■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Difficult patient encounters: What you can do to prevent, manage, and de-escalate

Originally published March 2020
20-01-E

Disagreements and difficult encounters with patients are inevitable at some point in a physician’s practice. Physicians who have frequent difficult patient encounters are more likely to report stress and burnout than those with fewer difficult encounters.1 Conversely, when there is a high level of trust in the doctor-patient relationship, patients are more likely to agree with the proposed course of treatment and experience higher overall satisfaction with the care they receive.2

Conflict may also arise when dealing with patients’ families, caregivers, and substitute decision-makers. “Because illness affects not only patients but also their families, physicians must be able to communicate effectively with everyone involved in the patient’s care.”3

Conflict in the context of clinical care may lead to complaints to regulatory authorities (Colleges) and other medical-legal difficulties for physicians. Physicians can take steps to avoid misunderstandings that may lead to conflict. When conflict does occur, it is beneficial for physicians and office staff to have the means to respond effectively and de-escalate it.

Prevention and management of conflict are important elements of a successful clinical practice. These elements can be attained through training and continuing education in conflict resolution, and by instilling conflict management principles and processes in the culture of the healthcare workplace.

Listening and communicating

Eliciting patients’ concerns and listening carefully to them contributes to patient-centred care. However, when a physician does not elicit patients’ concerns or interrupts too soon, the chance that the clinical encounter addresses the specific concerns that matter most to patients is reduced.4

The realities of medical practice necessitates efficiency in how patients’ health conditions are assessed, and this includes being skilled in active listening.

  • State your understanding of the issue back to patients. This helps to reassure patients and confirms that your understanding of them is accurate.
  • Be aware of language barriers, cultural distinctions, and patients’ overall health literacy that might affect how patients perceive your instructions and advice. Use language appropriate to patients’ ability to understand, avoiding medical jargon where possible. Confirm patients’ comprehension of the diagnosis and recommended care plan.
  • Be clear about your intentions, such as when asking personal questions and the clinical reason for performing a physical examination.
  • Consider using communication models such as ACE (Authority, Collaboration, Empathy) and FIFE (Feelings, Ideas, Functioning, Expectations) in providing patient-centred care.5
  • In a factual and non-judgmental way, document in patients’ medical records any inappropriate statements conveyed or behaviour displayed by patients toward you or your office staff. You may choose to include verbatim statements made by patients, clearly attributing these to patients and shown in quotation marks.

Managing expectations

Unmet patient expectations may result in conflict. For example, patients might not agree with your proposed care plan, they may be dissatisfied with the care provided, or their condition could worsen despite treatment. Similarly, patients who are experiencing other stressors are more likely to be combative, while patients recently diagnosed with a serious illness might similarly display signs of distress. Nevertheless, conflict that is addressed before it becomes unmanageable can be an opportunity to better understand patients and their needs and concerns.

  • Try to understand patients’ behaviour in the context of their overall life situation, mental health, and medical condition. More often than not, patients’ expectations can be met—such as fulfilling a request for information, expressing compassion in the face of difficult circumstances, and showing respect during treatment—thus reducing the potential for minor irritants to be magnified into major challenges.6

Handling more difficult situations

Despite a physician’s best efforts to resolve a conflict, there may be situations that do not improve. It is important to limit and de-escalate disagreements, thus mitigating the potential for verbal aggression or even violence.

  • Obtain training for you and your staff on effective patient interactions and conflict de-escalation from a trusted learning provider.7
  • Develop an office security policy that outlines how you and your staff will respond to offensive language and aggressive behaviour.
  • Develop an office safety plan, including considerations for the physical layout of the office or clinic, and any additional security measures such as a lockdown procedure and drills with office staff.
  • Communicate the security policy and safety plan with your staff, and consider renewing that communication annually.
  • Post a notice in a visible location in the office, conveying that inappropriate language and behaviours will not be tolerated.
  • If your efforts in changing a patient's aggressive behaviour are unsuccessful and there is a breakdown in the trust relationship that cannot be resolved, consider whether it is necessary to terminate the patient from your practice. Follow your College’s guidelines when contemplating terminating a doctor-patient relationship.

The bottom line

  • Prepare for difficult patient encounters through conflict management training, and implementing a security policy and office safety plan. Support office staff by ensuring they have adequate tools and resources to de-escalate conflict.
  • When faced with rising tensions with patients, strive to keep calm, explain the situation factually, and offer possible solutions. If you perceive the situation presents a danger to patients, yourself, or your staff, prioritize safety.
  • Following the event, document what had occurred in the medical record. Be objective and avoid emotional language.
  • Contact the CMPA for advice on handling incidents of conflict that arise in a doctor-patient relationship.

