Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Navigating the complexities when treating patients with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias

Originally published March 2018

It’s easy to appreciate that the growing burden of Alzheimer’s disease and dementia poses a threat to the long-term financial sustainability of the healthcare system, with potential impacts to physicians’ practices. But less often explored are the implications for patient safety and the medical-legal risks to physicians who treat patients with dementia. To examine these risks, the CMPA reviewed 119 regulatory authority (College) cases that closed between 2012 and 2016.

Patients diagnosed with dementia may be physically frail, have multiple chronic conditions for which they receive numerous treatments, or may be receiving end-of-life care. Communication and behavioural challenges, the variability of dementia, difficult family dynamics, and the need to balance patient autonomy with personal safety increase vulnerability for patients while presenting added challenges for physicians.

While family physicians and geriatricians working in the community were involved in over half of the cases reviewed, hospital-based specialists were also involved, including internal medicine specialists, emergency department physicians, surgeons, and critical care specialists. Many cases involved transfers of care within and between healthcare facilities.

This article examines medical-legal risk by grouping cases into two categories: those in which peer experts were critical of the clinical care provided, and those for which communication was the primary issue.

Clinical care issues

Three scenarios: Loss of situational awareness, breakdowns at transfers of care

A man files a complaint against his brother’s family physician for allegedly delaying a referral to long-term care. Following an investigation, the College finds there was inadequate follow-up over a three-year period, during which the patient’s cognitive health declined, with documented weight loss and missed appointments.

A woman files a complaint against her mother’s family physician and an emergency department physician after her mother dies in hospital two days after being transferred back to her long-term care home from the same facility. The College finds that the patient’s family physician, who had assessed her in the emergency department for persistent vomiting and dehydration, did not appropriately investigate her condition and left ambiguous instructions for the on-call emergency physician who ultimately discharged her when she appeared to be improving. It is apparent to the College investigator that each physician thought the other had primary responsibility for the patient’s care.

A woman files a complaint against a geriatrician who diagnosed her father with Alzheimer’s disease, citing inadequate assessment and abrupt manner. The woman states in her complaint that another specialist subsequently disputed the diagnosis. The College is critical that the geriatrician’s assessment did not reflect current guidelines for diagnosis.

The main areas of College criticism in cases relating to clinical care were the loss of physicians’ situational awareness and system breakdowns at transfers of care. Loss of situational awareness most often involved inadequate assessment, follow-up, or screening. This included failing to reassess a patient when indicated, or review the medications a patient was taking. The Colleges were critical of assessment or follow-up in nearly a quarter of cases. Deficient patient evaluation was the most common allegation overall, representing over half of complaints. Prescribing an inappropriate or contraindicated medication—a known issue in the older patient population—was the subject of criticism in a small number of cases.

Transfers of care are recognized as high-risk points in patient care, and patients with dementia experience transfers more frequently than similar-aged patients without these conditions.1 The complex care needs of patients with dementia, including their reliance on caregivers and multiple health professionals to coordinate their care, can make these transfers more problematic. Transfer of care issues in the College cases the CMPA reviewed most often involved transfers to and from acute and long-term care facilities, and included incomplete handover of information such as advance directives, details of the care plan, and inadequate medication reconciliation. A few cases involved criticism of the physician for failing to recognize their duty of care to attend to a patient. There were also examples of unclear hospital or long-term care facility policies around levels of care. Colleges were also critical of physicians who failed to document their assessments of patients in long-term care, which could have affected continuity.

To help address these and other clinical care issues, physicians should be familiar with Clinical Practice Guidelines on the Diagnosis and Treatment of Dementia, published by the Canadian Geriatrics Society.2

Communication issues

Three scenarios: Communication with patients, families

A man files a complaint alleging that his mother’s family physician discontinued her anti-hypertensive medication, causing her to have a fatal stroke. The College supports the decision to de-prescribe in this case, but is critical of the physician’s failure to involve the patient’s family in the decision or communicate this decision to them.

A man files a complaint against his mother’s family physician when he learns that his mother, who has vascular dementia with cognitive fluctuations, was dismissed from the physician’s practice for problems related to medication non-compliance and managing relationships with the other caregivers and family members involved in her care. The College is critical of the physician for not following College policy on ending the doctor-patient relationship, including failing to make arrangements for continuing care.

A woman files a complaint against her father’s family physician after she learns that the physician’s administrative assistant had called her father to advise him to cease driving immediately because he had been reported to the ministry of transportation due to his worsening dementia. The College is critical of the physician for delegating such a significant conversation to office staff, which deprived the patient of the opportunity to ask questions and seek reassurance.

Inadequate communication with a patient or their family was alleged in nearly half of the cases reviewed. Peer experts were critical of the quality of the physician’s communication in nearly a quarter of all cases.

