■ Safety of care:

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

You have medico-legal questions on deferring care during the pandemic—The CMPA has answers

Empty gurney in a hospital hallway

Published: March 2021
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
21-02-E

When the COVID-19 pandemic first reached Canada in 2020, CMPA members increasingly turned to the Association with medico-legal questions about the implications of deferring patient care. In fact, during the pandemic, deferred care has been among the topics members have raised most often when calling the CMPA.1

Most members’ questions have been about the implications of postponing diagnostic care and surgeries. What follows is a sample of members’ questions and the CMPA’s responses.



Many of my patients’ investigations, treatments, or elective surgeries have been delayed or cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions. How can I reduce my medico-legal risks related to these delays?

Manage your risks by doing your best in the current circumstances to meet your continuing responsibilities for the care and appropriate follow-up of patients.

This may include:

  • consulting with colleagues, hospitals, public health, and specialty organizations for guidance to determine what services and care are reasonable to delay or cancel
  • monitoring and managing patients’ conditions while awaiting care
  • reassessing patients regularly to determine if the urgency of the investigation, procedure, or surgery has changed
  • informing patients and referring physicians of the signs and symptoms that should warrant a call to your office to re-evaluate their rank on your wait list
  • informing and updating consulting physicians when a patient’s condition changes and the need for care becomes more urgent
  • exploring other available options for patients to receive interim care, if necessary
  • advocating for patients with professionalism, integrity, and transparency, (for more information, see the CMPA publication, “The physician voice: Tips for effective advocacy [PDF]”)

Document your care plan and follow-up actions in the patient record, as well as any advocacy efforts you took on behalf of the patient.


More on COVID-19 at CMPA: Practically Speaking Podcast

Interested in learning more on how to manage patient care and decrease medico-legal risk during the COVID-19 pandemic? Tune into pandemic-related episodes of the Association’s podcast, CMPA: Practically Speaking, with Drs. Steven Bellemare and Yolanda Madarnas. COVID-19: Managing Wait Times features Dr. Wendy Levinson, Chair of Choosing Wisely Canada, and provides helpful tips on managing resources. COVID-19: Reasonable Care helps make sense of the unusual demands now placed on physicians. You’ll find the podcast on the CMPA website, and on Apple Podcasts and Spotify.



What medico-legal consequences could I face as a result of delays in diagnosing or treating patients due to COVID-19 restrictions?

Restrictions imposed because of the pandemic may have affected the types and level of care you can provide. As a result, you may be concerned about medico-legal consequences (e.g. legal actions and complaints) if you cannot provide the level of care you consider appropriate and a patient is harmed.

In civil legal actions in general, a court’s assessment of a physician’s clinical care is not based on a standard of perfection, but rather on a standard of reasonability, i.e. the care that would reasonably be expected of a colleague of similar skill and experience, in similar circumstances. In short, courts expect physicians, within resource constraints, to do the best they can for patients and to act reasonably under the circumstances.

In legal actions specifically concerning care provided during the pandemic, the courts will consider the context. That would include considering the effect scarce resources would have on care, and the effect of any policies, guidelines, public health orders, directives, and regulations put in place by medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), medical specialty organizations, governments, and hospitals or health authorities, including directives on the suspension and resumption of services.

In complaints, medical regulatory authorities and hospitals will also take the context of the patient interaction into consideration. As an example, care provided during the pandemic will be affected by varying levels of restrictions. CMPA members are encouraged to call the Association and speak with a physician advisor for guidance before responding to such a complaint.



Would it be appropriate to defer accepting a new referral?

Continue to use your professional judgment to make decisions on whether or not to accept a new referral during and in the period following the pandemic. You must determine if you can provide care for a new patient while continuing to provide appropriate and timely care for current patients. To help you make the decision, keep in mind your obligations for accepting new patients, the possibility of using virtual care, and the need to effectively communicate with referring physicians and patients.

Your acceptance of new patients should be guided by ethical responsibilities and College policies. For more information, see the CMPA article, “Accepting new patients: Guidance for specialists.”



How do I communicate with patients who are unhappy, upset, or abusive about the deferral of their investigation, treatment, or surgery?

Patients whose investigations, treatments, or surgeries are deferred may be stressed, fearful, and angry. They may express these emotions as dissatisfaction with your care. When speaking with patients, remember to convey empathy. Try to remain calm and clearly explain the reason for the delay. Ask them about their specific concerns. Listen actively and convey understanding and empathy for the situation. Explore their concerns to ensure they have accurate information, for example, about the progression of their health condition, the impact of the delay, and the potential for other options. It might be helpful to establish a plan to monitor and manage their condition in the interim. As always, document your discussions with patients.

Despite your best efforts, dissatisfaction may escalate. For information on resolving conflict, see the CMPA article, “Difficult patient encounters: What you can do to prevent, manage, and de-escalate.”



Can I defer patient care if I am required to self-isolate?

