Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Prenatal tests for genetic screening and diagnosing: Changes, choices, challenges

Originally published March 2019
19-05-E

Advances in technology have led to substantial changes in the prenatal tests physicians can use to screen and diagnose pregnant patients for genetic abnormalities. New tests are being introduced and conventional tests are being improved—and all have unique benefits and limitations. As tests grow more sophisticated, patients need guidance in navigating the complex information so they can make informed choices about the future of their pregnancy.1

For physicians who treat pregnant patients, being aware of the developments in tests and the current standards of practice, communicating effectively with patients and obtaining informed consent, and documenting treatments and discussions can contribute to achieving the best possible outcomes for all involved.

Advances in prenatal tests

The new prenatal tests and the upgraded existing tests come with a variety of advantages and restrictions. For example, some tests are viewed as more accurate than others. Some can be used earlier in the pregnancy than others. Some carry greater risks. Moreover, some are funded by healthcare systems, while others are not.

Non-invasive prenatal testing (NIPT), for instance, is a newer screening tool used to detect Down syndrome and other genetic abnormalities. Its benefits include being non-invasive, highly accurate, and available for use “...at a relatively early point during pregnancy.”2 However, NIPT is regarded as a screening test and not a diagnostic test.3

Meeting the standards of prenatal testing

Whether you are an obstetrician, a family physician with a specialty in obstetrics, or a family physician with an interest in or a need to be involved in obstetrics, the courts expect you to provide prenatal care that meets the current standards of practice. That would typically include being knowledgeable of developments in prenatal tests, both screening and diagnostic, and the nature, uses, advantages, restrictions, accuracy, risks, and availability of the tests.

Communicating with patients, obtaining informed consent

Patients need to be given sufficient and accurate information so they can make informed decisions about the future of their pregnancy.2 The information they need will depend on their individual needs and circumstances. Some may decide to forego prenatal tests altogether, knowing that whatever the findings they would continue with the pregnancy. Others may decide to undergo a limited number of tests, while others may seek out all available tests to decide what course of treatment is appropriate for them.

Patients also need complete information about proposed tests or treatments, so when they provide or refuse consent, it is informed.4 Among the information you should consider providing to patients is the tests that are available, their benefits, limitations, accuracy, risks, possible outcomes, time constraints, and reasonably available alternatives. You should also consider giving information on the options available should test results indicate an abnormality. In addition, patients should be made aware of the availability of genetic counselling services.

Failing to provide patients, in a timely fashion, with information and advice about prenatal tests or a referral to another provider can have a potentially life-long impact. For instance, some patients may decide that they would rather end a pregnancy than give birth to a child with a chromosomal abnormality. If a screening or diagnostic prenatal test that may have predicted such a problem is not offered or not offered within a specific time frame and the result is a baby born with an abnormality, the parents may consider legal action alleging that the physician failed to offer testing within sufficient time to consider aborting the pregnancy. In this situation, the courts will look to several legal principles to guide its examination of the physician’s conduct, including whether the care followed the prenatal testing standard of care at the time of the pregnancy.

Speaking with patients about the intricacies of prenatal tests can be challenging because the language surrounding the tests can be unfamiliar and continually evolving. You should try to provide the information as clearly and simply as possible, and avoid jargon. Ensure patients understand the information and have an opportunity to ask questions. It may be helpful to investigate the material some organizations have written specifically for patients, such as that on the SOGC website, www.pregnancyinfo.ca.5

You may also want to consider organizing the material about the tests using structured communication and documentation tools. Some ministries of health have produced documents that can may be helpful in providing structure. For instance, the Ontario Ministry of Health has produced the document: A User Guide to the Ontario Perinatal Record.6

Further, when a test or treatment is beyond your competence or experience, you have a duty to refer patients to a more appropriate provider, for example to an obstetrician or genetic specialist. You may want to manage these referrals closely as time is an important factor. Some tests must be performed within set time frames to give patients the greatest number of options in deciding the future of their pregnancy.

Documenting in the medical record

The details of the informed consent discussion should be documented in the patient’s medical record including the information you provided, questions asked and the answers provided, and the agreed-on plan for prenatal testing.

As well, documentation in the record may form part of your tracking system for prenatal tests. Given the importance of having some tests performed within specific time limits to allow patients more decision options, you may want to record what tests were performed and when, what results were obtained and when, further test options available, and the agreed-on next steps.

The bottom line

With advances in genetic technology, the options for prenatal tests (both for screening and diagnosing) have grown in number and sophistication. To improve testing outcomes for patients and reduce your medical-legal risk, consider the following:

  • Be aware of the current developments in testing and the current standards of practice with respect to tests that should be offered to pregnant patients.
  • Give patients the information they need, when they need it, to make informed decisions about the future of their pregnancy.
  • Document in the medical record all discussions with patients and the treatments agreed on.

