Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Medical-legal cases in spinal surgery: 3 essential lessons

Originally published June 2019
19-10-E

Spinal surgery is increasingly challenging in Canada for a number of reasons. An estimated 5.5 million Canadian adults are now living with chronic back pain1 and some will seek a surgical opinion in the hope of obtaining pain relief. Advanced age and comorbidities are common, adding procedural complexity. Intra-operative injuries are rare, but often serious. These challenges frequently lead to medical-legal actions and complaints.

Among medical-legal cases closed by the CMPA in the past five years that involved neurosurgeons, over one-third related to spinal surgery. Among cases that involved orthopaedic surgeons, approximately 5% related to spinal surgery.

Cases at the CMPA

Between 2013 and 2017, the CMPA closed 103 cases (civil legal actions and regulatory authority [College] and hospital complaints) involving spinal surgery performed by a neurosurgeon or orthopaedic surgeon.

  • >80% of surgeries were elective
  • Approximately ½ of surgeries involved a patient with chronic pain
  • Most surgeries involved the lumbar region of the spine2

Some cases arose from poor patient outcomes that peer experts3 or Colleges deemed to be due to inherent risks or unrelated to the spinal surgery. In these cases, there was no criticism of the surgeon’s care. However, in other cases, there were learning opportunities.

Three essential lessons can be learned from the medical-legal cases.

1. Engage in and document a fulsome informed consent discussion

In nearly 40% of CMPA cases, patients alleged that key information was not provided during the informed consent discussion.

Case example: A patient develops profound weakness after surgery

An older woman, with severe lower back pain and a kyphoscoliotic deformity, elects to undergo surgery by an orthopaedic surgeon. She signs an informed consent form outlining the risks of surgery and later undergoes an extensive spinal fusion from T10 to the pelvis. Post-operatively, she experiences profound weakness in her distal right leg, and her recovery is incomplete. Years later, she still requires assistance walking. The patient lodges a College complaint alleging a poorly executed procedure and inadequate informed consent. She says that the surgeon did not tell her this outcome was possible.

What did the College say?

The College voices no concern about the technical performance of the orthopaedic surgeon, but does note that he should have communicated more clearly with the patient about the risks and potential complications of the surgery. Further, it cautions him to improve his record keeping. While the surgeon recalls discussing all relevant risks of surgery with the patient, he did not document this discussion clearly in the medical record.


In 12 of the CMPA cases reviewed, the peer experts, College, or hospital committee noted that the surgeon did not adequately communicate the risks of surgery or present alternative treatments to the patient. Usually, these criticisms stemmed from a lack of documentation. There were also misunderstandings about the information conveyed by the surgeon. For example, one patient sought relief from chronic lower back pain only to learn later that the intent of the surgery was to relieve the associated leg pain. Studies show that the outcomes expected from spinal surgery (e.g. recurrence) often differ between patients and their surgeons.4

The CMPA recommends the following informed consent strategies:

  • Explain the material risks of the surgery and serious risks such as paralysis or death, even if rare.
  • Discuss alternative treatments, including non-surgical options.
  • Explain the potential benefits of surgery realistically to the patient. For chronic pain sufferers, explain your expectations for pain relief.
  • Take reasonable steps to assess patient understanding of the conversation. For example, provide opportunities for questions and ask patients to state their expectations.

2. Manage the risks of an intra-operative injury

Among the CMPA cases reviewed, 32 involved an intra-operative injury. Some of these cases involved trainees to whom surgeons delegated procedures under supervision. The most common types of injury were dural tears, spinal cord injuries, and lacerated iliac arteries or veins. Patients in 13 of the 32 cases experienced severe harm, including paralysis.

One-half of the cases resulted in an unfavourable medical-legal outcome for the surgeon. In such cases, the criticism by peer experts and Colleges included:

Before surgery

  • Surgery not indicated
  • Inadequate informed consent, or inadequate documentation of the informed consent discussion

During surgery

  • Improper use of a high-speed drill
  • Misinterpretation of intra-operative imaging

After surgery

  • Failure to investigate or treat post-operative symptoms in a timely manner
  • Inadequate disclosure of injury to the patient, or inadequate documentation of disclosure

These criticisms support the following suggested risk mitigation strategies:

  • Carefully consider the indications for the procedure, especially in high-risk patients and patients with chronic back pain.5, 6
  • Follow manufacturer safety guidelines when using surgical equipment, including taking all appropriate safety precautions when using drills. Closely supervise less experienced trainees.
  • Appropriately disclose intra-operative injuries to the patient, and document disclosure in the medical record.
  • After surgery, be alert to signs of injury and respond appropriately in a timely fashion. Ask team members (e.g. nurses, residents) to alert you of unexpected signs and symptoms.

