Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Early detection of colorectal cancer can help save a patient’s life

Originally published December 2019
19-18-E

Managing the cycle of ordering, receiving, reviewing, and communicating diagnostic investigations is an essential part of any clinical practice, and when this process breaks down, diagnostic delays or errors can result, putting patients at risk for harm.

26% favourable medical-legal outcome, 74% unfavourable medical-legal outcome
Figure 1: Distribution of CMPA cases by medical-legal outcome, 2014-2018 (n=119).

This concern is especially true when it comes to improving survival rates for colorectal cancer. A delay in colorectal cancer diagnosis poses a risk that the disease will be identified only at a later stage, significantly reducing a patient’s likelihood of survival. According to the Canadian Cancer Society, the “five-year relative survival for colon cancer is estimated to be 92% for cancers diagnosed at stage I compared with only 11% for stage IV; five-year survival for rectal cancer is estimated to be 87% for stage I and 12% for stage IV.”1

The CMPA’s analysis of 119 cases (43 legal actions, 71 College cases, and 5 hospital complaint cases) that closed between 2014-2018 involving a delayed diagnosis of colorectal cancer reveals that 74% resulted in an unfavourable medical-legal outcome (Figure 1). This means that the case was settled on behalf of the member, or resulted in a court judgment against the member, or had a finding by the College or hospital that the physician’s care fell below expectations. Recurring allegations in these cases include cognitive biases of physicians ordering tests, lack of robust test follow-up systems, and breakdowns in communicating with patients.

Screening programs—Understanding expectations

Cancer organizations across the country recommend administering specific screening tests to detect colon cancer.2 Although not mandatory, these recommendations may influence the standard of care that regulatory authorities (Colleges) and the courts would expect physicians to follow. If a patient safety incident is found to stem from a physician’s failure to follow accepted guidelines, this may be part of the evidence used to find the physician breached the standard of care.


Case example: Changes in primary care provider leads to a missed cancer diagnosis3

A woman in her 40s sees her new family physician for the first time. She requests a prescription renewal for a hemorrhoid cream that had been prescribed by her previous family physician for persistent rectal bleeding. She shares that she had been diagnosed with hemorrhoids and had recently undergone a barium enema, which was negative for colorectal cancer. While the new family physician does not perform a digital rectal exam, he renews the prescription and requests the patient’s records from the previous family physician. The medical record confirms normal results from the barium enema, and also shows that a follow-up colonoscopy had been recommended due to incomplete bowel imaging. Nevertheless, the new physician does not review the patient’s records and does not order the colonoscopy.

Months later, during a visit to an urgent care clinic, the patient is concerned about bright red blood and mucus in her stool. The urgent care physician orders a flexible sigmoidoscopy and a barium enema that ultimately reveal the presence of stage T2 adenocarcinoma in the rectum. The patient undergoes chemotherapy and radiation treatments, and files a legal action against the family physician, alleging a delay in diagnosis.

What the experts said

Experts were not supportive of the family physician's care in this case, stating that he should have confirmed the presence of hemorrhoids sooner through a physical exam, and then pursued further investigations. They determined that had the delay in diagnosis not occurred, the cancer would have only required surgery, and not chemotherapy and radiation. The CMPA settled the case on behalf of the family physician.

Ordering tests

There are many points during test follow-up where process breakdowns can occur, including when deciding whether to order the test itself.

When presented with symptoms of blood in stool in an otherwise healthy young woman, and having been told that hemorrhoids had already been diagnosed, the experts reviewing the physician’s care in the case above found that he anchored to the diagnosis of hemorrhoids without having confirmed their presence himself. This could have been done through a digital rectal exam and other investigative methods, such as a sigmoidoscopy. (The predictive value of barium enema has been scrutinized as a diagnostic tool for colorectal cancer, as studies have found it to have a miss rate of 17% in detecting colorectal cancer.4) Anchoring—when one focuses “on one particular symptom, sign, or piece of information, or a particular diagnosis early in the diagnostic process and fail[s] to make any adjustments for other possibilities”5 —is a form of cognitive bias that can hinder or delay an accurate diagnosis.