References

  1. An PG, Manwell LB, Williams ES, et al. Does a higher frequency of difficult patient encounters lead to lower quality care? J Fam Prac [Internet]. 2013 Jan [cited 2019 July 2];62(1):24-9
  2. Fuertes JN, Toporovsky A, Reyes M, et al. The physician-patient working alliance: Theory, research, and future possibilities. Patient Education & Counseling. 2017;100:610-5
  3. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada [Internet]. Ottawa(CA): RCPSC; 2019. CanMEDS Role: Communicator [cited 2019 July 9]
  4. Singh Ospina N, Phillips KA, Rodriguez-Gutierrez R, et al. Eliciting the Patient's Agenda - Secondary Analysis of Recorded Clinical Encounters. J Gen Intern Med [Internet]. 2019 Jan [cited 2019 July 9];34(1):36-40
  5. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet].Ottawa(CA):CMPA; 2017 Jan. How to manage conflict and aggressive behaviour in medical practice [cited 2019 July]
  6. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada [Internet]. Ottawa(CA): RCPSC; 2019. Conflict resolution [cited 2019 July 9]
  7. The CMPA subsidiary, Saegis, offers accredited learning programs aimed at advancing patient safety and practice management. Visit www.saegis.solutions for details

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Échanges difficiles avec les patients : Prévention, gestion et désamorçage

Publié initialement en mars 2020
20-01-F

Tout médecin fera inévitablement face à des désaccords et à des échanges difficiles avec des patients au cours de sa carrière. Toutefois, les médecins qui vivent fréquemment des échanges difficiles avec leurs patients sont plus enclins à se déclarer stressés et surmenés que ceux qui vivent moins souvent de tels échanges.1 Inversement, lorsque la confiance est au cœur de la relation médecin-patient, les patients sont plus susceptibles de consentir au plan de traitement proposé et de se sentir plus satisfaits en général des soins qu’ils reçoivent.2

Les échanges avec les membres de la famille d’un patient, ses proches aidants et ses décideurs remplaçants peuvent également donner lieu à des conflits. « Parce que la maladie n’affecte pas que le patient, mais également sa famille et ses proches aidants, les médecins doivent communiquer efficacement avec tous ceux qui entourent la personne concernée lors d’un épisode de soins. »3

Dans le contexte des soins cliniques, les conflits peuvent mener à des plaintes auprès des organismes de réglementation (Collèges) et à d’autres problèmes médico-légaux pour les médecins. Il est possible de prendre des mesures pour éviter les malentendus risquant de mener à des conflits. Lorsque survient un conflit, il est en effet bénéfique pour les médecins et le personnel administratif d’avoir les moyens d’y réagir efficacement et de désamorcer la situation.

La prévention et la gestion des conflits sont des éléments importants d’une pratique clinique performante que l’on peut adopter grâce à la formation et au développement professionnel continu en résolution de conflit, ainsi qu’à l’intégration des principes et processus de la gestion des conflits à la culture du milieu de travail dans le domaine de la santé.

Écoute et communication

Le fait de chercher à connaître les préoccupations des patients et de leur accorder une écoute attentive contribue à la prestation de soins centrés sur le patient. Lorsqu’un médecin ne cherche pas à savoir ce qui préoccupe son patient ou qu’il l’interrompt trop rapidement, les problèmes qui inquiètent particulièrement le patient ont peu de chances d’être abordés.4

Les réalités de l’exercice de la médecine exigent un certain degré d’efficacité dans l’évaluation d’un patient, et ceci implique que le médecin doit avoir le sens de l’écoute active.

  • Dites au patient ce que vous avez compris de son problème. Cela aide à le rassurer et à confirmer que vous l’avez bien compris.
  • Soyez conscient des barrières linguistiques, des particularités culturelles et des connaissances générales du patient en matière de santé qui pourraient affecter la façon dont il perçoit vos instructions et conseils. Utilisez un langage adapté à son niveau, en évitant le jargon médical dans la mesure du possible. Confirmez qu’il comprend bien le diagnostic et le plan de soins recommandé.
  • Exprimez clairement vos intentions. Par exemple, expliquez au patient pourquoi vous lui posez des questions personnelles ainsi que les motifs cliniques de l’examen physique.
  • Songez à utiliser des modèles de communication tels que ACE (autorité, collaboration, empathie) et FIFE (feelings, ideas, function, expectations [sentiments, idées, fonctionnement, attentes]) afin de prodiguer des soins centrés sur le patient.5
  • De façon factuelle et sans porter de jugement, consignez dans le dossier médical du patient toute déclaration ou tout comportement déplacé de sa part envers vous ou vos employés de bureau. Vous pourriez choisir de transcrire textuellement les paroles du patient, en vous assurant de les attribuer clairement à ce dernier et de les placer entre guillemets.

