Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Cannabis legalization in Canada, one year later: Questions from members

Originally published December 2019
19-19-E 

When cannabis for recreational purposes became legal in Canada in 2018, the CMPA advised physicians about the expected impact of the new regulatory regime on their practices. We invited you, our members, to contact us with your questions about medical-legal issues arising from patients’ use of cannabis—whether for medical or recreational purposes.

The relatively small number of enquiries1 suggests that legalization of recreational cannabis has generally not created significant medical-legal difficulties for physicians.

Requests in the past year for the CMPA’s advice on this matter have centered around four themes: reporting requirements, prescribing medical cannabis, privacy concerns, and the CMPA’s scope of medical-legal assistance.

Cannabis edibles and extracts

Reported cannabis consumption is on the rise, with nearly 18% of Canadians over 15 years old reporting having used it in the months following legalization2, up from 14% before legalization. The debut of cannabis edibles and extracts to the legalized market is anticipated to add a further layer of issues for physicians to be aware of. Consider talking to your patients about their medications and any cannabis products they may be consuming. Federal regulations set limits on the psychoactive content (THC) allowed in edibles and extracts, and stipulate how they may be marketed. For example, these products cannot contain nicotine, caffeine, or alcohol; must not be visually appealing to young people; and are to be sold in plain, child-resistant packaging.

Duty to report

Do I have a duty to report…

  • patients who consume cannabis and work in transport or childcare or other jobs where safety is paramount?
  • patients who consume cannabis and drive?

The Canadian Public Health Association’s information package entitled Cannabasics 3 provides helpful information on the health and safety risks associated with cannabis. The CMA Driver’s Guide4 also provides guidance on cannabis consumption and driving.  For more information about the duty to report unfit drivers, see the CMPA article “Hit the brakes: Do you need to report your patient’s fitness to drive?”.5

Refer to your medical regulatory authority (College) for policies or guidelines on fitness to drive reporting requirements in your province or territory.

You should document in the medical record the advice you have provided the patient and the reasons for or against reporting (for example, to the transportation ministry or the individual’s employer).

Completing documents for medical cannabis

How should I respond to a request for…

  • a medical document needed to access cannabis for medical purposes from my patient?
  • a referral from a cannabis clinic or to join a cannabis clinic?
  • a telemedicine consultation concerning cannabis?

As a physician, you are under no obligation to pursue a treatment or provide a referral that you do not believe is medically indicated. It is appropriate to discuss with your patient the available options to treat their condition, including answering questions they may have regarding medical cannabis, if it is within your knowledge to do so. Colleges also generally prohibit ending the doctor-patient relationship solely because a patient requests medical cannabis or opts to consume cannabis for either medical or recreational purposes. Don’t forget to document these discussions in the medical record.

If you are planning to provide telemedicine consultations to complete medical documents for medical cannabis, you should consult your College requirements before doing so. Some Colleges expressly prohibit the use of telemedicine for this purpose.6 The requirements imposed by other Colleges concerning telemedicine generally may create additional hurdles for authorizing medical cannabis in this way.

In addition to any restrictions imposed by your College, you should also consider whether the telemedicine technology employed allows you to appropriately determine the quantity and period of use, as required to complete the medical document. You will need to assess whether you can determine from a remote location the appropriateness of cannabis as treatment for a particular patient. You will also need to ensure you comply with the licensure and regulatory requirements governing telemedicine.

You may also wish to be familiar with  the CMPA’s assistance with telemedicine. For information, see the articles “Providing your professional opinion concerning patients outside Canada,”7 and “Treating non-residents.”8

If you wish to enter into a business contract with a cannabis clinic, you should obtain the services of private legal counsel as this falls outside the scope of the CMPA’s assistance.

Documentation and release of personal health information

What should I do when…

  • my patient asks that I do not document his cannabis use in the medical record?
  • I receive a request for patient information from an insurance company?
  • I receive a request from the police for the result of a blood test?

