Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

The medical-legal risks of opioid therapy: Questions from members

Originally published September 2018
18-19-E

Reflecting an improved understanding of the risks and benefits of opioid therapy, clinical practice guidelines such as the Guideline for opioid therapy and chronic non-cancer pain1 support appropriate prescribing to reduce associated harms. Additionally, some regulatory authorities (Colleges) have issued policies to guide physicians in prescribing opioids safely.


Canada’s opioid crisis is having a significant impact on the healthcare system, with serious implications for patients, their families, and healthcare providers. Managing the care of patients on high-dose or long-term opioid therapy for chronic non-cancer pain is complex. And, the Canadian Institute for Health Information estimates that 25% and 17% of patients prescribed these drugs fall into these 2 categories, respectively.2 This context calls for a strategic, patient-centered approach that incorporates guidelines, validated tools, provincial and territorial resources, as well as support from a multidisciplinary team. Regulatory authorities (Colleges) are also offering guidance and direction. The situation is also challenging for CMPA members, who then seek medical-legal advice from the CMPA.

The CMPA analyzed 1,989 member telephone calls received between 2012 and 2017. The purpose was to identify the most commonly discussed medical-legal themes related to opioid management for patients in the community whose chronic non-cancer pain was already being managed by these drugs.

Unsurprisingly, over 85% of calls came from family physicians. Members called most often about the medical-legal risks they may face when attempting to effectively manage pain while minimizing opioid use or when dealing with aberrant drug-related behaviours. Physicians frequently called the Association with concerns that they might receive a College complaint related to opioid management or be subject to a potential investigation or restrictions on their opioid prescribing. Other common questions concerned their duty to report in a variety of situations related to opioid use and prescribing, and their duty to accept new patients on long-term opioid therapy, including when taking over another physician’s practice.

Questions on opioid tapering and alternatives

Physicians most often called the Association with questions on their medical-legal risks in managing the care of patients taking opioids for chronic non-cancer pain conditions in light of recent guidelines. Members’ concerns included: questioning the appropriateness of continuing to prescribe opioids to patients who are not responding to non-opioid alternatives; reconciling high-dose opioid regimens or other medications (e.g. benzodiazepines) with regulatory guidelines; and working with patients reluctant to accept referrals to pain management physicians or other specialists, or having difficulty accessing these specialists.

While the CMPA cannot advise on clinical standards of care, tapering too rapidly can result in a range of withdrawal symptoms. Reflecting this, the Association received many calls from physicians who expressed concerns about patients experiencing withdrawal when patients reported running out of or losing their medication, or when the member decided to stop prescribing opioids.

Pharmacists can help physicians decide on a tapering schedule or rotation of opioids. They can also provide patients with additional resources, counselling, and follow-up. When tapering, physicians should be familiar with titration protocols and consult addiction specialists for advice when needed. As outlined in recommendation 10 of the Guideline for opioid and chronic non-cancer pain, some patients may require a formal multidisciplinary program.1

Concerns about aberrant drug-related behaviours

Aberrant drug-related behaviours refer to behaviours that may signal misuse.3 Such behaviours can be particularly challenging for physicians. The most common behaviours that prompted member calls were: co-occurring alcohol abuse or use of illicit drugs or other unprescribed medications; threatening or coercive behaviour aimed at getting physicians to refill prescriptions early or increase opioid dosage; and illegal activity around obtaining or profiting from opioid prescriptions, including diversion of medication and forgery of prescriptions.

Interestingly, in some cases, members described patients’ family members or spouses displaying problematic behaviour when attending patient appointments or contacting the physicians’ offices. Many physicians observed this behaviour in the context of family members advocating for improved management of their loved one’s pain or, conversely, criticizing the physician for what they perceived as excessive prescribing; rarely members saw disruptive behaviour on the part of family members as a possible indication of diversion.

Members involved in these situations were typically concerned about how to navigate the physician-patient relationship. While these situations can be difficult to manage, physicians should consider whether it is possible to continue to provide appropriate care and not be intimidated into providing treatments they do not believe are in the patient's best interest.

Physicians are encouraged to explore conflict resolution strategies where possible before ending the physician-patient relationship. All decisions to end the physician-patient relationship should follow applicable current College guidelines.

Physicians can also contact the CMPA for additional resources and assistance on dealing with challenging behaviour. Some Colleges also offer mentoring programs that match family physicians with consultant physicians in addiction and pain management.

Concerns about receiving complaints

Members often sought advice on how to avoid patient complaints after they decided to stop prescribing opioids, or when they planned to taper and wean patients off their medications. Another scenario in which physicians expressed concern about receiving a complaint was when family members expressed concerns about a physician over-prescribing or failing to prescribe opioids.

