■ Safety of care:

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Leadership essentials: 3 steps to creating psychological safety

Female hospital administrator meeting with two medical staff, all wearing face masks in an office setting.

Published: December 2020
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
20-15-E

A group of orthopaedic surgeons believes that operating and clinic times are not used efficiently in their hospital. They believe their chief is unapproachable and does not dedicate time during departmental meetings to bring forward issues of concern to the staff. They see his decisions as “top down” and not patient-centred. The staff feel powerless to address the issue. They wonder, “How are we supposed to provide safe care as a department, when our chief won’t let us help him?”

From his vantage point, the chief of orthopaedics has concerns about his team’s performance. He describes his team as “negative” and “critical” and deplores that the surgeons “just won’t do as I tell them.” He feels that the physicians in the department “just don’t understand” the hospital politics that drive his decisions and wonders what he could do to “get the team to gel.”

Could fostering psychological safety help the chief of orthopaedics in the vignette be a more influential and impactful leader?

Psychological safety can be defined as a shared belief that anyone on the care team can speak up, sharing their opinion respectfully and without fear of retribution.1 It is indispensable in medicine as the sharing of experiences is necessary to reduce patient safety risks and learn from patient safety incidents or near-misses.

Psychological safety is also an essential element of the Institute of Healthcare Improvement’s (IHI) Framework for Safe, Reliable, and Effective care (see Figure 1).2 The framework conceptualizes highly reliable healthcare delivery systems as a series of interconnected elements that you, as a physician leader, can leverage to deliver safe care. With your influence on an organization’s culture and learning systems, you are uniquely positioned to nurture teams that provide highly reliable care.3

Previous CMPA articles explore components of the IHI framework including leaders’ role in fostering safe and reliable care, as well as the elements of a just culture and natural justice.3,4,5 This article explores psychological safety.

Engagement of patients & family. Culture: leadership, psychological safety, accountability, teamwork & communication, negotiation. Learning system: leadership, transparency, reliability, improvement & measurement, continuous learning.
Figure 1: Framework for Safe, Reliable, and Effective Care

Describing psychologically safe environments

In psychologically safe environments, all members of a healthcare team feel safe when they propose improvements and innovations. As well, learning is accomplished as much “in the moment” as it is “after the fact” because team members can:

  • ask questions without fear of being labelled ignorant
  • ask for feedback without fear of being considered incompetent
  • make a suggestion without fear of being branded negative
  • be respectfully critical without fear of being regarded as disruptive

Situational awareness defined

6

Situational awareness is the acquisition and understanding of the dynamic information present in the environment. It involves keeping track of what is happening and anticipating what might need to be done or adapted as a result.

In psychologically safe environments, people contribute to the creation of a shared team situational awareness. All team members are confident their colleagues would never embarrass or punish anyone else for making a mistake and they are reassured that any event will be seen as an opportunity to learn. Team members are encouraged to ask questions, admit a vulnerability, or offer suggestions. They are confident their suggestions will truly be considered and, if appropriate, acted on. When suggestions are not acted on, team members know leaders will explain the reasons for the decisions.

Benefits of psychological safety

7
  • encourages speaking up
  • enables clarity of thought
  • supports productive conflict
  • mitigates failure
  • promotes innovation
  • increases accountability

Psychological safety starts with leaders

Psychological safety allows the melding of continuous learning with high performance. As an organizational mindset, it focuses on ensuring that an organization’s learning processes promote safe care and continue to evolve to do so as best as possible. It is difficult for organizations to proactively address identified vulnerabilities when frontline healthcare providers do not feel psychologically safe to speak up to their leaders, let alone to one another.

Psychological safety does not occur by decree. While directives, guidelines, and slogans can communicate a leader’s intent to foster psychological safety, they do not create it. For psychological safety to take hold and grow, you must explicitly promote it, model it, and continually mentor others to espouse it.

Three steps to psychological safety

As a leader, you can take three practical steps to help establish psychological safety within a team:

  1. Promote healthy conflict
  2. Encourage speaking up
  3. Use the platinum rule

1. Promote healthy conflict

Many people find it uncomfortable to disagree with others and suggest a different way forward. The problem with conflict is not that it occurs, but rather the meaning people attribute to it in the moments that follow. It is the interpersonal fear that their leader or a colleague will be angry about the comment or question—born of a lack of psychological safety—that can dominate the workplace and hinder the collaboration that is required to provide safer care.

