Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Safe prescribing: Risks for older patients

Originally published December 2018
18-28-E

Older Canadians have a higher risk of medication-related patient safety incidents than their younger counterparts. This is for a number of complex reasons, including co-morbidities, polypharmacy, metabolic changes, and evolving standards and guidelines.

The CMPA recently reviewed 469 medication-related cases closed between 2013 and 2018 involving patients over the age of 65. Seventy-one percent were complaints or investigations by medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), 22% were legal actions, and 7% were hospital complaints. Close to one-third of cases involved care provided by community-based family physicians, but a wide range of specialties—including internal medicine specialists, surgeons, ophthalmologists, and emergency medicine specialists—were also involved.

CMPA case types for matters involving medication prescribing for patients greater than 65 years. College complaints: 71%; Legal actions: 22%; Hospital complaints: 7%

The majority of these cases concerned drugs that were given orally. The most common types of drugs were: opioids; anti-depressant and anxiolytic medications; anti-thrombotics; cardiovascular drugs; drugs given for the treatment of cancer, including chemotherapeutic agents and steroids; and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs).

The two most common concerns identified by peer experts1 were not fully appreciating the complexity of a patient’s condition when prescribing a new medication, and failing to re-evaluate a patient’s existing prescriptions when clinical circumstances warranted. Communication challenges, including breakdowns in communication between patients and physicians and at handover between providers, also factored into many cases. This article explores common difficulties that may be experienced by CMPA members when managing the medications of their older patients.

Optimize prescribing for complex medical scenarios

An 85-year-old woman with mild cognitive impairment undergoes an uneventful endoscopy for upper gastrointestinal complaints under intravenous sedation. At admission, the gastroenterologist had ordered oxazepam to be given nightly during the patient’s hospitalization, since she had been anxious about the procedure. The next day, a hospitalist assumes the patient’s care, continuing all drugs ordered by the gastroenterologist and adding an order for lorazepam as required because the patient continued to experience anxiety. The patient breaks her hip from a fall getting out of her hospital bed the following morning, after having been given both lorazepam and oxazepam the evening before. A hospitalist peer expert consulted as part of the ensuing legal action is critical of both physicians, stating that both prescribed drugs were inappropriate for this patient, who was frail and assessed to be at high risk for a fall.

Because older patients often have a number of health conditions, they are frequently prescribed multiple medications, making them particularly vulnerable to drug interactions.

Multiple conditions also mean more contraindications and precautions with respect to dosages and monitoring. Sometimes the age or frailty of a patient can itself necessitate greater vigilance when prescribing. For example, older patients may be more susceptible to adverse effects from medications, such as dizziness or drowsiness, leading to an increased risk of falls. Therefore, some medications may need to be started at a lower dosage or require increased monitoring. Consulting with a pharmacist or geriatrician may help to identify older patients who are at higher risk.

Re-evaluate medication regimens as patients age

The bloodwork of a 65-year-old man taking celecoxib for arthritis shows a creatinine level and glomerular filtration rate that suggests chronic kidney disease. His family physician monitors the patient’s renal function at regular intervals. Over the next three years, the patient’s kidney function further deteriorates, and he eventually leaves the family physician’s practice when he moves to another community. There, his new family physician diagnoses stage 4 of chronic kidney disease and discontinues the celecoxib. Following an investigation by the College, the patient’s original family physician is cautioned regarding the use of NSAIDs in elderly patients with renal failure.

A survey of community-dwelling Canadian seniors found that 71% would be willing to stop a medication if their physician said it was possible.2

In addition to selecting a potentially contraindicated drug or dosage, inappropriate prescribing to older patients may include the continuation of unnecessary or potentially harmful prescriptions. Age-related changes may affect a drug's absorption, distribution, metabolism, and elimination, making a drug no longer necessary or even harmful, which underscores the importance of regular reviews. Furthermore, in some cases an existing therapy, even if well tolerated by the patient, may no longer represent the standard of care in this age group, requiring re-assessment and a change of therapy.

Polypharmacy is a well-recognized phenomenon in the older population.3 A recent CIHI report found that 1 in 4 Canadians age 65 and older were prescribed 10 or more drug classes,4 highlighting the scope of this problem and its challenges for clinicians.