Clear and compassionate communication with patients and families can go a long way in minimizing the risk of a patient complaint. It is also important to document all discussions and treatment decisions in the medical record. Being familiar with College guidance on opioid discontinuance can help guide decision-making when faced with a need to revisit the care plan.

Questions on reporting versus ethical, professional obligations

Questions surrounding the duty to report in the context of opioid use was another common source of calls. These questions most often concerned reporting suspected opioid abuse or illicit drug use to motor vehicle licensing authorities, child protective services, or professional regulatory authorities. Questions also concerned reporting suspected illegal activities, such as diversion or prescription fraud, to police. Members also called when they were contemplating reporting troubling opioid prescribing practices of other physicians to their College.

Physicians should be familiar with College policies and guidelines on reporting, as well as the relevant provincial or territorial legislation. The regularly updated CMA Driver’s Guide is a helpful resource for evaluating the potential effects of patients’ medication use on their driving capability. Members should call the CMPA if they are uncertain about their duty to report.

Questions from physicians taking over the care of patients

Over one-third of calls came from members in their first 10 years of practice. Many of these calls were from recently graduated or other physicians assuming new practices with patients who were receiving high-dose or long-term opioid therapy. Others sought advice on their medical-legal risks associated with accepting new patients taking these medications. Some locum physicians struggled with situations in which they disagreed or were uncomfortable with the current opioid prescriptions of the physician for whom they were covering.

Physicians should be aware that many College policies now state that physicians cannot decline to accept new patients solely due to opioid use. When meeting with prospective patients who are on opioid therapy, physicians should discuss the current chronic pain management guidelines, as well as their own approach to treating chronic pain. They should revisit the goals of opioid treatment, and also assess these patients’ pain, function, and risk for opioid misuse. Working with colleagues and relevant specialists is helpful for optimally managing the care of patients on long-term opioid therapy, including reduction strategies.

Opioid contracts

Opioid contracts, meant to be a useful tool in providing patients and physicians with clarity around opioid management, emerged as a distinct issue in calls to the CMPA. The most frequently asked questions related to the following:

  • patients refusing to sign an opioid contract
  • physicians seeking support in decision-making related to contract enforcement or offering second chances when patients breached the contract
  • physicians wanting to stop prescribing opioids or terminate the doctor-patient relationship when contracts were breached

According to guidelines, these contracts or agreements often include clear descriptions of medication use and misuse, as well as the consequences for violating the contract. These provisions can aid in decision-making if the contract is breached.

The bottom line

Effectively managing chronic non-cancer pain and opioid therapy is complex. It requires patient-centered, compassionate care. Comprehensive guidelines, provincial programs (such as opioid monitoring systems), and guidance from Colleges support safer practice in this area. Members are encouraged to call the Association with medical-legal questions or concerns related to opioid management.




References

  1. Busse JW, Craigie S, Juurlink DN, et al. Guideline for opioid therapy and chronic noncancer pain. CMAJ. 2017 May 8; 189(18): E659-E666
  2. Canadian Institute for Health Information. Pan-Canadian Trends in the Prescribing of Opioids, 2012 to 2016. Ottawa (CA): CIHI; 2017
  3. Passik SD, Kirsh KL. Assessing aberrant drug-taking behaviors in the patient with chronic pain. Curr Pain Headache Rep. 2004 Aug; 8(4): 289-94

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Risques médico-légaux du traitement aux opioïdes : que veulent savoir les membres?

Publié initialement en septembre 2018
18-19-F

Reflétant une meilleure compréhension des risques et des avantages du traitement aux opioïdes, les recommandations en matière de pratique clinique telles que les Lignes directrices canadiennes relatives à l’utilisation des opioïdes pour le traitement de la douleur chronique non cancéreus1 encadrent la prescription de ce traitement pour atténuer les préjudices connexes. De plus, certains organismes de réglementation (Collèges) ont publié des politiques à ce sujet.


La crise des opioïdes affecte le système de santé canadien en engendrant de graves conséquences pour les patients, les familles et les professionnels de la santé. Il est complexe de gérer les soins des patients recevant un traitement contre la douleur chronique non cancéreuse (DCNC) au moyen d’opioïdes à forte dose ou à long terme; l’Institut canadien d’information sur la santé estime que 25 % et 17 % des patients ayant reçu une ordonnance d’opioïdes relèvent, respectivement, de ces deux catégories posologiques.2 Ce contexte nécessite une approche stratégique axée sur le patient mettant à contribution les lignes directrices, les outils validés, les ressources provinciales et territoriales, les conseils des Collèges, ainsi que le soutien d’une équipe multidisciplinaire. Il donne également lieu à des situations problématiques pour lesquelles les membres appellent l’ACPM.

