Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Can AI assist you with your clinical decisions? Looking at the benefits and risks of AI technologies in medicine

Originally published September 2019
19-16-E

This article is adapted from “A Primer on Law, Risk and AI in Health Care,” published in Healthcare and Life Sciences Law Committee Update (Vol. 3 no. 1, Sept. 2018), and is reproduced by permission of the International Bar Association, London, UK. © International Bar Association.

Imagine your mobile phone could scan patients and immediately provide you with a diagnosis, like something out of Star Trek, or a robotic medic could perform patient procedures unassisted by humans. While these innovations might still seem like science fiction, technological developments currently transforming the healthcare sector, including artificial intelligence (AI), robotics, and big data, are poised to revolutionize patient care.

While practical guidance for practitioners on the use of AI technologies in healthcare is still scarce,1 it is not too early for physicians to gain an understanding about the potential benefits and challenges that AI brings to patient care, and the possible medical-legal risks associated with using AI technologies.

What is artificial intelligence?

AI can be broadly defined as the capacity of a machine or computer to mimic intelligent human thought processes and learn new information.2 “Machine learning” allows computers to gain experience without being programmed to do so. Common applications of machine learning include image and speech recognition. “Deep learning” involves processing information and learning patterns that can be tied to big data analytics.2

Opportunities and challenges

With time, AI technologies are expected to improve healthcare and change the way it is delivered.3 For example, AI is being explored with other tools as a means of increasing diagnostic accuracy, improving treatment planning, and forecasting outcomes of care.4 AI has shown particular promise for clinical application in image-intensive fields, including radiology, pathology, ophthalmology, dermatology, and image-guided surgery.3 However, evidence about the effectiveness and reliability of the practical applications of AI continues to be limited. Despite the attention AI is receiving, the reality is that many technologies have not yet developed sufficiently at this time to determine whether they can meet their potential. For example, suicide prediction models have largely been ineffective to date.5

Other challenges with AI include the inability to explain its reasoning processes, otherwise known as the “black box” effect.6 The utility of AI in patient care can be limited in some situations when the AI-assisted diagnosis does not include information to verify its reliability. The dataset used by some AI technologies to “learn” also has the potential to introduce bias. For example, a dataset that unintentionally excludes patients with certain backgrounds, conditions, or characteristics may not be reliable for broader segments of the population.6

Measured approach to AI

When considering whether to use AI in your practice generally, it is important to be familiar with when and how it should be used, and to make such decisions based on the circumstances of each patient.

While the regulation of AI remains in development, some medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) and professional associations have issued interim guidelines. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia has suggested physicians apply a grading system to assess the quality of applications (or apps) that incorporate AI.7 The College suggests using the App Evaluation Model developed by the American Psychiatric Association,8 a five-step assessment of an app’s business model: advertising conflicts of interest, privacy and security, the evidence base that informs the algorithm, ease of use, and interoperability.

The Canadian Medical Association’s Guiding Principles for Physicians Recommending Mobile Health Applications to Patients9 may also be a helpful resource. The objective of using an AI-based technology should be to enhance patient care and complement the physician-patient relationship. Physicians using AI need to be mindful of their legal and medical professional obligations, and discuss the appropriateness of using AI technology and privacy risks with the patient. The CMA also suggests considering whether there is evidence of an app’s safety and effectiveness, and whether it is endorsed by a professional organization, is easy to use, and demonstrates a high standard of security.

While endorsement of an AI technology from a reputable professional or regulatory organization may be a factor to consider in evaluating whether you have complied with your professional and legal obligations, you should still review and seek advice on its suitability in clinical practice, including consideration of the following, among other things: What are the terms of use? Has the AI technology been subject to rigorous evaluation of its accuracy, consistency, and reliability? Does it use appropriate privacy and confidentiality safeguards and policies (e.g. patient consent, encryption, password protection)?

Complementing clinical judgment

AI offers information and recommendations based on the aggregation of a wide variety of data sources. Nevertheless, physicians must still exercise clinical judgment when making a final decision about clinical care. A CMA survey found that 6 in 10 Canadians are interested in the potential benefits of AI in healthcare, but would trust a diagnosis made only by a physician.10

Before deciding to use an AI-based technology in your medical practice, it is important to evaluate any findings, recommendations, or diagnoses suggested by the tool. While AI can provide information for you to consider, it is important to ensure that actual medical care provided to the patient reflects your own recommendations based on objective evidence and sound medical judgment.

Most AI applications are designed to be clinical aids used by clinicians as appropriate to complement other relevant and reliable clinical information and tools. In today’s environment, and for the foreseeable future, AI is not intended to replace a physician’s clinical experience and thoughtful analysis of a patient’s condition.