 


 

References

  1. Van den Veyver IB. Recent advances in prenatal genetic screening and testing. F1000Research 2016;5(F1000 Faculty Rev):2591
  2. Towes M, Caulfield T. Physician liability and non-invasive prenatal testing. J Obstet Gynaecol Can 2014;36(10):907-914
  3. Carroll JC, Morrison S. Untangling the Helix 2017: Prenatal genetics for primary care providers [Internet]. Proceedings of the 2017 Family Medicine Forum; 9 Nov 2017 [cited 2018 Dec 3]. Montreal, Canada. Available from: www.geneticseducation.ca
  4. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. When consent is informed. Ottawa (CA):CMPA;2016 May [cited 2018 Nov 30]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/cmpa-perspective/2015/when-consent-is-informed
  5. PregnancyInfo.ca [Internet]. Ottawa (CA):Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada;2018 [cited 2018 Dec. 3]. Available from: https://PregnancyInfo.ca/
  6. Ontario Provincial Council for Maternal and Child Health (PCMCH) and The Better Outcomes Registry and Network (BORN) Ontario Perinatal Record Working Group [Internet]. A User Guide to the Ontario Perinatal Record. 2018 August [cited 2018 Dec. 3]. Available from: http://www.pcmch.on.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/OPR_UserGuide_2018Update_Final_18-08-22.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Examens de dépistage génétique et de diagnostic prénatal : Avancées, choix, défis

Publié initialement en mars 2019
19-05-F

Les progrès technologiques ont mené à des changements importants pour les médecins qui prescrivent des examens servant à dépister et à diagnostiquer des anomalies génétiques chez le fœtus. De nouveaux examens ont fait leur entrée, ceux plus conventionnels ont été perfectionnés; toutefois, ils ont tous leurs avantages et leurs limites propres. Ces examens étant de plus en plus sophistiqués, les patientes doivent être encadrées pour en comprendre les résultats complexes et prendre des décisions éclairées quant à l’évolution de leur grossesse.1

Pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats possible, les médecins qui traitent des femmes enceintes doivent demeurer au fait des progrès réalisés dans ces examens et des normes de pratique applicables, communiquer efficacement avec les patientes et obtenir leur consentement éclairé, ainsi que consigner au dossier les traitements et discussions connexes.

Avancées en matière d’examens prénataux

Les nouveaux examens prénataux et ceux ayant été perfectionnés présentent une gamme d’avantages et de contraintes; p. ex. certains sont plus précis, d’autres peuvent être utilisés plus tôt dans la grossesse, et enfin, il y a ceux dont les risques sont plus grands. De plus, les coûts de certains examens sont couverts par certains systèmes de santé alors que d’autres ne le sont pas.

Prenons en exemple le dépistage prénatal non effractif (DPNE), un outil de dépistage pour déceler le syndrome de Down et d’autres anomalies génétiques. Il a pour avantage d’être non effractif, très précis et accessible «…relativement tôt dans la grossesse. »2 Cependant, le DPNE se veut un examen de dépistage et non de diagnostic.3

Dépistage prénatal et respect des normes

Que vous soyez un obstétricien, un médecin de famille spécialisé en obstétrique, ou un médecin de famille s’intéressant au domaine ou devant y participer, les tribunaux s’attendent à ce que vous prodiguiez des soins prénataux conformes aux normes de pratique en vigueur. De façon générale, ces normes exigent habituellement que vous demeuriez au fait des nouvelles avancées dans les examens prénataux (autant pour le dépistage que le diagnostic), ainsi que de la nature, des usages, des avantages, des restrictions, de la précision, des risques et de l’accessibilité de ces examens.

Obtention du consentement éclairé

Pour pouvoir prendre des décisions éclairées sur l’évolution de leur grossesse, les patientes doivent recevoir suffisamment de renseignements précis.2 L’information requise variera en fonction des circonstances et des besoins individuels. Certaines patientes pourraient renoncer à tout examen prénatal sachant que, peu importe les résultats, elles poursuivront leur grossesse. D’autres, par contre, pourraient ne consentir qu’à des examens précis, alors que certaines pourraient exiger tous les examens possibles avant de choisir le plan de traitement approprié pour elles.

Les patientes doivent aussi recevoir des renseignements complets au sujet des examens ou des traitements pour que leur consentement à un traitement ou leur refus soit éclairé.4 Vous pourriez envisager de fournir les renseignements suivants aux patientes au sujet des examens : disponibilité, avantages, limites, précision, risques, résultats attendus, contraintes temporelles et autres options raisonnables possibles. Vous devez également songer à leur présenter de l’information concernant les options à leur disposition advenant la découverte d’une anomalie. De plus, les patientes devraient être avisées qu’elles peuvent avoir accès à des services de counseling génétique.