If you must self-isolate because of exposure to COVID-19 or because of a positive screening test, the Colleges generally expect you to take reasonable steps to ensure patients still receive appropriate care. These steps might include relying on virtual care where possible, coordinating with colleagues to help provide coverage (virtually or in person), re-directing patients appropriately, and supporting patients as much as possible to access the care you are not able to provide.


More medico-legal information

Do you have medico-legal questions about your practice in the midst of the pandemic? Visit the CMPA COVID-19 Hub or contact us using the secure member portal (member login required) or by phone at 1-800-267-6522 (in Ottawa area: 613-725-2000).


Reference

  1. The CMPA analyzed calls from members looking for medico-legal advice between March and September 2020. During these calls, the pandemic-related topics most frequently discussed by members were telemedicine, COVID-19 tests, personal protective equipment, deferring care, self-isolation, long-term care facilities, dealing with patients who refuse to wear a mask, and reopening of healthcare services.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le report des soins pendant la pandémie : l’ACPM répond à vos questions

Civière vide dans un couloir d’hôpital

Publié : mars 2021
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
21-02-F

Lorsque la pandémie de COVID-19 a atteint le Canada en 2020, les membres de l’ACPM se sont tournés de plus en plus vers l’Association pour obtenir des réponses à leurs questions d’ordre médico-légal sur les conséquences du report des soins aux patients. En fait, pendant la pandémie, le report des soins a été l’un des sujets les plus souvent soulevés par les membres lors de conversations téléphoniques avec les médecins-conseils de l’ACPM.1

La plupart des questions ont porté sur les conséquences du report des interventions diagnostiques et chirurgicales. Voici un exemple du contenu de ces communications.



Nombre de traitements, d’investigations ou de chirurgies non urgentes ont dû être retardés ou annulés en raison des restrictions imputables à la COVID-19. Comment puis-je réduire les risques médico-légaux liés à ces retards?

Gérez vos risques en faisant de votre mieux dans les circonstances actuelles pour vous acquitter de vos responsabilités en ce qui concerne les soins et le suivi des patients.

Cela peut comprendre les mesures suivantes :

  • communiquer avec des collègues, des hôpitaux, la santé publique et des organisations de médecins spécialistes pour obtenir des conseils afin de déterminer les services et les soins pouvant être raisonnablement retardés ou annulés;
  • assurer un suivi de l’état de santé des patients qui sont en attente de soins;
  • réévaluer régulièrement les patients afin de déterminer si l’urgence de l’investigation, de l’intervention ou de la chirurgie a changé;
  • informer les patients et les médecins traitants des signes et symptômes qui devraient justifier un appel à votre cabinet pour réévaluer leur ordre de priorité sur votre liste d’attente;
  • informer les médecins consultants lorsque l’état de santé d’un patient se détériore et que sa situation devient plus urgente;
  • explorer d’autres options pour que les patients reçoivent des soins dans l’intérim, si nécessaire;
  • défendre les intérêts des patients avec professionnalisme, intégrité et transparence (pour en savoir davantage, consulter l’article de l’ACPM, « La voix du médecin : conseils pour promouvoir la santé et défendre les intérêts des patients ».

Consignez le plan de traitement et les mesures de suivi dans le dossier du patient, ainsi que les efforts de promotion de la santé et de défense des intérêts du patient que vous avez entrepris en son nom.


Écouter le balado de l'ACPM : D'un point de vue pratique

Vous souhaitez en savoir davantage sur la prise en charge thérapeutique et la réduction des risques médico-légaux pendant la pandémie de COVID-19? Écoutez ces épisodes liés à la pandémie du Balado de l'ACPM : D'un point de vue pratique, animés par les Drs Steven Bellemare et Yolanda Madernas. COVID-19 : Gérer les temps d’attente, avec la participation de la Dre Guylaine Thériault, coresponsable des soins primaires de Choisir avec soin, vous fournit des conseils utiles. COVID-19 : Soins raisonnables vous aide à comprendre les demandes inhabituelles auxquelles sont confrontés les médecins en ce moment. Vous trouverez le balado sur le site web de l’ACPM, ainsi que sur Apple Podcasts et Spotify.



Quelles sont les conséquences médico-légales auxquelles je pourrais m’exposer si je diffère l’établissement d’un diagnostic ou le traitement de patients en raison des restrictions imputables à la COVID-19?

Les restrictions imposées en raison de la pandémie ont pu affecter la nature et le niveau de soins que vous pouvez prodiguer. Par conséquent, vous pourriez vous inquiéter des conséquences médico-légales (p. ex. actions en justice et plaintes) si vous ne pouvez pas fournir les soins que vous jugez appropriés et qu’un patient subit un préjudice.