The bottom line

  • Evaluate whether the use of the AI tool is appropriate in the circumstances of each patient.
  • Critically review and assess whether AI-based technologies are suited for the intended use and the nature of your practice. Consider the quality, effectiveness, and functionality of the technology; robustness of the database; reliability of the medical evidence informing the algorithm; privacy and confidentiality requirements; and applicable policies or guidelines of your College or health institution.
  • AI technologies are currently intended to complement clinical care by informing your decision-making. Continue to exercise professional judgment in making clinical decisions and treatment recommendations aided by AI technologies, in accordance with the expected standard of care.

 


 

References

  1. Crolla D, Lapner M. A primer on law, risk and AI in healthcare. Healthcare and Life Sciences Law Committee Update. 2018 Sept;3(1).
  2. Pinnington D. Artificial Intelligence: What is AI and will it really replace lawyers? Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company (LawPRO). 2018;17(1). Available from: https://www.practicepro.ca/2018/01/artificial-intelligence-what-is-ai-and-will-it-really-replace-lawyers/
  3. Naylor D. On the Prospects for a (Deep) Learning Health Care System. JAMA. 2018;320(11):1099–1100. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.11103. See also: Government of Canada, Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology. Challenge Ahead: Integrating Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and 3D Printing Technologies into Canada’s Healthcare Systems. 2017 Oct. Available from: https://sencanada.ca/content/sen/committee/421/SOCI/Reports/RoboticsAI3DFinal_Web_e.pdf
  4. Macrae C. Governing the safety of artificial intelligence in healthcare. BMJ Qual Saf. 2019;28(6):495–498. doi:10.1136/bmjqs-2019-009484
  5. Belsher BE, Smolenski DJ. Pruitt LD, et al. Prediction Models for Suicide Attempts and Deaths: A Systematic Review and Simulation. JAMA Psychiatry. 2019 March 13. doi:10.1001/jamapsychiatry.2019.0174
  6. Challen R, Denny J, Pitt M,.et al. Artificial intelligence, bias and clinical safety. BMJ Qual Saf. 2019;28:231–237. doi:10.1136/bmjqs-2018-008370
  7. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia. Prescribing apps – the challenge of choice. College Connector. 2018 Nov/Dec;6(6). Available from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/for-physicians/college-connector/2018-V06-06/10
  8. American Psychiatric Association. App Evaluation Model. [Accessed 2019 May]. Available from: https://www.psychiatry.org/psychiatrists/practice/mental-health-apps/app-evaluation-model
  9. Canadian Medical Association. Guiding Principles for Physicians Recommending Mobile Health Applications to Patients. CMA Policy, 2015. Available from: https://policybase.cma.ca/en/viewer?file=%2fdocuments%2fPolicypdf%2fPD15-13.pdf#phrase=false
  10. Canadian Medical Association. Health care system needs to catch up to the requirements of the Google Generation. 2018 Aug 1 [cited 2019 May 17]. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/health-care-system-needs-catch-requirements-google-generation

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

L’IA peut-elle contribuer aux décisions cliniques? Regard sur ses avantages et ses risques en médecine

Publié initialement en septembre 2019
19-16-F

Cet article est adapté de « A Primer on Law, Risk and AI in Health Care », publié dans Healthcare and Life Sciences Law Committee Update (vol. 3, n1, sept  2018) et reproduit avec la permission de l’International Bar Association, Londres, R.-U. © International Bar Association.

Imaginez pouvoir utiliser votre téléphone mobile pour balayer le corps de vos patients et ainsi obtenir un diagnostic sur-le-champ, comme s’il s’agissait du tricordeur utilisé dans Patrouille du cosmos... ou encore vous fier à un médecin-robot pouvant effectuer des interventions sans l’aide d’êtres humains... Bien que ces innovations semblent encore relever de la science-fiction, les percées technologiques qui transforment actuellement le secteur de la santé (dont l’intelligence artificielle [IA], la robotique et les mégadonnées) sont sur le point de révolutionner les soins aux patients.

Alors que les conseils pratiques sur l’utilisation de l’IA en santé restent rares,1 les médecins devraient déjà chercher à comprendre les avantages et les défis possibles de l’IA dans le domaine des soins, ainsi que les risques médico-légaux associés à cette technologie.

Qu’est-ce que l’intelligence artificielle?