You can help normalize respectful conflict and foster a sense that all team members are valued by including clear expectations for and support of respectful workplace discussions. By reassuring the group that your ultimate goals are patient safety and quality improvement, and by making clear that you will not tolerate behaviours that belittle, embarrass, or ostracize team members, you can set the stage for healthy discussions.

2. Encourage speaking up

Patient safety incidents are frequently due to a complex set of contributing factors (e.g. cognitive overload or unconscious drift away from safe practices). This complexity can often make it difficult for individuals to recognize they are about to commit an error leading to a patient safety incident until the error has occurred. While individuals may be blind to their errors, their co-workers may see and hear things differently, and may recognize an otherwise unappreciated risk. When co-workers speak up about their concerns, it is a form of respectful, yet candid communication.

Fear of offending someone perceived as higher up in the hierarchy is widespread in healthcare. Because of this fear, coworkers often hesitate to say something, even when they think a situation may present a risk. As a physician leader, you can foster speaking up by inviting it frequently and openly. Using statements like “I may miss things so if you see me do something that might impact patient safety, please tell me” opens the door. Repeated invitations are as important as the words used to create psychological safety.5

Being candid about your limitations and honestly inviting others to speak up sends a powerful signal about establishing a speaking up culture. However, it’s perhaps even more important to model listening up. Acknowledging someone’s courage to speak up and acting on the shared information appropriately shows that you are “walking the talk” and it enhances your credibility.

To best predict whether individuals will speak up, look at the response they received the last time they spoke up. If you want to encourage speaking up, congratulate those who do—especially when the concern raised is ultimately felt to be ill-founded. Doing this models the appropriate response and demonstrates your willingness to be vulnerable.

3. Use the platinum rule

The golden rule states, “Treat others as you would want to be treated.” When it comes to psychological safety, however, the platinum rule prevails: “Treat others as they would want to be treated.”

Healthcare providers want to contribute and make a difference. By encouraging frontline providers—those doing the work and intimately familiar with the issues—to share their ideas and propose solutions, you can operationalize and enhance your departmental vision, whatever it may be.

Leaders who are unable or unwilling to receive feedback from others and turn it into meaningful action often silence those below them in the hierarchy. However, using good listening skills, you can inoculate healthcare workers against self-censorship and prevent a reflexive tendency to endorse in favour of honest questioning.

You can create psychologically safe environments by reserving your thoughts, asking others about their opinions and preferences, and taking part in discussions about the type of feedback people would like to receive. This approach explicitly communicates your respect for people and an openness to creating an environment where people are valued and bring their best effort to the work they do.

The bottom line

In a high-stakes environment like healthcare, tensions can be expected. As the physician leader, you can transform workplace tensions into teachable moments by fostering and supporting psychological safety. Leveraging such teachable moments promises to increase accountability, enhance system safety, and organize the workplace to truly support learning.


References

  1. Edmondson, AC. Psychological Safety and Learning Behavior in Work Teams. Admin Sci Q. 1999 Jun;44(2):350-83 doi:10.2307/2666999
  2. Frankel A, Haraden C, Federico F, et al. A Framework for Safe, Reliable and Effective Care. White paper. Institute for Healthcare Improvement and Safe & Reliable Healthcare;2017
  3. Canadian Medical Protective Association. CMPA;2018 Jun. Leadership Essentials, How Physician Leaders can nurture Teams that Provide Highly Reliable Healthcare [cited 2020 Apr 2]
  4. Canadian Medical Protective Association. CMPA;2018 Sep. Leadership Essentials, Creating a Culture of Accountability [cited 2020 Apr 2]
  5. Boivin D, Lefebvre G, Bellemare S. Natural Justice and Alternative Dispute Resolution: Their Importance in Managing Physician Performance. Can J Physician Leadersh. 2019;6(2):46-50
  6. Good Practices Guide. Canadian Medical Protective Association. Situational Awareness, What is going on around you? [cited on 2020 Apr 2]
  7. Edmondson, AC. Teaming: How Organizations Learn, Innovate, and Compete in the Knowledge Economy. Kindle Edition. Jossey-Bass;2012 Mar 16 [cited on 2020 Apr 2]

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Principes fondamentaux du leadership : Pour établir une sécurité psychologique

Une administratrice d’hôpital en réunion dans un bureau avec deux médecins, chaque personne portant un masque.