A delay or failure in the performance of a diagnostic test or therapeutic intervention was identified in 34 (29%) of the CMPA cases analyzed.6

Risk reduction strategies

  • When treating a new patient with a previous diagnosis, consider whether it is appropriate to reassess and confirm the diagnosis prior to providing treatment.
  • In addition to performing a comprehensive history, consider whether it is appropriate to perform a physical exam. Be sure to review your new patients’ prior records.
  • Re-evaluate the diagnosis when symptoms persist, where appropriate.

Receiving and reviewing test results

During the multiple phases of test follow-up, requisition forms can be lost, specimens can be mislabeled, and test results may not be returned, among other possible process breakdowns.

In the above case, the need for a follow-up colonoscopy was noted in the medical record, though this went unnoticed by the new family physician and was not communicated to him during the handover of patient records.

Several cases in the CMPA analysis highlighted system failures, including lost or mislaid reports or results, mishandled diagnostic tests, and issues with administrative policies or procedures. These failures were identified in 16 cases (13%).

Risk reduction strategies

  • Review College policies to ensure compliance with expectations to employ an appropriate system for follow-up of test requisitions and results, including suspicious, indeterminate, or discrepant findings.
  • When your patient changes to a new care provider while there are still pending tests that require follow-up, discuss with the patient how best to communicate this information to the new provider.
  • Review your administrative office procedures to identify possible weaknesses in your test follow-up process.

Communication breakdown

Patients may not follow through with diagnostic testing for many reasons, such as not understanding the need for the investigation, forgetting, being too busy, or feeling afraid of the findings.

In the above case, a communication breakdown occurred between the family physicians and the patient. The patient did not remember having been told by her previous physician that she would need a follow-up colonoscopy, so she did not mention it during the initial consultation with her new physician. As well, when having previously received treatment for hemorrhoids, the patient may not have understood why it was important for her new physician to conduct his own assessment and was therefore reluctant about it.

In the CMPA analysis, a communication breakdown between physicians was identified as a contributing factor in 11 cases (9%), while a communication breakdown between patients and their physicians was identified as a factor in 24 cases (20%).

Risk reduction strategies

  • Confirm that the patient understands the information you provide, and answer questions honestly and openly. If further testing is required, educate the patient on the necessary timelines and risks if the test is not performed.
  • Communicate to the patient the purpose of each test ordered, including the need for more testing if appropriate. Recognize that uncomfortable tests may require you to do more follow-up.
  • Document discussions with patients regarding test follow-up or further necessary testing. If a patient declines further testing, explore the patient’s concerns and document the conversation.

The bottom line

Based on the expert opinions in the cases reviewed, the suggested risk reduction strategies may be suitable in your practice. Consider also the following suggestions:

  • Adopt strategies to identify and mitigate your cognitive biases.
  • Consider ways to assess and improve your processes for following up on diagnostic testing.
  • Communicate openly with patients to assess, and if necessary improve, their understanding of the importance of diagnostic testing and cancer screening.

 


 

References

  1. Canadian Cancer Statistics Advisory Committee [Internet]. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2018. Toronto(CA): Canadian Cancer Society;2018 June [cited 2019 August]. Available from: www.cancer.ca/Canadian-Cancer-Statistics-2018-EN
  2. Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care. Recommendations on screening for colorectal cancer [Internet]. CMAJ. 2016 March [cited 2019 August];188 (5): 340-348. Available from: 10.1503/cmaj.151125
  3. While based on a real case, some facts in this case scenario have been altered to protect patient and physician confidentiality.
  4. Shariff, M, Sheikh K, Carroll N, et al. Colorectal cancer detection: time to abandon barium enema? Frontline Gastroenterology [Internet]. 2011 [cited 2019 September]; 2(2):105-109. Available from: http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/fg.2010.003616
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA):CMPA. CMPA Good Practices Guide. Common Cognitive Biases [cited 2019 August]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/serve/docs/ela/goodpracticesguide/pages/human_factors/Cognitive_biases/pdf/hf_common_cognitive_biases-e.pdf
  6. This insight was obtained using the CMPA’s Contributing Factor Framework. For more information see: McCleery A, Devenny K, Ogilby C, et al. Using medicolegal data to support safe medical care: A contributing factor coding framework. Journal of Healthcare Risk Management [Internet]. 2018 August 3 [cited 2019 August]; 38(4):11-19. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1002/jhrm.21348

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le dépistage précoce du cancer colorectal peut aider à sauver la vie du patient

Publié initialement en décembre 2019
19-18-F

La gestion du cycle prescription-réception-analyse-communication des investigations diagnostiques est l’une des composantes essentielles de toute pratique clinique, et lorsque des failles affectent ce cycle, des retards dans l’établissement du diagnostic ou des erreurs de diagnostic peuvent survenir, ce qui entraîne des risques de préjudice pour les patients.