Accordingly, identifying and deprescribing potentially unnecessary medications for patients over the age of 65 is a growing area of focus for patient safety. This practice is seen as particularly important for older seniors and those living in long-term care facilities. Resources such as the STOPP/START criteria for potentially inappropriate prescribing in older people5 or the Beers Criteria6 can be used to guide prescribing to older patients in addition to clinical judgement. Deprescribing guidelines2 and protocols for discontinuing potentially unnecessary or inappropriate medications, including over-the-counter medications, can further help physicians manage the complex medication needs of their older patients. Physicians should review relevant updates to guidelines when re-evaluating medications and use caution when planning to discontinue medications. Pharmacists can play an important role by conducting regular medication reviews, working with older adults to reduce medication errors, and assisting with deprescribing.

Communicate clearly

A woman who is 75 years old sees her family physician for a routine visit. After reviewing the patient’s medications, the family physician decides to switch the nitrazepam that the patient is taking as a sleep aid to a non-benzodiazepine hypnotic without tapering, telling her that benzodiazepines may be harmful, and giving the patient the impression that nitrazepam was no longer available for him to prescribe. After being treated in the emergency department for withdrawal symptoms, the patient seeks out another physician who prescribes nitrazepam. In response to the patient’s complaint, the College cautions the family physician on the importance of careful tapering of benzodiazepines and is critical of the miscommunication around the availability of the drug and the lack of clarity around the rationale given for deprescribing.

Communication was a recurring theme in medication-related cases involving patients over 65. Breakdowns in communication occurred at various points in the process of care, including in the context of medication reconciliation—which is particularly important when multiple providers, and possibly family members, are involved in the patient’s care—or when there were transfers between facilities. This highlights the importance of engaging patients, their caregivers, and pharmacists in comprehensive medication reviews when appropriate.

Medication adherence can also be an issue for older patients. Poor adherence can have many causes, including cognitive decline and the “pill burden” that can come with taking multiple medications. Therefore, extra time and care may be needed to explain a medication’s indication, monitoring requirements, adverse effects, and any special precautions. These precautions may include the timing of medications and possible interactions or contraindications with over-the-counter medications and supplements. Patient education materials and support from pharmacists can reinforce adherence and support proper use of medications, including advice on the timing of medications as well as tailoring dosages to reduce pill burden. Additionally, aids such as the use of dosette boxes and blister packs can facilitate adherence.

Ensuring open and appropriate communication with family members involved in the patient’s care can be challenging, and many of the cases reviewed involved complaints from caregivers when the rationale for treatment decisions was not clearly explained or when a substitute decision-maker was not appropriately consulted about changes to the care plan.

Explaining the need and rationale for deprescribing can be particularly challenging. Therefore, using educational resources for patients and families, and partnering with a pharmacist may be helpful.

The bottom line

Inappropriate prescribing to, and communication with, older patients are growing safety concerns given the potential for harm in this large and increasing segment of the population.

Special considerations should be considered when prescribing for this age group. For instance, the continuation of medications should be re-evaluated on a regular basis as patients age and their clinical circumstances change. Clear communication with patients, their caregivers, and other involved health professionals plays an important role in ensuring safe care while managing the medication needs of older patients.




References

  1. Peer experts refer to physicians retained by the parties in a legal action to interpret and provide their opinion on clinical, scientific, or technical issues surrounding the care provided. They are typically of similar training and experience as the physicians whose care they are reviewing.
  2. Sirois C, Ouellet N, Reeve E. Community-dwelling older people’s attitudes towards deprescribing in Canada. Res Soc Admin Pharm. 2017;13(4):864-870
  3. Maher RL, Hanlon JT, Hajjar ER. Clinical Consequences of Polypharmacy in Elderly. Expert Opin Drug Saf. 2014;13(1):57-65
  4. Canadian Institute for Health Information. Drug Use Among Seniors in Canada, 2016. Ottawa, ON: CIHI; 2018. Available at: https://www.cihi.ca/sites/default/files/document/drug-use-among-seniors-2016-en-web.pdf
  5. O’Mahony D, O’Sullivan D, Byrne S, et al. STOPP/START criteria for potentially inappropriate prescribing in older people: version 2. Age Ageing. 2015 Mar:44(2);213-8
  6. American Geriatrics Society 2015 Beers Criteria Update Expert Panel. American Geriatrics Society 2015 Updated Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults. J Am Geriatr Soc. 2015 Nov;63(11):2227-46