Dans les actions civiles, en général, le tribunal qui évalue les soins cliniques prodigués par un médecin ne fonde pas sa décision sur une norme de perfection, mais sur une norme de raisonnabilité, c’est-à-dire les soins auxquels on pourrait raisonnablement s’attendre d’un collègue ayant des compétences et une expérience semblables et exerçant dans des circonstances similaires. En résumé, les tribunaux s’attendent à ce que les médecins, dans la limite des ressources disponibles, déploient tous les efforts possibles pour leurs patients et agissent de façon raisonnable vu les circonstances.

Les tribunaux tiendront compte du contexte dans les actions en justice concernant spécifiquement les soins prodigués pendant la pandémie. Il s’agira notamment de prendre en considération l’effet de la pénurie de ressources sur les soins, et l’effet de toute politique, ligne directrice, ordonnance de santé publique, directive et règlement mis en place par les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), les organisations de médecins spécialistes, les pouvoirs publics, les hôpitaux ou les autorités en matière de santé, y compris les directives sur la suspension et la reprise des services.

Dans les plaintes, les Collèges et les hôpitaux considéreront aussi le contexte dans lequel l’interaction avec le patient s’est déroulée : p. ex. les soins prodigués pendant la pandémie seront affectés en fonction de diverses restrictions. L’ACPM encourage ses membres à communiquer avec l’Association pour parler à un médecin conseil avant de répondre à une telle plainte.



Serait-il approprié de retarder l’acceptation d’une nouvelle demande de consultation?

Continuez de vous fier à votre jugement professionnel pour décider d’accepter ou non une nouvelle demande de consultation, et ce, pendant et après la pandémie. Vous devez déterminer si vous êtes en mesure de vous occuper d’un nouveau patient, tout en continuant d’assurer des soins appropriés en temps voulu à vos patients actuels. Pour vous aider à prendre cette décision, gardez en tête vos obligations en ce qui a trait à l’acceptation de nouveaux patients, la possibilité de recourir aux soins virtuels, et la nécessité de communiquer efficacement avec les médecins traitants et les patients.

La décision d’accepter de nouveaux patients doit être guidée par vos responsabilités déontologiques ainsi que par les politiques du Collège. Pour obtenir plus de précisions à ce sujet, consultez l’article de « Vous acceptez de nouveaux patients? Conseils destinés aux spécialistes ».



Comment puis-je communiquer avec des patients qui sont mécontents, bouleversés ou qui réagissent violemment à propos du report de leur investigation, de leur traitement ou de leur intervention chirurgicale?

Les patients dont les investigations, les traitements ou les interventions chirurgicales sont reportés peuvent être stressés, angoissés et en colère. Ils pourraient extérioriser ces émotions en exprimant une insatisfaction à l’égard de vos soins. En parlant aux patients, rappelez-vous de le faire avec empathie. Essayez de rester calme et expliquez clairement la raison de l’attente. Questionnez les sur leurs préoccupations particulières. Adoptez une écoute active, et soyez compréhensif et empathique face à la situation. Explorez leurs préoccupations pour vous assurer qu’ils disposent de renseignements exacts (p. ex. l’évolution de leur état de santé, les conséquences du retard et les autres choix possibles). Dans l’intérim, il peut être utile d’établir un plan pour surveiller l’évolution de l’état de santé des patients. Enfin, consignez toujours les discussions avec les patients dans leurs dossiers médicaux.

Malgré tout cela, l’insatisfaction peut s’aggraver. Pour en savoir davantage sur la résolution de conflits, lisez l’article de l’ACPM « Échanges difficiles avec les patients : Prévention, gestion et désamorçage ».



Puis-je reporter les soins aux patients si je dois me placer en quarantaine?

Si vous devez vous placer en quarantaine en raison d’une exposition à la COVID-19 ou d’un résultat de dépistage positif, les Collèges s’attendent généralement à ce que vous preniez des mesures raisonnables pour vous assurer que les patients reçoivent toujours des soins appropriés. Ces mesures pourraient comprendre le recours à des soins virtuels si possible, une entente avec des collègues qui pourraient assurer la relève (virtuellement ou en personne) en votre absence, le transfert approprié de patients vers d’autres professionnels et tout le soutien possible pour que les patients puissent accéder aux soins que vous n’êtes plus en mesure de leur prodiguer.


Autres ressources médico-légales

Avez-vous des questions d’ordre médico-légal concernant la pratique en pleine pandémie? Consultez le Carrefour sur la COVID-19 du site web de l’ACPM, connectez-vous au portail des membres sécurisé (numéro d’adhésion requis) ou appelez-nous au 1-800-267-6522 (dans la région d’Ottawa : 613-725-2000).


Référence

  1. L’ACPM a analysé les appels reçus entre mars et septembre 2020 de membres qui cherchaient à obtenir des conseils médico-légaux. Lors de ces appels, les sujets liés à la pandémie les plus fréquemment abordés étaient : la télémédecine, les tests de dépistage de la COVID-19, l’équipement de protection individuelle, le report des soins, la quarantaine (l’auto-isolement), les établissements de soins de longue durée, la conduite à adopter lorsqu’un patient refuse de porter un masque et la réouverture des services de santé.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.