Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Recognizing subarachnoid hemorrhage: The role of situational awareness in preventing serious patient harm

Originally published September 2019
19-14-E

Subarachnoid hemorrhage is a rare but potentially catastrophic cause of headache. While headaches are common, patients with subarachnoid hemorrhage typically experience a rapidly peaking and severe headache, often described as a "thunderclap.” They are frequently over 40 years of age and present with other distinct signs and symptoms, such as a brief loss of consciousness, vomiting, and neck pain or stiffness. Healthcare provider and team situational awareness are often key to the effective diagnosis and management of this emergency situation.

8% Hospital investigations, 37% College complaints, 55% Legal actions
Figure 1: Distribution of medical-legal type of closed CMPA cases with missed or delayed diagnosis of non-traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage, 2009-2019 (n=60)

The CMPA reviewed 60 medical-legal cases, closed between 2009 and 2019, in which the diagnosis of non-traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage was alleged to have been missed or delayed. Over half of these cases were legal actions (33 [55%]), followed by regulatory authority (College) complaints (22 [37%]), and hospital investigations (5 [8%]). Reflecting the fact that subarachnoid hemorrhage has a mortality rate approaching 50%,1 death or severe injury was the most common category of patient outcome in these cases. However, slightly more than half of all cases (32 [53%]) had favourable medical-legal outcomes for the members involved. This was likely owing to factors such as atypical presentations, involvement of non-physician healthcare providers that contributed to the negative patient outcome, and expert opinion stating that misdiagnosis did not affect the patient’s outcome. The specialties most commonly involved were family or emergency medicine physicians (48 [59%]), neurosurgeons or neurologists (15 [18%]), and radiologists (6 [7%]). Five cases (6%) involved a resident.

Diagnosis of subarachnoid hemorrhage can be challenging, and one study found that about one in 20 patients are misdiagnosed during their first assessment in the emergency department (ED).2 According to CMPA data, diagnostic error occurred in 39 of 60 subarachnoid hemorrhage cases. In the remainder of these cases peer experts determined that the standard of care in reaching a diagnosis had been met.

Contributing factors in diagnostic error cases

A major theme in cases with diagnostic error was patients presenting on more than one occasion with the same or worsening symptoms (22/39 cases). These return visits can present opportunities for reassessing these patients and potentially identifying cognitive biases or broadening the differential diagnosis. Records from recent visits to other healthcare professionals might also point to a potentially missed subarachnoid hemorrhage diagnosis.

Clinical decision-making in subarachnoid hemorrhage

As expected, diagnostic error most often concerned the physician’s clinical decision-making process. Examples included the following: not ordering the appropriate investigations for a patient presenting with symptoms consistent with subarachnoid hemorrhage, such as severe headache accompanied by vomiting or neurological symptoms; and failing to reconsider the differential diagnosis when a patient returns with the same complaint. Some physicians anchored on another cause for the patient’s symptoms, such as neck muscle strain. Indeed, the risk of cognitive biases such as anchoring can be elevated in a busy emergency department.

Close to one-third of cases (28%) involved a lack of situational awareness, including choosing observation over immediate investigation when subarachnoid hemorrhage was high in the differential diagnosis. Research shows that unenhanced CT is highly sensitive in identifying subarachnoid hemorrhage when performed within six hours of the headache’s onset, after which time imaging alone can be less reliable.3 Decision support tools such as the Ottawa Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Rule4, 5 can aid in situational awareness and in evaluating the need for further investigation for certain patients who present with sudden onset headache.

Case example: Return visit offers opportunity to reassess

A woman in her 60s arrives by ambulance at the ED with severe occipital pain. It is the second time she has attended this ED in the last three days. The pain first occurred while she was doing heavy yard work and returned during physical activity two days later. On her first visit, the ED physician who examined her suspected that her pain was musculoskeletal and administered an opioid analgesic before eventually discharging her.

On the second visit, the patient rates her pain at 6 out of 10 and tells the ED physician that she vomited twice the previous day and has since felt nauseated. She has a history of chronic neck pain from an old injury. During the physical examination, the physician finds no neurological deficit or photophobia. Mindful of the fact that the patient also complains of an acute increase in her chronic neck pain, the physician notes tenderness along the patient’s trapezius to the occiput, but no neck stiffness. The patient is given IV fluids, ketorolac, and metoclopramide. The patient begins to feel better, with only minor residual occipital pain. The ED physician discharges the patient with instructions to see her family physician within a few days and to try massage therapy for her neck pain. She is also advised to return immediately if her headache does not improve or if she develops new symptoms.