Publié : décembre 2020
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
20-15-F

Un groupe de chirurgiens orthopédistes estime que l’hôpital ne gère pas efficacement les horaires de chirurgie et de clinique. Ces chirurgiens croient que leur chef est inaccessible et qu’il ne consacre pas de temps, lors des réunions du département, pour que les membres du personnel puissent soulever les questions qui les préoccupent. Ils considèrent ses décisions comme étant imposées par la direction et non pas centrées sur le patient. Les membres du personnel se sentent impuissants à aborder le sujet. Ils se demandent comment ils sont censés prodiguer des soins sécuritaires en tant que département, quand leur chef ne les laisse pas l’aider.

De son côté, le chef du département d’orthopédie s’inquiète du rendement de son équipe. Il la décrit comme étant négative et critique, et déplore que les chirurgiens ne fassent tout simplement pas ce qu’il leur demande. Il pense que les médecins du département ne comprennent tout simplement pas les politiques de l’hôpital qui motivent ses décisions et il se demande ce qu’il pourrait bien faire pour que l’équipe devienne plus performante.

Dans cette vignette, le chef du département d’orthopédie pourrait-il devenir un leader plus influent s’il favorisait une sécurité psychologique?

La sécurité psychologique peut être définie comme une croyance commune selon laquelle tout membre de l’équipe soignante se sent libre de s’exprimer et de communiquer respectueusement ses opinions sans crainte de représailles.1 Cette approche est indispensable en médecine, car il faut que chacun puisse faire part de ses expériences pour réduire les risques liés à la sécurité des patients et tirer des enseignements des incidents ou accidents, ainsi que des incidents évités de justesse.

La sécurité psychologique est également un élément essentiel du cadre de l’Institute of Healthcare Improvement (IHI) pour des soins sécuritaires, fiables et efficaces (voir figure 1).2 Ce cadre permet de conceptualiser des systèmes de prestation de soins de santé hautement fiables comme une série d’éléments interconnectés que vous, en tant que médecin leader, pouvez exploiter pour fournir des soins sécuritaires. Grâce à votre influence sur la culture et les systèmes d’apprentissage de votre établissement, vous êtes particulièrement bien placé pour former des équipes qui prodiguent des soins hautement fiables.3

D’autres articles publiés par l’ACPM traitent des composantes du cadre de l’IHI, notamment le rôle des leaders dans la promotion de soins sécuritaires et fiables, ainsi que les éléments d’une culture juste et de la justice naturelle.3,4,5 Cet article examine la sécurité psychologique.

Engagement des patients et de leurs familles. Culture: leadership, sécurité psychologique, responsabilisation, travail d'équipe et communication, négociation. Système d'apprentissage: leadership, transparence, fiabilité, amélioration et mesure, apprentissage continu.
Figure 1: Cadre de référence pour des soins sécuritaires, fiables et efficaces

Qu’est-ce qu’un milieu sécuritaire sur le plan psychologique?

Dans un milieu sécuritaire sur le plan psychologique, tous les membres d’une équipe soignante se sentent à l’aise de proposer des améliorations et des innovations. De plus, l’apprentissage s’effectue autant dans le moment présent qu’après coup, car les membres de l’équipe peuvent :

  • poser des questions sans craindre d’être catalogués comme ignorants
  • demander une rétroaction sans craindre d’être considérés comme incompétents
  • faire une suggestion sans craindre d’être perçus comme étant des personnes négatives
  • être respectueusement critiques sans craindre d’être considérés comme perturbateurs

Définition de la conscience situationnelle

6

La conscience situationnelle est l’acquisition et la compréhension de l’information dynamique présente dans l’environnement. Elle consiste à suivre ce qui se passe et à anticiper ce que l’on pourrait faire ou adapter par la suite.

Dans un milieu de sécurité psychologique, les employés contribuent à la prise de conscience situationnelle commune chez les membres de l’équipe. Tous ces membres sont persuadés que leurs collègues n’embarrasseraient ou ne puniraient jamais quelqu’un d’autre pour avoir commis une erreur et ils se sentent rassurés que tout événement sera considéré comme une occasion d’apprentissage. Chacun est encouragé à poser des questions, à admettre qu’il existe des vulnérabilités et à faire des suggestions. Ils sont convaincus que l’on tiendra véritablement compte de ce qu’ils proposent et, le cas échéant, que l’on y donnera suite. Lorsque ceci n’est pas le cas, les membres de l’équipe savent que les dirigeants expliqueront pourquoi.