3. Verify the correct level and side

Intra-operatively identifying the correct spinal level is occasionally difficult and can be stressful for surgeons. Among the CMPA cases reviewed, 14 involved surgery at the wrong level or on the wrong side (i.e. right versus left side of the spine), typically in the lumbar region.

Case example: Intra-operative challenges lead to wrong level surgery

An older man with obesity and a history of lumbar surgery presents to a neurosurgeon with increasing back pain, leg numbness, and urinary retention. The surgeon orders an MRI and identifies a central disk herniation at T12-L1 with significant cord compression. The patient consents to an urgent laminectomy and diskectomy at T12-L1.

Using a posterior approach and fluoroscopy, the surgeon does not find a disk herniation. He closes the wound. He seeks consent from the patient’s substitute decision-maker to continue surgery with an anterior thoracotomy approach. With proper consent, the surgical team turns the patient and the surgeon performs a partial corpectomy and diskectomy.

Post-operatively, an MRI reveals the surgical site at the wrong level (T11-T12). The surgeon discloses this finding to the patient. The patient returns for surgery at the correct level the next day by a different surgeon. Complications ensue, leading to persistent, debilitating pain.

What did the experts say?

Experts note that the intra-operative, fluoroscopic image from the first surgery was not sufficiently clear to identify the correct spinal level. They opine that the surgeon’s decision to move immediately to an anterior approach without further and better imaging fell below the standard of care. The CMPA pays a settlement to the patient on behalf of the neurosurgeon.


Among the reviewed CMPA cases involving wrong level surgery, peer experts frequently noted that images were of lower quality, misinterpreted, not used, or not available at the right time. There were also pitfalls in team communication. In each case involving wrong side surgery, surgical team members failed to verify the surgical site intra-operatively as per hospital policy.

The literature describes multiple safeguards that may prevent wrong site spinal surgery.7 The following strategies are supported by the cases:

  • Communicate with team members (e.g. in a pre-surgical pause) to verify the correct level and side for surgery.
  • Confirm that pre-operative records and intra-operative images are available in the operating room for comparison.
  • Have a plan for action if the expected pathology is not found or imaging is unclear. For example, consult a colleague or persist in obtaining a better image.

The bottom line

In a medical-legal case, peer experts, Colleges, and hospitals will acknowledge the technical challenges inherent to spinal surgery. However, they can be critical of your communication with the patient, your team communication skills, and your documentation. To mitigate the medical-legal risks of spinal surgery, consider the following strategies:

  • Conduct and document an appropriate informed consent discussion.
  • Consider the risks of intra-operative injuries during all phases of surgical care.
  • Use multiple safeguards to verify the correct level and side for spinal surgery.

 


 

References

  1. Badley EM, Millstone DB, Perruccio AV. Back pain and co-occurring conditions: Findings from a nationally representative sample. Spine (Phila Pa 1976). 2018 Aug; 43(16):E935-E941
  2. The proportion of spinal surgeries performed on the lumbar (i.e. lumbar, lumbosacral, thoracolumbar) region of the spine in Canada (excluding Québec) between 2012 and 2017 was 56%, according to the Canadian Institute for Health Information.
  3. Peer experts refer to physicians retained by the parties in a legal action to interpret and provide their opinion on clinical, scientific, or technical issues surrounding the care provided.
  4. Lo WB, McAuley CP, Gillies MJ, Grover PJ, Pereira EAC. Consent: An event or a memory in lumbar spinal surgery? A multi-centre, multi-specialty prospective study of documentation and patient recall of consent content. Eur Spine J. 2017 Nov;26(11):2789-2796.
  5. Canadian Spine Society. Spine: Eight things physicians and patients should know. Toronto (CA): Choosing Wisely Canada; January 2018 [cited 2019 Feb 12]. Available from: https://choosingwiselycanada.org/spine/.
  6. North American Spine Society: Guideline Summaries. Guideline Central, 2019 [Internet]. Lake Mary (US): American Medical Association; [cited 2019 Feb 12]. Available from: https://www.guidelinecentral.com/summaries/organizations/north-american-spine-society/#link=https://www.guidelinecentral.com/summaries/categories/treatment/&activeTab=#summary-view-category.
  7. Grimm BD, Laxer EB, Blessinger BJ, Rhyne AL, Darden BV. Wrong-Level Spine Surgery. JBJS Rev. 2014 Mar 11;2(3).