De façon générale, l’IA peut être définie comme la capacité d’une machine ou d’un ordinateur à reproduire les facultés cognitives de l’intelligence humaine et à acquérir de nouvelles données.2 L’« apprentissage automatique » permet aux ordinateurs de gagner en expérience sans être programmés pour le faire. Parmi les applications courantes de l’apprentissage automatique, on trouve la reconnaissance des images et de la parole. L’« apprentissage profond » met en jeu le traitement de l’information et les modes d’apprentissage qui peuvent être liés à l’analyse des mégadonnées.2

Occasions et défis

Avec le temps, on s’attend à ce que l’IA améliore les soins de santé et transforme la façon dont ceux-ci sont prodigués.3 Cette technologie, conjointement avec d’autres outils, fait par exemple l’objet de recherches pour établir son potentiel d’accroître la précision diagnostique, d’améliorer la planification du traitement et de prévoir les résultats pour la santé.4 L’IA s’est avérée particulièrement prometteuse pour des applications cliniques dans les domaines reposant largement sur l’imagerie, dont la radiologie, la pathologie, l’ophtalmologie, la dermatologie et la chirurgie guidée par imagerie.3 Quoi qu’il en soit, les données probantes sur l’efficacité et la fiabilité des applications pratiques de l’IA continuent d’être limitées. Malgré l’attention dont bénéficie l’IA, il n’en demeure pas moins que bon nombre des modalités de cette technologie n’ont pas encore été suffisamment élaborées pour que l’on puisse établir si elles pourront répondre aux attentes. Par exemple, les modèles de prévision du suicide se sont largement avérés inefficaces à ce jour.5

Parmi les autres défis que présente l’IA, notons notre incapacité à en expliquer les processus de raisonnement, ce que l’on appelle l’« effet boîte noire ».6 L’utilité de l’IA dans les soins aux patients peut être limitée dans certaines situations, lorsque le diagnostic obtenu avec l’assistance de l’IA ne révèle aucune information permettant d’en vérifier la fiabilité. Certaines modalités de l’IA peuvent également être biaisées par l’ensemble de données qu’elles utilisent pour « apprendre ». Par exemple, un ensemble de données qui exclut fortuitement des patients présentant des problèmes, caractéristiques ou antécédents particuliers pourrait ne pas être fiable pour des segments plus larges de la population.6

Approche mesurée envers l’IA

Si vous envisagez d’utiliser l’IA de façon générale dans votre pratique, il est important de vous familiariser avec son fonctionnement et les situations dans le cadre desquelles elle pourrait être utile, et de le faire en fonction des circonstances de chaque patient.

Bien que la réglementation de l’IA reste encore à venir, certains organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) et certaines associations ou fédérations professionnelles ont établi des lignes directrices intérimaires. Par exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique suggère d’utiliser un système de notation pour évaluer la qualité des applications (ou applis) qui font appel à l’IA.7 Ce Collège propose l’utilisation de l’App Evaluation Model élaboré par l’American Psychiatric Association,8 soit une évaluation en cinq étapes du modèle d’affaires d’une appli : conflits d’intérêts publicitaires, protection des renseignements personnels et sécurité, base de données probantes éclairant l’algorithme, convivialité et interopérabilité.

Les Principes directeurs pour les médecins qui recommandent à leurs patients des applications mobiles sur la santé de l’Association médicale canadienne9 peuvent également constituer une ressource utile. La technologie fondée sur l’IA doit servir à améliorer les soins au patient et à compléter la relation médecin-patient. Les médecins qui l’utilisent doivent garder à l’esprit leurs obligations légales et professionnelles, et discuter avec le patient de la pertinence du recours à cette technologie et des risques en matière d’atteinte à la vie privée qui lui sont associés. L’AMC suggère également d’établir s’il existe des données probantes soutenant la sécurité et l’efficacité de l’application, et de déterminer si celle-ci est approuvée par une organisation professionnelle, est conviviale et assure un niveau élevé de sécurité.

Le fait qu’une technologie fondée sur l’IA ait reçu l’aval d’une organisation professionnelle ou de réglementation digne de confiance est un facteur à considérer pour déterminer si vous respectez vos obligations professionnelles et légales, mais vous devez tout de même vous assurer de la pertinence de cette technologie en pratique clinique et obtenir des conseils à ce sujet. Vous pouvez commencer par les questions suivantes : Quelles en sont les modalités d’utilisation? La précision, la conformité et la fiabilité offertes par cette technologie ont-elles fait l’objet d’une évaluation rigoureuse? Y a-t-il des mesures de sauvegarde et de protection des renseignements personnels adéquates (p. ex. consentement du patient, chiffrement, protection par mot de passe)?

