Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

The diagnostic challenges of chest pain: Recognizing acute coronary syndrome

Originally published December 2019
19-21-E

Diagnosing a patient presenting with chest discomfort or pain remains a challenge for physicians despite advances in diagnostic testing, clinical practice guidelines, and enhanced understanding of acute coronary syndrome (ACS). Appropriate triage and testing, as guided by symptoms and patient risk factors, may help improve the timely diagnosis of ACS.

Case example: Failure to recognize potential significance of chest pain symptoms results in lack of timely referral to emergency department

A man in his 50s visits his family physician on a Monday morning. He complains of intermittent left-sided chest pain that he felt since his return from a party on Saturday night. He has a history of smoking, but no other cardiac risk factors. The physician suspects gastroesophageal reflux from excessive consumption of alcohol, and his differential diagnosis includes pancreatitis, cardiac chest pain, and influenza. The physician orders a chest X-ray, ECG, bloodwork, and an abdominal ultrasound. A few hours later, the patient has an ECG performed at a local laboratory where a computerized interpretation suggests an anterior infarction. No immediate action follows at the laboratory. The patient dies the following morning, less than 24 hours after the ECG. A cardiologist receives the ECG five days later, and interprets the findings as an acute anterior myocardial infarction.

In their complaint to the College, the patient’s family cites the physician’s lack of urgency in ordering and following up on the tests, and questions the laboratory’s procedures, which allowed the patient to leave without being informed of his condition. Though supportive of the family physician’s assessment and differential diagnosis, the College agrees that he ought to have arranged testing with an appropriate level of urgency. The College is critical that the patient was not referred to the emergency department, where troponin and ECG testing could have been more promptly carried out. After gathering evidence of the physician’s self-directed education and improvements to the system of diagnostic testing, the College dismisses the case with concern.

CMPA cases of acute coronary syndrome

An analysis by the CMPA of legal actions, regulatory authority (College), and hospital complaint cases closed between 2014 and 2018 identified 197 files featuring ACS. Of these, 116 involved allegations or findings of diagnostic error (missed, delayed, or inaccurate diagnoses), with the majority (72/116) occurring in the assessment and testing phases of the diagnostic process. Emergency department settings predominated (79/116), followed by primary care settings (30/116), with surgical cases, care by internists, and cardiology consultations making up the balance. In cases of diagnostic error, peer experts,1 Colleges, and hospitals frequently focused their criticisms on two areas: inadequate serial testing (ECG and cardiac enzymes) in emergency care settings, and delay in referral to the emergency department in primary care settings.

Consideration of patient risk factors and diagnostic testing decisions in emergency and primary care

Two main themes arose in cases related to deficient assessment: consideration of patient risk factors (24/72) and diagnostic testing decisions (35/72), though the particulars varied by practice setting. Regarding the assessment of patient risk factors for coronary artery disease, criticism of primary care practitioners often focused on a failure to recognize pain or discomfort with possible cardiac origins, thus delaying urgent referral to the emergency department. In contrast, for emergency care, criticisms centered on the failure to consider cardiac risk factors in the diagnosis of unexplained chest discomfort or pain. With respect to diagnostic testing, care in the emergency department was subject to criticism for insufficient serial ECG and enzyme testing, while care provided in office settings was subject to criticisms around a lack of urgency in referring patients for such testing.

Diagnosing ACS in female patients

Another theme identified among the CMPA cases reviewed was the diagnostic challenge of chest pain among female patients. Consistent with larger epidemiological studies of ACS, females comprised approximately 28% of the sample (33/116) and experienced severe clinical outcomes, with 17 of 33 cases resulting in the patient’s death. Consistent with the medical literature,2,3 risk factors for women also displayed gender-specific characteristics, such as menopause and pregnancy, and women frequently presented with atypical chest pain.

 

Case example: Misinterpretation of clinical signs leads to inappropriate risk stratification

A woman in her early 30s presents to an emergency department in a rural hospital, complaining of severe chest pain radiating to her left arm and a burning sensation in her lungs. She is anxious, tearful, and hyperventilating.

Nursing staff perform an ECG and measure vital signs, which are normal apart from borderline high blood pressure. The patient reports a history of depression, smoking, and the use of medroxyprogesterone. Other details of her medical history missed during the assessment include a family history of cardiac disease, a previous transient ischemic attack, and high cholesterol levels. Hospital policies include a medical directive allowing nurses to expedite troponin testing for patients over 40 who present with chest pain, but they do not apply it owing to the patient’s age. The physician reviews the ECG and arranges a chest X-ray, both of which are judged to be normal. On physical examination, he notes chest wall tenderness, which the patient attributes to recent heavy lifting. The physician’s differential diagnosis includes the possibility of cardiomyopathy, but he believes that the patient’s young age and the ECG rule this out.