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Dossiers médico-légaux liés à une chirurgie rachidienne : 3 leçons essentielles

Publié initialement en juin 2019
19-10-F

Au Canada, les chirurgies rachidiennes posent de plus en plus de défis pour diverses raisons. Environ 5,5 millions d’adultes canadiens vivent avec une douleur chronique au dos1 et certains d’entre eux consulteront un chirurgien dans l’espoir d’obtenir un soulagement. Les interventions sont souvent compliquées par des problèmes liés à la comorbidité et à l’âge avancé des patients. Les lésions peropératoires sont rares, mais souvent graves; ces défis mènent alors à des actions en justice et à des plaintes.

Dans l’analyse des dossiers médico-légaux conclus au cours des cinq dernières années impliquant des neurochirurgiens, plus du tiers des instances était associé à une chirurgie rachidienne. Parmi les dossiers impliquant des chirurgiens orthopédistes, environ 5 % concernaient la chirurgie rachidienne.

Dossiers de l’ACPM

Entre 2013 et 2017, l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) a conclu 103 dossiers (actions au civil, plaintes auprès d’organismes de réglementation [Collèges] et plaintes intrahospitalières) associés à des chirurgies rachidiennes effectuées par des neurochirurgiens ou des chirurgiens orthopédistes.

  • + de 80 % des interventions étaient non urgentes
  • Environ la moitié des interventions impliquait un patient ayant une douleur chronique
  • La plupart des interventions se situaient dans la région lombaire de la colonne2

Dans certains de ces dossiers, les experts3 ou les Collèges ont jugé que les piètres résultats obtenus pour les patients relevaient des risques inhérents à la chirurgie rachidienne ou, encore, qu’ils ne pouvaient lui être attribués; les soins prodigués par les chirurgiens n’y ont fait l’objet d’aucune critique. Cependant, d’autres dossiers ont donné lieu à des occasions d’apprentissage.

Trois leçons essentielles peuvent être retenues des dossiers médico-légaux.

1. Procéder à une discussion approfondie en vue d’obtenir un consentement éclairé et consigner celle-ci au dossier

Dans près de 40 % des dossiers de l’ACPM, les patients ont allégué que des renseignements clés ne leur avaient pas été fournis lors de la discussion préalable à l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé.

Exemple de cas : Une patiente présente une grande faiblesse à la suite de la chirurgie

Une dame âgée, qui présente une forte douleur au bas du dos et une déformation associée à une cyphoscoliose, choisit d’être opérée par un chirurgien orthopédiste. Elle signe un formulaire de consentement qui décrit les risques de l’intervention et subit par la suite une spondylodèse de T10 jusqu’au sacrum. En période postopératoire, elle présente une grande faiblesse à la jambe droite et ne peut en retrouver l’usage complet. Plusieurs années plus tard, elle a toujours besoin d’aide pour marcher. La patiente dépose une plainte au Collège alléguant une intervention mal exécutée et une discussion inadéquate préalable à l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé. Elle dit que le chirurgien ne lui a pas expliqué la possibilité de ce résultat.

Qu’a dit le Collège?

Le Collège n’exprime aucune inquiétude quant au rendement du chirurgien orthopédiste sur le plan technique, mais note que ce dernier aurait pu communiquer plus clairement avec la patiente au sujet des risques et des complications possibles de l’intervention. Le Collège avise aussi le chirurgien qu’il doit améliorer la tenue de ses dossiers. Bien que le chirurgien se rappelle d’avoir discuté avec la patiente des risques inhérents à la chirurgie, il n’a pas clairement consigné cette discussion au dossier.

Dans 12 des dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM analysés, les experts, les Collèges ou les comités intrahospitaliers ont soulevé le fait que les chirurgiens n’avaient pas communiqué adéquatement les risques de l’intervention ni présenté d’autres choix de traitement aux patients. Habituellement, ces critiques se fondent sur des lacunes dans la consignation des notes au dossier. Il y avait aussi des malentendus au sujet des renseignements fournis par les chirurgiens. Par exemple, un patient recherchant un soulagement de sa douleur chronique au bas du dos apprend par la suite que le but de la chirurgie était le soulagement de sa douleur irradiant dans la jambe. Des études ont révélé que les résultats attendus d’une chirurgie rachidienne (p. ex. récurrence) varient souvent selon les patients et les chirurgiens.4