Complément au jugement clinique

L’IA offre des renseignements et des recommandations fondées sur le regroupement d’une vaste gamme de sources de données. Quoi qu’il en soit, les médecins doivent toujours s’en remettre à leur jugement clinique lorsqu’ils prennent une décision finale quant aux soins à prodiguer. Un sondage de l’AMC a constaté que « six Canadiens sur dix s’enthousiasment du potentiel de l’IA pour les soins de santé, mais pensent que seuls les diagnostics posés par des médecins sont fiables ».10

Avant d’utiliser une technologie fondée sur l’IA dans votre pratique médicale, il est important d’examiner les constatations, les recommandations ou les diagnostics suggérés par cet outil. Bien que l’IA puisse vous fournir des renseignements à prendre en considération, il faut vous assurer que les soins prodigués au patient reflètent vos recommandations fondées sur des données probantes objectives et un jugement clinique rigoureux.

La plupart des applications fondées sur l’IA sont conçues à titre d’aides cliniques pour soutenir au besoin d’autres données et outils cliniques pertinents et fiables. Tant pour l’instant que dans un avenir prévisible, l’IA ne peut se substituer à l’expérience clinique du médecin et à son analyse réfléchie de l’état du patient.

En bref

  • Déterminez si l’utilisation de l’outil fondé sur l’IA est pertinente en fonction des circonstances de chaque patient.
  • Évaluez d’un œil critique si la technologie fondée sur l’IA est adaptée à l’utilisation que vous comptez en faire et à la nature de votre pratique. Tenez compte de la qualité, de l’efficacité et de la fonctionnalité de la technologie; de la robustesse de la base de données; de la fiabilité des données probantes médicales éclairant l’algorithme; des exigences en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et de confidentialité; et des politiques ou des lignes directrices applicables de votre Collège ou de votre établissement de santé.
  • La technologie fondée sur l’IA a actuellement pour objectif de soutenir les soins cliniques en éclairant votre processus décisionnel. Continuez de vous fier à votre jugement professionnel pour la prise de décisions cliniques et la formulation de recommandations soutenues par la technologie fondée sur l’IA, conformément à la norme de pratique attendue.

 


 

Références

  1. Crolla D, Lapner M. A primer on law, risk and AI in healthcare. Healthcare and Life Sciences Law Committee Update. 2018 Sept;3(1).
  2. Pinnington D. Artificial Intelligence: What is AI and will it really replace lawyers? Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company (LawPRO) [En ligne]. 2018; 17(1). Disponible : https://www.practicepro.ca/2018/01/artificial-intelligence-what-is-ai-and-will-it-really-replace-lawyers/
  3. Naylor D. On the Prospects for a (Deep) Learning Health Care System. JAMA. 2018;320(11):1099-1100. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.11103. Voir également : Gouvernement du Canada, Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): Sénat; 2017. Défi en vue : Intégrer les technologies de la robotique, de l’intelligence artificielle et de l’impression en 3D dans les systèmes canadiens de soins de santé. Oct. 2017. Disponible : http://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2017/sen/yc17-0/YC17-0-421-18-fra.pdf
  4. Macrae C. Governing the safety of artificial intelligence in healthcare. BMJ Qual Saf. 2019;28(6):495-498. doi:10.1136/bmjqs-2019-009484
  5. Belsher BE, Smolenski DJ. Pruitt LD, et al. Prediction Models for Suicide Attempts and Deaths: A Systematic Review and Simulation. JAMA Psychiatry. 2019 March 13. doi:10.1001/jamapsychiatry.2019.0174
  6. Challen R, Denny J, Pitt M, et al. Artificial intelligence, bias and clinical safety. BMJ Qual Saf. 2019;28(3):231-37. doi:10.1136/bmjqs-2018-008370
  7. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia [En ligne]. Vancouver (CA): CPSBC; 2018. Prescribing apps – the challenge of choice. College Connector. 2018 Nov/Dec;6(6). Disponible : https://www.cpsbc.ca/for-physicians/college-connector/2018-V06-06/10
  8. American Psychiatric Association [En ligne]. Washington (DC): APA. App Evaluation Model. [cité en mai 2019]. Disponible : https://www.psychiatry.org/psychiatrists/practice/mental-health-apps/app-evaluation-model
  9. Association médicale canadienne [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): AMC; 2015. Principes directeurs pour les médecins qui recommandent à leurs patients des applications mobiles sur la santé. Politique de l’AMC, 2015. Disponible : https://policybase.cma.ca/fr/viewer?file=%2fdocuments%2fPolicypdf%2fPD15-13f.pdf#phrase=false
  10. Association médicale canadienne [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): AMC; 2018. Le système de santé doit être adapté aux exigences de la génération Google. 1er août 2018 [cité le 17 mai 2019]. Disponible : https://www.cma.ca/fr/le-systeme-de-sante-doit-etre-adapte-aux-exigences-de-la-generation-google

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.