Physicians have a professional obligation to document relevant medical information in the patient’s medical record. Further, complete and accurate documentation is a key element of good patient care and essential in defending that care if it is later questioned. Being aware of and documenting an individual’s cannabis consumption may help to identify potential problems such as Cannabis Use Disorder that can arise from frequent consumption.3

As a physician, you have an ethical and legal obligation to protect confidential patient information from disclosure—any exceptions are governed by law. You may disclose information in a medical record to a third party (such as police, lawyers, and insurance companies) only with the patient’s or substitute-decision maker’s consent, or when authorized by law.

For more information see the CMPA articles “Writing with care9 and “When to disclose confidential information.”10

The bottom line

  • The legal framework governing medical cannabis and the role of healthcare practitioners has not substantively changed following the legalization of recreational cannabis.
  • If you choose to complete medical documents for medical cannabis, you are expected to comply with federal and provincial legislation and your College’s policies and guidelines, and possess the necessary knowledge to authorize cannabis as a treatment option.
  • Disclose information about a patient’s use of cannabis to third parties only with the consent of the patient or where authorized by law.     

 


 

References

  1. The CMPA received 134 advice requests from members concerning cannabis between June 1, 2018 and March 31, 2019. This time period takes into account enquiries received in anticipation of the new legal framework.
  2. Statistics Canada. Cannabis Stats Hub [Internet]. Ottawa (CA); 2019 [cited 24 June 2019]. Available from: https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/13-610-x/cannabis-eng.htm
  3. Canadian Public Health Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA): CPHA;2018 Dec. Cannabasics [cited 2019 Jun 21]. Available from: https://www.cpha.ca/cannabasics
  4. Canadian Medical Association. CMA Driver’s Guide. 9th ed. Ottawa (CA): CMA; 2017.
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Hit the brakes: Do you need to report your patient’s fitness to drive? Ottawa (CA):CMPA;2019 June [cited 2019 June 24]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2019/hit-the-brakes-do-you-need-to-report-your-patients-fitness-to-drive
  6. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of New Brunswick, College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia, and College of Physicians and Surgeons of Prince Edward Island
  7. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Providing your professional opinion concerning patients outside Canada. Ottawa (CA):CMPA;2019 June [cited 2019 June 24]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/membership/protection-for-members/principles-of-assistance/providing-your-professional-opinion-concerning-patients-outside-canada
  8. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Treating non-residents. Ottawa (CA):CMPA; Revised 2013 June [cited 2019 June 24]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/membership/protection-for-members/principles-of-assistance/treating-non-residents-of-canada
  9. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Writing with care. Ottawa (CA):CMPA; 2020 March. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2020/writing-with-care
  10. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet].When to disclose confidential information. Ottawa (CA):CMPA; 2015 January [cited 2019 June 24]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/when-to-disclose-confidential-information

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Un an après la légalisation du cannabis au Canada : Ce que les membres veulent savoir

Publié initialement en décembre 2019
19-19-F

Lorsque l’usage récréatif du cannabis a été légalisé au Canada en 2018, l’ACPM a informé les médecins des répercussions possibles de la nouvelle réglementation dans leurs pratiques. Nous vous avons alors invité à communiquer avec nous si vous aviez des questions concernant les enjeux médico-légaux découlant de l’usage du cannabis, que ce soit à des fins médicales ou récréatives.

Le peu de questions reçues1 nous porte à croire que la légalisation du cannabis à usage récréatif n’a pas, de façon générale, engendré de problèmes médico-légaux importants pour les médecins.

Au cours de la dernière année, les demandes de conseils auprès de l’ACPM se sont articulées autour de quatre thèmes : les exigences concernant le signalement, la prescription de cannabis à des fins médicales, les questions de protection de la vie privée et l’étendue de l’assistance médico-légale de l’ACPM.

Cannabis comestible et extraits de cannabis

La consommation déclarée de cannabis est en hausse; près de 18 % des Canadiens âgés de plus de 15 ans en ont fait usage à la suite de la légalisation2, comparativement à 14 % avant la légalisation. On prévoit que la légalisation de la vente de cannabis comestible et d’extraits de cannabis suscitera d’autres questions auxquelles les médecins devront être sensibilisés. Vous pourriez envisager de discuter avec les patients de leurs médicaments et de tout produit de cannabis qu’ils pourraient consommer. La réglementation fédérale établit la limite de la substance psychoactive (THC) permise dans le cannabis comestible et les extraits de cannabis, et en stipule la commercialisation. Par exemple, ces produits ne peuvent contenir ni nicotine, ni caféine, ni alcool; ils ne doivent pas être attrayants pour les jeunes; ils doivent aussi être vendus dans un emballage simple et à l’épreuve des enfants.