L’Association a analysé 1 989 appels téléphoniques reçus entre 2012 et 2017, dans le but de cerner les thèmes médico-légaux les plus couramment abordés sur la gestion des opioïdes pour le traitement de la DCNC chez les patients non hospitalisés. Plus de 85 % de ces appels provenaient de médecins de famille. Le plus souvent, ils concernaient les risques associés aux interventions visant à minimiser le recours aux opioïdes tout en traitant efficacement la douleur ou associés à la gestion de comportements aberrants liés à ces médicaments. Les médecins s’inquiétaient de faire l’objet d’une enquête ou d’une plainte au Collège, ou de se voir imposer des restrictions en matière de prescription. Parmi les autres sujets courants, il était question de l’obligation de signaler diverses situations liées à l’usage et à la prescription d’opioïdes, et d’accepter de nouveaux patients prenant des opioïdes à long terme, y compris au moment d’assumer la pratique d’un autre médecin.

Sevrage et solutions de rechange

Les récentes lignes directrices ont suscité de nombreuses questions pour les médecins sur les risques médico-légaux liés à la prescription d’opioïdes dans le traitement de la DCNC. La remise en question d’un tel traitement chez les patients ne réagissant pas aux autres solutions, la conciliation de la prescription d’opioïdes à forte dose ou d’autres médicaments (p. ex. benzodiazépines) avec les lignes directrices, et la gestion des patients hésitant à consulter des spécialistes de la douleur ou autres (ou la difficulté à obtenir accès à ces spécialistes) ont suscité des préoccupations.

Bien que l’ACPM ne puisse se prononcer quant aux normes de pratique, force est de constater que le sevrage trop rapide peut engendrer de multiples symptômes. Ainsi, l’Association a reçu de nombreux appels concernant des symptômes de sevrage chez des patients qui n’avaient plus de médicaments ou qui les avaient perdus, ou dont le médecin avait décidé de ne plus leur en prescrire.

Les pharmaciens peuvent aider les médecins à établir un plan de gestion des symptômes du sevrage ou une rotation des opioïdes. Ils peuvent aussi offrir aux patients un suivi, des conseils et des ressources supplémentaires. Lors du sevrage, le médecin doit bien connaître les protocoles de titrage et consulter des spécialistes de la toxicomanie, au besoin. Comme l’indique la recommandation 10 des Lignes directrices canadiennes relatives à l’utilisation des opioïdes pour le traitement de la douleur chronique non cancéreuse, certains patients peuvent nécessiter un programme multidisciplinaire formel.1

Comportements aberrants liés aux médicaments

Par « comportements aberrants liés aux médicaments », on entend ceux pouvant révéler un mésusage.3 Ces comportements peuvent être particulièrement difficiles pour les médecins : l’usage concomitant d’alcool ou de drogues illicites ou d’autres médicaments sans ordonnance, les menaces ou comportements coercitifs visant le renouvellement prématuré d’ordonnances ou l’augmentation de la dose d’opioïdes, et les activités illégales (y compris le détournement et la falsification d’ordonnances) sont ceux qui ont suscité le plus d’appels.

Certains membres ont décrit des comportements problématiques chez des membres de la famille ou des conjoints lors de consultations ou dans leurs interactions avec le personnel du cabinet. Ces comportements sont souvent apparus lors d’un plaidoyer pour un meilleur traitement de la douleur de l’être cher ou, à l’inverse, de critiques à l’endroit d’une surprescription; ils ont rarement révélé un possible détournement de médicaments.

Les membres cherchaient habituellement à savoir comment gérer la relation médecin-patient. Bien que ces situations soient difficiles, les médecins doivent déterminer s’il leur est possible de prodiguer des soins appropriés, et ne pas se laisser contraindre d’offrir des traitements n’étant pas dans l’intérêt du patient.

On encourage les médecins à essayer de résoudre les conflits avant de mettre fin à une relation médecin-patient, et de respecter les lignes directrices du Collège s’ils doivent en arriver à cette dernière option.

Les médecins peuvent également communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des ressources additionnelles et une assistance. Certains Collèges offrent aussi des programmes de mentorat qui jumellent les médecins de famille avec des médecins consultants du domaine de la toxicomanie et de la douleur.

Plaintes des patients et familles

Les membres voulaient souvent savoir comment éviter les plaintes s’ils décidaient de sevrer leurs patients ou de cesser de leur prescrire des opioïdes, ou encore si la famille s’inquiétait de la surprescription ou de l’absence de prescription d’opioïdes.