The main themes in the reviewed cases that related to communicating with patients or families were not communicating adequately or not communicating directly, where appropriate. These incidents were often based on the physician’s incorrect assumption that their patient was incapable of consenting or understanding the required information (see the section “Understanding capacity”). However, physicians could have also been influenced by the desire to avoid a difficult discussion, particularly in the presence of behavioural issues, including aggressive behaviour or agitation, which affect some patients with dementia. In some cases, communication problems, either with patients or their families, were a source of tension that ultimately led to the dissolution of the doctor-patient relationship.

In cases related to communicating with families, peer experts were most often critical of physicians for not seeking collateral information where appropriate, or not seeking consent for or not communicating updates to the patient’s care plan, most often pertaining to prescribing or de-prescribing medication. Misunderstandings around advance directives, goals of care, or the meaning of “palliative care” or “DNR” were also common. A lack of documentation of discussions or family meetings was also a frequent source of criticism. 

Understanding capacity

Issues relating to capacity represent the largest category of advice calls received by the CMPA related to the care of patients with dementia.

An individual who is able to understand the nature and anticipated effect of a proposed medical treatment and alternatives, and to appreciate the consequences of refusing treatment, is generally considered to have the necessary capacity to give valid consent.3,4 Furthermore, a person who is incapable of making decisions regarding certain matters might still have sufficient mental capacity to give valid consent to medical treatment.3 Gauging capacity in patients with dementia can be challenging as capacity may fluctuate, making it necessary to re-evaluate previous assessments on a regular basis.

When a patient is determined to be incapable of consent, the responsibility for non-urgent care generally falls to a substitute decision-maker, who can be designated by the patient through an advance directive or power of attorney. Notably, a physician’s incorrect assumption of a person’s attorney for personal care, usually in the context of family disagreement, was seen in a number of College cases reviewed, as were cases involving disagreements between substitute decision-makers of equal standing.

The bottom line

Physicians who treat patients with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias must contend with issues that are made more complex by the nature of the patient’s conditions and their repercussions. Nevertheless, physicians can minimize their medical-legal risk by ensuring they adequately assess the patient to facilitate situational awareness, and consider the nuances of communicating with dementia patients and their families.

Other resources


  1. Callahan CM, Arling G, Tu W, et al. Transitions in Care among Older Adults with and without Dementia. J Am Geriatr Soc. 2012;60(5):813-820.
  2. Gauthier S, Patterson C, Chertkow H, et al. 4th Canadian Consensus Conference on the Diagnosis and Treatment of Dementia. Can J Neurol Sci. 2012;39:S1–8.
  3. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Consent: A guide for Canadian physicians. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; 2006 [cited 2017 Jul]. Available from:
  4. In Québec, the capacity to consent is fixed at the age of 14 years, below which the consent of the parent or guardian or of the court is necessary for the purposes of proposed treatment.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Patients atteints de démences : Ce qu’il ne faut pas oublier!

Publié initialement en mars 2018
18-03-F

Il est facile de comprendre que le fardeau croissant des patients atteints de démence de type Alzheimer ou d’autres troubles cognitifs représente une menace pour la pérennité du système de santé et peut aussi avoir des retombées sur la pratique des médecins. La sécurité des patients et les risques médico-légaux pour les médecins qui traitent cette clientèle font toutefois moins souvent l’objet d’études. L’ACPM a choisi d’examiner ces risques en analysant 119 dossiers conclus entre 2012 et 2016 qui portaient sur des plaintes déposées auprès d’un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège).

Les patients atteints de démence peuvent être frêles et avoir de multiples maladies chroniques nécessitant des traitements allant même jusqu’aux soins de fin de vie. Parmi les facteurs qui accroissent la vulnérabilté de ces patients et posent des défis aux médecins, mentionnons entre autres : les problèmes de communication et de comportement; la diversité des troubles associés aux démences; les dynamiques familiales difficiles; et l’équilibre entre l’autonomie du patient et sa sécurité.

Plus de la moitié des dossiers de cette analyse mettaient en cause des omnipraticiens et des gériatres en milieu communautaire.

Toutefois, des spécialistes des centres hospitaliers étaient également impliqués : internistes, médecins à l’urgence, chirurgiens, ainsi qu’intensivistes. De nombreux dossiers portaient sur des problèmes de transfert des soins au sein d’un même établissement et vers d’autres établissements de santé.

Cet article examine les risques médico-légaux en fonction de deux catégories de dossiers : ceux dans lesquels les experts consultés ont critiqué les soins cliniques, et ceux où le principal problème relevait de la communication.