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Prescrire de façon sécuritaire : les risques chez les patients âgés

Publié initialement en décembre 2018
18-28-F

Les aînés sont davantage à risque de subir des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients associés aux médicaments, et ce, pour diverses raisons complexes : comorbidité, polypharmacie, changements métaboliques, évolution des normes et des lignes directrices.

L’ACPM a analysé 469 dossiers liés aux médicaments, conclus entre 2013 et 2018, impliquant des patients de plus de 65 ans : 71 % portaient sur des enquêtes ou des plaintes auprès d’organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), 22 % sur des actions en justice et 7 % sur des problèmes intrahospitaliers. Près d’un tiers concernaient des soins prodigués par des médecins de famille en milieu communautaire; toutefois, des spécialistes (c.-à-d. médecine interne, chirurgie, ophtalmologie, médecine d’urgence) étaient également en cause.

Proportion des types de dossiers de l'ACPM liés aux médicaments prescrits à des patients âgés de plus de 65 ans (n=469); Plaintes aux Collèges/enquêtes 71 %; Actions en justice 22 %; Problèmes intrahospitaliers 7 %

Dans la majorité des cas, les médicaments avaient été administrés par voie orale. Les catégories de médicaments les plus souvent citées : opioïdes; antidépresseurs et anxiolytiques; antithrombotiques; médicaments pour le système cardiovasculaire; médicaments pour le traitement du cancer, y compris des agents chimiothérapeutiques et des stéroïdes; et anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS).

Les deux principaux problèmes soulevés par les experts1 étaient que le médecin n’avait pas bien évalué la complexité de l’état du patient avant de prescrire un nouveau médicament, et qu’il n’avait pas réévalué les ordonnances existantes compte tenu des circonstances cliniques. Les experts ont également relevé des problèmes de communication dans de nombreux dossiers − entre patients et médecins, et entre professionnels de la santé − lors du transfert des soins.

Prescrire de façon optimale

Une patiente de 85 ans ayant un trouble cognitif léger subit, sans problème, une endoscopie des voies digestives supérieures sous sédation intraveineuse. Lors de son admission, le gastroentérologue lui avait prescrit de l’oxazépam au coucher, puisque la patiente était très nerveuse. Le lendemain, un hospitaliste assume la responsabilité des soins, et poursuit l’administration de tous les médicaments prescrits par le gastroentérologue, ajoutant une ordonnance de lorazépam au besoin, vu que la patiente est toujours anxieuse. Le surlendemain, la patiente se fracture la hanche en tombant du lit; la veille, elle avait pris du lorazépam et de l’oxazépam. Un hospitaliste expert consulté dans le cadre de l’action en justice qui s’est ensuivie a critiqué les deux médecins, précisant qu’ils avaient prescrit des médicaments inappropriés à une patiente frêle et à risque accru de chute.

Comme les patients âgés ont souvent de nombreux problèmes de santé, on leur prescrit fréquemment de multiples médicaments, ce qui les rend particulièrement vulnérables aux interactions médicamenteuses.

La comorbidité signifie également un plus grand nombre de contre-indications et de précautions en ce qui a trait à la posologie et à la surveillance des médicaments. Il faut donc être plus vigilant au moment de prescrire, compte tenu de l’âge ou la fragilité d’un patient. Les patients âgés peuvent aussi être plus sensibles aux réactions indésirables des médicaments (p. ex. vertiges ou somnolence), ce qui les expose à des risques accrus de chute. Certains médicaments devraient d’abord être administrés à des doses plus faibles, ou faire l’objet d’une surveillance plus étroite. La consultation d’un pharmacien ou d’un gériatre peut s’avérer utile dans l’identification des patients âgés les plus à risque.

