Advance directives offer greater clarity for patients and physicians

September 2015

In circumstances where it has been determined that a patient is incapable (incompetent) of consenting to a particular medical treatment, the question as to who is authorized to make the decision will arise. In most provinces and territories, capable individuals can make an advance directive for their future care in the event that they become incapacitated or are unable to communicate their wishes.

Advance directives (sometimes called “living wills”) may contain explicit instructions relating to consent or refusal of treatment in specified circumstances. These are particularly relevant in long-term care settings. Ideally, individuals have clearly outlined their wishes for care and treatment, and these are known to healthcare providers and family members and appropriately documented.

Advance directives may also be used to appoint or designate an individual to make decisions about consent or refusal of treatment in the event the patient becomes incapacitated. In some jurisdictions, advance directives may be contained in powers of attorney for personal care (in Québec, called “mandate given in anticipation of incapacity”). The individual’s substitute decision-maker (SDM) must interpret the advance directive and is generally obligated to follow the directions in it, unless the SDM knows of other later wishes expressed by the patient.

Physicians will want to be familiar with applicable legislation or regulatory requirements in their jurisdiction regarding advance directives. Doctors should also be familiar with provincial medical regulatory authority (College) guidance on end-of-life issues, including advance directives.

For more information on advance directives, see the CMPA handbook, Consent: A guide for Canadian physicians and the article "Providing quality end-of-life care".

Directives préalables : plus de clarté pour patients et médecins

Septembre 2015

Lorsqu’il est établi qu’un patient est incapable de consentir à un traitement médical en particulier (inapte à le faire), la question de savoir qui est autorisé à prendre la décision se posera. Dans la plupart des provinces et des territoires, des personnes aptes peuvent donner des directives préalables sur leurs soins à venir si elles deviennent inaptes ou ne peuvent faire connaître leurs volontés.

Les directives préalables (parfois appelées « testament biologique ») peuvent renfermer des instructions claires au sujet du consentement à un traitement ou du refus d’un traitement dans des circonstances précises. Ces directives sont particulièrement pertinentes en contexte de soins de longue durée. Idéalement, les personnes ont précisé clairement leurs volontés sur le plan des soins et des traitements, les professionnels de la santé et les membres de leur famille les connaissent et elles sont dûment documentées.

Les directives préalables peuvent aussi servir à nommer ou désigner une personne qui prendra des décisions sur le consentement ou le refus de traitement si le patient devient inapte. Dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires, les directives préalables peuvent être contenues dans la procuration portant sur les soins personnels (appelée au Québec « mandat donné en prévision d’une inaptitude »). Le décideur-remplaçant doit interpréter les directives préalables et il est en général tenu de suivre les consignes qu’elles contiennent, sauf s’il est au courant d’autres volontés exprimées ultérieurement par le patient.

Les médecins voudront bien connaître les exigences législatives ou réglementaires qui régissent les directives préalables dans leur province ou territoire. Ils doivent aussi bien connaître les documents d’orientation de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) sur les enjeux de fin de vie, y compris les directives préalables.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les directives préalables, consultez le guide de l’ACPM intitulé Le consentement : Guide à l’intention des médecins du Canada et l’article « Prodiguer des soins de fin de vie de qualité ».