Une communication claire et empathique peut grandement minimiser le risque de plainte. Il est également important de consigner toutes les discussions et décisions thérapeutiques au dossier. Une bonne connaissance des recommandations du Collège sur l’arrêt des opioïdes peut contribuer à la prise de décisions lorsque l’on doit reformuler un plan de soins.

Signalement : obligations déontologiques et professionnelles

De nombreux appels traitaient de l’obligation de signaler dans le contexte de l’usage d’opioïdes. Ils portaient principalement sur le signalement d’un mésusage soupçonné d’opioïdes ou d’un usage de drogues illicites à l’autorité délivrant les permis de conduire, au service de protection de l’enfance ou à l’organisme de réglementation professionnelle. Certains appels concernaient le signalement à la police d’activités illégales présumées, tels le détournement ou la fraude d’ordonnance. D’autres appels concernaient le signalement au Collège de pratiques douteuses en matière de prescription.

Les médecins devraient bien connaître les politiques du Collège, ainsi que les lois de la province ou du territoire, en matière de signalement. Le document Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin de l’AMC est utile pour l’évaluation des effets possibles des médicaments sur la conduite automobile. En cas d’incertitudes quant à l’obligation de signaler, les membres devraient communiquer avec l’ACPM.

Médecins assumant la pratique d’un collègue

Plus du tiers des appels provenaient de membres qui exerçaient depuis moins de 10 ans, souvent des nouveaux diplômés ou des médecins assumant une nouvelle pratique auprès de patients prenant déjà des opioïdes à forte dose ou à long terme. D’autres cherchaient à en savoir plus sur les risques d’accepter de nouveaux patients prenant ces médicaments. Certains médecins suppléants ne savaient que faire s’ils remettaient en question la prescription d’opioïdes du médecin qu’ils remplaçaient.

Les médecins doivent savoir que, selon les politiques de nombreux Collèges, ils ne peuvent refuser de nouveaux patients pour la seule raison que ceux-ci prennent des opioïdes. Lorsqu’ils reçoivent en consultation des patients éventuels suivant un tel traitement, les médecins devraient aborder les lignes directrices actuelles sur la gestion de la douleur chronique et expliquer leur propre approche. Ils devraient réviser les objectifs du traitement, ainsi qu’évaluer la douleur, l’indépendance fonctionnelle et le risque de mésusage chez ces patients. La collaboration avec des pairs et des spécialistes est utile pour assurer la gestion optimale des soins des patients prenant des opioïdes à long terme, y compris des stratégies de sevrage.

Ententes sur les opioïdes

Les ententes sur les opioïdes (outil permettant de clarifier la gestion des opioïdes pour les patients et leurs médecins) ont fait l’objet d’un certain nombre d’appels. Les questions les plus fréquentes traitaient de ce qui suit :

  • Patients refusant de signer une entente sur les opioïdes
  • Médecins cherchant du soutien pour des décisions liées au respect d’une entente ou à l’offre d’une deuxième chance à la suite du non-respect de celle-ci
  • Médecins souhaitant cesser de prescrire des opioïdes ou mettre fin à une relation médecin-patient à la suite du non-respect d’une entente.

Conformément aux lignes directrices, ces ententes comptent souvent des descriptions claires de l’usage et du mésusage de médicaments, ainsi que des conséquences de leur non-respect (ce qui peut aider à la prise de décisions).

En bref

La gestion efficace de la DCNC et du traitement aux opioïdes est complexe. Elle nécessite des soins axés sur le patient et prodigués avec compassion. Les lignes directrices, les programmes provinciaux (p. ex. systèmes de surveillance des opioïdes) et les directives des Collèges soutiennent des pratiques plus sécuritaires. On incite les membres à communiquer avec l’Association pour toute question ou préoccupation médico-légale liée à la gestion des opioïdes.




Références

  1. Université McMaster, Michael G. DeGroote National Pain Centre [En ligne]. Hamilton (CA) : McMaster University; 2017. Lignes directrices canadiennes relatives à l’utilisation des opioïdes pour le traitement de la douleur chronique non cancéreuse, édition 2017 [Cité le 13 juin 2018]; [110 écrans]. Disponible : http://nationalpaincentre.mcmaster.ca/documents/PDFofnewFrenchguideline28sept2017.pdf
  2. Institut canadien d’information sur la santé [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): ICIS; 2017. Tendances pancanadiennes en matière de prescription d’opioïdes, de 2012 à 2016 [cité le 13 juin 2018]; [37 écrans]. Disponible : https://secure.cihi.ca/free_products/pan-canadian-trends-opioid-prescribing-2017-fr-web.pdf
  3. Passik SD, Kirsh KL. Assessing aberrant drug-taking behaviors in the patient with chronic pain. Curr Pain Headache Rep. 2004 Aug; 8(4): 289-94.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.