L’ACPM recommande les stratégies suivantes relativement au consentement éclairé :

  • Expliquer les risques importants de la chirurgie, ainsi que les risques graves tels la paralysie ou le décès, même s’ils sont rares.
  • Discuter des autres choix de traitement, y compris les traitements non chirurgicaux.
  • Expliquer de façon réaliste au patient les avantages possibles de l’intervention, ainsi que vos attentes en ce qui a trait au soulagement de la douleur chronique.
  • Prendre des mesures raisonnables pour déterminer si le patient a bien compris la conversation. Par exemple, lui fournir des occasions de poser des questions et lui demander de préciser ses attentes.

2. Gérer les risques de lésions peropératoires

Dans l’analyse effectuée par l’ACPM, 32 dossiers étaient associés à des lésions peropératoires. Certains impliquaient des résidents auxquels les chirurgiens avaient délégué des interventions sous leur supervision. Les lésions les plus courantes comprenaient : déchirures durales, lésions de la moelle épinière et lacérations de l’artère ou de la veine iliaque. Dans 13 des 32 dossiers, les patients ont subi un préjudice grave, y compris une paralysie.

Dans la moitié de ces dossiers, les chirurgiens ont obtenu des résultats médico-légaux défavorables. Dans ces cas, les experts et les Collèges ont formulé des critiques, dont les suivantes :

Avant la chirurgie

  • Intervention non indiquée
  • Discussion inadéquate préalable à l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé ou consignation inadéquate de cette discussion au dossier

Pendant la chirurgie

  • Utilisation inappropriée du moteur de fraisage à haute vitesse
  • Mauvaise interprétation de l’imagerie peropératoire

Après la chirurgie

  • Absence d’investigation des symptômes postopératoires ou d’un traitement de ceux-ci en temps opportun
  • Divulgation inadéquate au patient d’une lésion ou consignation inadéquate de la divulgation

Ces critiques appuient les suggestions suivantes en matière de stratégies d’atténuation des risques :

  • Évaluez soigneusement s’il est indiqué d’effectuer une intervention, en particulier chez les patients à risque élevé et les patients présentant des douleurs chroniques au dos.5,6
  • Suivez les directives de sécurité du fabricant lors de l’utilisation du matériel chirurgical, y compris les mesures de sécurité qui s’appliquent à l’utilisation des fraiseuses. Supervisez étroitement les résidents moins expérimentés.
  • Divulguez de façon appropriée les lésions peropératoires au patient et consignez cette discussion au dossier médical.
  • Faites preuve de vigilance, en période postopératoire, pour repérer les signes de lésions et y donner suite de façon appropriée et en temps opportun. Demandez aux membres de l’équipe (p. ex. infirmières, résidents) de vous avertir si des signes ou symptômes inattendus apparaissent.

3. Vérifier le niveau et le côté appropriés

En période peropératoire, il peut parfois être difficile de repérer le niveau spinal exact, ce qui est une source de stress pour le chirurgien. Dans l’analyse effectuée, 14 des dossiers de l’ACPM impliquaient une intervention au mauvais niveau ou mauvais côté (c. à-d. côté droit de la colonne au lieu du gauche), en particulier dans la région lombaire.

Exemple de cas : Défis peropératoires entraînant une chirurgie du mauvais côté

Un homme âgé et obèse ayant des antécédents de chirurgie lombaire consulte un neurochirurgien en raison d’une augmentation de sa douleur au dos, d’engourdissements dans les jambes et de rétention urinaire. Le chirurgien prescrit une imagerie par résonance magnétique; celle-ci révèle une hernie discale médiane au niveau T12-L1 ainsi qu’une compression importante de la moelle épinière. Le patient consent à une laminectomie et une discectomie urgentes au niveau T12-L1.

Le chirurgien a recours à la radioscopie et à une approche postérieure, mais il ne repère pas la hernie discale. Il referme la plaie. Puis, il demande le consentement du décideur remplaçant pour pratiquer une thoracotomie antérieure. Ayant obtenu le consentement approprié, l’équipe chirurgicale repositionne le patient et le chirurgien effectue une corporectomie partielle ainsi qu’une discectomie.

En postopératoire, une IRM révèle que l’intervention a été faite au mauvais niveau (T11-T12). Le chirurgien divulgue ce résultat au patient. Le lendemain, un autre chirurgien opère le patient au niveau approprié. Des complications s’ensuivent, entraînant chez le patient des douleurs invalidantes et persistantes.

