Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Medical scribes: An increasing reality

Originally published February 2018
18-02-E

Medical scribes offer an innovative approach to the challenge of providing patient care while simultaneously documenting the care in the medical record. These individuals sit in on patient consultations and input information into the record for physicians. The intent is to reduce the time physicians spend documenting, allowing them to focus instead on delivering patient care.

Physicians who are considering introducing a scribe into their practice should plan for how they will continue to meet their legal and professional obligations including acting as an employer, delegating and supervising, documenting, and obtaining patient consent.

Well established in the U.S.,1 medical scribes have only recently been introduced to Canadian healthcare, leading physicians to wonder about the benefits and risks of using them.

Studies have shown benefits include increasing the productivity of busy specialists,2 and improving clinical satisfaction and patient-clinical interactions.3

From a medical-legal perspective, to date the CMPA has little experience with scribes; it is unaware of any regulatory authority (College) complaints and no civil actions have been brought.

“As we assess the role of medical scribes and the associated risks, we can use many of the lessons we’ve learned from other physician extenders, such as physician assistants,” says Dr. Todd Watkins, the CMPA’s Managing Director of Physician Services. “The most important message is that, when any new provider comes into the system, we need to continue to fulfill our role as physicians and meet the standards of care.”

Determine who is the scribe’s employer

When a hospital is proposing the use of medical scribes, or a physician is considering using one in their hospital practice, the first question is: who is the employer? For example, is the hiring of medical scribes a decision among a group of physicians, or are the medical scribes to be employees of the hospital where the physicians work?

The answer is important because employers have many broad obligations. They must ensure appropriate written agreements are in place to define the conditions of employment, determine minimum education and training, and determine potential business issues and liabilities. Physicians who hire a medical scribe must meet the obligations of an employer. The CMPA encourages physicians to get professional advice on such agreements and other obligations.

Delegate and supervise

Medical scribes are neither independent nor regulated professionals. This means physicians who delegate the task of clinical documentation to scribes are responsible for ensuring it is appropriate to delegate the task to that individual. They are also responsible for supervising scribes when they are carrying out the task.

Among other things, supervising physicians should ensure scribes are qualified and properly trained, and that they follow the physician’s professional and ethical obligations for record keeping.

Scribes must also adhere to their conditions of employment, including the clinic or hospital’s professional protocols, and to privacy legislation. As with all personnel who are privy to personal health information, medical scribes should sign a confidentiality agreement as a condition of their employment.

Medical scribes generally require monitoring and evaluation of their work, like any other staff member.

Establish clear rules for documentation

Supervising physicians are responsible for instructing the scribe on how to document properly, in accordance with the statutory and professional obligations of physicians. In addition to the legislative requirements for keeping records, Colleges have policies and guidelines for medical records, and physicians need to ensure scribes follow these.

While there is little specific guidance on using a scribe, it is generally expected that the record will clearly identify the medical scribe who made the original entry (i.e. provide the scribe’s name) and whether the physician reviewed the note.

Get patients’ consent

While the physician and scribe have appropriately prepared for delegating the task of documenting, physicians must also obtain patients’ consent before a medical scribe is allowed to sit in on a clinical encounter.

Physicians should introduce the scribe to patients and explain why the scribe is present. As well, physicians should make their patients aware that the scribe is bound by the same expectations of confidentiality that apply to the physician. If patients object to the scribe, physicians must honour their wishes and ask the scribe to leave.

The bottom line

The role of medical scribes in the Canadian healthcare system continues to evolve. Physicians who are thinking about using scribes in their practice should keep in mind they need to continue to fulfill their role as physicians and meet the standards of care. They should consider the following:

  • Clarify who is responsible for meeting the obligations of the scribe’s employer, and for delegating tasks and supervising the scribe.
  • Ensure the scribe adheres to the conditions of employment, and to the professional and legal expectations for record keeping that apply to physicians.
  • Be sure to obtain patient consent for a scribe to sit in on a patient consultation.

Additional reading


References

  1. American College of Medical Scribes [Internet]. Montville (US): American College of Medical Scribes; [cited 2018 Jan 4]. Available from: https://theacmss.org/about-us/
  2. Bank AJ, Gage RM. Annual impact of scribes on physician productivity and revenue in a cardiology clinic. Clinicecon Outcomes Res [Internet]. 2015 Sep 30 [cited 2017 Dec 12];7: 489–495. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4598196/ doi: 10.2147/CEOR.S89329
  3. Dubé K. Re: The use of medical scribes in healthcare settings: A systematic review and future directions. J Am Board Fam Med [Internet]. 2015 Oct [cited 2017 Dec 12];28(5):684-685. Available from: http://www.jabfm.org/content/28/5/684. doi: 10.3122/jabfm.2015.05.150184

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Scribes médicaux : une réalité qui s’impose?

Publié initialement en février 2018
18-02-F

Le recours aux scribes médicaux offre une approche novatrice aux médecins devant relever le défi de prodiguer des soins au patient tout en consignant leurs notes au dossier médical. Ces scribes assistent aux consultations avec les patients et rédigent les notes au dossier médical pour le médecin. L’objectif est de réduire le temps que le médecin passe à la tenue des dossiers afin qu’il puisse mieux se consacrer au patient. 

Les médecins souhaitant s’adjoindre les services d’un scribe doivent toutefois continuer de respecter leurs obligations légales et professionnelles, y compris celles liées à la gestion des employés, à la délégation de responsabilités, à la supervision du personnel, à la consignation des notes au dossier et à l’obtention du consentement du patient.

Déjà bien établis aux États-Unis,1 les scribes médicaux n’ont que récemment fait leur apparition dans le domaine de la santé au Canada, et suscitent chez les médecins des questions quant aux avantages et aux risques du recours à leurs services. 

