Documentation should summarize, but needn’t be exhaustive

March 2016

Documenting a patient encounter, whether into a paper or electronic medical record, is integral to the delivery of safe, high-quality care. It facilitates good care by keeping a record of patients’ care and general health information, allowing the treating physician and other caregivers to understand patients’ conditions and the reasons for certain investigations or treatments, providing a means of communicating with other care team members, and satisfying the legal and professional requirements of legislation, medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), hospitals, and courts.

Because medical records also serve as legal documents, properly constructed records that are created contemporaneously (at the time of the encounter or as close to it as possible) may help physicians recall details, specifically when used as evidence in a legal action or when responding to a College complaint.

Clinical notes do not have to be exhaustive, yet must provide an adequate summary of the clinical situation and physicians’ thought processes leading to a diagnosis and plan of care. The following information is important to consider when documenting clinical care:

  • clinical assessment
  • conclusions including working, differential, and final diagnoses
  • the rationale for plans of action such as investigations, treatments, and consultations
  • information exchanges with patients and families including discussions, decisions, apparent understanding, and consent
  • discharge instructions and follow-up care

A medical record can be corrected; however it must be done appropriately in accordance with provincial and territorial standards.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Le dossier médical : un résumé et non un rapport exhaustif

Mars 2016

Qu’ils soient en version papier ou électronique, les dossiers bien documentés sont au cœur de la prestation de soins sécuritaires et de grande qualité. Ils favorisent de bons soins puisque les soins prodigués ainsi que les renseignements généraux au sujet du patient y sont consignés. Les dossiers permettent donc au médecin traitant et aux autres professionnels de la santé de comprendre les problèmes de santé des patients et les motifs de certaines investigations ou de certains traitements, de communiquer entre eux et de répondre aux exigences de la législation, des organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), des hôpitaux et des tribunaux.

Puisque les dossiers médicaux sont aussi des documents juridiques, les dossiers bien tenus, dans lesquels les notes sont consignées au moment de la rencontre ou peu de temps après, peuvent aider les médecins à se souvenir de détails, notamment lorsqu’un dossier sert d’élément de preuve dans une action en justice ou qu’il est utilisé en réponse à une plainte auprès du Collège.

Si les notes cliniques n’ont pas à rendre compte de chaque fait et geste, elles doivent brosser un portrait fidèle de la situation clinique et du raisonnement ayant permis au médecin d’établir le diagnostic et le plan de soins. Il importe de tenir compte des renseignements suivants lors de la documentation des soins cliniques :

  • évaluation clinique
  • conclusions tirées, notamment le diagnostic provisoire, différentiel et final
  • justification des plans d’action tels les investigations, traitements et consultations
  • information transmise au patient et à sa famille, dont les discussions, les décisions, la compréhension apparente et le consentement
  • consignes au moment du congé et des soins de suivi.

Il est possible de corriger un dossier médical, mais il faut le faire dans les règles et conformément aux normes établies par les provinces et les territoires.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.