A few days later, the patient, still unwell, attends at another ED. Here, she receives a CT scan that shows evidence of a subarachnoid hemorrhage. The patient is immediately transferred to another facility where she undergoes coiling of a cerebral artery aneurysm. The patient recovers but is left with right-sided weakness. The patient files a College complaint alleging that, on her second visit to the ED the physician failed to diagnose the subarachnoid hemorrhage. The College committee cautions this physician that when a patient returns to the ED with a persistent or worsening headache, the physician should focus on ruling out the possibility that it could be a serious condition such as a subarachnoid hemorrhage.

Diagnosis and coordination of care

Communication and coordination of care was an issue in 11 of the 39 diagnostic error cases (28%). These situations included return visits to different facilities or providers, resulting in a lack of coordination of care; miscommunication between providers, including issues related to the follow-up of imaging results; triage issues that led to delayed assessment of patients in the ED; and other breakdowns in communication between providers and with patients. Coordination of care can be influenced by system issues such as crowded EDs, lack of procedures for flagging or communicating urgent results, and the unavailability of diagnostic imaging. These challenges highlight the importance of coordination of care and team situational awareness when diagnosing and managing subarachnoid hemorrhage, especially in resource-constrained environments.

The bottom line

Although subarachnoid hemorrhage is an uncommon cause of severe headache, it is a medical emergency that carries a high mortality rate. A return visit for the same or worsening complaint—present in over half of CMPA diagnostic error cases—sometimes offers a second chance to avoid a potentially catastrophic outcome. Individual provider and team situational awareness, which can be enhanced with clinical decision support tools, are key to effective diagnosis and management of non-traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage.

 


 

References

  1. Singer RJ, Ogilvy CS, Rordorf G. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage. UpToDate.com [Internet]. 2017 Nov 1 [cited on 2019 May 24]. Available from: https://www.uptodate.com/contents/clinical-manifestations-and-diagnosis-of-aneurysmal-subarachnoid-hemorrhage.
  2. Vermeulen MJ, Schull MJ. Missed diagnosis of subarachnoid hemorrhage in the emergency department. Stroke. 2007 Apr;38(4):1216-21. Epub 2007 Feb 22
  3. Perry JJ, Stiell IG, Sivilotti ML, et al. Sensitivity of computed tomography performed within six hours of onset of headache for diagnosis of subarachnoid haemorrhage: prospective cohort study. BMJ. 2011;343:d4277.a
  4. Perry JJ, Stiell IG, Sivilotti ML, et al. Clinical decision rules to rule out subarachnoid hemorrhage for acute headache. JAMA. 2013 Sep 25;310(12):1248-55. doi: 10.1001/jama.2013.278018
  5. Perry JJ, Sivilotti MLA, Sutherland J, et al. Validation of the Ottawa Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Rule in patients with acute headache. CMAJ. 2017 Nov 13;189(45):E1379-85

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Reconnaître l’hémorragie sous-arachnoïdienne : Le rôle de la conscience situationnelle

Publié initialement en septembre 2019
19-14-F

L’hémorragie sous-arachnoïdienne (HSA) est une cause rare, mais potentiellement catastrophique, de la céphalée. Les maux de tête peuvent être courants; toutefois, les patients qui présentent une HSA ressentent généralement une céphalée intense avec pic rapide, souvent décrite comme étant « un coup de poignard ». Elle est fréquemment diagnostiquée chez des patients de plus de 40 ans et s’accompagne de signes et symptômes distincts tels que brève perte de conscience, vomissements, douleur ou raideur de la nuque. La conscience situationnelle de chaque professionnel de la santé ainsi que de l’équipe joue généralement un rôle essentiel dans le diagnostic et la prise en charge thérapeutique efficaces de cette situation d’urgence.

8% Enquêtes intrahospitalières, 37% Plaintes déposées auprès des Collèges, 55% Actions en justice
Figure 1. Répartition selon le type de dossier médico-légal de l’ACPM, conclu entre 2000 et 2019 (n=60), pour lequel le diagnostic d’hémorragie sous-arachnoïdienne non traumatique a été manqué ou retardé

