Understanding the terminology

Patient

The term “patient” is used in this publication to refer to the individual who is the subject of a patient safety incident. The term may also refer to the patient’s family when patient consent has been given to their involvement in the disclosure process; the patient’s substitute decision-maker where the patient lacks capacity to consent; or the patient’s legal representative when the patient is deceased.

Patient safety incident

The term “patient safety incident” is used in this publication. The World Health Organization (WHO) provides terminology to facilitate the sharing and learning of patient safety information globally.1 The Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) has adopted some of these terms.2

To support clarity and consistency, the CMPA now uses these CPSI terms:

Patient safety incident: An event or circumstance which could have resulted, or did result, in unnecessary harm to the patient.

Harmful incident: A patient safety incident that resulted in harm to the patient. Replaces the terms “adverse event” and “sentinel event.”

No harm incident: A patient safety incident which reached the patient but no discernible harm resulted.

Near miss: A patient safety incident that did not reach the patient. Replaces the term “close call.”

In Québec, the applicable legislation defines the terms “accident” and “incident.” Neither of these terms correspond exactly to the WHO terminology. “An ‘accident’ in Québec means “an action or situation where a risk event occurs which has or could have consequences for the state of health or welfare of the user, a personnel member, a professional involved, or a third person.”3  The term ‘incident,’ on the other hand, is defined as “an action or situation that does not have consequences for the state of health or welfare of the aforementioned parties, but the outcome of which is unusual and could have had consequences under different circumstances.”4 The term ‘accident’ in Québec legislation would align with the WHO term “harmful incident” whereas the term “incident” would include the WHO terms “no harm incident” and “near miss.”

 
 

References

  1. World Alliance for Safer Health Care, More than words: Conceptual framework for the international classification for Patient Safety, (Geneva: World Health Organization, 2009), accessed April 8, 2015 from http://www.who.int/patientsafety/taxonomy/icps_full_report.pdf
  2. Disclosure Working Group, Canadian Disclosure Guidelines: being open and honest with patients and families, (Edmonton: Canadian Patient Safety Institute, 2011), 22
  3. Québec, An Act Respecting Health Services and Social Services, CQLR c S-4.2, art. 8
  4. Québec, An Act Respecting Health Services and Social Services, CQLR c S-4.2, art. 183.2

Comprendre la terminologie

Patient

Le terme « patient » est utilisé dans ce document pour désigner la personne faisant l’objet d’un incident lié à la sécurité du patient. Ce terme pourrait aussi désigner : la famille du patient si celui-ci a consenti à ce que sa famille participe au processus de divulgation; un décideur-remplaçant du patient si le patient est inapte à consentir; un représentant légal du patient si le patient est décédé.

Incident lié à la sécurité du patient

L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé propose une terminologie pour faciliter la communication et le partage des enseignements en matière de sécurité des patients à l’échelle internationale1; l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) a adopté certains termes de cette terminologie. Par souci de clarté et d’uniformité dans les discussions, l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) utilise maintenant les termes suivants de l’ICSP2

Incident lié à la sécurité du patient : un événement ou une circonstance qui aurait pu entraîner, ou qui a entraîné un préjudice superflu à un patient.

Incident préjudiciable : un incident lié à la sécurité des patients qui a causé un préjudice au patient. Remplace l’expression « événement indésirable » et « événement sentinelle ».

Incident sans préjudice : un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient qui a atteint le patient sans toutefois entraîner de préjudice discernable.

Incident évité de justesse : un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient qui n’a pas atteint le patient. Remplace l’expression « accident évité de justesse ».

Au Québec, les termes « accident » et « incident » sont définis dans la législation en vigueur. Cependant, aucun de ces termes ne correspond parfaitement à la terminologie de l’OMS. En droit québécois, un « accident » désigne une « action ou situation où le risque se réalise et est, ou pourrait être, à l’origine de conséquences sur l’état de santé ou le bien-être de l’usager, du personnel, d’un professionnel concerné ou d’un tiers »3. Le terme « incident » quant à lui désigne « une action ou une situation qui n’entraîne pas de conséquence sur l’état de santé ou le bien-être d’un usager, du personnel, d’un professionnel concerné ou d’un tiers, mais dont le résultat est inhabituel et qui, en d’autres occasions, pourrait entraîner des conséquences »4. Selon l’interprétation de l’ACPM de la législation en vigueur au Québec, le terme « accident » correspondrait à l’expression « incident préjudiciable » de l’OMS, tandis que le terme « incident » correspondrait aux expressions « incident sans préjudice » et « incident évité de justesse ».

 
 

Références

  1. World Alliance for Safer Health Care, More than words : conceptual framework for the international classification for Patient safety (Genève : Organisation mondiale de la Santé, 2009), consulté le 20 mars 2015. http://www.who.int/patientsafety/taxonomy/icps_full_report.pdf.
  2. Groupe de travail sur la divulgation, Lignes directrices nationales relatives à la divulgation : parler ouvertement et honnêtement aux patients et aux proches (Edmonton : Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, 2011), 24.
  3. Québec, Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux, RLRQ c S-4.2, art. 8.
  4. Québec, Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux, RLRQ c S-4.2, art. 183.2.