Avantages de la sécurité psychologique

7
  • encourage chacun à faire entendre sa voix
  • permet de clarifier la pensée
  • soutient les conflits productifs
  • atténue l’échec
  • favorise l’innovation
  • accroît la responsabilisation

La sécurité psychologique commence avec les leaders

La sécurité psychologique permet de fusionner apprentissage continu et rendement supérieur. Il s’agit d’un état d’esprit organisationnel qui vise à garantir que les processus d’apprentissage favorisent des soins sécuritaires et continuent d’être adaptés en vue d’obtenir les meilleurs résultats possible. Lorsque les soignants de première ligne ne sentent pas qu’ils disposent de la sécurité psychologique nécessaire pour parler à leurs leaders, et encore moins pour se parler entre eux, il est difficile pour les organisations d’aborder de manière proactive les vulnérabilités identifiées.

La sécurité psychologique ne peut être établie par décret. Si les directives, les lignes directrices et les slogans peuvent communiquer l’intention d’un leader de favoriser la sécurité psychologique, ils ne la créent pas pour autant. Pour que la sécurité psychologique s’installe et se développe, vous devez la promouvoir explicitement, donner l’exemple, et inciter continuellement les autres à s’y rallier.

Trois étapes menant à la sécurité psychologique

En tant que leader, vous pouvez prendre trois mesures pratiques pour aider à établir une sécurité psychologique au sein d’une équipe :

  1. Promouvoir un conflit sain
  2. Encourager chacun à faire entendre sa voix
  3. Utiliser la règle de platine

1. Promouvoir un conflit sain

Bien des gens se sentent mal à l’aise d’exprimer leur désaccord à leurs collègues et de leur suggérer une autre façon de procéder. Ce n’est pas le fait que des conflits se produisent qui est problématique, mais plutôt le sens qu’on leur attribue dans les moments qui suivent. C’est la crainte interpersonnelle – issue d’un manque de sécurité psychologique – que le chef ou un collègue se fâche à cause d’un commentaire ou d’une question qui peut dominer sur le lieu de travail et entraver la collaboration nécessaire à la prestation de soins plus sécuritaires.

Vous pouvez contribuer à normaliser les conflits respectueux et à favoriser le sentiment que tous les membres de l’équipe sont appréciés en incluant des attentes claires et un soutien aux discussions respectueuses en milieu de travail. En rassurant le groupe sur le fait que vos objectifs ultimes sont la sécurité des patients et l’amélioration de la qualité, et en précisant que vous ne tolérerez aucun comportement qui rabaisse, embarrasse ou ostracise les membres de l’équipe, vous préparez le terrain en vue de discussions saines.

2. Encourager chacun à faire entendre sa voix

Les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients sont souvent dus à un ensemble complexe de facteurs contributifs (p. ex. une surcharge cognitive ou une dérive inconsciente par rapport à des pratiques sécuritaires). Les membres de l’équipe peuvent parfois avoir plus de difficulté, en raison de cette situation complexe, à discerner qu’ils sont sur le point de commettre une erreur menant à un incident lié à la sécurité des patients, jusqu’à ce que l’erreur se produise. Si l’on ne discerne pas nécessairement nos propres erreurs, nos collègues peuvent quant à eux voir et entendre les choses différemment, et ainsi reconnaître un risque qui pourrait autrement passer inaperçu. Lorsque nos collègues font part de leurs préoccupations, il s’agit d’une forme de communication non seulement respectueuse, mais honnête.

La crainte d’offenser une personne perçue comme étant plus haut placée dans la hiérarchie est très répandue dans le secteur des soins de santé. En raison de cette crainte, les collègues hésitent souvent à soulever un problème, même lorsqu’ils pensent qu’une situation peut présenter un risque. En tant que médecin leader, vous pouvez encourager la prise de parole en invitant fréquemment et ouvertement vos subordonnés à s’exprimer. Vous pouvez, par exemple, favoriser le dialogue en disant : « Je peux avoir manqué des détails, donc si vous me voyez faire quelque chose qui pourrait avoir un impact sur la sécurité des patients, n’hésitez pas à me le dire ». Les invitations réitérées sont aussi importantes que les mots choisis pour établir une sécurité psychologique.5

Le fait de parler franchement de vos limites et d’inviter honnêtement les autres à s’exprimer librement, envoie un signal fort en faveur de l’instauration d’une culture où chacun se sent libre de faire entendre sa voix. Cependant, il est peut être encore plus important pour vous d’être à l’écoute. En reconnaissant qu’une personne a le courage de s’exprimer et en agissant en fonction des renseignements qu’elle vous communique, vous montrez que vous joignez le geste à la parole et renforcez ainsi votre crédibilité.