L’ACPM a passé en revue 60 dossiers médico-légaux, conclus entre 2009 et 2019, dans lesquels il était allégué qu’un diagnostic d’HSA non traumatique avait été manqué ou retardé. Plus de la moitié de ces dossiers était associée à des actions en justice (33 [55 %]); venaient ensuite les plaintes déposées auprès des organismes de réglementation (Collèges) (22 [37 %]) et les enquêtes intrahospitalières (5 [8 %]) (Figure 1 ). Puisque le taux de mortalité de l’HSA avoisine 50 %1, le décès ou une lésion grave constituaient les catégories les plus courantes des résultats chez les patients dans ces dossiers. Cependant, dans un peu plus de la moitié de tous les dossiers (32 [53 %]) les résultats médico-légaux ont été favorables pour les médecins impliqués. Cela était probablement attribuable à des facteurs tels que : un tableau clinique atypique, la participation de professionnels de la santé non-médecins qui ont contribué au résultat défavorable pour le patient, ainsi que les opinions d’experts ayant affirmé que l’erreur de diagnostic n’avait pas eu de conséquence pour le patient. Les catégories les plus couramment représentées étaient les : médecins de famille ou médecins de l’urgence (48 [59 %]), neurochirurgiens ou neurologues (15 [18 %]) et radiologistes (6 [7 %]). Cinq dossiers médico-légaux (6 %) impliquaient des résidents.

Diagnostiquer une HSA peut poser des défis; une étude a révélé qu’environ 1 patient sur 20 reçoit un mauvais diagnostic lors de la première évaluation au service des urgences.2 Selon les données de l’ACPM, une erreur de diagnostic est survenue dans 39 des 60 dossiers d’HSA. Dans le reste de ces dossiers, les experts ont déterminé que la norme de pratique pour parvenir à un diagnostic avait été respectée.

Facteurs contributifs dans les dossiers d’erreur de diagnostic

Des patients consultant plus d’une fois pour les mêmes symptômes ou pour des symptômes qui s’aggravent s’est révélé un thème dominant dans les dossiers d’erreur de diagnostic (22 dossiers sur 39). Ces retours peuvent offrir des occasions de réévaluer ces patients et possiblement d’identifier un biais cognitif ou de réévaluer le diagnostic différentiel. Les notes au dossier de consultations récentes auprès d’autres professionnels de la santé peuvent aussi orienter vers un diagnostic d’HSA ayant peut-être été manqué auparavant.

HSA et prise de décision clinique

Comme l’on s’y attendait, les erreurs de diagnostic relevaient le plus souvent du processus de décision clinique du médecin; p. ex. lorsque celui-ci n’avait pas prescrit l’examen approprié pour un patient présentant des symptômes associés à l’HSA, tels que céphalée intense accompagnée de vomissements ou de symptômes neurologiques, et n’avait pas reconsidéré le diagnostic différentiel d’un patient venu consulter de nouveau pour le même problème. Certains médecins se sont ancrés sur une autre cause à l’origine des symptômes du patient, comme un claquage au cou. En effet, le risque de biais cognitifs tels que l’ancrage peut être élevé dans un service d’urgence achalandé.

Près du tiers des dossiers (28 %) était associé à un manque de conscience situationnelle, notamment lorsque les médecins en cause ont choisi d’observer plutôt que d’investiguer immédiatement alors que l’HSA était prépondérante dans leur diagnostic différentiel. La recherche révèle qu’une tomodensitométrie sans agent de contraste peut très bien déceler une HSA si elle est effectuée dans les six heures suivant l’apparition de la céphalée; après quoi, l’imagerie, à elle seule, peut être moins fiable.3 Les outils d’aide à la décision comme la Règle d’Ottawa sur l’hémorragie sous-arachnoïdienne4, 5 peuvent se révéler utiles dans la prise de conscience situationnelle et la poursuite d’une investigation chez des patients qui présentent un pic soudain de céphalée.

Exemple de cas : Les retours en consultation, une occasion de réévaluer

Une femme dans la soixantaine arrive à l’urgence en ambulance en raison d’une céphalée occipitale intense. C’est la deuxième fois que cette patiente se présente à l’urgence au cours des trois derniers jours. La douleur est apparue alors qu’elle effectuait des travaux lourds dans sa cour; puis cette douleur est revenue deux jours plus tard pendant une activité physique. Lors de la première visite, le médecin de l’urgence qui l’a examinée soupçonnait une douleur musculosquelettique et lui a administré un analgésique opioïde; la patiente a par la suite reçu son congé.