Réévaluer en fonction du vieillissement

Le bilan sanguin d’un homme de 65 ans prenant du célécoxib pour son arthrite révèle un taux de créatinine et un débit de filtration glomérulaire pouvant indiquer une insuffisance rénale chronique. Son médecin de famille surveille la fonction rénale à intervalles réguliers. Au cours des trois années suivantes, la fonction rénale du patient se détériore progressivement, et il change de médecin de famille quand il déménage dans une autre ville. Son nouveau médecin de famille pose un diagnostic d’insuffisance rénale chronique de stade 4 et cesse le célécoxib. À la suite d’une enquête du Collège, le premier médecin de famille reçoit une admonestation pour avoir prescrit des AINS à une personne âgée atteinte d’insuffisance rénale.

Un sondage effectué au Canada auprès de personnes âgées vivant dans la collectivité a fait ressortir que 71 % d’entre elles seraient d’accord de cesser un médicament si leur médecin leur disait que c’était possible.2

Une prescription inappropriée pour des personnes âgées pourrait inclure de choisir une médication ou une posologie contre-indiquée ou de renouveler des médicaments inutiles ou préjudiciables. Les changements qui accompagnent le vieillissement peuvent aussi avoir un effet sur l’absorption, la distribution, le métabolisme et l’élimination d’un médicament, qui peut donc ne plus être requis, ou même devenir préjudiciable, ce qui fait ressortir l’importance d’évaluations régulières. Un traitement établi pourrait, même s’il est bien toléré par le patient, ne plus représenter la norme de pratique pour ce groupe d’âge; il faut alors le réévaluer et le changer.

Le phénomène de la polypharmacie est bien connu chez les personnes âgées.3 Selon un rapport de l’ICIS, 1 Canadien sur 4 âgé de 65 ans ou plus s’est vu prescrire au moins 10 médicaments de diverses classes thérapeutiques,4 ce qui souligne l’ampleur du problème et des défis que cela représente pour les médecins.

L’identification et la déprescription de médicaments potentiellement inutiles chez les personnes de plus de 65 ans prennent de plus en plus d’importance pour la sécurité des patients, particulièrement chez les personnes très âgées et celles vivant dans des établissements de soins de longue durée. En plus de se fier à leur jugement clinique, les médecins peuvent faire appel à des ressources pour les aider à mieux prescrire : p. ex. les critères STOPP/START pour la détection des prescriptions potentiellement inappropriées chez les personnes âgées5 ou les critères de Beers.6 Ils peuvent également consulter les lignes directrices et les protocoles de déprescription2, et mieux gérer les besoins complexes de leurs patients âgés. Les médecins devraient revoir les mises à jour pertinentes des lignes directrices lorsqu’ils réévaluent des médicaments et faire preuve de prudence lorsqu’ils envisagent de cesser certains plans de traitement médicamenteux. Les pharmaciens peuvent jouer un rôle important en évaluant régulièrement les médicaments pris par les patients, en travaillant avec les personnes âgées pour réduire les risques d’erreurs liées aux médicaments, et en aidant les médecins à déprescrire.

Communiquer clairement

Une femme de 75 ans voit son médecin pour une consultation habituelle. Après avoir revu les médicaments de la patiente, le médecin décide de cesser le nitrazépam et de prescrire un hypnotique non-benzodiazépine, sans en diminuer progressivement la posologie. Il explique à la patiente que les benzodiazépines risquent d’être dangereux, et lui laisse l’impression que le nitrazépam n’est plus offert et qu’il ne peut plus lui en prescrire. Après s’être fait traiter à l’urgence pour des symptômes de sevrage, la patiente trouve un autre médecin qui represcrit du nitrazépam. En réponse à la plainte de la patiente, le Collège a admonesté le médecin de famille et lui a souligné l’importance de diminuer progressivement les benzodiazépines. Il a aussi critiqué la mauvaise communication entourant la disponibilité du médicament et le manque de clarté quant à la raison donnée pour le déprescrire.