Le meilleur moyen de prédire si une personne aura tendance à faire entendre sa voix est d’examiner la réponse qu’elle a obtenue la dernière fois qu’elle s’est exprimée librement. Si vous voulez encourager vos employés à s’exprimer, félicitez ceux qui le font – surtout lorsque la préoccupation soulevée est finalement jugée infondée. En agissant ainsi, vous donnez l’exemple de la réponse appropriée et vous montrez que vous acceptez d’être vous-même vulnérable.

3. Utiliser la règle de platine

« Traitez les autres comme vous aimeriez être traité » énonce la règle d’or. Toutefois, en matière de sécurité psychologique, c'est la règle de platine qui prévaut : « Traitez les autres comme ils voudraient être traités. »

Les professionnels de la santé veulent sentir qu’ils apportent une contribution valable ainsi qu’une amélioration concrète. En encourageant les professionnels de première ligne – ceux qui font le travail et connaissent bien les problèmes – à faire part de leurs idées et à proposer des solutions, vous pouvez concrétiser et améliorer la vision de votre département, quelle qu’elle soit.

Les dirigeants qui ne peuvent ou ne veulent ni recevoir de rétroaction et ni la transformer en actions significatives réduisent souvent leurs subordonnés au silence. Toutefois, grâce à une bonne capacité d’écoute, vous pouvez prémunir les professionnels de la santé contre l’autocensure et les encourager à remettre en question honnêtement une situation au lieu de l’accepter d’emblée.

Vous pouvez favoriser un milieu de sécurité psychologique en réfléchissant avant de vous exprimer, en demandant l’opinion et les préférences des autres, et en participant à des discussions sur le type de rétroaction que les membres de l’équipe aimeraient recevoir. Cette approche communique explicitement votre respect envers autrui et votre ouverture à créer un environnement où les gens se sentent valorisés et où ils font de leur mieux au travail.

En bref

Il est normal de s’attendre à des tensions dans un environnement où les enjeux sont élevés, comme celui des soins de santé. En tant que médecin leader, vous pouvez transformer les tensions sur le lieu de travail en moments propices à l’apprentissage en encourageant la sécurité psychologique et en la soutenant. En exploitant de tels moments, vous pouvez accroître la responsabilisation, améliorer la sécurité du système et organiser le lieu de travail de façon à vraiment soutenir l’apprentissage.


Références

  1. Edmondson, AC. Psychological Safety and Learning Behavior in Work Teams. Admin Sci Q. 1999 Jun;44(2):350-83
  2. Frankel A, Haraden C, Federico F, et al. A Framework for Safe, Reliable and Effective Care. White paper. Institute for Healthcare Improvement and Safe & Reliable Healthcare;2017.
  3. Association canadienne de protection médicale. ACPM;juin 2018. Principes fondamentaux du leadership : Comment les médecins chefs de file peuvent former des équipes qui fournissent des soins de santé hautement fiables [cité le 2 avril 2020].
  4. Association canadienne de protection médicale. ACPM;sept. 2018. Principes fondamentaux du leadership : Une culture de responsabilisation [cité le 2 avril 2020]
  5. Boivin D, Lefebvre G, Bellemare S. Natural Justice and Alternative Dispute Resolution: Their Importance in Managing Physician Performance. Canadian Journal of Physician Leadership. 2019;6(2):46-50
  6. Guide des bonnes pratiques. Association canadienne de protection médicale. Conscience situationnelle : Que se passe-t-il autour de vous? [cité le 2 avril 2020].
  7. Edmondson, AC. Teaming: How Organizations Learn, Innovate, and Compete in the Knowledge Economy. Kindle Edition. Jossey-Bass;2012 Mar 16 [cité le 2 avril 2020].

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.