26% résultat médico-légal favorable, 74% résultat médico-légal défavorable
Figure 1. Répartition selon le résultat médico-légal des dossiers conclus de l’ACPM (n=119), entre 2014 et 2018, impliquant un retard dans l’établissement d’un cancer colorectal.

La situation est particulièrement préoccupante lorsqu’il s’agit d’améliorer les taux de survie liés au cancer colorectal. Un retard dans l’établissement d’un diagnostic de cancer colorectal pose un risque de ne pouvoir déceler la maladie qu’à un stade plus avancé, réduisant ainsi considérablement la probabilité de survie du patient. Selon la Société canadienne du cancer, « la survie relative à cinq ans des personnes atteintes d’un cancer du côlon est estimée à 92 % pour les cancers diagnostiqués au stade I, comparativement à 11 % seulement pour ceux diagnostiqués au stade IV; la survie à cinq ans des personnes atteintes d’un cancer du rectum est estimée à 87 % pour les cancers de stade I et à 12 % pour les cancers de stade IV ».1

Une analyse de 119 dossiers de l’ACPM (43 actions en justice, 71 plaintes au Collège et 5 plaintes intrahospitalières) conclus entre 2014 et 2018 et ayant trait à un retard dans le diagnostic d’un cancer colorectal révèle que 74 % d’entre eux ont donné lieu à un résultat médico-légal défavorable (Figure 1). Cela signifie que l’ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier au nom du membre, que le tribunal a rendu une décision contre le membre, ou que le Collège ou l’hôpital a statué que les soins prodigués par le médecin ne répondaient pas aux attentes. Parmi les allégations récurrentes constatées dans ces dossiers, on trouve les biais cognitifs des médecins qui ont demandé des examens, l’absence de systèmes robustes de suivi des résultats d’examen et les failles dans la communication avec les patients.

Programmes de dépistage – Comprendre les attentes

Les organisations de lutte contre le cancer au Canada recommandent l’administration d’examens de dépistage particuliers pour la détection du cancer du côlon.2 Bien que les médecins ne soient pas tenus de les respecter, ces recommandations pourraient influencer la norme de pratique qui sera attendue d’eux par les organismes de réglementation (Collèges) et les tribunaux. Si l’on établit qu’un incident lié à la sécurité du patient est attribuable au fait que le médecin n’a pas respecté les lignes directrices acceptées, cela pourrait servir à prouver que ce médecin a enfreint la norme de pratique.


Exemple de cas : Un changement de médecin de première ligne retarde l’établissement du diagnostic3

Une femme dans la quarantaine consulte son nouveau médecin de famille pour la première fois. Elle demande un renouvellement d’ordonnance pour une crème contre les hémorroïdes que son médecin de famille précédent lui avait prescrite en raison de saignements rectaux persistants. Elle dit qu’on lui a diagnostiqué des hémorroïdes et qu’elle a eu récemment un lavement baryté qui n’a pas révélé de cancer colorectal. Bien qu’il n’effectue pas de toucher rectal, son nouveau médecin de famille renouvelle l’ordonnance et adresse une demande au médecin de famille précédent pour obtenir le dossier de la patiente. Le dossier médical confirme les résultats normaux du lavement baryté, et indique qu’une colonoscopie de suivi a été recommandée puisqu’il a été impossible de visualiser tout l’intestin. Quoi qu’il en soit, le nouveau médecin ne lit pas le dossier de la patiente et ne demande pas de colonoscopie.

Des mois plus tard, pendant une visite dans une clinique de soins d’urgence, la patiente s’inquiète de la présence de sang rouge vif et de mucus dans ses selles. Le médecin à l’urgence demande une sigmoïdoscopie flexible et un lavement baryté qui révèlent finalement la présence d’un adénocarcinome rectal de stade T2. La patiente subit des traitements de chimiothérapie et de radiothérapie, et intente une poursuite contre le nouveau médecin de famille, alléguant un retard dans l’établissement du diagnostic.