Problèmes dans les soins cliniques

Trois scénarios : Perte de conscience situationnelle, problèmes de communication lors du transfert des soins

Un homme porte plainte contre le médecin de famille de son frère, alléguant que le médecin a reporté la demande de placement dans un établissement de soins de longue durée. Après enquête, le Collège conclut à un suivi inadéquat sur une période de trois ans pendant laquelle l’état cognitif du patient s’est détérioré. Le médecin avait pourtant consigné la perte de poids chez le patient ainsi que les rendez-vous manqués.

Une femme dépose une plainte contre le médecin de famille de sa mère et un médecin à l’urgence après le décès de la mère à l’hôpital, survenu deux jours après son retour en établissement de soins de longue durée. Le Collège détermine que le médecin de famille, qui avait évalué la patiente au service d’urgence pour des vomissements persistants et une déshydratation, n’avait pas investigué le problème de façon appropriée et avait laissé des instructions ambiguës au médecin de garde à l’urgence qui, par la suite, a accordé le congé lorsque la patiente semblait mieux. Il est manifeste pour l’enquêteur que chacun des médecins pensait que la responsabilité primaire des soins de cette patiente incombait à l’autre.

Une femme porte plainte contre un gériatre qui a diagnostiqué une démence de type Alzheimer chez son père, invoquant le fait qu’elle jugeait son évaluation inadéquate et ses manières brusques. Dans sa plainte, la femme précise qu’un autre spécialiste a par la suite remis en cause le diagnostic initial. Le Collège a critiqué l’évaluation du gériatre, qui ne respectait pas les lignes directrices en vigueur pour l’établissement d’un diagnostic.


Les critiques formulées par le Collège quant aux soins cliniques portaient principalement sur la perte de conscience situationnelle chez les médecins et les défaillances du système lors du transfert des soins. Une perte de conscience situationnelle a le plus souvent entraîné une évaluation, un suivi ou un dépistage inadéquat : p. ex. un patient n’a pas été réévalué lorsque ceci était indiqué, ou la pharmacothérapie du patient n’a pas été revue. Les Collèges ont critiqué l’évaluation ou le suivi dans près d’un quart des dossiers. Dans plus de la moitié des plaintes, l’allégation la plus fréquente était une évaluation déficiente. La prescription d’un médicament inapproprié ou contre-indiqué – problème courant en gériatrie – a fait l’objet de critiques dans un petit nombre de dossiers.

Le transfert des soins est reconnu comme une étape à risque élevé, et les patients atteints de démence voient leurs soins transférés plus souvent que les autres patients dans la même tranche d’âge.1 Comme ces patients requièrent des soins complexes et dépendent de soignants et de multiples professionnels de la santé pour en assurer la coordination, les transferts des soins n’en sont que plus compliqués. Dans les dossiers des plaintes auprès de Collèges que l’ACPM a analysés et qui portaient sur ce thème, il était le plus souvent question de transferts entre établissements de soins de courte et de longue durée. Les lacunes citées incluaient la communication de données incomplètes, par exemple en ce qui avait trait aux directives préalables, aux détails du plan de soins et au bilan comparatif des médicaments. Quelques dossiers ont aussi attiré des critiques à l’égard du médecin qui n’avait pas respecté son devoir de diligence envers un patient. Il y a également eu des exemples de politiques floues entourant les niveaux de soins dans des hôpitaux ou des établissements de soins de longue durée. Les Collèges ont aussi critiqué certains médecins pour avoir omis de consigner leur évaluation de patients dans des établissements de longue durée, ce qui aurait pu nuire à la continuité des soins.

Dans le but d’éviter ces problèmes particuliers ainsi que d’autres ayant trait aux soins cliniques, les médecins devraient se familiariser avec les lignes directrices de pratique clinique sur le diagnostic et le traitement de la démence, publiées par la Société canadienne de gériatrie.2

Problèmes de communication

Trois scénarios : Communication avec les patients et les familles

Un homme porte plainte contre le médecin de famille de sa mère, alléguant que celui-ci a mis fin au traitement antihypertenseur de la mère, ce qui lui a causé un AVC fatal. Le Collège appuie la décision de déprescrire dans ce dossier particulier, mais critique le médecin pour ne pas avoir invité la famille de la patiente à prendre part à la décision, et pour ne pas lui avoir communiqué cette décision.

Un homme dépose une plainte contre le médecin de famille de sa mère après avoir appris que celui-ci avait mis fin à sa relation professionnelle avec la mère, atteinte de démence vasculaire avec pertes cognitives, parce que celle-ci n’adhérait pas à son traitement médicamenteux et avait des problèmes relationnels avec les autres soignants et les aidants naturels. Le Collège a critiqué le médecin pour ne pas avoir respecté la politique du Collège sur la façon de mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient, et pour ne pas avoir pris de dispositions pour assurer la continuité des soins.