After analgesia, the patient’s pain decreases and she appears comfortable. The physician discharges the patient from the emergency department with a diagnosis of musculoskeletal pain and instructions to return if she experiences further symptoms. Following a cardiac arrest at home several hours later, the patient returns to the emergency department by ambulance. She dies from cardiogenic shock due to myocardial infarction.

The patient’s family complains to the College and pursues a legal action, alleging that the physician inappropriately discharged the woman from hospital without a clear diagnosis. Peer experts support the physician’s care, and the legal case is dismissed.

The College, however, is critical of the physician’s documentation and a differential diagnosis that narrowed too quickly. The College also finds it inappropriate that the physician relied on the medical directive to guide his diagnostic testing decisions, and suggests that the physician’s clinical judgment should have dictated whether to perform a troponin test. The College takes no action on the condition that the physician completes an educational course on documenting ACS risk factors and assessing patients with atypical chest pain.

 

What is risk stratification?

Risk stratification is an ongoing process where a health provider uses clinical diagnostic indicators to proactively classify patients into high-, medium-, and low-risk categories. The goal of risk stratification is to effectively target healthcare services for individual patients and guide the management of patient care.

Risk reduction strategies

Based on the expert opinions in the cases reviewed, the following risk reduction strategies may be suitable in your practice:

  • Consider applicable clinical guidelines,4,5 including those recommending key serial diagnostic tests when considering the differential diagnosis of ACS in an emergency setting. When guidelines are not followed, document the reasons why.
  • Consider employing a risk stratification strategy to help guide decisions concerning diagnostic testing in the emergency department.
  • Consider cardiac risk factors to aid with the triage of patients presenting with symptoms of non-specific chest discomfort or pain in a primary care setting.

The bottom line

Recognizing ACS is a relatively common and challenging task. An awareness of patient risk factors to aid triage in primary care, or clinical risk stratification and appropriate serial testing in the emergency department, can contribute to safer patient care and reduced medical-legal risk.

Additional reading


References

  1. Peer experts refer to physicians retained by the parties in a legal action to interpret and provide their opinion on clinical, scientific, or technical issues pertaining to the care provided. They are typically of similar training and experience as the physicians whose care they are reviewing.
  2. Mehta LS, Beckie TM, DeVon HA, et al. Acute myocardial infarction in women: a scientific statement from the American Heart Association. Circulation. 2016;133:916-947
  3. Pagidipati NJ & Peterson ED. Acute coronary syndromes in men and women. Nat Rev Cardiol. 2016 Aug; 13(8):471-80
  4. Amsterdam EA, Wenger NK, Brindis RG, et al. 2014 AHA/ACC guideline for the management of patients with non-ST-elevation acute coronary syndromes. Circulation. 2014;130:e344-e426
  5. Mancini GB, Gosselin G, Chow B, et al. Canadian Cardiovascular Society guidelines for the diagnosis and management of stable ischemic heart disease. Can J Cardiol. 2014; 30(8): 837-849

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Perplexe devant une douleur thoracique : Savoir reconnaître le syndrome coronarien aigu

Publié initialement en décembre 2019
19-21-F

Malgré les avancées technologiques dans les examens diagnostiques, l’élaboration de lignes directrices de pratique clinique et une meilleure compréhension du syndrome coronarien aigu (SCA), les médecins trouvent toujours difficile de poser un diagnostic chez un patient présentant un malaise ou une douleur thoracique. Un triage et des examens appropriés, guidés par les symptômes et les facteurs de risque du patient, peuvent contribuer à établir un diagnostic de SCA en temps opportun.

Exemple de cas : Un médecin ne reconnaît pas l’importance possible d’une douleur thoracique

Un homme dans la cinquantaine consulte son médecin un lundi matin. Il se plaint d’une douleur thoracique intermittente au côté gauche apparue depuis qu’il est rentré d’une fête le samedi soir. Il a des antécédents de tabagisme, mais aucun autre facteur de risque cardiaque. Le médecin soupçonne un reflux gastro-œsophagien causé par une consommation excessive d’alcool. Son diagnostic différentiel comprend la pancréatite, la douleur thoracique d’origine cardiaque et l’influenza. Le médecin demande une radiographie des poumons, un ECG, des analyses sanguines et une échographie abdominale. Quelques heures plus tard, le patient subit un ECG en laboratoire; l’interprétation informatisée suggère un infarctus antérieur. Aucune mesure immédiate de suivi n’est prise au laboratoire. Le patient décède le lendemain matin, moins de 24 h après avoir subi l’ECG. Un cardiologue reçoit les résultats de l’ECG cinq jours plus tard; selon lui, il s’agit d’un infarctus antérieur aigu du myocarde.

