Physicians should avoid treating family, friends, themselves

It is understandable that doctors want to help when asked by family members or friends to review test results and discuss treatment choices. But regardless of any possible extenuating factors, physicians should not treat family, friends, or themselves, unless it is for a minor condition or in response to a medical emergency.

Maintaining a professional relationship with patients allows doctors to provide objective, quality treatment. Having a personal relationship can potentially compromise a physician’s objectivity and professional judgment, and patients may suffer as a result. Similar challenges arise when physicians opt to assess and treat their own medical conditions.

The Canadian Medical Association’s Code of Ethics (section 20), as well as guidelines and policies of most provincial and territorial medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) underscore the reality that treating family, friends, or oneself is generally not in the best interests of patients or physicians.

Physicians who choose to do so run the risk of being the subject of a College complaint and potentially facing serious discipline. It is also possible that should a physician provide medical services to a family member (even a friend) who then acts on that advice and suffers harm as a result, that physician may be subject to a legal action.

For more information on treating family, friends, or oneself, see "Know the rules, avoid the risks: Treating family and friends."

Pouvez-vous traiter vos proches ou vous soigner vous-même?

Il est compréhensible que les médecins veuillent venir en aide à des membres de leur famille ou à des amis qui leur demandent de revoir leurs résultats d’examens et de discuter avec eux de leurs choix de traitement. Cependant, quelles que puissent être les circonstances atténuantes, ils ne devraient pas traiter leurs proches, ni même se soigner eux-mêmes, à moins qu’il ne s’agisse d’un problème mineur ou d’une urgence.

Le maintien d’une relation professionnelle avec les patients permet en effet aux médecins de prodiguer, de manière objective, des traitements de qualité. Toute relation personnelle, par contre, risque de compromettre l’objectivité et le jugement professionnel du médecin, et ce sont les patients qui risquent d’en pâtir. Des défis semblables se posent lorsqu’un médecin choisit de se soigner lui-même.

Le Code de déontologie de l’AMC (article 20), ainsi que les lignes directrices et les politiques de la majorité des organismes de réglementation de la médecine des provinces et des territoires (Collèges) soulignent cette réalité : le traitement des membres de la famille, des amis ou de soi-même n’est généralement ni dans l’intérêt des patients ni dans celui des médecins.

Les médecins qui choisissent de soigner leurs proches ou de se soigner eux-mêmes risquent de faire l’objet d’une plainte auprès du Collège, voire d’une mesure disciplinaire grave. Il est également possible qu’un médecin fasse l’objet d’une action en justice pour avoir prodigué des services médicaux à un membre de sa famille ou à un ami, lorsque celui-ci a subi un préjudice après avoir suivi les conseils du médecin.

Pour obtenir plus de précisions à ce sujet, consulter l’article « Traiter les membres de la famille ou les amis : Connaissez-vous les règles de l’art? ».