Obligation de signaler

Ai-je l’obligation de signaler…

  • les patients qui consomment du cannabis et qui travaillent dans le transport, la garde d’enfants ou d’autres emplois où la sécurité est d’une importance primordiale.
  • les patients qui consomment du cannabis et qui conduisent?

La trousse d’information publiée par l’Association canadienne de santé publique et intitulée Cannabases 3 fournit des renseignements utiles sur les risques pour la santé et la sécurité associés à l’usage du cannabis. Le document Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire : guide du médecin4 de l’Association médicale canadienne fournit également des conseils sur la consommation du cannabis et la conduite. Pour en savoir davantage au sujet de l’obligation de signaler les personnes inaptes à conduire, consultez l’article de l’ACPM « Mettre les freins! Quand devez-vous signaler une inaptitude à conduire? ».5

Prenez également connaissance des politiques ou des lignes directrices de votre organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) relatives aux exigences de signalement de l’aptitude à conduire dans votre province ou territoire.

Vous devez consigner, dans le dossier médical, les conseils que vous donnez aux patients, ainsi que les raisons qui justifient ou non un signalement (p. ex. au ministère des Transports ou à l’employeur du patient).

Formulaires concernant le cannabis à usage médical

Que devrais-je répondre à une demande au sujet…

  • du document médical requis pour avoir accès au cannabis à des fins médicales pour mon patient?
  • d’une demande de consultation provenant d’une clinique de cannabis ou d’une demande d’inscription dans une telle clinique?
  • d’une consultation de télémédecine au sujet du cannabis?

En tant que médecin, vous n’avez aucune obligation de poursuivre un traitement ni de fournir une demande de consultation si vous pensez que ceci n’est pas indiqué sur le plan médical. Il est pertinent de parler des diverses options de traitement avec votre patient, y compris de répondre à ses questions relativement à l’usage du cannabis à des fins médicales; toutefois, vous devez avoir la compétence pour le faire. En général, les Collèges interdisent de mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient pour la seule raison qu’un patient demande qu’on lui prescrive du cannabis à des fins médicales ou qu’il choisit de consommer du cannabis à des fins médicales ou récréatives. N’oubliez pas de consigner ces discussions dans le dossier médical.

Si vous planifiez d’offrir des téléconsultations pour remplir les documents médicaux relatifs au cannabis à des fins médicales, vous devriez d’abord prendre connaissance des exigences de votre Collège à cet effet. Certains Collèges interdisent expressément le recours à la télémédecine dans ce but précis6; d’autres, par contre, imposent des exigences qui pourraient créer, de façon générale, des barrières additionnelles à l’autorisation du cannabis à des fins médicales au moyen de ce mode de communication.

Au-delà de toutes les restrictions imposées par votre Collège, vous devriez déterminer si la technologie de télémédecine que vous utilisez vous permet de préciser adéquatement la quantité quotidienne et la période d’usage du cannabis, qui doivent être indiquées dans le document médical. Vous devrez évaluer si vous pouvez déterminer à distance la pertinence d’avoir recours au cannabis comme choix de traitement pour un patient en particulier. Vous devez aussi vous assurer de vous conformer aux exigences réglementaires de votre permis d’exercice en ce qui a trait à la télémédecine.

Vous pourriez aussi vous familiariser avec les principes de l’assistance de l’ACPM concernant la télémédecine. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez les articles « Opinion professionnelle concernant des patients situés à l’extérieur du Canada » 7 et « Traitement de non-résidents du Canada. »8

Si vous désirez conclure un contrat d’affaires avec une clinique de cannabis médical, vous devriez retenir les services d’un avocat privé puisque l’ACPM n’offre pas d’assistance dans un tel contexte.