À la deuxième visite, la patiente évalue sa douleur à 6 sur 10; elle dit au médecin de l’urgence qu’elle a vomi deux fois la veille et qu’elle se sent nauséeuse depuis. Elle a des antécédents de douleur chronique au cou due à une vieille blessure. L’examen physique ne révèle aucun déficit neurologique ni photophobie. Conscient du fait que la patiente se plaint aussi d’une augmentation importante de sa douleur au cou, le médecin décèle une sensibilité le long des trapèzes jusqu’à l’occiput, mais aucune raideur de la nuque. On administre à la patiente des liquides par voie intraveineuse, du kétorolac et du métoclopramide. Elle commence à se sentir mieux; il ne lui reste qu’une douleur occipitale résiduelle mineure. Le médecin de l’urgence autorise le congé, et lui donne comme instructions de revoir son médecin de famille d’ici quelques jours et d’essayer la massothérapie pour la douleur au cou. On lui dit aussi de revenir immédiatement à l’urgence si son mal de tête ne s’améliore pas ou si de nouveaux symptômes apparaissent.

Quelques jours plus tard, la patiente, qui ne se sent toujours pas bien, est revue par un autre médecin de l’urgence. Cette fois-ci, elle subit une tomodensitométrie qui révèle une HSA. La patiente est transférée immédiatement dans un autre établissement où elle subit un traitement endovasculaire par spirales (mise en place de ressorts endovasculaires) pour un anévrisme de l’artère cérébrale. La patiente se rétablit, mais elle garde une faiblesse du côté droit. Elle dépose une plainte auprès du Collège, alléguant que lors de sa deuxième visite à l’urgence, le médecin n’a pas diagnostiqué l’HSA. Le Comité avise ce médecin que si un patient revient à l’urgence avec une céphalée persistante ou qui s’aggrave, il doit écarter la possibilité qu’il puisse s’agir d’un état grave tel qu’une HSA.

Diagnostic et coordination des soins

Des problèmes de communication et de coordination des soins étaient en cause dans 11 des 39 dossiers d’erreur de diagnostic (28 %). Ces situations comprenaient : des visites de retour dans divers établissements ou auprès de divers professionnels de la santé, ce qui entraînait un manque de coordination des soins; une mauvaise communication entre les professionnels, entre autres sur des problèmes associés au suivi des résultats d’imagerie; des problèmes de triage menant à des retards dans l’évaluation des patients à l’urgence; et d’autres lacunes de communication entre les professionnels de la santé et les patients. La coordination des soins peut être influencée par des enjeux systémiques tels que : une urgence bondée, des lacunes dans les processus d’identification ou de communication des résultats urgents et l’absence d’imagerie diagnostique. Ces enjeux soulignent l’importance d’une bonne coordination des soins et d’une conscience situationnelle de l’équipe lors du diagnostic et de la prise en charge thérapeutique d’une HSA, en particulier dans des contextes où les ressources sont limitées.

En bref

Bien que l’HSA soit une cause peu courante de la céphalée intense, il s’agit tout de même d’une urgence médicale qui entraîne un taux élevé de mortalité. Une nouvelle consultation pour la même plainte ou pour des symptômes qui s’aggravent, ce que l’on retrouve dans plus de la moitié des dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM associés à des erreurs de diagnostic, offre parfois une seconde chance d’éviter des résultats qui pourraient s’avérer catastrophiques. La conscience situationnelle de chaque professionnel de la santé ainsi que de l’équipe, qui peut être enrichie grâce à des outils d’aide à la décision clinique, joue un rôle essentiel dans le diagnostic et le traitement de l’HSA non traumatique.

 


 

Références

  1. Singer RJ, Ogilvy CS, Rordorf G. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage. UpToDate.com [En ligne]. 2017 Nov 1 [cité le 24 mai 2019]. Disponible: https://www.uptodate.com/contents/clinical-manifestations-and-diagnosis-of-aneurysmal-subarachnoid-hemorrhage
  2. Vermeulen MJ, Schull MJ. Missed diagnosis of subarachnoid hemorrhage in the emergency department. Stroke. 2007 Apr;38(4):1216-21. Epub 2007 Feb 22
  3. Perry JJ, Stiell IG, Sivilotti ML, et al. Sensitivity of computed tomography performed within six hours of onset of headache for diagnosis of subarachnoid haemorrhage: prospective cohort study. BMJ. 2011;343:d4277
  4. Perry JJ, Stiell IG, Sivilotti ML, et al. Clinical decision rules to rule out subarachnoid hemorrhage for acute headache. JAMA. 2013 Sep 25;310(12):1248-55. doi: 10.1001/jama.2013.278018
  5. Perry JJ, Sivilotti MLA, Sutherland J, et al. Validation of the Ottawa Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Rule in patients with acute headache. CMAJ. 2017 Nov 13;189(45):E1379-85

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.