Quel était l’avis des experts?

Les experts ont fait remarquer que pendant la première intervention, l’image radioscopique n’était pas suffisamment claire pour permettre d’identifier le niveau spinal approprié. Ils étaient d’avis que la décision du chirurgien d’adopter immédiatement une approche antérieure en l’absence d’une imagerie de meilleure qualité, ne respectait pas la norme de pratique. L’ACPM a choisi de conclure ce dossier au nom du neurochirurgien au moyen d’un règlement (une transaction au Québec).

Parmi les dossiers analysés par l’ACPM et impliquant des chirurgies pratiquées au mauvais niveau, les experts ont souvent souligné que les images étaient : de moins bonne qualité, mal interprétées, non utilisées ou non accessibles au moment approprié. Il y avait aussi des lacunes dans la communication au sein de l’équipe. Dans chaque dossier impliquant une intervention pratiquée du mauvais côté, les membres de l’équipe chirurgicale n’ont pas, comme ils l’auraient dû conformément à la politique de l’hôpital, confirmé le site pendant l’intervention.

La littérature médicale fait état de nombreuses mesures de sécurité qui pourraient prévenir des chirurgies rachidiennes effectuées au mauvais niveau ou côté.7 Les stratégies suivantes s’appuient sur les dossiers analysés :

  • Communiquer avec les membres de l’équipe (p. ex. lors de la pause avant de commencer l’intervention) pour vérifier s’il s’agit du niveau approprié et du bon côté pour la chirurgie.
  • Confirmer que les dossiers préopératoires ainsi qu’une imagerie peropératoire sont accessibles dans la salle d’opération pour pouvoir les comparer.
  • Avoir un plan d’action si la pathologie attendue n’est pas repérée ou si l’imagerie n’est pas claire; p. ex. consulter un collègue ou demander à obtenir une meilleure image.

En bref

Dans un dossier médico-légal, les experts, les Collèges et les hôpitaux reconnaîtront les défis techniques inhérents à une chirurgie rachidienne. Cependant, ils peuvent critiquer la communication avec le patient, les compétences de communication de votre équipe et votre tenue des dossiers. Pour atténuer les risques médico-légaux lors d’une chirurgie rachidienne, envisagez les stratégies suivantes :

  • Procéder à une discussion appropriée en vue d’obtenir un consentement éclairé et consigner celle-ci au dossier.
  • Prendre en compte les risques de lésions peropératoires à chaque étape des soins chirurgicaux.
  • Utiliser de nombreuses mesures de sécurité pour vérifier le niveau et le côté appropriés de la chirurgie rachidienne.

 


 

Références

  1. Badley EM, Millstone DB, Perruccio AV. Back pain and co-occurring conditions: Findings from a nationally representative sample. Spine (Phila Pa 1976). 2018 Aug; 43(16):E935-E941
  2. Selon l’Institut canadien d’information sur la santé, la proportion de chirurgies rachidiennes pratiquées dans la région lombaire (c.-à-d. lombaire, sacrolombaire et thoracolombaire) au Canada (sauf au Québec) entre 2012 et 2017 s’élevait à 56 %.
  3. On entend par experts les médecins retenus par les parties dans une action en justice pour interpréter les problèmes cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques entourant les soins prodigués et émettre une opinion à leur égard.
  4. Lo WB, McAuley CP, Gillies MJ, Grover PJ, Pereira EAC. Consent: An event or a memory in lumbar spinal surgery? A multi-centre, multi-specialty prospective study of documentation and patient recall of consent content. Eur Spine J. 2017Nov;26(11):2789-2796.
  5. Canadian Spine Society. Spine: Eight things physicians and patients should know. Toronto (CA): Choosing Wisely Canada; January 2018 [cité le 12 février 2019]. Disponible : https://choosingwiselycanada.org/
  6. North American Spine Society: Guideline Summaries. Guideline Central, 2019 [Internet]. Lake Mary (US): American Medical Association; [cité le 12 février 2019]. Disponible : https://www.guidelinecentral.com/summaries/organizations/north-american-spine-society/#link=https://www.guidelinecentral.com/summaries/categories/treatment/&activeTab=#summary-view-category.
  7. Grimm BD, Laxer EB, Blessinger BJ, Rhyne AL, Darden BV. Wrong-Level Spine Surgery. JBJS Rev. 2014 Mar 11;2(3).

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.