Une femme porte plainte contre le médecin de famille de son père après avoir appris que l’assistante administrative du médecin avait appelé le père pour l’aviser de cesser immédiatement de conduire vu qu’il avait fait l’objet d’un signalement auprès du ministère des Transports en raison de la progression de sa démence. Le Collège a critiqué le médecin pour avoir délégué au personnel de son cabinet une conversation cruciale, privant ainsi le patient de la possibilité de poser des questions et d’être rassuré sur son état de santé.


Les plaintes alléguaient une communication inadéquate avec le patient ou sa famille dans près de la moitié des dossiers analysés. Les experts ont aussi soulevé des lacunes dans la communication du médecin dans près d’un quart de tous les dossiers.

Dans les dossiers sur la communication avec les patients et les familles, les principaux thèmes relevés portaient sur le fait que le médecin n’avait pas communiqué de façon adéquate ou directe, le cas échéant. Ces situations sont souvent survenues parce que le médecin avait eu la fausse impression que le patient était inapte à consentir ou à comprendre les renseignements voulus (voir l’encadré Comprendre l’aptitude). Toutefois, il est aussi possible que le médecin ait voulu éviter une discussion difficile, tout particulièrement en présence de problèmes de comportement, telle l’agressivité ou l’agitation, qui sont courants dans les cas de démence. Dans certains dossiers, ces problèmes constituaient une source de tension qui a entraîné la dissolution de la relation médecin-patient.

Dans les dossiers sur les problèmes de communication avec la famille, les experts ont le plus souvent critiqué les médecins pour ne pas avoir : obtenu d’autres renseignements lorsque la situation l’exigeait; obtenu le consentement au plan de traitement; ou communiqué les changements apportés à ce plan, le plus souvent lorsqu’il s’agissait de prescrire ou de déprescrire des médicaments. Parmi d’autres sources fréquentes de critique, mentionnons les malentendus concernant les directives préalables, les objectifs des soins et la définition des soins palliatifs ou des ordonnances de non-réanimation, ainsi que l’absence de consignation des discussions ou des rencontres avec les familles.

Comprendre l’aptitude

Les problèmes ayant rapport à l’inaptitude représentent la plus grande catégorie des appels reçus par l’ACPM concernant des demandes de conseils en matière de soins aux patients atteints de démence.

Toute personne en mesure de comprendre la nature et l’effet prévu d’un traitement médical, ainsi que les solutions de rechange proposées, et de mesurer les conséquences du refus du traitement, est généralement considérée apte à accorder un consentement valide.3,4 Par ailleurs, toute personne inapte à prendre des décisions concernant certaines affaires pourrait quand même être suffisamment apte pour accorder un consentement valide à un traitement médical.3 Il peut être difficile d’évaluer l’aptitude des patients atteints de démence vu que cette aptitude peut fluctuer, ce qui exige une reconsidération régulière des évaluations antérieures.

Lorsque l’on juge qu’un patient est inapte à consentir, c’est généralement à un décideur-remplaçant qu’incombe la responsabilité des soins non urgents; celui-ci peut avoir été désigné par le patient dans une directive préalable ou un mandat. L’analyse des dossiers a notamment fait ressortir que, dans certaines plaintes déposées auprès d’un Collège, le médecin n’avait pas bien compris qui était au juste le mandataire pour les soins d’un patient, la plupart du temps en situation de conflit familial. Dans d’autres dossiers, ce sont des mésententes qui sont ressorties entre des comandataires.


En bref

Les médecins qui traitent des patients atteints de démence de type Alzheimer ou d’autres troubles cognitifs doivent composer avec des situations qui se trouvent compliquées par la nature des problèmes du patient et les répercussions de ceux-ci. Ils peuvent néanmoins minimiser leurs risques médico-légaux en évaluant adéquatement le patient, afin d’améliorer leur conscience situationnelle, et tenir compte des écueils possibles dans la communication avec les patients et leurs familles.


Ressources additionnelles



Références

  1. Callahan CM, Arling G, Tu W, et al. Transitions in Care among Older Adults with and without Dementia. J Am Geriatr Soc. 2012;60(5):813-20.
  2. Gauthier S, Patterson C, Chertkow H, et al. 4th Canadian Consensus Conference on the Diagnosis and Treatment of Dementia. Can J Neurol Sci. 2012;39:S1–8.
  3. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Le consentement : Guide à l’intention des médecins du Canada. Ottawa (ON): ACPM; 2006 [cité en juillet 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/handbooks/consent-a-guide-for- canadian-physicians.
  4. Au Québec, l’aptitude au consentement est fixée à l’âge de 14 ans; de sorte que le consentement d’un parent ou d’un tuteur, ou encore du tribunal, est nécessaire aux fins d’un traitement proposé à l’égard d’un enfant âgé de moins de 14 ans.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.