Dans la plainte déposée au Collège, la famille du patient allègue que le médecin ne semblait aucunement pressé de prescrire des examens ni d’en assurer le suivi, et elle s’interroge aussi sur les procédures du laboratoire qui ont permis au patient de partir sans être informé de son état. Bien qu’il appuie l’évaluation et le diagnostic différentiel du médecin de famille, le Collège convient que le médecin aurait dû prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour que l’examen soit effectué rapidement en raison des circonstances. Il critique le fait que le patient n’ait pas été dirigé vers le service des urgences, où le dosage de la troponine ainsi qu’un ECG auraient pu être effectués sans tarder. Après avoir obtenu la preuve que le médecin avait suivi un programme d’autoapprentissage et que des améliorations avaient été apportées au système de gestion des examens diagnostiques, le Collège rejette la cause avec admonestation.

Dossiers de l’ACPM associés au syndrome coronarien aigu

Une analyse des dossiers de l’ACPM, conclus entre 2014 et 2018 et mettant en cause des actions en justice, des plaintes auprès d’organismes de réglementation (Collèges) et des plaintes intrahospitalières, a permis de dénombrer 197 dossiers associés aux SCA. De ce nombre, 116 concernaient des allégations ou des constatations d’erreurs de diagnostics (diagnostics manqués, tardifs ou inexacts) dont la majorité (72/116) sont survenues lors de l’évaluation ou d’examens. Les soins prodigués au service des urgences étaient principalement mis en cause (79/116), suivis des soins en établissement de soins primaires (30/116), alors que les soins chirurgicaux, ceux effectués par les internistes et les consultations en cardiologie constituaient le reste. Dans les dossiers d’erreurs de diagnostic, les experts1 les Collèges et les hôpitaux ont principalement critiqué deux aspects des soins : le caractère inadéquat des examens en série (ECG et enzymes cardiaques) effectués au service des urgences, et le fait que les patients n’étaient pas dirigés au service des urgences d’un hôpital.

Facteurs de risque des patients et décisions relatives aux examens diagnostiques

Deux grands thèmes sont ressortis dans les dossiers d’évaluation déficiente : la prise en compte des facteurs de risque des patients (24/72) et les décisions relatives aux examens diagnostiques (35/72), bien que les détails varient selon le milieu de pratique. En ce qui concerne l’évaluation des facteurs de risque de coronaropathie chez les patients, les critiques formulées à l’endroit des médecins exerçant en soins primaires portaient souvent sur leur incapacité de reconnaître la douleur ou l’inconfort ayant possiblement une origine cardiaque, les patients n’ayant alors pas été dirigés immédiatement vers le service des urgences. En revanche, dans le cas de soins d’urgence, les critiques portaient sur le fait que le médecin n’avait pas tenu compte des facteurs de risque cardiaque dans le diagnostic d’une douleur thoracique ou d’un malaise inexpliqué. En ce qui concerne les examens diagnostiques, les critiques portant sur les soins prodigués à l’urgence faisaient état de l’insuffisance des analyses d’ECG et des taux d’enzymes cardiaques en série, tandis que celles portant sur les soins dispensés en cabinet mentionnaient le fait que les patients n’avaient pas été dirigés à l’urgence en vue d’obtenir ces examens sans tarder.

Établissement d’un diagnostic de SCA chez la femme

Cette analyse des dossiers de l’ACPM a également permis de faire ressortir un autre thème récurrent : la difficulté d’établir un diagnostic dans les cas de douleur thoracique chez la femme. Tout comme dans le cadre des études épidémiologiques de grande envergure portant sur les SCA, les femmes constituaient environ 28 % de l’échantillon (33/116) et présentaient des résultats cliniques graves : les patientes sont décédées dans 17 des 33 cas. Conformément à la littérature médicale2,3 les facteurs de risque chez les femmes présentaient également des caractéristiques propres au sexe, comme la ménopause et la grossesse, et les femmes se plaignaient souvent de douleurs thoraciques atypiques.

 

Exemple de cas : Une mauvaise interprétation de signes cliniques se traduit par une stratification du risque inexacte

Une trentenaire se présente à l’urgence d’un hôpital rural, se plaignant d’une douleur thoracique intense irradiant au bras gauche et d’une sensation de brûlure aux poumons. Elle est anxieuse, en larmes et présente une hyperventilation.