Des études ont révélé les avantages de ces services, y compris l’augmentation de la productivité chez des spécialistes surchargés,2 ainsi que l’amélioration du taux de satisfaction quant aux soins cliniques et aux interactions médecin-patient.3

D’un point de vue médico-légal, l’ACPM n’a que peu d’expérience en ce qui a trait aux scribes; jusqu’à maintenant, l’Association n’a en effet connaissance d’aucune plainte déposée auprès d’un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ni d’aucune action en justice.

« Dans notre évaluation du rôle des scribes médicaux et des risques associés, nous pouvons nous inspirer des nombreuses leçons tirées de dossiers dans lesquels étaient impliqués d’autres assistants, comme les adjoints au médecin », précise le DTodd Watkins, directeur administratif des Services aux médecins à l’ACPM. « Le message le plus important à retenir est qu’à l’arrivée de tout nouvel intervenant dans le système, nous devons continuer d’assumer notre rôle de médecin et respecter les normes de pratique. »

Qui est l’employeur du scribe?

Lorsqu’un centre hospitalier propose de recourir à des scribes médicaux, ou qu’un médecin songe à utiliser ce service dans sa pratique hospitalière, la première question à se poser est : qui est l’employeur? Par exemple, l’embauche de scribes médicaux relève-t-elle d’un groupe de médecins ou les scribes sont-ils employés par l’hôpital dans lequel les médecins travaillent?

La réponse à cette question est importante, car les employeurs ont de nombreuses obligations de portée générale. Ils doivent en effet veiller à ce que des ententes écrites soient établies pour définir les conditions d’emploi, déterminer les exigences minimales d’éducation et de formation, et prévoir les enjeux possibles ainsi que les risques. Les médecins qui embauchent un scribe doivent donc répondre aux obligations d’un employeur. L’ACPM incite les médecins à obtenir des conseils professionnels à l’égard de telles ententes et d’autres obligations.

Déléguer et superviser

Les scribes médicaux ne sont pas des professionnels indépendants ou réglementés. Ceci signifie qu’un médecin qui délègue la tenue du dossier clinique à un scribe doit s’assurer qu’il est approprié de déléguer une telle tâche à la personne en question. Le médecin est également responsable de superviser le scribe dans son travail.

Le médecin superviseur doit, entre autres, s’assurer que le scribe est qualifié, qu’il a reçu une formation adéquate, et qu’il respecte les obligations professionnelles et déontologiques du médecin en ce qui a trait à la tenue des dossiers.

Pour sa part, le scribe doit respecter ses conditions d’emploi, y compris les protocoles professionnels de la clinique ou de l’hôpital, ainsi que les lois sur la protection de la vie privée.  Comme tout autre membre du personnel ayant accès à des renseignements personnels sur la santé des patients, les scribes médicaux doivent signer une entente de confidentialité comme condition d’emploi.

Les scribes médicaux nécessitent en général une surveillance et une évaluation de leur travail, comme tout autre employé.

Établir des règles claires pour la tenue des dossiers

Le médecin superviseur doit former le scribe à la bonne tenue des dossiers, conformément aux obligations légales et professionnelles du médecin. Outre les exigences légales de la tenue des dossiers, les médecins doivent veiller à ce que les scribes se conforment aux politiques et lignes directrices émises par les Collèges à ce sujet.

Peu d’indications précises existent sur le recours aux services de scribes, mais il est généralement attendu que le dossier médical précise clairement qui est le scribe ayant consigné la note initiale (c.-à-d.  le nom du scribe y apparaît) et que le médecin a revu cette note, le cas échéant.

Obtenir le consentement des patients

Même si le médecin et le scribe se sont bien préparés en vue de la délégation de la tenue du dossier, le médecin doit également obtenir le consentement du patient avant qu’un scribe médical puisse être autorisé à assister à une consultation clinique.

Le médecin doit également présenter le scribe et expliquer sa présence au patient. Il doit de plus informer le patient que le scribe est tenu aux mêmes obligations de confidentialité que le médecin. Si le patient refuse la présence du scribe, le médecin doit s’incliner devant les volontés du patient et demander au scribe de se retirer.

En bref

Le rôle des scribes médicaux dans le système de santé canadien continue d’évoluer. Les médecins qui songent à s’adjoindre les services d’un scribe dans leur pratique devraient se rappeler qu’ils sont toujours tenus de s’acquitter de leur rôle de médecin et de respecter les normes de pratique. Ils doivent donc :

  • préciser qui est responsable de répondre aux obligations de l’employeur du scribe, de déléguer les tâches et de superviser le scribe.
  • veiller à ce que le scribe respecte les conditions d’emploi, ainsi que les attentes professionnelles et légales qui s’appliquent aux médecins pour la tenue des dossiers.
  • s’assurer d’obtenir le consentement du patient pour que le scribe puisse assister à la consultation. 

Suggestions de lecture


Références

  1. American College of Medical Scribes [En ligne]. Montville (US): American College of Medical Scribes; [cité le 4 janvier 2018]. Disponible : https://theacmss.org/about-us/ 
  2. Bank AJ, Gage RM. Annual impact of scribes on physician productivity and revenue in a cardiology clinic. Clinicecon Outcomes Res [En ligne]. 30 septembre 2015 [cité le 12 décembre 2017];7: 489-95. Disponible : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4598196/ doi: 10.2147/CEOR.S89329
  3. Dubé K. Re: The use of medical scribes in healthcare settings: A systematic review and future directions. J Am Board Fam Med [En ligne]. Septembre-octobre 2015 [cité le 12 décembre 2017];28(5):684-85. Disponible : http://www.jabfm.org/content/28/5/684. doi: 10.3122/jabfm.2015.05.150184

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.