Gestion des attentes

Des conflits peuvent survenir lorsque les attentes du patient ne sont pas satisfaites. Par exemple, le patient pourrait s’opposer au plan de soins que vous lui proposez, il pourrait être insatisfait des soins prodigués, ou son état pourrait s’aggraver malgré le traitement mis en œuvre. Un patient aux prises avec d’autres facteurs de stress est également plus susceptible d’être combatif, tandis qu’un patient ayant récemment obtenu un diagnostic de maladie grave pourrait présenter des signes de détresse. Quoi qu’il en soit, les conflits auxquels l’on porte attention avant qu’ils ne deviennent ingérables peuvent constituer une occasion de mieux comprendre le patient et ses besoins et préoccupations.

  • Tentez de replacer le comportement du patient dans le contexte de sa situation de vie générale, de sa santé mentale et de son problème médical. Plus souvent qu’autrement, il est possible de répondre à ses attentes (p. ex. remplir une demande d’information, exprimer de la compassion face à des circonstances difficiles et faire preuve de respect pendant le traitement), ce qui atténue la possibilité que des irritants mineurs ne s’amplifient et deviennent des problèmes majeurs.6

Gestion de situations plus complexes

Même lorsqu’un médecin déploie tous les efforts possibles pour résoudre un conflit, certaines situations peuvent demeurer insolubles. Il est important de limiter et de désamorcer les désaccords, ce qui permet d’atténuer les risques de violence verbale, voire physique.

  • Obtenez, auprès d’un fournisseur de confiance, de la formation pour vous et votre personnel sur les interactions efficaces avec les patients et le désamorçage des conflits.7
  • Élaborez une politique interne de sécurité qui précise comment vous et votre personnel répondrez aux propos offensants et aux comportements agressifs.
  • Élaborez un plan de sécurité pour votre cabinet qui inclut la disposition de vos espaces de travail et des mesures de sécurité supplémentaires telles qu’une procédure et des exercices de confinement pour le personnel.
  • Communiquez la politique et le plan de sécurité à votre personnel, et répétez cet exercice annuellement.
  • Affichez, dans un endroit bien en vue du cabinet, un avis indiquant que les propos et les comportements déplacés ne seront pas tolérés.
  • Si vous ne parvenez pas à modifier le comportement agressif d’un patient et que votre relation de confiance avec ce dernier s’en trouve irrémédiablement affectée, demandez-vous s’il est nécessaire de mettre fin à votre relation professionnelle avec ce patient. Suivez les lignes directrices du Collège pour mettre fin à une relation médecin-patient.

En bref

  • Préparez-vous aux échanges difficiles avec les patients en obtenant de la formation sur la gestion des conflits, et en mettant en œuvre une politique et un plan de sécurité dans votre cabinet. Soutenez les membres de votre personnel administratif en vous assurant qu’ils disposent des ressources et des outils requis pour désamorcer les conflits.
  • Face à un échange qui s’envenime avec un patient, efforcez-vous de rester calme, d’expliquer la situation en vous en tenant aux faits et de présenter des solutions possibles. S’il vous semble que la situation présente un danger pour le patient, pour vous-même ou pour vos employés, accordez la priorité à la sécurité.
  • À la suite de l’événement, consignez ce qui s’est produit dans le dossier médical de façon objective et en évitant le langage émotif.
  • Communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils sur la gestion des conflits qui peuvent se manifester dans le cadre de la relation médecin-patient.

Références

  1. An PG, Manwell LB, Williams ES, et al. Does a higher frequency of difficult patient encounters lead to lower quality care? J Fam Prac [En ligne]. 2013 January [cité le 9 juillet 2019];62(1):24-9.
  2. Fuertes JN, Toporovsky A, Reyes M, et al. The physician-patient working alliance: Theory, research, and future possibilities. Patient Educ Couns. 2017 April;100(4):610-5
  3. Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada [En ligne]. Ottawa(CA): CRMCC; 2019. Rôle CanMEDS : communicateur [cité le 9 juillet 2019].
  4. Singh Ospina N, Phillips KA, Rodriguez-Gutierrez R, et al. Eliciting the Patient's Agenda - Secondary Analysis of Recorded Clinical Encounters. J Gen Intern Med [En ligne]. 2019 Jan [cité le 9 juillet 2019];34(1):36-40.
  5. Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): ACPM. Conflits et comportements agressifs : Stratégies pour les gérer [cité le 9 juillet 2019].
  6. Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada [En ligne]. Ottawa(CA): CRMCC; 2019. Résolution des conflits. [cité le 9 juillet 2019].
  7. La filiale de l’ACPM, Saegis, offre des programmes d’apprentissage agréés qui visent le perfectionnement des pratiques de gestion et de la sécurité des soins. Pour obtenir plus de détails, consultez le site www.saegis.solutions.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.