Ce que disent les experts

Les experts n’ont pas appuyé les soins prodigués par le médecin de famille dans ce dossier, indiquant qu’il aurait dû confirmer la présence d’hémorroïdes plus tôt au moyen d’un examen physique, pour ensuite procéder à d’autres investigations. Ils ont déterminé que s’il n’y avait pas eu de retard dans l’établissement du diagnostic, le traitement du cancer n’aurait requis qu’une intervention chirurgicale, et non de la chimiothérapie et de la radiothérapie. L’ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier au nom du médecin de famille.

Prescription d’examens

Des failles peuvent survenir à de nombreuses étapes du processus de suivi des résultats d’examen, y compris lorsqu’il s’agit de décider s’il est avisé de prescrire un examen particulier.

Compte tenu de la présence de sang dans les selles d’une jeune femme autrement en bonne santé et du fait qu’un diagnostic d’hémorroïdes avait déjà été établi, les experts examinant les soins prodigués dans l’exemple de cas ont constaté que le médecin s’était ancré au diagnostic d’hémorroïdes sans avoir lui-même confirmé la présence de celles-ci. Il aurait pu le faire au moyen d’un toucher rectal et d’autres interventions exploratoires, telles qu’une sigmoïdoscopie. (Le coefficient de prévision du lavement baryté à titre d’outil diagnostique pour le cancer colorectal a fait l’objet d’un examen attentif, puisque des études ont constaté que cette intervention comptait un taux d’échec de 17 % pour la détection du cancer colorectal.4) L’ancrage (soit lorsque l’on se centre « sur un symptôme, un signe, un élément d’information ou un diagnostic en particulier au début du processus du diagnostic sans apporter de corrections en fonction d’autres possibilités »5) est une forme de biais cognitif qui peut nuire à l’établissement d’un diagnostic précis ou le retarder.

Dans 34 (29 %) des dossiers que l’ACPM a analysés, l’exécution d’un examen diagnostique ou d’une intervention thérapeutique a fait l’objet d’un retard ou n’a pas même été envisagée.6

Stratégies de réduction des risques

  • Au moment de traiter un nouveau patient ayant déjà obtenu un diagnostic, déterminez s’il s’avère approprié de réévaluer et de confirmer le diagnostic avant de prodiguer les soins requis.
  • En plus de procéder à une anamnèse exhaustive, déterminez s’il s’avère approprié d’effectuer un examen physique. Assurez-vous de consulter le dossier existant de vos nouveaux patients.
  • Réévaluez le diagnostic si les symptômes persistent, au besoin.

Réception et consultation des résultats d’examens

De nombreuses failles peuvent affecter les multiples phases du suivi des résultats d’examen : par exemple, les formulaires de demande peuvent être perdus, les prélèvements peuvent être mal étiquetés et les résultats d’examen peuvent ne pas être transmis.

Dans l’exemple de cas susmentionné, bien que la nécessité d’une colonoscopie de suivi ait été notée dans le dossier médical, le nouveau médecin de famille n’en a pas pris connaissance et elle ne lui a pas été communiquée lorsque le dossier de la patiente lui a été transmis.

Des défaillances systémiques (dont des rapports ou des résultats perdus ou égarés, des examens diagnostiques mal classés et des problèmes liés aux politiques ou aux procédures administratives) ont été constatées dans 16 (13 %) des dossiers analysés par l’ACPM.

Stratégies de réduction des risques

  • Prenez connaissance des politiques de votre Collège pour vous assurer de répondre aux attentes en ce qui concerne l’utilisation d’un système approprié pour le suivi des demandes et des résultats d’examen (y compris les résultats suspects, indéterminés ou discordants).
  • Lorsque votre patient commence à consulter un nouveau professionnel de la santé pendant que vous êtes encore en attente de résultats d’examen le concernant et nécessitant un suivi, discutez avec ce patient de la meilleure façon de communiquer cette information à son nouveau professionnel de la santé.
  • Passez en revue vos procédures administratives afin de cerner les faiblesses possibles de votre processus de suivi des résultats d’examen.

