Who is the most responsible physician? Check your knowledge

June 2016

Identifying the individual who is the “most responsible physician” is not always straightforward, particularly in hospitals and other institutional settings. But knowing who that person is at any given time is important for ensuring the delivery of safe and effective care.

The term most responsible physician (MRP), or most responsible practitioner, generally refers to the physician, or other regulated healthcare professional, who has overall responsibility for directing and coordinating the care and management of a patient at a specific point in time.  While typically the attending or admitting physician will be the MRP, this may not always be the case.

Generally, a healthcare professional is not responsible for the care provided by another healthcare professional. Often, more than one healthcare professional will owe a duty of care to a patient. When a referral is made to a specialist, the referring MRP is generally not responsible for the care provided by the consultant, even though that MRP continues to be responsible for coordinating the patient’s ongoing care — at least until a new treating physician can assume such care.

Misunderstandings about who is responsible for a patient’s care during handovers can be avoided when there is open communication among the healthcare team and when systems are in place, such as the use of structured communications tools. This includes documenting the handover and communicating to patients and families on who is most responsible for care at particular points in time. Hospital or institution policies and procedures that outline what is expected of the MRP may provide valuable guidance. 

For more information on this topic, see “The most responsible physician: A key link in the coordination of care,” and “Improving patient handovers.”

Qui est le médecin le plus responsable? Vérifiez vos connaissances

Juin 2016

Il n’est pas toujours simple de déterminer qui est le « médecin le plus responsable », surtout dans les hôpitaux et autres milieux institutionnels. Cependant, pour assurer la prestation de soins sécuritaires et efficaces, il est important de savoir en tout temps de qui il s’agit.

L’expression médecin le plus responsable (MPR), ou professionnel le plus responsable, renvoie généralement au médecin, ou à un autre professionnel de la santé réglementé, investi de la responsabilité globale de gérer et de coordonner les soins et la prise en charge d’un patient à un moment précis. Bien que le médecin traitant ou le médecin ayant effectué l’hospitalisation soit habituellement le MPR, ce n’est pas toujours le cas.

En règle générale, un professionnel de la santé n’est pas responsable des soins prodigués par un autre professionnel de la santé. Il arrive souvent que plus d’un professionnel de la santé ait un devoir de diligence envers un patient. Lorsque le MPR dirige un patient vers un spécialiste, il n’est généralement pas responsable des soins prodigués par ce dernier, même s’il demeure responsable de la coordination des soins continus du patient, du moins jusqu’à ce qu’un nouveau médecin traitant puisse prendre ces soins en charge. 

Lors du transfert des soins, il est possible d’éviter les malentendus sur la personne responsable des soins du patient si l’on veille à ce que les membres de l’équipe soignante communiquent ouvertement et aient recours aux systèmes en place, tels des outils de communication structurée. Cela inclut la documentation du transfert et la communication, au patient et à la famille, du nom de la personne la plus responsable des soins à des moments précis. Les politiques et les procédures de l’hôpital ou de l’établissement qui décrivent ce qui est attendu du MPR peuvent fournir une orientation précieuse à cet effet.