Le personnel infirmier effectue un ECG et évalue ses signes vitaux, qui sont normaux, mis à part une hypertension limite. La patiente signale qu’elle a des antécédents de dépression et de tabagisme et qu’elle prend de la médroxyprogestérone. Dans son évaluation, le médecin a omis de prendre en compte, entre autres, des antécédents familiaux de maladie cardiaque, un accident ischémique transitoire et une hypercholestérolémie. Les politiques de l’hôpital comprennent une directive médicale permettant au personnel infirmier d’effectuer d’emblée le dosage de la troponine chez les patients de plus de 40 ans qui présentent des douleurs thoraciques, mais cette analyse n’est pas réalisée en raison de l’âge de la patiente. Le médecin interprète l’ECG et demande une radiographie des poumons; les résultats des deux examens sont normaux. À l’examen physique, il note une sensibilité de la paroi thoracique, que la patiente attribue au soulèvement récent de charges lourdes. Le médecin tient compte de la possibilité d’une cardiomyopathie dans son diagnostic différentiel, mais est d’avis que le jeune âge de la patiente et les résultats de l’ECG écartent cette pathologie.

Un analgésique soulage la patiente et elle semble mieux. Le médecin lui accorde son congé du service des urgences après avoir posé un diagnostic de douleurs musculosquelettiques; il lui demande de revenir consulter si d’autres symptômes surviennent. Quelques heures plus tard, la patiente fait un arrêt cardiaque chez elle et est transportée au service des urgences en ambulance. Elle meurt d’un choc cardiogénique dû à un infarctus du myocarde.

La famille de la patiente dépose une plainte auprès du Collège et intente une action en justice, alléguant que le médecin a accordé le congé de façon inappropriée sans établir de diagnostic clair. Les experts appuient les soins prodigués par le médecin, et la cause est rejetée.

Toutefois, le Collège critique la tenue de dossier du médecin et le diagnostic différentiel qu’il a trop rapidement restreint. Il juge également inapproprié que le médecin se soit fié à la directive médicale pour guider ses décisions en matière d’examens diagnostiques et suggère que c’était plutôt son jugement clinique qui aurait dû dicter s’il fallait effectuer le dosage de la troponine. Le Collège n’impose au médecin aucune mesure disciplinaire à la condition qu’il suive un cours sur la consignation des facteurs de risque du SCA au dossier et l’évaluation des patients présentant des douleurs thoraciques atypiques

 

Qu’est-ce que la stratification du risque?

La stratification du risque est un processus continu dans le cadre duquel un professionnel de la santé utilise des indicateurs diagnostiques cliniques pour classer de façon proactive les patients dans les catégories à risque élevé, moyen et faible. L’objectif est de cibler efficacement les services de soins de santé pour chaque patient et d’encadrer la gestion des soins.

Stratégies de réduction des risques

Selon les experts consultés dans les dossiers analysés, les stratégies de réduction des risques suivantes pourraient s’appliquer dans le cadre de votre pratique :

  • Tenez compte des lignes directrices cliniques applicables4,5 y compris celles qui recommandent des examens diagnostiques précis en série, lorsque vous envisagez un diagnostic différentiel de SCA dans le contexte de soins d’urgence. Si vous ne suivez pas les lignes directrices, consignez vos motifs au dossier.
  • Ayez recours à une stratégie de stratification du risque pour vous aider à prendre des décisions concernant les examens diagnostiques à effectuer au service des urgences.
  • Tenez compte des facteurs de risque cardiaque pour faciliter le triage des patients qui présentent des symptômes d’inconfort ou de douleur thoracique non spécifiques dans un contexte de soins primaires.

En bref

Le diagnostic du SCA constitue une tâche relativement courante, mais compliquée. Le fait de connaître les facteurs de risque chez les patients peut faciliter le triage en contexte des soins primaires; la stratification du risque clinique et la prescription d’examens en série appropriés au service des urgences peuvent contribuer à la sécurité des soins et à la réduction des risques médico-légaux.

Suggestions de lecture


Références

  1. On entend par experts les médecins retenus par les parties dans une action en justice pour interpréter les problèmes cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques entourant les soins prodigués et émettre une opinion à leur égard. Ces médecins ont typiquement une formation et une expérience semblable à celles de leurs collègues ayant prodigué les soins qu’ils doivent évaluer
  2. Mehta LS, Beckie TM, DeVon HA, et al. Acute myocardial infarction in women: a scientific statement from the American Heart Association. Circulation. 2016;133:916-47
  3. Pagidipati NJ & Peterson ED. Acute coronary syndromes in men and women. Nat Rev Cardiol. 2016 Aug; 13(8):471-80
  4. Amsterdam EA, Wenger NK, Brindis RG, et al. 2014 AHA/ACC guideline for the management of patients with non ST elevation acute coronary syndromes. Circulation. 2014;130:e344-e426
  5. Mancini GB, Gosselin G, Chow B, et al. Canadian Cardiovascular Society guidelines for the diagnosis and management of stable ischemic heart disease. Can J Cardiol. 2014; 30(8): 837-49

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.