Problèmes de communication

De nombreuses raisons peuvent mener les patients à ne pas subir des examens diagnostiques, comme l’oubli, le manque de temps, le fait de ne pas en comprendre la nécessité, ou la crainte des résultats.

Dans l’exemple de cas susmentionné, il y a eu un problème de communication entre les médecins de famille et la patiente. Cette dernière ne se rappelait pas que son ancien médecin lui avait dit qu’elle devait subir une colonoscopie de suivi, ce qui explique pourquoi elle n’en a pas fait mention pendant sa consultation initiale avec son nouveau médecin. De plus, puisqu’elle avait déjà été soignée pour ses hémorroïdes, il est possible que la patiente n’ait pas compris pourquoi il était important que son nouveau médecin effectue sa propre évaluation; elle ne s’y montrait donc pas très enthousiaste.

Dans le cadre de l’analyse effectuée par l’ACPM, un problème de communication entre les médecins constituait un facteur contributif dans 11 dossiers (9 %), tandis qu’un problème de communication entre les patients et leurs médecins en constituait un dans 24 dossiers (20 %).

Stratégies de réduction des risques

  • Déterminez dans quelle mesure le patient a compris l’information fournie, et répondez à ses questions honnêtement et franchement. Lorsque d’autres examens sont nécessaires, sensibilisez le patient aux échéanciers requis et aux risques encourus si ces examens ne sont pas effectués.
  • Faites part au patient de l’objet de chacun des examens prescrits, ainsi que de la nécessité de procéder à d’autres examens, le cas échéant. Reconnaissez que les examens désagréables pourraient nécessiter un suivi plus serré de votre part.
  • Consignez au dossier vos discussions avec les patients en ce qui concerne le suivi des résultats d’examen ou la nécessité d’effectuer d’autres examens. Lorsqu’un patient refuse d’autres examens, explorez ses préoccupations et consignez la conversation au dossier.

En bref

Selon les experts consultés dans les cas analysés, les stratégies de réduction des risques suggérées pourraient convenir dans votre pratique. Envisagez aussi les suggestions suivantes :

  • Adoptez des stratégies pour cerner et atténuer vos biais cognitifs.
  • Pensez à des façons d’évaluer et d’améliorer vos processus de suivi des résultats d’examen diagnostique.
  • Communiquez ouvertement avec vos patients afin de leur permettre de bien comprendre l’importance des examens diagnostiques et du dépistage du cancer.

 


 

Références

  1. Société canadienne du cancer, Comité consultatif des statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer [En ligne]. Toronto (CA): SCC, juin 2018. Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer : Rapport spécial de 2018 sur l’incidence du cancer selon le stade [cité en août 2019]. Disponible : http://www.cancer.ca/~/media/cancer.ca/CW/cancer%20information/cancer%20101/Canadian%20cancer%20statistics/Canadian-Cancer-Statistics-2018-FR.pdf?la=fr
  2. Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care. Recommendations on screening for colorectal cancer [En ligne]. CMAJ. 2016 March [cité en août 2019];188(5):340-48. Disponible : 10.1503/cmaj.151125
  3. Bien que cet exemple de cas soit fondé sur un véritable dossier, certains des faits présentés ont été modifiés pour assurer l’anonymat de la patiente et du médecin.
  4. Shariff, M, Sheikh K, Carroll N, et al. Colorectal cancer detection: time to abandon barium enema? Frontline Gastroenterology [En ligne]. 2011 [cité en septembre 2019]; 2(2):105-9. Disponible : http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/fg.2010.0036164. Bien qu’ils soient fondés sur un cas réel, certains faits ont été modifiés pour protéger la confidentialité du patient et du médecin.
  5. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): ACPM. Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM. Biais cognitifs courants [cité en août 2019]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/serve/docs/ela/goodpracticesguide/pages/human_factors/Cognitive_biases/pdf/hf_common_cognitive_biases-f.pdf
  6. Cette constatation est issue de l’utilisation de l’outil Contributing Factor Coding Framework de l’ACPM. Pour en savoir plus, consultez : McCleery A, Devenny K, Ogilby C, et al. Using medicolegal data to support safe medical care: A contributing factor coding framework. Journal of Healthcare Risk Management [En ligne]. 2018 August 3 [cité en août 2019]; 38(4):11 19. Disponible : https://doi.org/10.1002/jhrm.21348

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.