Le fait de ne pas agir au moment opportun, que ce soit dans la consultation d’un autre professionnel ou dans l’offre de renseignements et de conseils sur les examens prénataux, pourrait avoir des conséquences sur toute une vie; p. ex. certaines patientes pourraient décider de mettre fin à leur grossesse plutôt que de donner naissance à un enfant ayant une anomalie chromosomique. Si un examen de dépistage ou de diagnostic prénatal pouvant prédire un tel problème n’est pas offert ou ne l’est pas en temps opportun, et qu’un bébé ayant une anomalie voit le jour, les parents pourraient alors envisager une action en justice alléguant que le médecin ne leur a pas offert l’examen dans un délai suffisant pour leur permettre de songer à une interruption de grossesse. Dans une telle situation, les tribunaux utiliseront de nombreux principes légaux pour guider leur examen de la conduite du médecin, y compris le respect des normes de pratique en matière d’examen prénatal en vigueur au moment de la grossesse.

Parler aux patientes des subtilités des examens prénataux constitue tout un défi puisque ce langage peut être trop compliqué et ne cesse d’évoluer. Vous devriez tenter de fournir des renseignements aussi clairs et précis que possible, et éviter le jargon. Il faut aussi s’assurer que les patientes comprennent l’information et qu’elles ont l’occasion de poser des questions. Il peut s’avérer utile de prendre connaissance des documents publiés spécialement à l’intention des patientes, comme ceux qui se trouvent sur le site web de la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC) à www.InfoGrossesse.ca.5

Vous pourriez aussi organiser le matériel concernant ces examens en ayant recours à des outils de documentation et de communication structurés. Certains ministères de la Santé ont produit de tels documents pouvant vous aider à mieux organiser vos renseignements, tel le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario qui publie un guide d’utilisation du dossier périnatal : A User Guide to the Ontario Perinatal Record.6

Lorsqu’un examen ou un traitement se situe au-delà de votre compétence ou de votre expérience, vous avez le devoir de diriger la patiente vers le professionnel approprié; p. ex. un obstétricien ou un spécialiste en génétique. Vous aurez sans doute à gérer ces demandes de consultation étroitement puisque le temps devient un facteur important. Certains examens doivent être effectués dans un délai bien établi pour permettre aux patientes de disposer du plus grand nombre de choix possible au moment de prendre une décision sur le déroulement de leur grossesse.

Tenue des dossiers

Les détails de la discussion entourant le consentement éclairé doivent être consignés dans le dossier médical de la patiente : entre autres, les renseignements fournis, les questions posées et les réponses données, ainsi que les mesures convenues dans le plan d’examens prénataux.

La consignation des notes aux dossiers pourrait même faire partie de votre système de suivi des examens prénataux. Compte tenu de l’importance d’effectuer certains examens dans des délais précis pour que les patientes aient le plus grand nombre d’options possible, vous pourriez consigner : les examens effectués et la date, les résultats obtenus et la date, les autres examens offerts et les prochaines étapes convenues dans le plan.

En bref

Avec les progrès de la technologie en génétique, le nombre d’examens prénataux (autant pour le dépistage que le diagnostic) et leur complexité ont augmenté. En vue d’améliorer les résultats pour les patientes et de réduire les risques médico-légaux, vous pourriez tenir compte des éléments suivants :

  • Demeurer au fait des nouveautés et des normes de pratique en vigueur en matière d’examens à offrir aux patientes enceintes.
  • Fournir aux patientes l’information dont elles ont besoin, en temps opportun, pour qu’elles puissent prendre des décisions éclairées concernant l’évolution de leur grossesse.
  • Consigner au dossier toutes les discussions avec les patientes et les traitements sur lesquels vous vous êtes entendus. 

 


 

Références

  1. Van den Veyver IB. Recent advances in prenatal genetic screening and testing. F1000Res 2016;5:2591
  2. Towes M, Caulfield T. Physician liability and non-invasive prenatal testing. J Obstet Gynaecol Can 2014;36(10):907-14
  3. Carroll JC, Morrison S. Untangling the Helix 2017: Prenatal genetics for primary care providers [En ligne].Proceedings of the 2017 Family Medicine Forum; 9 Nov 2017 [cité le 3 décembre 2018]. Montréal, Canada. Disponible: https://fmf.cfpc.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/F114_Untangling-the-Helix-2017_Genomics-for-primary-care-providers.pdf
  4. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Lorsque le consentement est éclairé. Ottawa (CA):ACPM;mai 2016. [cité le 30 nov. 2018]. Disponible: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/cmpa-perspective/2015/when-consent-is-informed
  5. www.InfoGrossesse.ca [Internet]. Ottawa (CA):Société des obstétriciens et des gynécologues du Canada;2018 [cité le 3 déc. 2018]. Disponible: https://PregnancyInfo.ca/fr
  6. Provincial Council for Maternal Child Health (PCMCH), The Better Outcomes Registry and Network (BORN) Ontario, the OMA and the Association of Ontario Midwifes (AOM) [Internet]. Ontario Perinatal Record User Guide − Updated. 2018 August [cité le 3 déc. 2018]. Disponible: http://www.pcmch.on.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/OPR_UserGuide_2018Update_Final_18-08-22.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.