Collège dont ils relèvent, tout en étant fidèles à leurs opinions personnelles de manière respectueuse et appropriée.

Exigences en matière de production de rapports

Les médecins qui reçoivent des demandes d’aide médicale à mourir par écrit pourraient être tenus de soumettre un rapport à Santé Canada, ou à un destinataire désigné, même s’ils ne participent pas à l’évaluation du patient ni à la prestation d’une aide médicale à mourir. La demande du patient doit aller au-delà d’une simple demande de renseignements, mais ne doit pas nécessairement être présentée dans le format officiel exigé par le Code criminel pour déclencher l'obligation de produire un rapport (p. ex. être dûment signée et datée en présence d'un témoin). Un médecin pourrait, à titre d’exemple, devoir faire rapport à Santé Canada après avoir reçu une demande par courriel ou par message texte d'un patient.

En plus de soumettre un rapport à Santé Canada sur les demandes d’aide médicale à mourir reçues par écrit, les médecins peuvent également être tenus de communiquer de l’information sur l’aide médicale à mourir ou les décès qui y sont associés, selon les exigences des règlements provinciaux ou territoriaux, et fédéraux. Ceci peut inclure la soumission de rapports au coroner ou au médecin légiste, à Santé Canada (ou à un destinataire désigné), à l’hôpital ou à l’autorité en matière de santé, ou encore à d’autres entités (p. ex. la Commission sur les soins de fin de vie au Québec). L’information à signaler, l’organisation à laquelle le rapport est destiné, ainsi que les échéanciers de production d’un rapport peuvent varier selon le cas et la province ou le territoire. Les médecins sont encouragés à consulter le site web de Santé Canada11 ainsi que les politiques et réglements provinciaux et territoriaux sur l’aide médicale à mourir pour obtenir plus de détails.

Les médecins qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les exigences en matière de production de rapports sont invités à communiquer avec l’ACPM.

Risques médico-légaux

L’aide médicale à mourir est régie par le droit criminel, contrairement aux autres services en soins de santé. En plus d’être exposés à des admonestations de la part du Collège et à des actions civiles, les médecins pourraient donc faire face à des accusations criminelles et à une peine d’emprisonnement pouvant aller jusqu’à 14 ans si les mesures de sauvegarde et les critères d’admissibilité ne sont pas respectés, et que les renseignements sur l’aide médicale à mourir ne sont pas communiqués.

Que faire devant une demande d’aide médicale à mourir?

  • Connaître vos obligations telles qu’énoncées dans la loi fédérale, les lois et les règlements de la province ou du territoire, de même que les politiques du Collège et de l’hôpital, plus précisément, les critères et les mesures de sauvegarde exigés par le Code criminel. Ne pas hésiter à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils médico-légaux sur l’aide médicale à mourir.
  • Évaluer chaque demande selon son propre mérite en fonction des faits et des circonstances du cas.
  • Consigner soigneusement, dans le dossier médical, la démarche et les discussions au sujet de l’aide médicale à mourir.
  • Tout en agissant, de manière respectueuse et appropriée, selon vos convictions personnelles, vous conformer aux attentes du Collège en ce qui a trait aux objections de conscience.
  • Envisager de consulter des collègues pour obtenir du soutien.

Références

  1. Loi modifiant le Code criminel et apportant des modifications connexes à d’autres lois (aide médicale à mourir) (anciennement projet de loi C-14), 1re sess, 42e lég, Canada, 2016 (sanctionnée le 17 juin 2016)
  2. Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie, LRQ 2014, c S-32.0001
  3. Code criminel, LRC, 1985, c. C-46, art 241.2(1)
  4. Gouvernement du Canada [En ligne]. Contexte législatif : aide médicale à mourir (projet de loi C-14. Ottawa (CA): Gouvernement du Canada, ministère de la Justice; 2016 [cité le 19 janvier 2018]. 55 p. Disponible:http://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/rp-pr/other-autre/am-ad/; Gouvernement du Canada [En ligne]. Contexte législatif : aide médicale à mourir (projet de loi C-14) – Addendum. Ottawa (CA): Gouvernement du Canada, ministère de la Justice; 2016 [cité le 19 janvier 2018]. Disponible: http://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/pr-rp/addend/index.html
  5. A.B. v Canada (Attorney General), 2017 ONSC 3759
  6. British Columbia Civil Liberties Association [En ligne]. Vancouver (CA): l’Association; 2016. Lamb v Canada Case Documents [cité le 19 janvier 2018]. Disponible: https://bccla.org/our_work/lamb-v-canada-case-documents/
  7. Truchon et Gladu c Procureure générale du Canada et Procureure générale du Québec, Québec (QC) : Cour supérieure, Division de Montréal, no 500-17-099119-177.
  8. Aide médicale à mourir [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): Council for Canadian Academies [cité le 19 janvier 2018]. Disponible : http://sciencepourlepublic.ca/fr/assessments/in-progress/medical-assistance-dying.aspx
  9. Opatrny L, Bouthillier M. Décoder l’objection de conscience dans le cas de l’aide médicale à mourir : Premiers résultats d’une étude unique, Le spécialiste [En ligne]. Décembre 2017; 19(4): 36-40. Disponible : https://www.fmsq.org/fr/mediatheque/editions/le-specialiste
  10. Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada v College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, 2019 ONCA 393 (CanLII
  11. Gouvernement du Canada [En ligne]. Document d’orientation en matière de production des rapports sur l’aide médicale à mourir. 2018 [cité le 24 octobre 2018]. Disponible : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/aide-medicale-mourir/orientation-rapports-sommaire.html]

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.