Consignation au dossier et communication de renseignements personnels sur la santé

Que devrais-je faire quand…

  • mon patient me demande de ne pas consigner son usage de cannabis dans son dossier médical?
  • je reçois une demande de renseignements d’une compagnie d’assurance au sujet d’un patient?
  • je reçois une demande d’un policier concernant le résultat d’un prélèvement sanguin?

Les médecins ont l’obligation professionnelle de consigner dans le dossier médical du patient tout renseignement médical pertinent. D’ailleurs, les renseignements précis et complets sont à la base de la prestation de soins de qualité, et sont essentiels pour vous défendre si ces soins sont remis en question. Le fait d’être conscient qu’un patient consomme du cannabis et de consigner ce fait au dossier peut aider le médecin à cibler des problèmes éventuels, tels que le trouble lié à la consommation de cannabis que peut provoquer une consommation fréquente.3

En tant que médecin, vous avez l’obligation légale et déontologique de protéger de la divulgation tous les renseignements des patients – toute exception est régie par la législation. Vous ne pouvez divulguer de l’information provenant d’un dossier médical à un tiers (p. ex. à des policiers, des avocats ou des compagnies d’assurance) qu’avec le consentement du patient ou du décideur-remplaçant, ou lorsque la loi vous y autorise.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez les articles de l’ACPM « L’importance d’une bonne communication » 9 et « Quand faut il divulguer des informations confidentielles ». 10

En bref

  • Le cadre juridique régissant l’usage du cannabis à des fins médicales et le rôle des professionnels de la santé n’a pas changé de façon importante depuis la légalisation du cannabis à usage récréatif.
  • Si vous choisissez de remplir les documents médicaux relatifs au cannabis à des fins médicales, il est attendu que vous vous conformerez à la législation fédérale ainsi qu’à celle de votre province ou territoire, de même qu’aux lignes directrices et aux politiques de votre Collège. Vous devez aussi avoir les connaissances nécessaires pour être en mesure d’autoriser le cannabis comme choix de traitement.
  • La divulgation à un tiers de renseignements associés à l’usage du cannabis ne doit se faire qu’avec le consentement du patient et seulement lorsque la loi l’autorise.

 


 

Références

  1. Entre le 1er juin 2018 et le 31 mars 2019, l’ACPM a reçu 134 demandes de conseils de la part de ses membres relativement au cannabis. Ceci tient compte des demandes reçues en prévision de l’adoption du nouveau cadre juridique.
  2. Statistique Canada. Centre de statistique sur le cannabis [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA); 2019 [cité le 24 juin 2019]. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/13-610-x/cannabis-fra.htm
  3. Association canadienne de santé publique [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): ACSP;Déc.2018. Cannabases [cité le 21 juin 2019]. Disponible: https://www.cpha.ca/cannabases
  4. Association médicale canadienne. Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire : guide du médecin, 9e éd. Ottawa (CA): AMC; 2017.
  5. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Mettre les freins! Quand devez-vous signaler une inaptitude à conduire? Ottawa (CA):ACPM; juin 2019 [cité le 24 juin 2019]. Disponible: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2019/hit-the-brakes-do-you-need-to-report-your-patients-fitness-to-drive
  6. Par exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Nouveau-Brunswick, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  7. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Opinion professionnelle concernant des patients situés à l’extérieur du Canada. Ottawa (CA):ACPM; juin 2019 [cité le 24 juin 2019]. Disponible: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/membership/protection-for-members/principles-of-assistance/providing-your-professional-opinion-concerning-patients-outside-canada
  8. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Traitement de non-résidents du Canada. Ottawa (CA):ACPM; révisé en août 2013 [cité le 24 juin 2019]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/membership/protection-for-members/principles-of-assistance/treating-non-residents-of-canada
  9. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. L’importance d’une bonne documentation Ottawa (CA):ACPM; révisé en octobre 2016 [cité le 24 juin 2019]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2011/why-good-documentation-matters
  10. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Quand faut-il divulguer des informations confidentielles. Ottawa (CA):ACPM; mars 2015 [cité le 24 juin 2019]. Disponible: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/when-to-disclose-confidential-information

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.