When consent is informed

Before physicians can treat patients, they must have valid consent. To be considered valid, the consent must be “informed.” This applies to surgical operations, all forms of medical treatment, and to diagnostic procedures involving intentional interference with the patient.

To inform patients, physicians must give them (or their substitute decision-maker, when appropriate) an adequate explanation about the nature of the proposed investigation or treatment, the anticipated outcome, significant risks, reasonably available alternatives, and potential consequences of refusal. Such information enables the patient or substitute decision-maker to reach an informed decision.

Physicians have a duty to take reasonable steps so as to be relatively satisfied that the patient does understand the information being provided — particularly where there may be language difficulties or emotional issues involved. What constitutes “reasonable steps” will very much depend on the facts and circumstances of a particular situation. The consent discussion gives the physician the opportunity to observe the patient’s reaction for signs of apparent comprehension or confusion. The ability of the patient to ask questions is required and can assist the physician in assessing the patient’s level of understanding. One way to confirm patients’ understanding is to ask them what they would say if they had to explain the investigation or treatment to a family member.

The consent discussion should be documented.

For more information on the various aspects of consent, see the CMPA handbook, Consent: A guide for Canadian physicians and the Good Practices Guide.

Lorsque le consentement est éclairé

Étape incontournable avant d’amorcer tout traitement, le consentement d’un patient n’est considéré valide que s’il est « éclairé ». Ceci concerne toutes les formes de traitement médical ou chirurgical, mais aussi les tests diagnostiques qui nécessitent d’intervenir intentionnellement sur le patient.

Pour qu’un patient ou un décideur remplaçant puisse prendre une décision éclairée, le médecin doit fournir une explication adéquate sur la nature de l’investigation ou du traitement recommandés, les résultats escomptés, les risques importants, les autres choix raisonnables et les répercussions qu’un refus pourrait entraîner.

Les médecins doivent prendre des mesures raisonnables, qui dépendent beaucoup des circonstances particulières propres à chaque situation, afin de s’assurer que le patient comprend véritablement les informations fournies, surtout en cas de problèmes linguistiques ou émotionnels. La discussion visant à obtenir le consentement offre au médecin l’occasion de percevoir des signes indiquant que le patient comprend ou non. Ce dernier doit pouvoir poser des questions, ce qui peut également aider le médecin à évaluer son niveau de compréhension. Un des moyens de confirmer que le patient a bien compris est de lui demander ce qu’il dirait pour expliquer l’investigation ou le traitement à un de ses proches.

Par ailleurs, il est à noter que la discussion entourant le consentement doit être documentée au dossier.

Pour obtenir plus d’informations sur les différents aspects du consentement, veuillez consulter les ouvrages de l’ACPM intitulés Le consentement : Guide à l’intention des médecins du Canada et le Guide des bonnes pratiques.