La communication était un thème récurrent dans les dossiers médico-légaux liés aux médicaments chez des personnes de plus de 65 ans. Ces problèmes sont survenus à divers points du processus de soins, y compris dans le contexte du bilan comparatif des médicaments – qui revêt une importance particulière lorsque de multiples professionnels de la santé, et possiblement des membres de la famille, participent aux soins du patient – ou lors de transferts vers d’autres établissements. Ceci souligne l’importance de faire participer les patients, les soignants, ainsi que les pharmaciens à des évaluations complètes des médicaments prescrits, le cas échéant.

L’adhésion à une pharmacothérapie peut aussi être problématique chez les personnes âgées en raison, entre autres, du déclin de la fonction cognitive et du fardeau que représente la prise de multiples médicaments. Il peut donc falloir plus de temps et de soin pour expliquer les indications, les contre-indications, les effets indésirables et les précautions particulières d’un médicament. Ces précautions pourraient être de déterminer le meilleur moment pour la prise des médicaments, ainsi que les interactions ou contre-indications possibles avec d’autres médicaments et suppléments en vente libre. Des documents d’information pour les patients ainsi que l’appui des pharmaciens peuvent renforcer l’adhésion au traitement et encourager une bonne utilisation des médicaments. Il peut s’agir entre autres de conseils sur l’horaire des médicaments, et l’adaptation des doses en vue de réduire le fardeau de la prise de multiples médicaments. Par ailleurs, le recours à des dosettes ou emballages-coques peut aussi faciliter l’adhésion au traitement.

Il peut s’avérer ardu de bien communiquer avec les membres de la famille qui participent aux soins d’un patient. Un grand nombre des dossiers analysés portaient sur des plaintes déposées par des aidants naturels qui alléguaient que le médecin n’avait pas clairement expliqué ses décisions en matière de traitement, ou encore par des décideurs-remplaçants qui n’avaient pas été correctement consultés pour des changements au plan de soins.

Il peut être particulièrement difficile d’expliquer et de justifier la nécessité de déprescrire un médicament. Le recours à des ressources éducatives destinées aux patients et aux familles et l’établissement d’un partenariat avec un pharmacien peuvent donc se révéler utiles.

En bref

La prescription inappropriée de médicaments à des personnes âgées, ainsi qu’une communication déficiente avec ces patients suscitent de plus en plus de préoccupations en matière de sécurité, étant donné les risques de préjudices dans ce segment croissant de la population.

Le médecin doit tenir compte de facteurs particuliers au moment de prescrire des médicaments chez ces patients. Il devrait, par exemple, réévaluer régulièrement la poursuite d’une pharmacothérapie à mesure qu’un patient vieillit et que son état clinique change. Il importe de communiquer clairement avec les patients, leurs soignants, ainsi que les autres professionnels de la santé pour assurer des soins sécuritaires tout en tenant compte des besoins des patients âgés en matière de médicaments.




Références

  1. Par « experts », on entend les médecins dont les services sont retenus par les parties dans une action en justice pour interpréter les problèmes cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques entourant les soins prodigués et émettre leur opinion à leur sujet. Typiquement, ces experts ont une formation et une expérience semblable à celle des médecins dont les soins font l’objet d’une analyse.
  2. Sirois C, Ouellet N, Reeve E. Community-dwelling older people’s attitudes towards deprescribing in Canada. Res Soc Admin Pharm. 2017;13(4):864-870
  3. Maher RL, Hanlon JT, Hajjar ER. Clinical Consequences of Polypharmacy in Elderly. Expert Opin Drug Saf. 2014;13(1):57-65
  4. Institut canadien d’information sur la santé. Utilisation des médicaments chez les personnes âgées au Canada, 2016. Ottawa, ON: ICIS; 2018. Disponible: https://www.cihi.ca/sites/default/files/document/drug-use-among-seniors-2016-fr-web.pdf
  5. O’Mahony D, O’Sullivan D, Byrne S, et al. STOPP/START criteria for potentially inappropriate prescribing in older people: version 2. Age Ageing. 2015 Mar:44(2);213-8
  6. American Geriatrics Society 2015 Beers Criteria Update Expert Panel. American Geriatrics Society 2015 Updated Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults. J Am Geriatr Soc. 2015 Nov;63(11):2227-46

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.